Unapologetic - Rihanna
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna!
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Too many people are basing this album off of Rihanna's history and situation. This is an amazing album and I'm not saying that because I like her as an artist but because she really gave her all on this album and it shows. She is one of the few rare artists that can create an album with so many sounds and still sound genuine. On this album, she has pop-rock (What Now), torch (Stay), reggae (No Love Allowed), Hip-hop (Phresh Out the Runway), R&B (Jump),80's rock (Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary), disco (Nobodies Business), and even a little bit of jazz (Get It Over With). The problem is too many people are basing this album solely off of the one song with Chris Brown which I think is pretty decent. If this album was by any other artist, there would be no hesitations to call this album of the year. I don't get it. When her voice is weak, they say she needs more power. When she's too innocent, they say she needs an edge. When she sings about sex all the time, she sings more about love. When they say she can't perform live, she blows them away. Now that she's proven how great of artist, people want to point out little petty things like how she doesn't write her own lyrics or her duet with Chris Brown. Not everyone can write their own lyrics and Rihanna is showing that she is a SINGER. And her duet with Chris Brown was spot on, that is NOBODIES BUSINESS but their own. Leave her life out of it ad just enjoy the music for what it is. At the end of the day, I'm glad she is Unapologetic about being herself because God knows people will judge her regardless so even trying to remotely care will only leave her in misery. Expand
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    5
    By far her worst album. Only a few good songs on it like the duet with chris brown and David guetta, the rest are dire!
    Stop Rihanna and come back in a few years time.
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I have to admit that at first listen of this album, I wasn't too impressed but after I went through my day and I realized that I was playing the songs in my head, I had to go back and listen again. Now, the entire album is repeat. Give it another try. Trust me, all of the songs will get to you.
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Riri has done it again. I don't understand all of the negativity with people on this album. Is it because she did a duet with Chris? Anyways, Love without Tragedy is the most beautiful song I have ever heard. I also am in love with What Now, Pour it Up, Jump, No Love Allowed, Diamonds, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise, Get it Over With, Numb, and Phresh Out the Runway. Heck, I love the entire album. Go buy because she definitely deserves #1 for this album. :) Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    I like Rihanna, but her formula is getting stale. It's almost like she's not needed on the project; she's not the engine behind the album. The main figures on this album seems to be the producers and the host of writers employed. She serves up some urban cuts and sappy ballads. She also collaborates with her beloved, convicted domestic abuser Chris Brown on the insulting "Nobodies Business." Overall, 1 or 2 ok tracks and the rest same old, same old. Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    It's actually good, even though it's so easy to hate, especially because of the Chris Brown duet. This album goes back to the dark feel of Rated R, but improves on it. It's moody and a much needed improvement on Talk That Talk. 'Diamonds,' is a great song, but there are so many great songs on it besides that. Though 'Nobody's Business' is a cringe-worthy idea, it's a great song. 'Jump,' 'What Now,' and 'No Love Allowed' are amazing tracks. Of course, the dumb David Guetta pairing is a skip, and 'Phresh Out The Runway' is an easy one to forget. If you need a personal track, just listen to 'Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary,' which is a seven minute epic seemingly all about her abusive relationship with Chris Brown. It's a compelling album and much better than the last two. Give it a shot! Expand
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Moving away from Talk That Talk, Unapologetic is a lot of effort by Rihanna. All the songs have it's story and flow very well when you are listening this album. The album goes in the awesome GGGB, Rated R, Loud collection!
  9. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I don't know what everyone else is hearing but I hear some pretty decent music. I don't really like Rihanna and I can honestly say that she's proven to me that she can make decent music. I don't understand why people are stooping so low by giving her a 0, it isn't that bad. I was going to give her an 8 but now I'm just going to giver her a 10 for that foolishness.
  10. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Well, I particularly liked the album mainly two songs themselves, not thought necessary Rihanna to duet with Chris Brown because she knows very well that he did not have concert. But she wants to think so, going back to review the album will not be a shadow of Rated R but it is good she could have put full songs and not have done that even in Talk That Talk with songs that felt like they were not completed. Could choose their best duets have put artists we know, the album cover could be better but one thing ripening Rihanna piece of symbolism that thing too. "I'll do a review of personnel who speak badly of Rihanna and everything she does is wrong, surely you are fans of Lady Gaga covered band of demons." Simply hit Rihanna in parts this album, some songs back on your first album and some on her fifth album. Expand
  11. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    Very bad album. I like only 4 of the songs - Phresh Off The Runway, Jump, Stay and Right Now. The other tracks are bland and boring. This album is the worst from Rihanna. She is trying to hard to be ghetto while she isn't. She is a POP star and she must embrace it!
  12. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I love this album. It's really different from what she's done before. As usual, this album contains an outstanding variety. This album also continues the trend started in previous albums, since the quality of the music has yet again augmented from her previous release.
  13. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    The reason people are rating this album poorly is because they want songs like "We Found love" or "Only Girl In The World". That's what they expect from Rihanna. This was unexpected and although I love her club bangers, I'm enjoying her refreshing ballads right now. Do your thang baby gurl.
  14. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    What did Rihanna do? The album cover is terrible. The songs on the album are terrible. The lyrics of every song are terrible.. The only listenable song is "Diamonds" (the remix) too much party for rihanna
  15. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    This album is some of Rihanna's best work. Whilst her "thug life" persona still reigns strong, this project is still something we've never heard before. Just like all of her albums, Rihanna's sonic variation spans widely across the album, but this time, it's more than that. Some of the songs really go into uncharted territory for her level of pop supestardom. It goes without saying that probably not every track will be for everyone.. and there are highs and lows. But her brave experimentation is eventually proved very successful. The epic heights of 'Diamonds', the luxury of 'Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary', the beauty of 'Stay', the funk of 'Nobody's Business', the mystery of 'Numb' and the wild 'Jump' are some of the highlights. But the production and music all round is really great.
    Rihanna's lyrical allusions to Chris Brown throughout the album is the only one thing which unfortunately can't be ignored. As if a controversial collaboration with him wasn't enough, for some reason a couple of questionable references to past events seem somewhat... unnecessary.
    That said, Unapologetic should not disappoint anybody with a broad taste and general appreciation of urban pop music, mixed with the best of other genre influences like reggae and EDM.
    Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Rihanna is very sure of herself and seeks deeper songs to express this, we see a dramatic change to his previous album Talk That Talk where she is electric and hyper-active. In this album we can see that Rihanna is returning to its origins as the first albums. This album is phenomenal and we call Rater R 2.0
  17. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    What did Rihanna do?

    Let's just start from the basics. The album cover is terrible. The songs on the album are terrible. The lyrics of every song are terrible. She needs new writers, or to just start writing her songs.

    The only listenable songs are "Diamonds", "Lost in Paradise", and "Nobody's Business". Don't bother buying the rest.
  18. Nov 19, 2012
    4
    This album, like all other Rihanna albums, seems rushed and is full of album fillers. There are two stand out songs, 'Diamond' and 'Half of Me'. Shocking as it may, 'Numb' featuring Eminem is the most disappointing.
  19. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    The unstoppable Rihanna surprise us with this fresh breath of air (again). This isn't better than her previous works, this is different. Let's talk about each track, a bit of advice: forget everything you ever heard from her. Presh off the Runaway: Guetta is in here, and doesn't sound like him. Good, eh?

    Diamond: A new class on pop anthems, don't forget to give credits to the ever
    clever Sia.

    Numb (Feat. Eminem): Sounds more like an Kanye West song, and that's good thing, you'd better forget the pain you've heard from this duo before. A CLUB BANGER.

    Pour it up: Rihanna is kinda rapping here. Loveeeeeee song: Love making song, for real. The beat is hypnotic, and what about that guitar to the end? Sexiest thing.

    Jump: Rihanna is on the Dubstep train, just as she could do: with suggestive lyrics and a great production (Timbaland is also behind this, awesome). This will be banging the clubs too, and yeah, she's playing with ginuwine's pony.

    Right Now (Feat. David Guetta): The amazing duo are back, isn't one of their best, but will make you dance anyway.

    What now: A power ballad, not necessary at all.It feels a lack of cohesion.

    Stay (Feat. Mikky Ekko): Rihanna's best vocals, great lyrics, a piano, and this guy's awesome voice. Also written by Mikky, this song is a relaxing stop on the album.

    Nobody's Business (Feat. Chris Brown): Are you feeling the 90's vibe in this? I'd rather refer to this as "the bomb", great beat, a controversial collab, and defiant lyrics.

    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: Isn't a song with 2 tittles, they are two songs in one. The first, a heartbreak song, with smart references, Marilyn Monroe and James Dean; the second one, a exposure of rihanna's feelings about her career, her life.

    Get over it: Slow it down, again. It tastes like that early 2000's thingy.

    No love allowed: Down-tempo disco hall. this is closer to the end. It's very relaxing that island sense.

    Lost in paradise: Dubstep is here again, in a more blended way. Half Of Me: Isn't better way to end this album, than with a great ballad written by two Adele's (Emeli Sandé and that one who makes you cry with every song, Adkins)

    Rihanna did it again. That's all. Isaac Santos
    Expand
  20. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    too much auto tune going one as she has changed both her appearances and voices many times to keep up with the other artists trying to be something that they are not.
  21. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ela está se superando cada vez mais e assim, esse cd está em uma evolução muito grande, ela está top nas paradas da billboard e merece o reconhecimento, depois de LOUD Riri só vem explodindo na atualidade, pois os antigos são muitos fodas. Expand
  22. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of the singer from Barbados. Diamonds is mature and shows us a new Rihanna. Another song from the album is extraordinary stay showing this maturity. Rihanna did a mature and cohesive album and deserves to be in the spotlight of pop music.
  23. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Although not a perfect album, i appreciate her going away from the typical candy-pop that most other artists make, We all can predict what a Britney and Katy Perry album will sound like. This is unexpected and I love it! "Jump" "Nobody's Business" "Numb" including her new number single "Diamonds" are the albums stand outs.
  24. Nov 21, 2012
    0
    WOW, can't believe that Rihanna will collaborate with a man who abused her and be so nonchalant about it. Her actions are irresponsible and sends the wrong message to her young fans. She should be setting a better example. Other than that, the music doesn't live up to the hype. It doesn't contain any of those anthemic hits that brought her stardom and we've grown to love. Overall very rushed and not many good songs. Disappointed in Rihanna and her music. Expand
  25. Nov 20, 2012
    0
    One of my most anticipated releases this year and I'm left disappointed. "Unapologetic" could of been a great album, but it lacks those BIG dance anthems that Rihanna is known for. Overall very vapid and no artistry whatsoever!
  26. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Love LOve LOVE this album. I can jam, cry, dance, and vibe to this album. Repeat until her next one come out which hopefully is next year lol. Only Rihrih can do an album each year and still have the world sucked in.
  27. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Its just an perfect album. every song on the album is a hit. it shows Rihannas vocal talent in ballades like "What Now" or "Stay" (which are both one of the best Rihanna Songs). Her last big Album was "Rated R and i think "Unapologetic" as well as it. I think the best Tracks on the Album are "What Now" and "Whats Love Without Tragedy"
  28. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    The album is very close to be named perfect.
    'Stay' is her best ballad EVER, 'Mother Mary' is a real grower. And of course, 'Jump' is classic already.
    It's the first Rihanna album I can listen from start to finish without any skipping (maybe just Loveee Song, kinda repetitive). Guetta's Right Now is basic, but will be huge in Europe.
    All other songs from dubstep-urban beginning to the
    ballad-y second half are incredible Expand
  29. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Rihanna is a unique artist. Know merge various musical styles into a single cd and do well in the charts.
    His distinctive voice and his charisma attracted fans from around the world, praised for its beauty, for its life history, and especially for his MUSIC.
    In Unapologetic, Rihanna shows that came to stay. With powerful ballads, and hip hop and urban vein, it shows what is to be a
    versatile artist.
    No wonder it is the most tanned on facebook, and his youtube channel is the most watched in the world.
    Rihanna is the VOICE!
    Expand
  30. Dec 6, 2012
    3
    I just have mixed feelings about this album, I was excited when I purchased this album but with the majority of songs on "Unapologetic" that I listened to, I was disappointed. It didn't appeal to me like the previous albums that she has made e.g "Loud" or "Talk That Talk". "Unapologetic" is certainly not the best album that has been made by R&B star Rihanna. I give her credit that her lead single off her album "Diamonds" was good, but that's the only positive feedback I can give this album. Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    The now-24-year-old's voice may be simple, but it's distinctive--and as defiant as her album titles.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Even when Unapologetic fails, it often does so in interesting ways.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Sonically, the first half of Unapologetic picks up on the syrupy Southern hip-hop minimalism popular last summer, while much of the latter half is a grab bag of unwieldy balladry.