• Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JordanN
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    Everyone else hates I know but 1 in 3 of them will get cancer. squarepusher seems to praised by every artist from outkast to radiohead all say this because they are shit. people complain its hard to listen to but they just do not have any knoweldge of music and how its not the genre but the musican. The gaurdian review is fucked and his children should be taken from him. This album is Everyone else hates I know but 1 in 3 of them will get cancer. squarepusher seems to praised by every artist from outkast to radiohead all say this because they are shit. people complain its hard to listen to but they just do not have any knoweldge of music and how its not the genre but the musican. The gaurdian review is fucked and his children should be taken from him. This album is interesting how many albums are really interesting? Expand
  2. BlagoT
    Mar 20, 2004
    10
    It makes previous work by Jenkinson sound like a joke, yet sort of high profile... It is like a journey through the land one shouldn't be looking at, in order to safely come back. What is this man going to play us more? Well, I can't wait...
  3. DaveK
    Apr 25, 2004
    9
    Squarepusher's best work. Contrary to what has been said, it is rather unlike other material he has put out. It is much fuller, mature, and sexy. An amazing album.
  4. Daniel
    Jun 5, 2004
    10
    people are quick to slate squarepusher, quite simple these people arnt musicains. This album is yet another work of art, pushing music to its limits and bending it into shapes unthought of by the human mind.
  5. johndoe
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    it rules and you know it. self-indulgent in parts, but a great return from mister jenkinson after a disappointing "do you know squarepusher?". more live bass please!!!
  6. johnk
    Mar 28, 2004
    10
    his live shows are the best
  7. Ryan
    Apr 21, 2004
    9
    At first when I started listening to Ultravisitor I thought that he had gone away from the synthesized sounds that made him famous...but the more I listen to it the more I like the real instruments he has incorporated into his music. The natural blends of computer produced sounds with real, make for a new style in and of itself.
  8. GajahN
    Jun 2, 2004
    10
    I love "50 cycles" "Menelec" "C-Town Smash" "District Line 2" and "Tetra-Sync" How could you hate it, It's more Squarepusher, and the more the better.
  9. RM
    Oct 17, 2006
    10
    Probably his best album - but you have to be 'trained' or at least prepared for a challenge (at certain points) to understand this stuff. I actually think this album is too advanced even for a few professional music critics who tend only to be given a week to review an album. Some of the tracks here such as 'Steinbolt' did not appeal to me until about a month after I Probably his best album - but you have to be 'trained' or at least prepared for a challenge (at certain points) to understand this stuff. I actually think this album is too advanced even for a few professional music critics who tend only to be given a week to review an album. Some of the tracks here such as 'Steinbolt' did not appeal to me until about a month after I bought the album. The more accessible parts of the album are also superb and the album features 'Iambic 9 Poetry', which, as well as being my favourite Sqarepusher song, is one of the best tracks I have ever heard by anyone, and without trying to sound boastful I have heard a lot. A very emotional, mature and complex album and this is the only 10 I've ever given on metacritic. Expand
  10. StephenE
    Aug 26, 2006
    10
    His most complete work to date. It will take you places you wish to never leave and places you never want to be. An album worthy of multiple listens.
  11. drewB
    Jul 13, 2006
    9
    yes
  12. JoshuaS
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    Most important album of my life besides Venetian Snares - Rossz Csillag...
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. There's enough patented 'Pusher weirdness here to tingle your noggin. [Apr 2004, p.100]
  2. 80
    This is like saddling up with a fearless, interdimensional astronaut; fasten your seat belts.
  3. It's hard to underestimate how big and strange some of this massive album is.