• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2012
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 415 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    3
    I just have mixed feelings about this album, I was excited when I purchased this album but with the majority of songs on "Unapologetic" that I listened to, I was disappointed. It didn't appeal to me like the previous albums that she has made e.g "Loud" or "Talk That Talk". "Unapologetic" is certainly not the best album that has been made by R&B star Rihanna. I give her credit that her leadI just have mixed feelings about this album, I was excited when I purchased this album but with the majority of songs on "Unapologetic" that I listened to, I was disappointed. It didn't appeal to me like the previous albums that she has made e.g "Loud" or "Talk That Talk". "Unapologetic" is certainly not the best album that has been made by R&B star Rihanna. I give her credit that her lead single off her album "Diamonds" was good, but that's the only positive feedback I can give this album. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Very bad album. I like only 4 of the songs - Phresh Off The Runway, Jump, Stay and Right Now. The other tracks are bland and boring. This album is the worst from Rihanna. She is trying to hard to be ghetto while she isn't. She is a POP star and she must embrace it!
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    3
    LMAO at people giving this album a 10, its a 3 at best with only a few decent songs and production. And it has nothing to do with her situation with Chris Brown or any other excuse. Her music just gets worse and worse but it doesnt matter because her stans will never admit it.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    too much auto tune going one as she has changed both her appearances and voices many times to keep up with the other artists trying to be something that they are not.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    One of my most anticipated releases this year and I'm left disappointed. "Unapologetic" could of been a great album, but it lacks those BIG dance anthems that Rihanna is known for. Overall very vapid and no artistry whatsoever!
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    0
    It doesn't matter what the music that this woman makes sounds like. She is dating the man who beat the **** out of her. She is validating abuse against women to millions of her fans. If you buy this album you are indirectly encouraging abused women to stay in abusive relationships. Don't give this stupid woman a cent of your hard-earned money.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    3
    NOVEMBER 2011: Overall, Talk That Talk is a poor effort. While there are still some highlights, the album is a huge downgrade compared to her previous albums. I wouldn't surprised if she does another album next year.

    NOVEMBER 2012: Well, another year has passed and Rihanna has done another album. Big **** surprise there. After last year's half-assed cheap cash-in piece of **** that
    NOVEMBER 2011: Overall, Talk That Talk is a poor effort. While there are still some highlights, the album is a huge downgrade compared to her previous albums. I wouldn't surprised if she does another album next year.

    NOVEMBER 2012: Well, another year has passed and Rihanna has done another album. Big **** surprise there.

    After last year's half-assed cheap cash-in piece of **** that is Talk That Talk, you'd think that Rihanna, her songwriters and producers would have learned their lessons from that album and her record label should've let her have a break from the music world for a while. But NOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! They have to make another ridiculously rushed product just to cash in on a already ridiculously rushed product.

    This album is just **** terrible. The lyrics were boring and repetitive, the music is uninspired and I felt like they wasted Eminem's talent on the track Numb. If you're expecting another Love the Way You Lie from them well don't. Eminem's rapping only lasted 30 seconds. WHAT IS THE **** POINT ON PUTTING HIM ON THE SONG ANYWAY???

    Alot of the tracks on this album are just fillers and uninteresting to listen to and I fell asleep half the time.

    But the album starts to get good during the second half of the album with tracks like Stay being a nice piano track, Half of Me is a pretty good track pretty much thanks to one of the writers being Emeli Sandé and Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary being by far the best track on the album.

    But the track Nobody's Business was just disturbing to listen to much due to the fact that it has Chris Brown on the track because well, he beat Rihanna up like a bodybag three years ago. While it has a nice sound and a OK sample usage from Michael Jackson's track The Way You Make Me Feel, you just cannot help but just thinking about the incident at the back of your mind.

    Rihanna's vocals on the album is once again a hit and miss. Some tracks she can give out really powerful vocal chords and yet on some of the tracks like Phresh Out the Runway, Pour It Up, Right Now and No Love Allowed I just felt like she was just using one different vocal chord on each of those tracks and it has got really stale.

    While it still have some gems, the album as a whole though is just a bore. For most of the album's length, Rihanna's singing is dull, the music is dull and it feels more like a half-assed EP than it is a full length album.

    With rushed under-produced tracks, rushed production values, being boring as hell and relentlessly forgettable, Unapologetic is a big mess.

    Track Picks:

    Diamonds,
    Stay,
    Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary and
    Half of Me

    DW Rating:

    1.5 stars out of 5
    Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    What did Rihanna do? The album cover is terrible. The songs on the album are terrible. The lyrics of every song are terrible.. The only listenable song is "Diamonds" (the remix) too much party for rihanna
  9. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    I like Rihanna, but her formula is getting stale. It's almost like she's not needed on the project; she's not the engine behind the album. The main figures on this album seems to be the producers and the host of writers employed. She serves up some urban cuts and sappy ballads. She also collaborates with her beloved, convicted domestic abuser Chris Brown on the insulting "NobodiesI like Rihanna, but her formula is getting stale. It's almost like she's not needed on the project; she's not the engine behind the album. The main figures on this album seems to be the producers and the host of writers employed. She serves up some urban cuts and sappy ballads. She also collaborates with her beloved, convicted domestic abuser Chris Brown on the insulting "Nobodies Business." Overall, 1 or 2 ok tracks and the rest same old, same old. Expand
  10. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    WOW, can't believe that Rihanna will collaborate with a man who abused her and be so nonchalant about it. Her actions are irresponsible and sends the wrong message to her young fans. She should be setting a better example. Other than that, the music doesn't live up to the hype. It doesn't contain any of those anthemic hits that brought her stardom and we've grown to love. Overall veryWOW, can't believe that Rihanna will collaborate with a man who abused her and be so nonchalant about it. Her actions are irresponsible and sends the wrong message to her young fans. She should be setting a better example. Other than that, the music doesn't live up to the hype. It doesn't contain any of those anthemic hits that brought her stardom and we've grown to love. Overall very rushed and not many good songs. Disappointed in Rihanna and her music. Collapse
  11. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Dull, numb and stupid. Rihanna releases a new single accompanied with other 13 songs that don't stand out. Best tracks: Diamonds. Listenable tracks: Pour it Up. Hated tracks: are there any more tracks on this album?
  12. Apr 11, 2013
    3
    I dont know what Rihanna is thinking trying to release a full length album every year. Her quality has gone WAY down even since the release of "Loud" her last good record. There are only two good songs on this album, "Stay" and "Diamonds". I feel she needs to talk a good 2-3 years and work on the QUALITY of her music again and not just worry about the quantity that she releases.
  13. Nov 26, 2012
    1
    The production of this album is just gives a lot to talk about. This Album Is Poor in the lyrics, on the sound, only the vocals is something good on this album. Even the artwork and the essence that this album gives is the same as Talk That Talk and Rated R, She should wait to release her albums a little bit longer.
  14. Dec 23, 2012
    1
    Rihanna Has Proven In The Past To Make Good Albums (Loud, And Talk That Talk)
    But Sadly This Album Is By Far A Major Low Point In Her Music Carrer.. If Every Song Was Like Diamonds And Mother Marry I Would Give It A 10! I Only Liked Two Songs, I'm Being Very Harsh Because She Can Do So Much Better!
  15. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    What did Rihanna do?

    Let's just start from the basics. The album cover is terrible. The songs on the album are terrible. The lyrics of every song are terrible. She needs new writers, or to just start writing her songs.

    The only listenable songs are "Diamonds", "Lost in Paradise", and "Nobody's Business". Don't bother buying the rest.
  16. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    I miss when Rihanna knew how to make great songs and great albuns like " Loud " , " Rated R " ,Unapologetic is so disapointing . The songs don't have any feeling is just electronical sounds , she should stop for a while and make good albuns like she used to.
  17. Mar 4, 2013
    2
    in my opinion this is the worst album she has ever released..the only song that i like is stay...! i was expecting sth different..she should release another album this year that will be like her previews ones so we will forget about this so bad album.
  18. Mar 24, 2013
    2
    I Love Rihanna! LOUD And Talk That Talk Were Perfect Albums! This Album Is By Far Rihanna's Worst! There Are So Many Things Wrong With This Album But Dubstep Is The Main Issue! Vocally Rihanna Is Still Here Though... Diamond, Stay And Mother Marry Are Great Song... The Rest Belong In A Strip Club's Trash Can.. As A MEGA Fan I'm Really Sad That This Album Sucked!
  19. May 25, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Unapologetic" Uma Porcaria Rihanna Mal Acaba De Fazer "Talk That Talk" Em 2011 Que Já Um Disco Muito Ruim Com Turnê,Três Videos E Lança Um Apenas Um Ano Depois Fora Que Tem Uns 3 Meses De Shows Mais 1 Mês De Video Do Cd "Talk That Talk" Claro Que Não Ia Sair Um Disco Bom Só Tem Duas Músicas Boas Diamonds E What Now Mas Nem Essas Duas Salvou O Disco.
    E Stay,Lost In Paradise E Right Now Mediano E O Resto Insuportável
    Expand
  20. Dec 23, 2014
    2
    Realmente é difícil escutar isso até o fim pois é péssimo.
    Um lixo,é inacreditável alcançar 61 por centos pelos críticos e 216 votos positivos no mínimo merece um voto mixo,mais ou menos mais merece mesmo um voto negativo.Mas os oito críticos que deram votos positivos são inúteis,incompetentes e desqualificados de seu cargo.
    Top 4 1-What Now 2-Diamonds 3-Stay 4-Lost In Paradise O
    Realmente é difícil escutar isso até o fim pois é péssimo.
    Um lixo,é inacreditável alcançar 61 por centos pelos críticos e 216 votos positivos no mínimo merece um voto mixo,mais ou menos mais merece mesmo um voto negativo.Mas os oito críticos que deram votos positivos são inúteis,incompetentes e desqualificados de seu cargo.
    Top 4
    1-What Now
    2-Diamonds
    3-Stay
    4-Lost In Paradise
    O resto é lixo musical
    Expand
  21. Nov 1, 2013
    3
    When diamonds first came out, I liked it but I thought it was a little bland. So when I heard an album of even blander songs, I was bored to death. In addition to that, half the songs sound like generic rap songs that every other artist does. What happened to Rihanna from the past?
  22. Nov 16, 2013
    3
    We can clearly see a decline in Rihanna's music over the years. It seems like the fame has sunk into her and that she believes that whatever quality music she makes, it will still be purchased and acclaimed. Very disappointed!!!!
  23. Jun 15, 2014
    2
    das Album ist ziemlich schlecht, das wirlkich einzig gute Lied ist wirklich nur Diamonds und Love Song, die anderen sind eher solalala, es gibt viel zu viel Dance, House, Elctronic und Pop, meiner meinung nach hat das album keinen Sinn, die Lieder sind schlecht geschrieben, und mittelmäßig produziert, es ist auch viel zu viel Mainstream mit keiner Roten linie, ich weiß wirklich nicht wasdas Album ist ziemlich schlecht, das wirlkich einzig gute Lied ist wirklich nur Diamonds und Love Song, die anderen sind eher solalala, es gibt viel zu viel Dance, House, Elctronic und Pop, meiner meinung nach hat das album keinen Sinn, die Lieder sind schlecht geschrieben, und mittelmäßig produziert, es ist auch viel zu viel Mainstream mit keiner Roten linie, ich weiß wirklich nicht was sie mit dem album sagen möchte, es ergibt einfach keinen sinn. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    The now-24-year-old's voice may be simple, but it's distinctive--and as defiant as her album titles.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Even when Unapologetic fails, it often does so in interesting ways.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Sonically, the first half of Unapologetic picks up on the syrupy Southern hip-hop minimalism popular last summer, while much of the latter half is a grab bag of unwieldy balladry.