Unapologetic - Rihanna
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 368 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    Definitely not the best RiRi album, but not the worst either. Maybe it's just I'm so used to Rihanna's voice. But she definitely released the wrong songs. She should have released "What Now" and "Lost In Paradise".
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    7
    Although it's certainly no Good Girl Gone Bad, Unapologetic 'unapologetically' matures Rihanna in terms of music production and lyrically aims at pissing off the media and many mom with its 'unapologetic' subject matter, with songs such as "Numb"; although obscure, the Barbian songstress confesses that she is so high, she's "going numb", which makes for an ear magnet (especially for theAlthough it's certainly no Good Girl Gone Bad, Unapologetic 'unapologetically' matures Rihanna in terms of music production and lyrically aims at pissing off the media and many mom with its 'unapologetic' subject matter, with songs such as "Numb"; although obscure, the Barbian songstress confesses that she is so high, she's "going numb", which makes for an ear magnet (especially for the listeners 'under the influence' and features the king of controversy in hip-hop and previous collaborator Eminem. While drug abuse, fame, and fortune are many risqué moments as well, its most explicit is its graphic confession of her lingering love for ex-boyfriend (and 'Rude Boy' if you will) Chris Brown(which has all but withered now). The two even collaborate on the Michael Jackson-tinged song "Nobody's Business". Whether you like it or not, it's there and it's raw. In general, Unapologetic has the bass bumpin' beats and heart throbbing ballads to balance itself evenly between the two and although it's missing the ensemble of potential hit-singles previous efforts held, there should be at least one song for everyone thanks to its diversity in production. Expand
  3. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    Since "Rated R", Rihanna wasn't so deep with her albums, but with "Unapologetic" she really came back to the darkness more powerful than all!

    Songs like "Stay", "What Now", "Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary", "Loveeeeeee Song" and "Half of Me" remind that brave Rihanna who really has so much to scream to the world, with so many hurts and tears. By the way, sings like "Pour It Up",
    Since "Rated R", Rihanna wasn't so deep with her albums, but with "Unapologetic" she really came back to the darkness more powerful than all!

    Songs like "Stay", "What Now", "Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary", "Loveeeeeee Song" and "Half of Me" remind that brave Rihanna who really has so much to scream to the world, with so many hurts and tears.

    By the way, sings like "Pour It Up", "Jump" and "Phresh Out The Runway" made her a luxury woman that just wanna have fun and show her money.

    Rihanna is amazing and "Unapologetic" too! I was really impressed with it. ♥
    Expand
  4. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    Rihanna could really have done something better, this album sounds like it was done anyway just to be released within one year, I think why the R8 ta taking so long, I hope to be better.
    Highlights: Diamonds and Jump
    Lows: Loveeee Song and Numb
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    2
    I Love Rihanna! LOUD And Talk That Talk Were Perfect Albums! This Album Is By Far Rihanna's Worst! There Are So Many Things Wrong With This Album But Dubstep Is The Main Issue! Vocally Rihanna Is Still Here Though... Diamond, Stay And Mother Marry Are Great Song... The Rest Belong In A Strip Club's Trash Can.. As A MEGA Fan I'm Really Sad That This Album Sucked!
  6. Nov 1, 2013
    3
    When diamonds first came out, I liked it but I thought it was a little bland. So when I heard an album of even blander songs, I was bored to death. In addition to that, half the songs sound like generic rap songs that every other artist does. What happened to Rihanna from the past?
  7. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums by Rihanna, if you go back to her first album in 2005, you will see how Rihanna has evolved!! This album is just as good as Loud. This album may be rushed but it doesn't defeat the fact that she releases good music. Very diverse!!
  8. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    This is her 7th album and in such a short amount of time its crazy to think she can accomplish so much. It's not her best but it definitely has enough hits on there to last her 'til the next one comes out.
  9. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    "Unapologetic" is a huge mixed bag off pop, R&B, dubstep, electronic music and soft tunes, which has given comparisons off her 2007 album 'Rated R'. I mean, really does it need reference? its sounds like that album [...] Rihanna has brought a demure and confident collection off songs since "Rated R", but she sounds so confused and lost in the lyrical depth and its meanings... maybe"Unapologetic" is a huge mixed bag off pop, R&B, dubstep, electronic music and soft tunes, which has given comparisons off her 2007 album 'Rated R'. I mean, really does it need reference? its sounds like that album [...] Rihanna has brought a demure and confident collection off songs since "Rated R", but she sounds so confused and lost in the lyrical depth and its meanings... maybe something less explicit and uneven next time. But, its sure a hit." Expand
  10. May 25, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Unapologetic" Uma Porcaria Rihanna Mal Acaba De Fazer "Talk That Talk" Em 2011 Que Já Um Disco Muito Ruim Com Turnê,Três Videos E Lança Um Apenas Um Ano Depois Fora Que Tem Uns 3 Meses De Shows Mais 1 Mês De Video Do Cd "Talk That Talk" Claro Que Não Ia Sair Um Disco Bom Só Tem Duas Músicas Boas Diamonds E What Now Mas Nem Essas Duas Salvou O Disco.
    E Stay,Lost In Paradise E Right Now Mediano E O Resto Insuportável
    Expand
  11. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    Well, Rihanna is back again. This time though, releasing an album which is surprisingly personal, dissing fans and critics that criticised her on again and off again relationship to her abusive beau, Chris Brown. Much better than her previous album last year, the pop diva storms the chart with one of her best singles yet, 'Diamonds'. While the rest of the songs don't live up to thisWell, Rihanna is back again. This time though, releasing an album which is surprisingly personal, dissing fans and critics that criticised her on again and off again relationship to her abusive beau, Chris Brown. Much better than her previous album last year, the pop diva storms the chart with one of her best singles yet, 'Diamonds'. While the rest of the songs don't live up to this single, it is a good effort from one of the more popular singers out there. Expand
  12. Duu
    May 22, 2013
    4
    The quick and dirty of this album is: There are 14 songs and only four ones worth listening to. "Diamonds" is a classic song of our era (congrats to Rihanna and Sia--the songwriter) The reason I gave this album four is because even though this album has four out of fourteen good songs, "Diamonds" is such an epically well constructed and career defining song, it is the same as having 2 or 3The quick and dirty of this album is: There are 14 songs and only four ones worth listening to. "Diamonds" is a classic song of our era (congrats to Rihanna and Sia--the songwriter) The reason I gave this album four is because even though this album has four out of fourteen good songs, "Diamonds" is such an epically well constructed and career defining song, it is the same as having 2 or 3 good songs on an album. Beyond "Diamonds", the other good songs are "Pour it Up", "Loveeeeeee Song", and "Jump" which recycles/re-imagines Ginuwine's hit song "Pony". Generally speaking, this album is not a complete album and Rihanna should have just released a few singles. Expand
  13. Dec 15, 2012
    5
    Rhianna had already been a great pop artist. Some of her songs are in the group of the best in the business. However this newest Rhianna's album is uninteresting and even boring. The album contains a bunch of collaborations, that in my opinion were not very well succeeded. The only very good song of Unapologetic is for me, Diamonds. And Rhianna not even wrote it, it was Sia. So, I think isRhianna had already been a great pop artist. Some of her songs are in the group of the best in the business. However this newest Rhianna's album is uninteresting and even boring. The album contains a bunch of collaborations, that in my opinion were not very well succeeded. The only very good song of Unapologetic is for me, Diamonds. And Rhianna not even wrote it, it was Sia. So, I think is starting to lose her music skills. Is true that she is the most regular artist in music (7 albums in 7 years), but I think that she should take more time with the creation of an album, and make a better one that the last ones that she made. I know that she is able to create great songs, she just needs more time. Expand
  14. May 12, 2013
    9
    This totally slays all over Talk That Talk. This album is really great! Pour It Up, Stay, Diamonds and Nobody's Buisness Numb and Jump are the best tracks on the album. Great album!
  15. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    A plethora of lewd and loud anthems flourish in a minefield. Following in the footsteps of Talk That Talk, Unapologetic shuffles through the mix with Diamonds among thorns. There are five tracks too many here, that are incidentally placed in the album's heart. If the thorns were removed, a cohesive project of perfection rivaling Rated R is hiding in the shadows. But with thorns in theA plethora of lewd and loud anthems flourish in a minefield. Following in the footsteps of Talk That Talk, Unapologetic shuffles through the mix with Diamonds among thorns. There are five tracks too many here, that are incidentally placed in the album's heart. If the thorns were removed, a cohesive project of perfection rivaling Rated R is hiding in the shadows. But with thorns in the heart, Unapologetic suffers from bloated filler. Collapse
  16. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    Rihanna turns to a variety of producers on Unapologetic (David Guetta, StarGate, Benny Blanco, The Dream, etc.) in order to create a newer and less generic sound, and in all honesty, it works. While Unapologetic is in no way her revelation album, it is certainly darker and more elemental than any of her previous works, featuring infectious mid-tempo moments like "Diamonds" ("We're likeRihanna turns to a variety of producers on Unapologetic (David Guetta, StarGate, Benny Blanco, The Dream, etc.) in order to create a newer and less generic sound, and in all honesty, it works. While Unapologetic is in no way her revelation album, it is certainly darker and more elemental than any of her previous works, featuring infectious mid-tempo moments like "Diamonds" ("We're like diamonds in the sky") that show a side to Rihanna's vocals that we've never heard before, while also incorporating cinematic and vulnerable moments such as "Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary", which has contributions by The-Dream, who is known for a line-up of hit singles. Unapologetic is mainly influenced by hip-hop, EDM and dubstep genres without sounding like every pop album on the charts this year; "Right Now" featuring David Guetta comes off as formulaic, but in the end, it'll have everyone in the club jumping and singing along, which has always been Guetta's goal. In "Numb", Rihanna sings quietly over a gloomy bass about glamorizing the euphoria from drug use whilst Eminem joins in with one of the funniest lines of 2012 ("I'm the butt police and I'm looking at your rear, rear, rear!"). If you're looking for vulnerability, you're gonna have to wait. However, if it is viewed in pure entertainment, it's one of the greatest pop albums of the year. Expand
  17. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds: Her lead single was really good. I expected a lot of David Guetta but her producers made a really good single. Nice Work! 9/10 Numb: Ok, Eminems part is tooo short. If you want a "Love the Way you lie - Feeling", you are wrong. 5/10 Pour it up:
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds: Her lead single was really good. I expected a lot of David Guetta but her producers made a really good single. Nice Work! 9/10
    Numb: Ok, Eminems part is tooo short. If you want a "Love the Way you lie - Feeling", you are wrong. 5/10
    Pour it up: oookay Rihanna and producers. Use different beats,please.... 3/10
    Loveeeeeee Song: I don't know that guy and i don't like this voice but Rihanna's part is really cool. 7/10
    Jump: Okay, but thats all 5/10
    Right Now: I want to be honest.Right Now, i get headache. 1/10
    What Now: A cool song but she cries a little to much. This song has energy!! 7/10
    Stay: Amazing. Do it just like that. You don't need David Guetta trash. 10/10
    Nobody's Business: I don't like Chris Brown but this song is danceable. 6/10
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: 7 minutes, a loooong song but not the highlight (which is Stay). 5/10
    Get over it: Yeah Rihanna, Thats your style! 9/10
    No Love Allowed. Your dance hall carrier is over. Too sad. 6/10
    Lost in Paradise: Power full and danceable 8/10
    Final points: 5.8 --> 6 points. Her last album "Talk That Talk" received 3 points... You're getting better Rihanna
    Expand
  18. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    I like Rihanna, but her formula is getting stale. It's almost like she's not needed on the project; she's not the engine behind the album. The main figures on this album seems to be the producers and the host of writers employed. She serves up some urban cuts and sappy ballads. She also collaborates with her beloved, convicted domestic abuser Chris Brown on the insulting "NobodiesI like Rihanna, but her formula is getting stale. It's almost like she's not needed on the project; she's not the engine behind the album. The main figures on this album seems to be the producers and the host of writers employed. She serves up some urban cuts and sappy ballads. She also collaborates with her beloved, convicted domestic abuser Chris Brown on the insulting "Nobodies Business." Overall, 1 or 2 ok tracks and the rest same old, same old. Expand
  19. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    What did Rihanna do? The album cover is terrible. The songs on the album are terrible. The lyrics of every song are terrible.. The only listenable song is "Diamonds" (the remix) too much party for rihanna
  20. Nov 27, 2012
    7
    Seventh Album, Seventh Year, Seventh? Anyway Rihanna brings 'Unapologetic' which sheds light and draws influences from her Fourth album 'Rated R' and Sixth 'Talk That Talk.' Personally I think that it is much more developed than her last, but not as good as her others. It has heavy-influences from EDM, Dub-step and Hip Hop and is her most diverse album to date. I loved how Rihanna put herSeventh Album, Seventh Year, Seventh? Anyway Rihanna brings 'Unapologetic' which sheds light and draws influences from her Fourth album 'Rated R' and Sixth 'Talk That Talk.' Personally I think that it is much more developed than her last, but not as good as her others. It has heavy-influences from EDM, Dub-step and Hip Hop and is her most diverse album to date. I loved how Rihanna put her musical style together on this album and probably this could be the end of Rihanna's ritual of releasing new s**t every November. Maybe she'll take a break (two years at the least). But saying that she'll probably release again in a year's time. Expand
  21. Dec 23, 2012
    1
    Rihanna Has Proven In The Past To Make Good Albums (Loud, And Talk That Talk)
    But Sadly This Album Is By Far A Major Low Point In Her Music Carrer.. If Every Song Was Like Diamonds And Mother Marry I Would Give It A 10! I Only Liked Two Songs, I'm Being Very Harsh Because She Can Do So Much Better!
  22. Jan 15, 2013
    0
    I miss when Rihanna knew how to make great songs and great albuns like " Loud " , " Rated R " ,Unapologetic is so disapointing . The songs don't have any feeling is just electronical sounds , she should stop for a while and make good albuns like she used to.
  23. Apr 11, 2013
    3
    I dont know what Rihanna is thinking trying to release a full length album every year. Her quality has gone WAY down even since the release of "Loud" her last good record. There are only two good songs on this album, "Stay" and "Diamonds". I feel she needs to talk a good 2-3 years and work on the QUALITY of her music again and not just worry about the quantity that she releases.
  24. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    I read the reviews then listened to the songs. "One of her worst?" nooo. Not her best but still good. Half of Me, Jump. Diamonds. Phresh Out the Runway, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise. These are good songs whoever said the album is completely terrible. No, it may not be your favorite but this is far from terrible. Rihanna is unique. The lyrics are not like Talk That Talk, Rude Boy, orI read the reviews then listened to the songs. "One of her worst?" nooo. Not her best but still good. Half of Me, Jump. Diamonds. Phresh Out the Runway, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise. These are good songs whoever said the album is completely terrible. No, it may not be your favorite but this is far from terrible. Rihanna is unique. The lyrics are not like Talk That Talk, Rude Boy, or Hard but are still good. The EDM is perfect besides 1 or 3 give or take. Vocally she's good no real direct autotune. Expand
  25. Sep 11, 2013
    4
    The worst album by her so far. When someone tries to work on so many things at one time [Recording, Dating, Designing clothes, Acting] that comes out with horrible results just hear: "Pour It Up", "Phresh Out The Runaway" and "Loveeeeee Song" and you'll know what i mean. Nobody's Business is the best song on it. But that's not enough to impress the world.
  26. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Even if heavy synths of "Phresh Out The Runway" aren't the best way to open the album, I have to admit, that "Unapologetic" is a perfect album. Promoted by two amazing pop soul ballads ("Diamonds" and "Stay"), chilled-out hip hop song ("Pour It Up") and a monster Guetta collab ("Right Now") it's ready to become the greatest album of 2013. From sweet-love R&B song "Loveeeeeee Song",Even if heavy synths of "Phresh Out The Runway" aren't the best way to open the album, I have to admit, that "Unapologetic" is a perfect album. Promoted by two amazing pop soul ballads ("Diamonds" and "Stay"), chilled-out hip hop song ("Pour It Up") and a monster Guetta collab ("Right Now") it's ready to become the greatest album of 2013. From sweet-love R&B song "Loveeeeeee Song", through the dubstep "Jump", most epic song Rihanna ever made "Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary and reggae breakup record "No Love Allowed" to the deluxe edition only "Half Of Me" this album is almost flawless (excluding Chris Brown's unnecesary guest verse in "Nobody's Business"). It's definitely my favourite album of all-time.

    10 out of 10
    Expand
  27. Jul 11, 2013
    4
    Is funny how Rihanna's first number one album in the US could be the worst album in her career. This girl is always making the same things in her songs.
  28. Nov 19, 2012
    0
    too much auto tune going one as she has changed both her appearances and voices many times to keep up with the other artists trying to be something that they are not.
  29. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of her best, if not the best. The mix of sounds does not affect the cohesion at all. She seems to have found her niche with this. Well done.
  30. Nov 26, 2012
    6
    pitchfork give only 4.5, ouch. so Unapologetic is album without vision or idea. tired of dubstep , reggie, or Guetta sounds 3 albums in a row.. boring. maybe 2 or 3 songs I like only
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    The now-24-year-old's voice may be simple, but it's distinctive--and as defiant as her album titles.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Even when Unapologetic fails, it often does so in interesting ways.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Sonically, the first half of Unapologetic picks up on the syrupy Southern hip-hop minimalism popular last summer, while much of the latter half is a grab bag of unwieldy balladry.