Unbreakable

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Oct 30, 2007
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 49
  3. Negative: 11 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickC.
    Nov 27, 2007
    0
    You're either gay or a teenage girl.
  2. FernandaS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    I love it! They never disappoint, the BSB are awesome and super- talented. Too bad people don't appreciate pop music anymore. I will always love you boys!!!!!
  3. DavinF
    Nov 7, 2007
    1
    I'm not sure what album the other reviewers were listening too, but this CD is truly terrible. As someone hoping the BSB would be releasing material along the lines of their best albums, this is a big disappointment. The songs don't have strong hooks and blend together. There is very little that is distinctive about each one. It's a bland record that is better left for the I'm not sure what album the other reviewers were listening too, but this CD is truly terrible. As someone hoping the BSB would be releasing material along the lines of their best albums, this is a big disappointment. The songs don't have strong hooks and blend together. There is very little that is distinctive about each one. It's a bland record that is better left for the bargain bin than your CD player. Expand
  4. Lekfat
    Jan 2, 2008
    0
    The best CD ever.... NOOTT!
  5. JuliaB.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    I like the album because they evoluted, the musics are more creative, the beat is good to hear... they did a pretty good job on this album.
  6. KyleJ
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    I wasn't expecting much, but I was very surprised by this album. It was a little bit heavy on the power-ballads, but the harmonies sound fantastic, and the overall quality is far greater than "Never Gone" or "Black and Blue." "Everything But Mine" and "Any Other Way" are two of my favorite tracks, worth a listen in my opinion. I don't know if the overall product quite brings I wasn't expecting much, but I was very surprised by this album. It was a little bit heavy on the power-ballads, but the harmonies sound fantastic, and the overall quality is far greater than "Never Gone" or "Black and Blue." "Everything But Mine" and "Any Other Way" are two of my favorite tracks, worth a listen in my opinion. I don't know if the overall product quite brings back the feel that made them a 90's hit, but it comes closer than their last two efforts. Worth a buy I'd say. Expand
  7. CrapStreetPukedInMyMouth
    Nov 10, 2007
    0
    Yeah you did write that much about a new Backstreet album. I feel so sorry for you and what meaningless lives you all have.
  8. ihatebsb!eiad
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    even tho` i used to hate them this album is THE BEST POP ALBUM i`ve heared,it`s somthing new and fresh,not just that byt greaaaat also ^^. songs like "somthing that i already know" and "every thing but mine" will answer ur questions,is this really the best album this year? YES BABYYY!
  9. Rev.Rikard
    Nov 10, 2007
    3
    "Another unsuspected Sunday afternoon," the boy-band sings in the intro. However, this album is exactly what those who have followed their career would have suspected: they are going to record another syrupy shallow album for a teen audience. They may sing "Love Will Keep You Up All Night," but this album will send you into REM with lightning speed. After giving this a fair hearing I "Another unsuspected Sunday afternoon," the boy-band sings in the intro. However, this album is exactly what those who have followed their career would have suspected: they are going to record another syrupy shallow album for a teen audience. They may sing "Love Will Keep You Up All Night," but this album will send you into REM with lightning speed. After giving this a fair hearing I think I fare just as well to play my spouse's Air Supply records. Expand
  10. sam
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    i cant believe, they have really made a good album!
  11. kristanh.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    This should have been their comeback cd. The songs aren't as rich sounding with one member absent but it is still grade A pop. It's reminiscent of their older stuff but definitely update with a beat that would be appreciated by the critics of today. The guys did a good job welcome back.
  12. GinaC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    This is definitely their best record. There's not a bad song in it and they all sound more amazing than ever.
  13. mariaA.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Great album and most of all great music.
  14. YanitaP.
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    I love this album!!! ktbspa!!!!!
  15. NicoleM.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Such a good album. Highly recommended
  16. TheWinster
    Jan 14, 2008
    7
    I'm really really surprised that this album is rated better than Nevr Gone. With this album, they're trying to undo everything that they achieved with Never Gone - and they did it pretty well... after an initial heartbreak of discovering they didn't let their sound evolve into a better "never Gone", i took the record lightly - Its a nice collection of pop songs, great tunes I'm really really surprised that this album is rated better than Nevr Gone. With this album, they're trying to undo everything that they achieved with Never Gone - and they did it pretty well... after an initial heartbreak of discovering they didn't let their sound evolve into a better "never Gone", i took the record lightly - Its a nice collection of pop songs, great tunes and all - and the best thing - even though its pop - the actual BSB teen pop thingy is completely out of this album!!! wooot! By the way - those who cite just another noisy modern rock band's work as better music than a BSB album should think twice - BSB are great at what they are doing, while Modern Rock bands do not even know what they are producing... :P ...will get back to this later.... when I'm filled wid thoughts... :) Expand
  17. NickC.
    Jan 30, 2008
    0
    You're either gay or a teenage girl.
  18. OyinO
    Feb 22, 2008
    9
    This, to me, is their best album yet. It has the perfect blend of power ballads and dance songs. I have all their albums, including their second one, Backstreet's Back. This record, I feel fits their age and is very appropriate for the adult contemporary music market right now. My personal favorites are Something That I Already Know, Treat Me Right, Unmistakable, and Unsuspecting This, to me, is their best album yet. It has the perfect blend of power ballads and dance songs. I have all their albums, including their second one, Backstreet's Back. This record, I feel fits their age and is very appropriate for the adult contemporary music market right now. My personal favorites are Something That I Already Know, Treat Me Right, Unmistakable, and Unsuspecting Sunday Afternoon. Although there are songs on the album that undewhelmed me, it is an album that you can continue to listen to over and over again and never get tired of. In addition to that, the harmonies are icredibly impressive, especially that on Helpless When She Smiles. If you are looking to buy a really good pop album, I don't think you could find one better than Unbreakable. Expand
  19. michellem.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    The Backstreet Boys are the absolute best band in the world!!! They rule!!!! I love them. Unbreakable is the best CD out now.
  20. ck
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    its surprisingly excellent, i mean there are no fillers in entire album, not only the vocals but the lyrics are good too... i'd like to see them back on top rather than some 'nursery rhyme' hip-hop retards :)
  21. MarisS.
    Nov 5, 2007
    9
    Reviewing the many many reviews of Unbreakable, I
  22. CrystalL.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    "Unbreakable" is awesome!
  23. BrianShine
    Nov 6, 2007
    9
    Very Good Work. Backstreet Boys, please, shoot more interest videos. Inconsolable its too much boring. Treat Me Right for the next single!
  24. AnnaP.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    great songs, lyrics, melodies and harmonies..
  25. WajihaS.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    I've listened to only Unbreakable but since the band is my college days era defining icon I would give it a 9 on my rating. It takes a lot of courage to regroup after all they have been through & I wish them all the best in all the worlds!
  26. GhadaO.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    ok so yea there not as great as they was but the album rocks! i really love it, and its not only for young adults im still 14 and i luv it and all my friends luv it, and its something diffrent than all the crap u hear today, sure there not as great as they were but hey they still rock, and the music is great the lyrics are great i really luv it and nobody i know say its bad, and hey its ok so yea there not as great as they was but the album rocks! i really love it, and its not only for young adults im still 14 and i luv it and all my friends luv it, and its something diffrent than all the crap u hear today, sure there not as great as they were but hey they still rock, and the music is great the lyrics are great i really luv it and nobody i know say its bad, and hey its really hard to be still a boy band after 15 years and espacilly this time since boy bands arent as popular as u were, KTBSPA!! Expand
  27. MoradM
    May 24, 2008
    8
    For sure it's better than "Never Gone" and i like it so much coz of the high energy songs and good melodies so, it's normal bsb album as 13 years ago
  28. AlmudenaM.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    I really really love this album.
  29. WillS.
    Dec 16, 2007
    3
    Someone please tell these "boys" that melodramatic power ballads died in 1999. There's nothing innovative in this album. It's the same cheese fest of pop songs they used to sing back in the day. Too much drama and sugar it makes me nauseous. I hate to admit this, but Britney's new album is a hundred times better than this. At least she doesn't take herself too Someone please tell these "boys" that melodramatic power ballads died in 1999. There's nothing innovative in this album. It's the same cheese fest of pop songs they used to sing back in the day. Too much drama and sugar it makes me nauseous. I hate to admit this, but Britney's new album is a hundred times better than this. At least she doesn't take herself too seriously when it comes to pop songs. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Backstreet Boys don't have any songs that will lift them out of the adult contemporary world--but the audience who has turned from teens to adults with them will likely enjoy its easy sound, as there is nothing bad here. There's just nothing great, either.
  2. Nearly everything here is top 40 or AC radio-ready.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    They come close to recreating the sheer euphoria of their biggest pre-2YK smashes on many of the up-temp dance-pop numbers that follow, [2 Nov 2007, p.64]