Unapologetic

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Nov 19, 2012
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 558 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2013
    10
    Her best album to be honest. It experiments with electropop, R&B, club music and more, with catchy dance songs like Right Now and Lost In Paradise, urban tracks like Fresh Off The Runway and Pour It Up, ballads like Diamonds, What Now and Stay, reggae in No Love Allowed, retro in Nobody's Business and experimental tracks like Numb and Jump. The album truly delivers, it takes the listenerHer best album to be honest. It experiments with electropop, R&B, club music and more, with catchy dance songs like Right Now and Lost In Paradise, urban tracks like Fresh Off The Runway and Pour It Up, ballads like Diamonds, What Now and Stay, reggae in No Love Allowed, retro in Nobody's Business and experimental tracks like Numb and Jump. The album truly delivers, it takes the listener on a journey. Rated R was her best album until this one. Expand
  2. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I can't believe in some reviews that I read.."Her actions are irresponsible and sends the wrong message to her young fans" was the worst I think..YOU WHO WRITE THIS, KNOW WHAT MESSAGE RIHANNA SENDS TO HER YOUNG FANS WITH HER ACTIONS? THE MESSAGE OF FORGIVENESS AND LOVE! JUST THAT! You idiot fans who give 0 because Rihanna did make a music of Chris Brown...oh God..I'll stop here.About theI can't believe in some reviews that I read.."Her actions are irresponsible and sends the wrong message to her young fans" was the worst I think..YOU WHO WRITE THIS, KNOW WHAT MESSAGE RIHANNA SENDS TO HER YOUNG FANS WITH HER ACTIONS? THE MESSAGE OF FORGIVENESS AND LOVE! JUST THAT! You idiot fans who give 0 because Rihanna did make a music of Chris Brown...oh God..I'll stop here.About the album,incredible! Amazing vocals,a lot of genres,amazing musics...one of her best albuns. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Moving away from Talk That Talk, Unapologetic is a lot of effort by Rihanna. All the songs have it's story and flow very well when you are listening this album. The album goes in the awesome GGGB, Rated R, Loud collection!
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Too many people are basing this album off of Rihanna's history and situation. This is an amazing album and I'm not saying that because I like her as an artist but because she really gave her all on this album and it shows. She is one of the few rare artists that can create an album with so many sounds and still sound genuine. On this album, she has pop-rock (What Now), torch (Stay), reggaeToo many people are basing this album off of Rihanna's history and situation. This is an amazing album and I'm not saying that because I like her as an artist but because she really gave her all on this album and it shows. She is one of the few rare artists that can create an album with so many sounds and still sound genuine. On this album, she has pop-rock (What Now), torch (Stay), reggae (No Love Allowed), Hip-hop (Phresh Out the Runway), R&B (Jump),80's rock (Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary), disco (Nobodies Business), and even a little bit of jazz (Get It Over With). The problem is too many people are basing this album solely off of the one song with Chris Brown which I think is pretty decent. If this album was by any other artist, there would be no hesitations to call this album of the year. I don't get it. When her voice is weak, they say she needs more power. When she's too innocent, they say she needs an edge. When she sings about sex all the time, she sings more about love. When they say she can't perform live, she blows them away. Now that she's proven how great of artist, people want to point out little petty things like how she doesn't write her own lyrics or her duet with Chris Brown. Not everyone can write their own lyrics and Rihanna is showing that she is a SINGER. And her duet with Chris Brown was spot on, that is NOBODIES BUSINESS but their own. Leave her life out of it ad just enjoy the music for what it is. At the end of the day, I'm glad she is Unapologetic about being herself because God knows people will judge her regardless so even trying to remotely care will only leave her in misery. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I love this album. It's really different from what she's done before. As usual, this album contains an outstanding variety. This album also continues the trend started in previous albums, since the quality of the music has yet again augmented from her previous release.
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna!
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I have to admit that at first listen of this album, I wasn't too impressed but after I went through my day and I realized that I was playing the songs in my head, I had to go back and listen again. Now, the entire album is repeat. Give it another try. Trust me, all of the songs will get to you.
  8. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    I don't know what everyone else is hearing but I hear some pretty decent music. I don't really like Rihanna and I can honestly say that she's proven to me that she can make decent music. I don't understand why people are stooping so low by giving her a 0, it isn't that bad. I was going to give her an 8 but now I'm just going to giver her a 10 for that foolishness.
  9. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Riri has done it again. I don't understand all of the negativity with people on this album. Is it because she did a duet with Chris? Anyways, Love without Tragedy is the most beautiful song I have ever heard. I also am in love with What Now, Pour it Up, Jump, No Love Allowed, Diamonds, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise, Get it Over With, Numb, and Phresh Out the Runway. Heck, I love theRiri has done it again. I don't understand all of the negativity with people on this album. Is it because she did a duet with Chris? Anyways, Love without Tragedy is the most beautiful song I have ever heard. I also am in love with What Now, Pour it Up, Jump, No Love Allowed, Diamonds, Stay, Right Now, Lost in Paradise, Get it Over With, Numb, and Phresh Out the Runway. Heck, I love the entire album. Go buy because she definitely deserves #1 for this album. :) Expand
  10. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    The reason people are rating this album poorly is because they want songs like "We Found love" or "Only Girl In The World". That's what they expect from Rihanna. This was unexpected and although I love her club bangers, I'm enjoying her refreshing ballads right now. Do your thang baby gurl.
  11. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Love LOve LOVE this album. I can jam, cry, dance, and vibe to this album. Repeat until her next one come out which hopefully is next year lol. Only Rihrih can do an album each year and still have the world sucked in.
  12. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Its just an perfect album. every song on the album is a hit. it shows Rihannas vocal talent in ballades like "What Now" or "Stay" (which are both one of the best Rihanna Songs). Her last big Album was "Rated R and i think "Unapologetic" as well as it. I think the best Tracks on the Album are "What Now" and "Whats Love Without Tragedy"
  13. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    The album is very close to be named perfect.
    'Stay' is her best ballad EVER, 'Mother Mary' is a real grower. And of course, 'Jump' is classic already.
    It's the first Rihanna album I can listen from start to finish without any skipping (maybe just Loveee Song, kinda repetitive). Guetta's Right Now is basic, but will be huge in Europe. All other songs from dubstep-urban beginning to the
    The album is very close to be named perfect.
    'Stay' is her best ballad EVER, 'Mother Mary' is a real grower. And of course, 'Jump' is classic already.
    It's the first Rihanna album I can listen from start to finish without any skipping (maybe just Loveee Song, kinda repetitive). Guetta's Right Now is basic, but will be huge in Europe.
    All other songs from dubstep-urban beginning to the ballad-y second half are incredible
    Expand
  14. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Rihanna is very sure of herself and seeks deeper songs to express this, we see a dramatic change to his previous album Talk That Talk where she is electric and hyper-active. In this album we can see that Rihanna is returning to its origins as the first albums. This album is phenomenal and we call Rater R 2.0
  15. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Rihanna is a unique artist. Know merge various musical styles into a single cd and do well in the charts.
    His distinctive voice and his charisma attracted fans from around the world, praised for its beauty, for its life history, and especially for his MUSIC.
    In Unapologetic, Rihanna shows that came to stay. With powerful ballads, and hip hop and urban vein, it shows what is to be a
    Rihanna is a unique artist. Know merge various musical styles into a single cd and do well in the charts.
    His distinctive voice and his charisma attracted fans from around the world, praised for its beauty, for its life history, and especially for his MUSIC.
    In Unapologetic, Rihanna shows that came to stay. With powerful ballads, and hip hop and urban vein, it shows what is to be a versatile artist.
    No wonder it is the most tanned on facebook, and his youtube channel is the most watched in the world.
    Rihanna is the VOICE!
    Expand
  16. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ela está se superando cada vez mais e assim, esse cd está em uma evolução muito grande, ela está top nas paradas da billboard e merece o reconhecimento, depois de LOUD Riri só vem explodindo na atualidade, pois os antigos são muitos fodas. Expand
  17. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Well, I particularly liked the album mainly two songs themselves, not thought necessary Rihanna to duet with Chris Brown because she knows very well that he did not have concert. But she wants to think so, going back to review the album will not be a shadow of Rated R but it is good she could have put full songs and not have done that even in Talk That Talk with songs that felt like theyWell, I particularly liked the album mainly two songs themselves, not thought necessary Rihanna to duet with Chris Brown because she knows very well that he did not have concert. But she wants to think so, going back to review the album will not be a shadow of Rated R but it is good she could have put full songs and not have done that even in Talk That Talk with songs that felt like they were not completed. Could choose their best duets have put artists we know, the album cover could be better but one thing ripening Rihanna piece of symbolism that thing too. "I'll do a review of personnel who speak badly of Rihanna and everything she does is wrong, surely you are fans of Lady Gaga covered band of demons." Simply hit Rihanna in parts this album, some songs back on your first album and some on her fifth album. Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of the singer from Barbados. Diamonds is mature and shows us a new Rihanna. Another song from the album is extraordinary stay showing this maturity. Rihanna did a mature and cohesive album and deserves to be in the spotlight of pop music.
  19. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Unapologetic is amazing love song's Love Vocal Love All Rihanna is a Really DIVA Unapologetic is perfec love love loveeee LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE Ririh Queen
  20. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    I'm surprised the reviews aren't better. This is her best album by far. "Diamonds" is already a #1 smash and "Jump" and "Right Now" are future #1's.
  21. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    Although not a perfect album, i appreciate her going away from the typical candy-pop that most other artists make, We all can predict what a Britney and Katy Perry album will sound like. This is unexpected and I love it! "Jump" "Nobody's Business" "Numb" including her new number single "Diamonds" are the albums stand outs.
  22. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This album is probably one of her best. It has a wide range of genres in it. You have the slow, beautiful ballad "Stay" which really highlights Rihanna's vocals. Then you have the heavy dance track "Right Now" which has a dark twist to it. Standout tracks would have to be "Stay" and "Phresh out the Runway". Phresh is Rihanna at her best and shows how bad ass she is. Love the album
  23. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unlike Rihanna waited behind a new concept in Unapologetic compared to their last albums.
    Of course it contains some cliches to please the audience, the more the essence is the most notable.
    Rihanna shows a remorseless complete in all respects.
    Expand
  24. Nov 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is amazing, its not as good as Loud, but to be honest i really dont think she'll ever make an album like that again. If you are looking for the future billboard hits check all the songs from track 7 they are marvelous. However, my favorite songs on the album are track 11 and 15.
    My advice to anyone is to buy the album.
    Expand
  25. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Rih prepares the start of her most powerful era yet as Unapologetic reigns supreme, raising the bar even higher this year, setting standards for pop music at its highest level yet. Taking a whole new take on EDM, Rihanna list's some of the top producers under her belt this time around, as we are blown away by the albums opening track 'Phresh Out The Runway' as we get the change to seeRih prepares the start of her most powerful era yet as Unapologetic reigns supreme, raising the bar even higher this year, setting standards for pop music at its highest level yet. Taking a whole new take on EDM, Rihanna list's some of the top producers under her belt this time around, as we are blown away by the albums opening track 'Phresh Out The Runway' as we get the change to see Rihanna experiment with electronic and Hip Hop on the same track... Impressive for a pop artist. Songs such as Diamonds and Stay easily let us relate to the project as they are the ones we know and love. Songs such as 'Jump' 'Lost In Paradise' and 'No Love Aloud' give the album a more fun, inspiring, up-tempo tone, setting the album apart from old favourites such as TTT, Loud and Rated R. Overall a great project from the Barbados-raised superstar, leaving us wanting more. Just what will Rih do next...? Expand
  26. Jun 5, 2013
    10
    Unapologetic is one of the Rihanna's best albums and consequently one of the best albums of 2012, this is because of a range of factors: There are a wide range of genres used such as pop, rock, and even frequent dubstep/baseline breaks in some of her songs. It reveals Rihanna's soft side in songs such as ''Stay'' and ''Loveeee song'', and ''Diamonds'' as well as playing up her 'Bad' girlUnapologetic is one of the Rihanna's best albums and consequently one of the best albums of 2012, this is because of a range of factors: There are a wide range of genres used such as pop, rock, and even frequent dubstep/baseline breaks in some of her songs. It reveals Rihanna's soft side in songs such as ''Stay'' and ''Loveeee song'', and ''Diamonds'' as well as playing up her 'Bad' girl attitude in songs such as ''Phresh out the runway'' and ''Pour it up''. Almost every song in this album is fantastic and on a very high level, she used a range of featured artist including the fan favorite Eminem. The only problem with this album is that it is very addictive. Expand
  27. Mar 2, 2013
    10
    Amazing. Simply amazing. It has songs for every taste -pop, r&b, dubstep etc. The album cover looks great and I can't find a song that is bad. Well done, rih! #navy.
  28. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I think this is one of her best album. 100% better than Talk That Talk. This is album is very emotiona and different. This album is my drug, except some song, it super!
  29. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    "Unapologetic" is an album very sentimental and we can not deny. Rihanna spent over 6 months in the production of this new album with great producers and songwriters. And the songs that stand out are: "Diamonds" "Stay" "Pour It Up" and others. So that is one of the best albums of Rihanna's career, but the RATED R is the best of all.
  30. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    A great, diverse album. It has club bangers like Phresh Out the Runway, Pour It Up and Jump. It has great ballads like Stay, What Now, Half of Me, and Diamonds, R&B songs like Loveeeeeee Song, and other great standout tracks like Lost In Paradise, Numb, Nobody's Business, Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary, and No Love Allowed. Every song on here is great, something that's hard to find inA great, diverse album. It has club bangers like Phresh Out the Runway, Pour It Up and Jump. It has great ballads like Stay, What Now, Half of Me, and Diamonds, R&B songs like Loveeeeeee Song, and other great standout tracks like Lost In Paradise, Numb, Nobody's Business, Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary, and No Love Allowed. Every song on here is great, something that's hard to find in music nowadays but Rihanna seems to deliver more consistently than her peers when it comes to the quality of her albums. This album has something everyone could enjoy. Most of these reviews are negative because of her personal life and not the actual quality and content of the album. Expand
  31. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    The emotional starkness with 'Stay' combining with the vitality of 'Right Now' and 'Diamonds' makes the phenomenal album of Unapologetic. Give this album a chance, and you will not regret it.
  32. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    Even if heavy synths of "Phresh Out The Runway" aren't the best way to open the album, I have to admit, that "Unapologetic" is a perfect album. Promoted by two amazing pop soul ballads ("Diamonds" and "Stay"), chilled-out hip hop song ("Pour It Up") and a monster Guetta collab ("Right Now") it's ready to become the greatest album of 2013. From sweet-love R&B song "Loveeeeeee Song",Even if heavy synths of "Phresh Out The Runway" aren't the best way to open the album, I have to admit, that "Unapologetic" is a perfect album. Promoted by two amazing pop soul ballads ("Diamonds" and "Stay"), chilled-out hip hop song ("Pour It Up") and a monster Guetta collab ("Right Now") it's ready to become the greatest album of 2013. From sweet-love R&B song "Loveeeeeee Song", through the dubstep "Jump", most epic song Rihanna ever made "Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary and reggae breakup record "No Love Allowed" to the deluxe edition only "Half Of Me" this album is almost flawless (excluding Chris Brown's unnecesary guest verse in "Nobody's Business"). It's definitely my favourite album of all-time.

    10 out of 10
    Expand
  33. Jun 12, 2014
    10
    wonderful...one of her best albums...queen of pop music, love all songs,every lyric,everything!I pop,r&b,reggae,all together this album is amazing!!! love it
  34. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Rihanna had a total up do upon this album, you see the vulnerability and emotion throughout the songs, She expresses situations she's experienced some of her other albums some what lacked. her voice and live voice have immensley improved. Great Album.
  35. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    One of the best albums by Rihanna, if you go back to her first album in 2005, you will see how Rihanna has evolved!! This album is just as good as Loud. This album may be rushed but it doesn't defeat the fact that she releases good music. Very diverse!!
  36. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    You people who are saying the album is bad are retarded! Who cares she did a song with Chris brown! That's THEIR situation and THEIR business what happened. They're both alive and both still thriving artist who make excellent music. Life goes on! Why shld they not make music for the world because of that 1 Incident that happened years ago They let it go why can't y'all? Damn did it happenYou people who are saying the album is bad are retarded! Who cares she did a song with Chris brown! That's THEIR situation and THEIR business what happened. They're both alive and both still thriving artist who make excellent music. Life goes on! Why shld they not make music for the world because of that 1 Incident that happened years ago They let it go why can't y'all? Damn did it happen to y'all or them? I think the Cd is great Rhi! Expand
  37. Jan 29, 2015
    10
    Liricamente e vocalmente é um álbum impressionante, deixando de lado as batidas eletrônicas do Talk That Talk e caindo dentro do R&B que consegue expor uma Rihanna novamente pessoal e livre de sua fase rebelde e sem remorsos com seu passado. Realmente é um álbum que teve seu destaque e hoje pode ser considerado um dos melhores da Bad Gal
  38. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    Since "Rated R", Rihanna wasn't so deep with her albums, but with "Unapologetic" she really came back to the darkness more powerful than all!

    Songs like "Stay", "What Now", "Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary", "Loveeeeeee Song" and "Half of Me" remind that brave Rihanna who really has so much to scream to the world, with so many hurts and tears. By the way, sings like "Pour It Up",
    Since "Rated R", Rihanna wasn't so deep with her albums, but with "Unapologetic" she really came back to the darkness more powerful than all!

    Songs like "Stay", "What Now", "Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary", "Loveeeeeee Song" and "Half of Me" remind that brave Rihanna who really has so much to scream to the world, with so many hurts and tears.

    By the way, sings like "Pour It Up", "Jump" and "Phresh Out The Runway" made her a luxury woman that just wanna have fun and show her money.

    Rihanna is amazing and "Unapologetic" too! I was really impressed with it. ♥
    Expand
  39. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    YASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS SLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee HUNTY.
  40. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    RAINHA DO POP PIOR ALBUM DELA POREM ESTAMOS AKI PRA AUMENTAR A NOTA NE NOM -q ..........................................................................................................................................................
  41. Dec 10, 2015
    10
    an amazing piece of art like all her albums,love herrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
  42. Jan 28, 2016
    10
    album de hits
    perfeito do inicio ao fim como sempre
    rihanna n decepciona os fans
    amei adorei? achei tudo?
    PHRESH OUT THE RUNWAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
  43. Apr 27, 2016
    10
    This is a MASTERPIECE. Everything about this album is right. Rihanna's vocals have grown so much and it shows. She always manages to outdo herself....
  44. Feb 5, 2016
    10
    I love the vocal performances in this album. From Diamonds to Stay,Right Now and What Now to the elements of hip hop in Phresh out the Runway or Pour it up. It's just so perfect.
  45. Feb 12, 2016
    10
    Simplesmente perfeito, recheado de hits que só a Rihanna consegue ter. Um álbum que foi feito após uma grande perda em sua vida, mas mesmo assim foi um álbum muito bem feito. Parabéns Rihanna por sempre fazer o melhor!
  46. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    This album is some of Rihanna's best work. Whilst her "thug life" persona still reigns strong, this project is still something we've never heard before. Just like all of her albums, Rihanna's sonic variation spans widely across the album, but this time, it's more than that. Some of the songs really go into uncharted territory for her level of pop supestardom. It goes without saying thatThis album is some of Rihanna's best work. Whilst her "thug life" persona still reigns strong, this project is still something we've never heard before. Just like all of her albums, Rihanna's sonic variation spans widely across the album, but this time, it's more than that. Some of the songs really go into uncharted territory for her level of pop supestardom. It goes without saying that probably not every track will be for everyone.. and there are highs and lows. But her brave experimentation is eventually proved very successful. The epic heights of 'Diamonds', the luxury of 'Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary', the beauty of 'Stay', the funk of 'Nobody's Business', the mystery of 'Numb' and the wild 'Jump' are some of the highlights. But the production and music all round is really great.
    Rihanna's lyrical allusions to Chris Brown throughout the album is the only one thing which unfortunately can't be ignored. As if a controversial collaboration with him wasn't enough, for some reason a couple of questionable references to past events seem somewhat... unnecessary.
    That said, Unapologetic should not disappoint anybody with a broad taste and general appreciation of urban pop music, mixed with the best of other genre influences like reggae and EDM.
    Expand
  47. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Definitely one of her best, if not the best. The mix of sounds does not affect the cohesion at all. She seems to have found her niche with this. Well done.
  48. Nov 20, 2012
    9
    If you are a Rihanna's fan, this album works perfectly for you, she keeps her style and the lyrics are mixed, some very deep and some just to relax and dance. I think is amazing!!!
  49. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Personally I think that Unapologetic is one of Rihanna's best albums. She mixed different kind of music and that makes it an album completely different from the other ones. It's true that some of the Unapologetic songs could have been done better (for example:Pour it up or Numb that has nothing related with the last Eminem and Rihanna collaboration) but songs like: diamonds, stay, rightPersonally I think that Unapologetic is one of Rihanna's best albums. She mixed different kind of music and that makes it an album completely different from the other ones. It's true that some of the Unapologetic songs could have been done better (for example:Pour it up or Numb that has nothing related with the last Eminem and Rihanna collaboration) but songs like: diamonds, stay, right now, lost in paradise, half of me, love without tragedy and loveeeeee song are truly good. My advice to the people that don't like Rihanna and pointed Unapologetic with a 0 just because it's another fast Rihanna's album, is to listen it without judging her and listening just the music. Expand
  50. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    I still don't get why there's a lot of people who hates this album. It is nearly perfect. Yes, it isn't filled of commercial and pop songs, but it is confidential, it has tons of amazing lyrics and it is portraying an amazing era. Definitely not Rihanna's best, but very good though.
  51. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    It's a very personal album,more than 'Rated R'! Shows a Other Side of Rihanna "The Robyn Side".But The Tracklist is so disorganized and this made a confusion in my head.It's hard for understand the message of the album.
  52. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Rihanna has been back to the Rated R time in a totally different way. Rated R had more electronic songs, and this one is full with R&B, Hip-Hop and ballad songs, totally different from the Rihanna original style. but anyway it was good.
  53. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    That album uses good songs, good positions in the Billboard Hot 100. "Pour It Up" needs to break into the Top 10. So, when do you think the next song will release? What month?
  54. May 12, 2013
    9
    This totally slays all over Talk That Talk. This album is really great! Pour It Up, Stay, Diamonds and Nobody's Buisness Numb and Jump are the best tracks on the album. Great album!
  55. Nov 21, 2012
    8
    Her best album since Rated R with different rhythms , great lyrics and vocal. She keeps surprising us with wonderful worksand showing to the world who Rihanna really is and what she really feels.
  56. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    This Rihanna is clearly not at her best; Unapologetic is generally a flat and overproduced, too rushed record. The fact is that one some songs her vocals are good, but the songwriting and producing is lamentable, while on others the lyrics are good enough, but the production really lacks; or the other way round.

    Too bad for masterpieces like "Diamonds" (Rihanna's best song by far, and
    This Rihanna is clearly not at her best; Unapologetic is generally a flat and overproduced, too rushed record. The fact is that one some songs her vocals are good, but the songwriting and producing is lamentable, while on others the lyrics are good enough, but the production really lacks; or the other way round.

    Too bad for masterpieces like "Diamonds" (Rihanna's best song by far, and one of the best of 2010s) or "Love Without Tragedy". The balladry on this album is also worth listening to, but both "Stay" and "What Now" display a lack of songwriting skills, using dried out cliches and unmatching expressions, used just for the sake of rhyme. There is also some quality r&b music (namely on "Love Song" and "Get It Over With"), but the dance numbers from the album are surely the worst; "Jump" and "Phresh Out the Runway" are decent enough, but "Right Now" murders the whole record. Another wrecking ball for the album is "Nobody's Business", while "Numb" ft. Eminem is also a dull melody. All the other unmentioned songs are not that bad, but not that good either.

    This is actually a step back from her previous albums "Rated R", "Loud" and "Talk That Talk" and pushes Riri back to her dance-hall rooted sophomore album, 'A Girl Like Me'.

    8.3/10
    Expand
  57. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    It's actually good, even though it's so easy to hate, especially because of the Chris Brown duet. This album goes back to the dark feel of Rated R, but improves on it. It's moody and a much needed improvement on Talk That Talk. 'Diamonds,' is a great song, but there are so many great songs on it besides that. Though 'Nobody's Business' is a cringe-worthy idea, it's a great song. 'Jump,'It's actually good, even though it's so easy to hate, especially because of the Chris Brown duet. This album goes back to the dark feel of Rated R, but improves on it. It's moody and a much needed improvement on Talk That Talk. 'Diamonds,' is a great song, but there are so many great songs on it besides that. Though 'Nobody's Business' is a cringe-worthy idea, it's a great song. 'Jump,' 'What Now,' and 'No Love Allowed' are amazing tracks. Of course, the dumb David Guetta pairing is a skip, and 'Phresh Out The Runway' is an easy one to forget. If you need a personal track, just listen to 'Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary,' which is a seven minute epic seemingly all about her abusive relationship with Chris Brown. It's a compelling album and much better than the last two. Give it a shot! Expand
  58. Dec 11, 2012
    8
    Rihanna turns to a variety of producers on Unapologetic (David Guetta, StarGate, Benny Blanco, The Dream, etc.) in order to create a newer and less generic sound, and in all honesty, it works. While Unapologetic is in no way her revelation album, it is certainly darker and more elemental than any of her previous works, featuring infectious mid-tempo moments like "Diamonds" ("We're likeRihanna turns to a variety of producers on Unapologetic (David Guetta, StarGate, Benny Blanco, The Dream, etc.) in order to create a newer and less generic sound, and in all honesty, it works. While Unapologetic is in no way her revelation album, it is certainly darker and more elemental than any of her previous works, featuring infectious mid-tempo moments like "Diamonds" ("We're like diamonds in the sky") that show a side to Rihanna's vocals that we've never heard before, while also incorporating cinematic and vulnerable moments such as "Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary", which has contributions by The-Dream, who is known for a line-up of hit singles. Unapologetic is mainly influenced by hip-hop, EDM and dubstep genres without sounding like every pop album on the charts this year; "Right Now" featuring David Guetta comes off as formulaic, but in the end, it'll have everyone in the club jumping and singing along, which has always been Guetta's goal. In "Numb", Rihanna sings quietly over a gloomy bass about glamorizing the euphoria from drug use whilst Eminem joins in with one of the funniest lines of 2012 ("I'm the butt police and I'm looking at your rear, rear, rear!"). If you're looking for vulnerability, you're gonna have to wait. However, if it is viewed in pure entertainment, it's one of the greatest pop albums of the year. Expand
  59. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    The unstoppable Rihanna surprise us with this fresh breath of air (again). This isn't better than her previous works, this is different. Let's talk about each track, a bit of advice: forget everything you ever heard from her. Presh off the Runaway: Guetta is in here, and doesn't sound like him. Good, eh?

    Diamond: A new class on pop anthems, don't forget to give credits to the ever
    The unstoppable Rihanna surprise us with this fresh breath of air (again). This isn't better than her previous works, this is different. Let's talk about each track, a bit of advice: forget everything you ever heard from her. Presh off the Runaway: Guetta is in here, and doesn't sound like him. Good, eh?

    Diamond: A new class on pop anthems, don't forget to give credits to the ever clever Sia.

    Numb (Feat. Eminem): Sounds more like an Kanye West song, and that's good thing, you'd better forget the pain you've heard from this duo before. A CLUB BANGER.

    Pour it up: Rihanna is kinda rapping here. Loveeeeeee song: Love making song, for real. The beat is hypnotic, and what about that guitar to the end? Sexiest thing.

    Jump: Rihanna is on the Dubstep train, just as she could do: with suggestive lyrics and a great production (Timbaland is also behind this, awesome). This will be banging the clubs too, and yeah, she's playing with ginuwine's pony.

    Right Now (Feat. David Guetta): The amazing duo are back, isn't one of their best, but will make you dance anyway.

    What now: A power ballad, not necessary at all.It feels a lack of cohesion.

    Stay (Feat. Mikky Ekko): Rihanna's best vocals, great lyrics, a piano, and this guy's awesome voice. Also written by Mikky, this song is a relaxing stop on the album.

    Nobody's Business (Feat. Chris Brown): Are you feeling the 90's vibe in this? I'd rather refer to this as "the bomb", great beat, a controversial collab, and defiant lyrics.

    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: Isn't a song with 2 tittles, they are two songs in one. The first, a heartbreak song, with smart references, Marilyn Monroe and James Dean; the second one, a exposure of rihanna's feelings about her career, her life.

    Get over it: Slow it down, again. It tastes like that early 2000's thingy.

    No love allowed: Down-tempo disco hall. this is closer to the end. It's very relaxing that island sense.

    Lost in paradise: Dubstep is here again, in a more blended way. Half Of Me: Isn't better way to end this album, than with a great ballad written by two Adele's (Emeli Sandé and that one who makes you cry with every song, Adkins)

    Rihanna did it again. That's all. Isaac Santos
    Expand
  60. Nov 27, 2012
    8
    After one listen of the latest album however, we can firmly put
  61. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    Not going to lie i was nervous about how this album would turn out. But after listening to it, it is a really wonderful and good album. One of my favorite songs on the album is Diamonds.
  62. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    Definitely not the best RiRi album, but not the worst either. Maybe it's just I'm so used to Rihanna's voice. But she definitely released the wrong songs. She should have released "What Now" and "Lost In Paradise".
  63. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Well, there is no surprise...good job as always!
    I love affectional voice of Rihanna, every song on this album is authentic, regardless of genre ("Lost in paradise" electronic, house "Pour it up", "Numb"- hh, rave. She is so trueteller! I love Rihanna!
  64. Nov 18, 2013
    8
    This album is great! it has variety for different crowds, ''something for everyone''.
    The best songs on the album are Jump, No Love Allowed and Mother Mary/ Love without tragedy.
  65. Mar 19, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Strong potensial album by Rihanna shows us that album can have club-ready tunes and strong ballads together.Vocals on this album are so strong and makes it beautiful,mature,funny,explicit record..... Expand
  66. Oct 13, 2014
    8
    The songs on this album were very diverse, and not the same generic sound after another, more singles could have been formed. This showed how her vocals have changed and evolved.
  67. Dec 18, 2014
    8
    Phresh Out the Runway 40/100
    Diamonds 100/100
    Numb 100/100
    Pour It Up 100/100
    Loveeeeeee Song 85/100
    Jump 100/100
    Right Now 100/100
    What Now 30/100
    Stay 100/100
    Nobody's Business 100/100
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary 60/100
    Get It Over With 5/100
    No Love Allowed 100/100
    Lost in Paradise 100/100
  68. May 25, 2016
    8
    1. Phresh Out the Runway 60/100
    2. Diamonds 65/100
    3. Numb 100/100
    4. Pour It Up 95/100
    5. Loveeeeeee Song 65/100
    6. Jump 100/100
    7. Right Now 95/100
    8. What Now 30/100
    9. Stay 90/100
    10. Nobody's Business 85/100
    11. Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary 65/100
    12. Get It Over With 10/100
    13. No Love Allowed 100/100
    14. Lost in Paradise 100/100
    15. Half of Me 65/100

    Metascore: 75
  69. Sep 10, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of Rihanna's best albums!!!I like the Adult style of the album!!! A disadvantage of 'Unapologetic' is its hardcore yrics at sometimes... But I like Rihanna's voice a lot!!! Expand
  70. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    "Unapologetic" is a huge mixed bag off pop, R&B, dubstep, electronic music and soft tunes, which has given comparisons off her 2007 album 'Rated R'. I mean, really does it need reference? its sounds like that album [...] Rihanna has brought a demure and confident collection off songs since "Rated R", but she sounds so confused and lost in the lyrical depth and its meanings... maybe"Unapologetic" is a huge mixed bag off pop, R&B, dubstep, electronic music and soft tunes, which has given comparisons off her 2007 album 'Rated R'. I mean, really does it need reference? its sounds like that album [...] Rihanna has brought a demure and confident collection off songs since "Rated R", but she sounds so confused and lost in the lyrical depth and its meanings... maybe something less explicit and uneven next time. But, its sure a hit." Expand
  71. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    Well, Rihanna is back again. This time though, releasing an album which is surprisingly personal, dissing fans and critics that criticised her on again and off again relationship to her abusive beau, Chris Brown. Much better than her previous album last year, the pop diva storms the chart with one of her best singles yet, 'Diamonds'. While the rest of the songs don't live up to thisWell, Rihanna is back again. This time though, releasing an album which is surprisingly personal, dissing fans and critics that criticised her on again and off again relationship to her abusive beau, Chris Brown. Much better than her previous album last year, the pop diva storms the chart with one of her best singles yet, 'Diamonds'. While the rest of the songs don't live up to this single, it is a good effort from one of the more popular singers out there. Expand
  72. Nov 27, 2012
    7
    Seventh Album, Seventh Year, Seventh? Anyway Rihanna brings 'Unapologetic' which sheds light and draws influences from her Fourth album 'Rated R' and Sixth 'Talk That Talk.' Personally I think that it is much more developed than her last, but not as good as her others. It has heavy-influences from EDM, Dub-step and Hip Hop and is her most diverse album to date. I loved how Rihanna put herSeventh Album, Seventh Year, Seventh? Anyway Rihanna brings 'Unapologetic' which sheds light and draws influences from her Fourth album 'Rated R' and Sixth 'Talk That Talk.' Personally I think that it is much more developed than her last, but not as good as her others. It has heavy-influences from EDM, Dub-step and Hip Hop and is her most diverse album to date. I loved how Rihanna put her musical style together on this album and probably this could be the end of Rihanna's ritual of releasing new s**t every November. Maybe she'll take a break (two years at the least). But saying that she'll probably release again in a year's time. Expand
  73. Nov 30, 2012
    7
    Rihanna has made a good album, but, in my opinion she could make it better then another albums like 'Loud'. She try to do 'Unapologetic' during one month, and the world liked it, if Rihanna started to produce 'Unapologetic' three months ago, could be a biggest success by a big singer. (I don't speak in English, I just try, understand me please)
  74. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    This is a great album, from the ballads to the pumping dance music. Definitely some amazing production and vocal delivery. Don't understand why people are hating on her production choices, she's been making gritty dance music, included dubstep, since 2009 (Mad House anyone?). While the Chris Brown track does feel a little forced (yay for controversy and hype) , the song is still good.
  75. Dec 8, 2012
    7
    unlike others, i did not base my opinion off the album off the artist's past work or history. this album is blessed with several radio-friendly tracks as well as several alternative hits that will help crack a smile to those who don't wish to have the "mainsteam-ear" such as myself. studio also uses great work in having synthesized sounds and familiar beats to get the listener involvedunlike others, i did not base my opinion off the album off the artist's past work or history. this album is blessed with several radio-friendly tracks as well as several alternative hits that will help crack a smile to those who don't wish to have the "mainsteam-ear" such as myself. studio also uses great work in having synthesized sounds and familiar beats to get the listener involved early on in the song. standout tracks; Numb ft. eminem; Nobody's business ft. Chris Brown Expand
  76. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    This is her 7th album and in such a short amount of time its crazy to think she can accomplish so much. It's not her best but it definitely has enough hits on there to last her 'til the next one comes out.
  77. Oct 16, 2013
    7
    Although it's certainly no Good Girl Gone Bad, Unapologetic 'unapologetically' matures Rihanna in terms of music production and lyrically aims at pissing off the media and many mom with its 'unapologetic' subject matter, with songs such as "Numb"; although obscure, the Barbian songstress confesses that she is so high, she's "going numb", which makes for an ear magnet (especially for theAlthough it's certainly no Good Girl Gone Bad, Unapologetic 'unapologetically' matures Rihanna in terms of music production and lyrically aims at pissing off the media and many mom with its 'unapologetic' subject matter, with songs such as "Numb"; although obscure, the Barbian songstress confesses that she is so high, she's "going numb", which makes for an ear magnet (especially for the listeners 'under the influence' and features the king of controversy in hip-hop and previous collaborator Eminem. While drug abuse, fame, and fortune are many risqué moments as well, its most explicit is its graphic confession of her lingering love for ex-boyfriend (and 'Rude Boy' if you will) Chris Brown(which has all but withered now). The two even collaborate on the Michael Jackson-tinged song "Nobody's Business". Whether you like it or not, it's there and it's raw. In general, Unapologetic has the bass bumpin' beats and heart throbbing ballads to balance itself evenly between the two and although it's missing the ensemble of potential hit-singles previous efforts held, there should be at least one song for everyone thanks to its diversity in production. Expand
  78. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    A plethora of lewd and loud anthems flourish in a minefield. Following in the footsteps of Talk That Talk, Unapologetic shuffles through the mix with Diamonds among thorns. There are five tracks too many here, that are incidentally placed in the album's heart. If the thorns were removed, a cohesive project of perfection rivaling Rated R is hiding in the shadows. But with thorns in theA plethora of lewd and loud anthems flourish in a minefield. Following in the footsteps of Talk That Talk, Unapologetic shuffles through the mix with Diamonds among thorns. There are five tracks too many here, that are incidentally placed in the album's heart. If the thorns were removed, a cohesive project of perfection rivaling Rated R is hiding in the shadows. But with thorns in the heart, Unapologetic suffers from bloated filler. Expand
  79. Apr 23, 2015
    7
    Album Highlights = Diamonds, Stay, Jump, Love Without Tragedy/Mother Mary, and No Love Allowed
    Album Low Points = Right Now and Get It Over With........
  80. Jan 25, 2015
    7
    "Unapologetic" is a solid and very strong album. I venture to say that is the main release of Rihanna from "Good Girl Gone Bad", that established in the market once and for all. She continues to launch clips, singles and albums of frantic and without disappoint fans (at least musically!). It is extremely difficult to do what Rihanna is the period of time that it does. Even having a"Unapologetic" is a solid and very strong album. I venture to say that is the main release of Rihanna from "Good Girl Gone Bad", that established in the market once and for all. She continues to launch clips, singles and albums of frantic and without disappoint fans (at least musically!). It is extremely difficult to do what Rihanna is the period of time that it does. Even having a songwriting team and producers behind the great responsibility, vision and dedication is still your thing. This album marks the moment when Rihanna tries to divide your professional and personal, showing everyone that no matter what is happening in your life, or drugs that use it, or the boyfriend she chooses, she is also an artist who delivers a successful product. In other words, the "Unapologetic" brings one message: I can back it Expand
  81. Apr 25, 2016
    7
    A risk-taker, but that proved to be a sucess, 'Unapologetic' brings the most urban Rihanna to date and its driven by her capacity to mix a lot of genres into something very interesting.
  82. Jun 24, 2016
    7
    Unapologetic has its diamonds and its songs that will make you go very numb. There are stand out tracks such as Diamonds, Jump, Loveeeee Song, Right Now and What Now. But otherwise it is definitely hard to ignore the fact that this is an album that has been thrown together and mashed up. At times her vocals are overprocessed and the album when listened to as a whole seems lacking cohesion.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    70
    The now-24-year-old's voice may be simple, but it's distinctive--and as defiant as her album titles.
  2. Nov 26, 2012
    60
    Even when Unapologetic fails, it often does so in interesting ways.
  3. Nov 26, 2012
    40
    Sonically, the first half of Unapologetic picks up on the syrupy Southern hip-hop minimalism popular last summer, while much of the latter half is a grab bag of unwieldy balladry.