Unapologetic

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Unapologetic Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 614 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh studio release for the pop singer features Chris Brown, Eminem, Future, and David Guetta as guests with No I.D., Nicky Romero, StarGate, and The-Dream contributing to production.
Buy On

Top Track

Stay
All along it was a fever A cold sweat, hot headed believer I threw my hands in the air I said show me something He said, if you dare come a little... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    86
    Unapologetic is Rihanna's most confident, emotionally resonant work since 2009's "Rated R.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    While this is a fine, if uneven album, the only way to enjoy a significant portion of it is by taking it as pure entertainment.
  3. 70
    Unapologetic makes a compelling case for Rihanna knowing what she's doing. This most compelling of pop phenomena still has something new to offer.
  4. Like most of Unapologetic, it's ["Nobody's Business" is] instantly forgettable.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    The mixture of emotions across Unapologetic just doesn't sit right.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    58
    A fiery pop album that's unfortunately coated in the icky residue of unearned defiance that has marked Brown's recent output.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    When you're at Rihanna's level you can afford the best songwriters and producers in the business and sonically the album is generally far ahead of her peers. Yet if Sia's Diamonds is a sultry triumph, its character and uniqueness highlights the ultimately hollow pleasures of much around it.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 140
  2. Negative: 35 out of 140
  1. Dec 10, 2015
    10
    an amazing piece of art like all her albums,lovean amazing piece of art like all her albums,love herrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    I think this is one of her best album. 100% better than Talk That Talk. This is album is very emotiona and different. This album is my drug,I think this is one of her best album. 100% better than Talk That Talk. This is album is very emotiona and different. This album is my drug, except some song, it super! Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocallyAn album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna! Expand
  4. Nov 19, 2012
    7
    "Unapologetic" is a huge mixed bag off pop, R&B, dubstep, electronic music and soft tunes, which has given comparisons off her 2007 album"Unapologetic" is a huge mixed bag off pop, R&B, dubstep, electronic music and soft tunes, which has given comparisons off her 2007 album 'Rated R'. I mean, really does it need reference? its sounds like that album [...] Rihanna has brought a demure and confident collection off songs since "Rated R", but she sounds so confused and lost in the lyrical depth and its meanings... maybe something less explicit and uneven next time. But, its sure a hit." Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    This is not Rihanna's best album, but it also is not her worst. The songs at first glance seem generic and rushed, but addictive nonetheless.This is not Rihanna's best album, but it also is not her worst. The songs at first glance seem generic and rushed, but addictive nonetheless. Several highlights are Nobody's business, No love allowed, and Right Now. The music is decent on this album, although not Rihanna's highlight Expand
  6. Duu
    May 22, 2013
    4
    The quick and dirty of this album is: There are 14 songs and only four ones worth listening to. "Diamonds" is a classic song of our eraThe quick and dirty of this album is: There are 14 songs and only four ones worth listening to. "Diamonds" is a classic song of our era (congrats to Rihanna and Sia--the songwriter) The reason I gave this album four is because even though this album has four out of fourteen good songs, "Diamonds" is such an epically well constructed and career defining song, it is the same as having 2 or 3 good songs on an album. Beyond "Diamonds", the other good songs are "Pour it Up", "Loveeeeeee Song", and "Jump" which recycles/re-imagines Ginuwine's hit song "Pony". Generally speaking, this album is not a complete album and Rihanna should have just released a few singles. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2016
    0
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for someone
    Someone who can please me Love me all night long I've been everywhere, man Looking for you,
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for someone
    Someone who can please me
    Love me all night long
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for you, babe
    Looking for you, babe
    Searching for you, babe
    Expand

See all 140 User Reviews