Unapologetic

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Unapologetic Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 422 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh studio release for the pop singer features Chris Brown, Eminem, Future, and David Guetta as guests with No I.D., Nicky Romero, StarGate, and The-Dream contributing to production.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    86
    Unapologetic is Rihanna's most confident, emotionally resonant work since 2009's "Rated R.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    While this is a fine, if uneven album, the only way to enjoy a significant portion of it is by taking it as pure entertainment.
  3. 70
    Unapologetic makes a compelling case for Rihanna knowing what she's doing. This most compelling of pop phenomena still has something new to offer.
  4. Like most of Unapologetic, it's ["Nobody's Business" is] instantly forgettable.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    60
    The mixture of emotions across Unapologetic just doesn't sit right.
  6. Nov 20, 2012
    58
    A fiery pop album that's unfortunately coated in the icky residue of unearned defiance that has marked Brown's recent output.
  7. Nov 20, 2012
    20
    When you're at Rihanna's level you can afford the best songwriters and producers in the business and sonically the album is generally far ahead of her peers. Yet if Sia's Diamonds is a sultry triumph, its character and uniqueness highlights the ultimately hollow pleasures of much around it.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 124
  2. Negative: 28 out of 124
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    YASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS SLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS SLAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee HUNTY. Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2012
    10
    Rihanna is a unique artist. Know merge various musical styles into a single cd and do well in the charts.
    His distinctive voice and his
    Rihanna is a unique artist. Know merge various musical styles into a single cd and do well in the charts.
    His distinctive voice and his charisma attracted fans from around the world, praised for its beauty, for its life history, and especially for his MUSIC.
    In Unapologetic, Rihanna shows that came to stay. With powerful ballads, and hip hop and urban vein, it shows what is to be a versatile artist.
    No wonder it is the most tanned on facebook, and his youtube channel is the most watched in the world.
    Rihanna is the VOICE!
    Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    An album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocallyAn album wonderful, with different rhythms and genres, for all tastes, rihanna risked, innovated and was perfect! with deep lyrics and vocally evolved, I deserved my note 10 to this wonderful singer Rihanna! Expand
  4. Oct 26, 2013
    8
    This Rihanna is clearly not at her best; Unapologetic is generally a flat and overproduced, too rushed record. The fact is that one some songsThis Rihanna is clearly not at her best; Unapologetic is generally a flat and overproduced, too rushed record. The fact is that one some songs her vocals are good, but the songwriting and producing is lamentable, while on others the lyrics are good enough, but the production really lacks; or the other way round.

    Too bad for masterpieces like "Diamonds" (Rihanna's best song by far, and one of the best of 2010s) or "Love Without Tragedy". The balladry on this album is also worth listening to, but both "Stay" and "What Now" display a lack of songwriting skills, using dried out cliches and unmatching expressions, used just for the sake of rhyme. There is also some quality r&b music (namely on "Love Song" and "Get It Over With"), but the dance numbers from the album are surely the worst; "Jump" and "Phresh Out the Runway" are decent enough, but "Right Now" murders the whole record. Another wrecking ball for the album is "Nobody's Business", while "Numb" ft. Eminem is also a dull melody. All the other unmentioned songs are not that bad, but not that good either.

    This is actually a step back from her previous albums "Rated R", "Loud" and "Talk That Talk" and pushes Riri back to her dance-hall rooted sophomore album, 'A Girl Like Me'.

    8.3/10
    Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2012
    6
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds:
    My review: First of all: I am NOT her biggest fan but i wanted to give her a try.
    Phresh Out The Runway: Just one word: Sh*t. 0/10
    Diamonds: Her lead single was really good. I expected a lot of David Guetta but her producers made a really good single. Nice Work! 9/10
    Numb: Ok, Eminems part is tooo short. If you want a "Love the Way you lie - Feeling", you are wrong. 5/10
    Pour it up: oookay Rihanna and producers. Use different beats,please.... 3/10
    Loveeeeeee Song: I don't know that guy and i don't like this voice but Rihanna's part is really cool. 7/10
    Jump: Okay, but thats all 5/10
    Right Now: I want to be honest.Right Now, i get headache. 1/10
    What Now: A cool song but she cries a little to much. This song has energy!! 7/10
    Stay: Amazing. Do it just like that. You don't need David Guetta trash. 10/10
    Nobody's Business: I don't like Chris Brown but this song is danceable. 6/10
    Love Without Tragedy / Mother Mary: 7 minutes, a loooong song but not the highlight (which is Stay). 5/10
    Get over it: Yeah Rihanna, Thats your style! 9/10
    No Love Allowed. Your dance hall carrier is over. Too sad. 6/10
    Lost in Paradise: Power full and danceable 8/10
    Final points: 5.8 --> 6 points. Her last album "Talk That Talk" received 3 points... You're getting better Rihanna
    Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    4
    Of all songs on Rihanna's album, I liked only two - Lost In Paradise and Stay, all the others were just forced with sounds and her emotions.Of all songs on Rihanna's album, I liked only two - Lost In Paradise and Stay, all the others were just forced with sounds and her emotions. Although the song Fool In Love from her Loud album is also forced with emotions, she did that song absolutely perfectly, but the one - Nobody's Business - was just too much. Lost In Paradise was absolutely gorgeous, I enjoyed listening to that song, it has rhythm, positive vibrations and just feels good... I would love that Rihanna makes songs like Lost In Paradise or Stay, they are perfect, all the others are awfull... My overall rating for this album is 4. Expand
  7. Aug 22, 2015
    0
    RUIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIRUIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIM DMS QUE PORRA É ESSA RIHANNA NÃO CONSIGO NEM OUVIR QUE DA DOR DE OUVIDO TENHO QUE ESCUTAR O "BEYONCÉ" PARA DESINFETAR Expand

See all 124 User Reviews