• Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2012
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 418 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2015
    5
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  2. Apr 15, 2015
    6
    Not a bad album, but Rihanna's worst. Like Talk That Talk, there are Chris Brown Fortune-esque ballads on here, but more here. And they're also worse than the ones on Talk That Talk. The production is good, helped by David Guetta, Mike Will Made It, Stargate among others, however Rihanna doesn't have much lyrically, and the ballads are just boring. Grade: B-/C+. Highlights: "Phresh Out theNot a bad album, but Rihanna's worst. Like Talk That Talk, there are Chris Brown Fortune-esque ballads on here, but more here. And they're also worse than the ones on Talk That Talk. The production is good, helped by David Guetta, Mike Will Made It, Stargate among others, however Rihanna doesn't have much lyrically, and the ballads are just boring. Grade: B-/C+. Highlights: "Phresh Out the Runway", "Numb", "Love Without Tragedy". Worst songs: "Nobody's Business", "Stay" Expand
  3. Mar 14, 2015
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Presh Out The Runway 40/100
    Diamonds 90/100
    Numb 30/100
    Pour It Up 70/100
    Loveeeeee Song 30/100
    Jump 100/100
    Right Now 80/100
    What Now 50/100
    Stay 60/100
    Nobody Business 40/100
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary 20/100
    Get It Over With 40/100
    No Love Allowed 30/100
    Lost In Paradise 90/100
    Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    Rihanna could really have done something better, this album sounds like it was done anyway just to be released within one year, I think why the R8 ta taking so long, I hope to be better.
    Highlights: Diamonds and Jump
    Lows: Loveeee Song and Numb
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    5
    This is one of the weakest albums Rihanna made. There are a few standout tracks like Diamonds, Stay and Half of Me but songs like Pour it up is a big disapointment. She needs a break.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    4
    The worst album by her so far. When someone tries to work on so many things at one time [Recording, Dating, Designing clothes, Acting] that comes out with horrible results just hear: "Pour It Up", "Phresh Out The Runaway" and "Loveeeeee Song" and you'll know what i mean. Nobody's Business is the best song on it. But that's not enough to impress the world.
  7. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    I read the reviews then listened to the songs. "One of her worst?" nooo. Not her best but still good. Half of Me, Jump. Diamonds. Phresh Out the Runway, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise. These are good songs whoever said the album is completely terrible. No, it may not be your favorite but this is far from terrible. Rihanna is unique. The lyrics are not like Talk That Talk, Rude Boy, orI read the reviews then listened to the songs. "One of her worst?" nooo. Not her best but still good. Half of Me, Jump. Diamonds. Phresh Out the Runway, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise. These are good songs whoever said the album is completely terrible. No, it may not be your favorite but this is far from terrible. Rihanna is unique. The lyrics are not like Talk That Talk, Rude Boy, or Hard but are still good. The EDM is perfect besides 1 or 3 give or take. Vocally she's good no real direct autotune. Expand
  8. Jul 11, 2013
    4
    Is funny how Rihanna's first number one album in the US could be the worst album in her career. This girl is always making the same things in her songs.
  9. Duu
    May 22, 2013
    4
    The quick and dirty of this album is: There are 14 songs and only four ones worth listening to. "Diamonds" is a classic song of our era (congrats to Rihanna and Sia--the songwriter) The reason I gave this album four is because even though this album has four out of fourteen good songs, "Diamonds" is such an epically well constructed and career defining song, it is the same as having 2 or 3The quick and dirty of this album is: There are 14 songs and only four ones worth listening to. "Diamonds" is a classic song of our era (congrats to Rihanna and Sia--the songwriter) The reason I gave this album four is because even though this album has four out of fourteen good songs, "Diamonds" is such an epically well constructed and career defining song, it is the same as having 2 or 3 good songs on an album. Beyond "Diamonds", the other good songs are "Pour it Up", "Loveeeeeee Song", and "Jump" which recycles/re-imagines Ginuwine's hit song "Pony". Generally speaking, this album is not a complete album and Rihanna should have just released a few singles. Expand
  10. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    This is not Rihanna's best album, but it also is not her worst. The songs at first glance seem generic and rushed, but addictive nonetheless. Several highlights are Nobody's business, No love allowed, and Right Now. The music is decent on this album, although not Rihanna's highlight
  11. Jan 11, 2013
    4
    Rihanna's worst album so far. think she should care more about releasing good albums than an album every year. There are more ballads, unlike most of her previous albums. I liked her new music, but I like her old music better. She tries several different genres in the album, so you will like some songs regardless of your taste. The first few tracks are really stupid, but the rest of theRihanna's worst album so far. think she should care more about releasing good albums than an album every year. There are more ballads, unlike most of her previous albums. I liked her new music, but I like her old music better. She tries several different genres in the album, so you will like some songs regardless of your taste. The first few tracks are really stupid, but the rest of the album is not that bad.
    Track by track review (a little bit long, so I hope you don't fall asleep):
    1. Presh Out The Runway - 0/10 - It just sounds unfinished. Her voice is robotic, the instrumental could have been a lot better, and the lyrics are too stupid and don't make any sense.
    2. Diamonds - 8/10 - I didn't really like it at first, but now I think it's pretty good song. The lyrics in the chorus don't make so much sense (are there any diamonds in the sky?) , but overall it's a good and inspirating song. Slower than most of Rihanna's music.
    3. Numb (feat. Eminem) - 0/10 - Like in "Phresh Out The Runway", Rihanna sounds too robotic, and also Eminem couldn't sound weirder in this song. The lyrics are basically "I'm going numb" repeated several times, which isn't really creative.
    4. Pour It Up - 1/10 - Again, Rihanna sounds robotic and weird. The lyrics are too repetitive, does she really have to repeat "still got my money" in the entire song?
    5. Loveeeeeee Song (feat. Future) - 0/10 - Rihanna sounds too robotic (again?) and Future sounds like he wants to kill you when he should sound romantic.
    6. Jump - 4/10 - One of the few not-so-bad tracks in the album. Rihanna still sounds a bit robotic, but the composition is pretty enjoyable and the lyrics make some sense, except for the "ride it, my pony" part that is just an attempt to talk about sex while keeping the track clean.
    7. Right Now (feat. David Guetta) - 9/10 - Again, a good track in the album. A good and fun beat and lyrics that actually make sense. Best track in the album.
    8. What Now - 7/10 - Nice and unexpected ballad, even though she sounds different from usual. Again, a good track in the album. Slower than most of her songs, which is not really a bad thing in this case.
    9. Stay (feat. Mikky Ekko) - 6/10 - Good track, but I didn't really like some of Rihanna's parts, even though it's her song. Mikky Ekko really makes it better. Quite enjoyable if you like ballads.
    10. Nobody's Business (feat. Chris Brown) - 8/10 - Even though Chris Brown sounds a bit annoying in this song, it's a pretty good and fun song. The composition is great for the parties, and I really think the lyrics are about some of Rihanna's life.
    11. Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary - 7/10 - The song is good. The lyrics are sad, but what's a ballad without sad lyrics? It's like "Titanic", you feel sad watching/listening to it but you like it anyway.
    12. Get It Over With - 2/10 - Streak of good songs successfully broken. Her voice doesn't fit the lyrics, and the metaphor about "floating in the clouds" doesn't make any sense. The composition is not so bad though.
    13. No Love Allowed - 3/10 - The composition is not so good, but the lyrics do make some sense, except for some parts like "911, it's a critical emergency yeah, run run run" that don't really have much to do with dangerous love the rest of the song describes.
    14. Lost In Paradise - 8/10 - One of the best tracks in the album. Not a slow ballad, but not really a dance track. Different from anything Rihanna's ever released. Not quite sure how to describe it.
    Expand
  12. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    Rhianna had already been a great pop artist. Some of her songs are in the group of the best in the business. However this newest Rhianna's album is uninteresting and even boring. The album contains a bunch of collaborations, that in my opinion were not very well succeeded. The only very good song of Unapologetic is for me, Diamonds. And Rhianna not even wrote it, it was Sia. So, I think isRhianna had already been a great pop artist. Some of her songs are in the group of the best in the business. However this newest Rhianna's album is uninteresting and even boring. The album contains a bunch of collaborations, that in my opinion were not very well succeeded. The only very good song of Unapologetic is for me, Diamonds. And Rhianna not even wrote it, it was Sia. So, I think is starting to lose her music skills. Is true that she is the most regular artist in music (7 albums in 7 years), but I think that she should take more time with the creation of an album, and make a better one that the last ones that she made. I know that she is able to create great songs, she just needs more time. Expand
  13. Dec 10, 2012
    6
    I was dissapointed in this album. some songs were worth listening too such as What Now, Stay, Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary. The rest is okay. Rihanna needs to stop making an album every year and work on better productions and better lyrics instead of trying to hurry and release her albums
  14. Nov 30, 2012
    5
    Sexual lyrics as usual, deteriorated vocals..... mixed review only for the dance singles for Diamonds, Jump Right now. So I guess it is her highest peak....
  15. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    She writes none of her own music, enough said. Though many artists don't I just cannot believe that someone so "talent" cannot make an attempt to write their own music. I guess I just miss the days when music was something personal to every artist and bands created everything on their own.
  16. Nov 27, 2012
    5
    Almost all are like fillers and have been rushed. nothing stuck in my head except diamonds and stay. A compilation of rejected album songs...MIXED to NEGATIVE...LOUD, TALK THAT TALK & GOOD GIRL GONE BAD are the best
  17. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    Of all songs on Rihanna's album, I liked only two - Lost In Paradise and Stay, all the others were just forced with sounds and her emotions. Although the song Fool In Love from her Loud album is also forced with emotions, she did that song absolutely perfectly, but the one - Nobody's Business - was just too much. Lost In Paradise was absolutely gorgeous, I enjoyed listening to that song,Of all songs on Rihanna's album, I liked only two - Lost In Paradise and Stay, all the others were just forced with sounds and her emotions. Although the song Fool In Love from her Loud album is also forced with emotions, she did that song absolutely perfectly, but the one - Nobody's Business - was just too much. Lost In Paradise was absolutely gorgeous, I enjoyed listening to that song, it has rhythm, positive vibrations and just feels good... I would love that Rihanna makes songs like Lost In Paradise or Stay, they are perfect, all the others are awfull... My overall rating for this album is 4. Expand
  18. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    pitchfork give only 4.5, ouch. so Unapologetic is album without vision or idea. tired of dubstep , reggie, or Guetta sounds 3 albums in a row.. boring. maybe 2 or 3 songs I like only
  19. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds: Her lead single was really good. I expected a lot of David Guetta but her producers made a really good single. Nice Work! 9/10 Numb: Ok, Eminems part is tooo short. If you want a "Love the Way you lie - Feeling", you are wrong. 5/10 Pour it up:
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds: Her lead single was really good. I expected a lot of David Guetta but her producers made a really good single. Nice Work! 9/10
    Numb: Ok, Eminems part is tooo short. If you want a "Love the Way you lie - Feeling", you are wrong. 5/10
    Pour it up: oookay Rihanna and producers. Use different beats,please.... 3/10
    Loveeeeeee Song: I don't know that guy and i don't like this voice but Rihanna's part is really cool. 7/10
    Jump: Okay, but thats all 5/10
    Right Now: I want to be honest.Right Now, i get headache. 1/10
    What Now: A cool song but she cries a little to much. This song has energy!! 7/10
    Stay: Amazing. Do it just like that. You don't need David Guetta trash. 10/10
    Nobody's Business: I don't like Chris Brown but this song is danceable. 6/10
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: 7 minutes, a loooong song but not the highlight (which is Stay). 5/10
    Get over it: Yeah Rihanna, Thats your style! 9/10
    No Love Allowed. Your dance hall carrier is over. Too sad. 6/10
    Lost in Paradise: Power full and danceable 8/10
    Final points: 5.8 --> 6 points. Her last album "Talk That Talk" received 3 points... You're getting better Rihanna
    Expand
  20. Nov 21, 2012
    5
    By far her worst album. Only a few good songs on it like the duet with chris brown and David guetta, the rest are dire!
    Stop Rihanna and come back in a few years time.
  21. Nov 19, 2012
    4
    This album, like all other Rihanna albums, seems rushed and is full of album fillers. There are two stand out songs, 'Diamond' and 'Half of Me'. Shocking as it may, 'Numb' featuring Eminem is the most disappointing.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    The now-24-year-old's voice may be simple, but it's distinctive--and as defiant as her album titles.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Even when Unapologetic fails, it often does so in interesting ways.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Sonically, the first half of Unapologetic picks up on the syrupy Southern hip-hop minimalism popular last summer, while much of the latter half is a grab bag of unwieldy balladry.