Unapologetic

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Unapologetic Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 501 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh studio release for the pop singer features Chris Brown, Eminem, Future, and David Guetta as guests with No I.D., Nicky Romero, StarGate, and The-Dream contributing to production.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    86
    Unapologetic is Rihanna's most confident, emotionally resonant work since 2009's "Rated R.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    While this is a fine, if uneven album, the only way to enjoy a significant portion of it is by taking it as pure entertainment.
  3. 70
    Unapologetic makes a compelling case for Rihanna knowing what she's doing. This most compelling of pop phenomena still has something new to offer.
  4. Like most of Unapologetic, it's ["Nobody's Business" is] instantly forgettable.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    The mixture of emotions across Unapologetic just doesn't sit right.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    58
    A fiery pop album that's unfortunately coated in the icky residue of unearned defiance that has marked Brown's recent output.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    When you're at Rihanna's level you can afford the best songwriters and producers in the business and sonically the album is generally far ahead of her peers. Yet if Sia's Diamonds is a sultry triumph, its character and uniqueness highlights the ultimately hollow pleasures of much around it.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 127
  2. Negative: 28 out of 127
  1. Jan 29, 2016
    10
    RAINHA DO POP PIOR ALBUM DELA POREM ESTAMOS AKI PRA AUMENTAR A NOTA NE NOM -qRAINHA DO POP PIOR ALBUM DELA POREM ESTAMOS AKI PRA AUMENTAR A NOTA NE NOM -q .......................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    Its just an perfect album. every song on the album is a hit. it shows Rihannas vocal talent in ballades like "What Now" or "Stay" (which areIts just an perfect album. every song on the album is a hit. it shows Rihannas vocal talent in ballades like "What Now" or "Stay" (which are both one of the best Rihanna Songs). Her last big Album was "Rated R and i think "Unapologetic" as well as it. I think the best Tracks on the Album are "What Now" and "Whats Love Without Tragedy" Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocallyAn album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna! Expand
  4. Mar 19, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Strong potensial album by Rihanna shows us that album can have club-ready tunes and strong ballads together.Vocals on this album are so strong and makes it beautiful,mature,funny,explicit record..... Expand
  5. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    Rihanna could really have done something better, this album sounds like it was done anyway just to be released within one year, I think whyRihanna could really have done something better, this album sounds like it was done anyway just to be released within one year, I think why the R8 ta taking so long, I hope to be better.
    Highlights: Diamonds and Jump
    Lows: Loveeee Song and Numb
    Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2012
    4
    This album, like all other Rihanna albums, seems rushed and is full of album fillers. There are two stand out songs, 'Diamond' and 'Half ofThis album, like all other Rihanna albums, seems rushed and is full of album fillers. There are two stand out songs, 'Diamond' and 'Half of Me'. Shocking as it may, 'Numb' featuring Eminem is the most disappointing. Expand
  7. Jan 29, 2016
    0
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for someone
    Someone who can please me Love me all night long I've been everywhere, man Looking for you,
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for someone
    Someone who can please me
    Love me all night long
    I've been everywhere, man
    Looking for you, babe
    Looking for you, babe
    Searching for you, babe
    Expand

See all 127 User Reviews