Unbroken

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 296 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 61 out of 296
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    1. All Night Long- It's a good opener, but not a great song as a whole. It's catchy, but didn't leave me amazed.
    2. Who's That Boy- Probably the next single. Not my favorite choice. It's good, but not for her younger fans. It can get suggestive at times.
    3. You're My Only Shorty- It's good, when she sings. Too much Iyaz! 4. Together- I like it, but it's not the best duet on the album. I
    1. All Night Long- It's a good opener, but not a great song as a whole. It's catchy, but didn't leave me amazed.
    2. Who's That Boy- Probably the next single. Not my favorite choice. It's good, but not for her younger fans. It can get suggestive at times.
    3. You're My Only Shorty- It's good, when she sings. Too much Iyaz! 4. Together- I like it, but it's not the best duet on the album. I rank it after ANL. It's got a great tune.
    5. Lightweight- Beautiful! Great vocal performance. I loved it from the first listen!
    6. Unbroken- The best dance song on the album, but doesn't show off her vocals at all. It's really fun, though!
    7. Fix a Heart- I put my guess on this as the 3rd single. It has to be good. It charted at 60 something on Billboard without an official release. It didn't chart like that for nothing. It's really nice, but some parts are a little... awkward.
    8. Hold Up- I like it, but it's not amazing. It's really fun and is very pop. It's going to be a good dance song. Maybe it's because it's around the best songs on the CD, but I'm not crazy about it.
    9. Mistake- My favorite song on the CD! It's not so much fun, or beautiful. It's got a great feel to it! Great vocals, lyrics, tune, instruments. A perfect song
    10. Give Your Heart a Break- It's danceable, but it doesn't forget her great vocals! I loved it from first listen. It's really fun!
    11. Skyscraper- I loved it as a single, but not in comparison to the rest of the CD.
    12. In Real Life- I really like it :) It has a VERY different feel from the rest of the CD. It's very R&B, and has great vocals!
    13. My Love is Like a Star- I really like this song. Not many people do (I don't know why). It's really nice. It's beautiful.
    14. For the Love of a Daughter- It's REALLY sad. It'll have some people in tears. But it's beautiful. You have to hear it!
    Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    Best album of Demi, all songs are great with the exception of "Mistake" this album is built with several hymns, agitated and dance music with qualities, love songs and melancholy that makes you fall in love with them, her voice is flawless beyond you manage to distract for hours listening to this hymnal.
    Highlights: Hold Up and Lightweight
    Lows: Mistake and In Real Life
  3. Sep 5, 2015
    10
    Demi has showed her potential at writing or co-writting. Excellent album, Many songs are deeply sad or honest; thats why I really loved this album. She had been through a lot, and ignoring that and writting a song is more mature at this point. Great vocals, but the sounds are too explosive/loud. Great album Demetria.
  4. Sep 20, 2015
    10
    So goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
  5. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This album is not what i expected it to be. And that isnt a bad thing. This is a really amazing album from demi, she has some party songs, some ballads, and everything flows together perfectly
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This Album is perfeeeeeeeeect, brazil and world love her. The Pop/R&B in this girl is amazing, she know write a song and sing like a angel. She deserve more and more, i think she is in the right way to be a big popstar
  7. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I didn't like this at all. Childish music, it's even worse than Justin Bieber's. Don't waste your money on this :/ You got a lot to learn Demi...

    Apart
  8. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    On this album Demi shows she isn't just another pretty Disney face who Disney has against her will, decided she is going to be a singer. She blows away every song that gets thrown her way and turns it into a master piece. Well done.
  9. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    A really good album, it has deep and emotional songs, and others really catchy and funny. Also, the album is full of potential singles. Anyway, the best of the album are Lovato's vocals, specially in 'Skyscraper' and 'Lightweight', two really powerful ballads that show the Demi's voice potential.
  10. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    After having a tough year Demi comes back in full rebound, with fun songs and songs that really touch you. Skyscraper is probably of the best song (lyrically) this year. She truly is here to stay, her vocals are some of the best in the industry right now.
  11. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Demi Lovato returns to the music scene after a rough year, with 'Unbroken'. Demi showcases her big voice in this Pop/R&B influenced album. She leaves her Disney Pop/Rock sound and settles for an for a more mature yet playful pop&B sound. This album is destined to be one of the most successful albums of the year. this album introduces us to a new side of Demi and it shows that she can be aDemi Lovato returns to the music scene after a rough year, with 'Unbroken'. Demi showcases her big voice in this Pop/R&B influenced album. She leaves her Disney Pop/Rock sound and settles for an for a more mature yet playful pop&B sound. This album is destined to be one of the most successful albums of the year. this album introduces us to a new side of Demi and it shows that she can be a true R&B queen Expand
  12. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    Demi Lovato has come so far from her Disney days, and this album proves that. Her voice sounds amazing and I think we all know now that she has some real talent. Now this music is not quite my style but I can respect what she is doing here, and I find myself enjoying some of the tracks.
  13. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    For all intents and purposes, this album served it's cause. It's an album recorded under hollywood records. A record label that's known for it's radio friendly sound. So I dunno why people we're saying stupid things like "Demi sold out" really guys? Demi sold out? Last time I checked she was always part of the Disney machine. She was always part of that crowd that tailored to a youngerFor all intents and purposes, this album served it's cause. It's an album recorded under hollywood records. A record label that's known for it's radio friendly sound. So I dunno why people we're saying stupid things like "Demi sold out" really guys? Demi sold out? Last time I checked she was always part of the Disney machine. She was always part of that crowd that tailored to a younger audience. Her time in rehab doesn't mean she was going to completely change her sound and abandon all of her fans. Last time I checked hollywood records was owned by Disney. I'm surprised tracks like for the love of a daughter made it on this cd. All in all, as poppy as it sounds and as polished and typical as this cd sounds, it's still pretty solid. So yeah I recommend it to those who like something catchy, it certainly has a catchy beat to it. Expand
  14. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    It's not innovative, and that's a tad bit difficult to achieve from a teenager. However, Unbroken is an excellent attempt at maturing Lovato's sound -- from Disney pop-rock to Rihanna-meets-Leona Lewis R&B and soul. Recommended tracks are the starring ballads: "Skyscraper", the tear-jerking lead single and the even more heartbreaking "For the Love of a Daughter", and the more electropopIt's not innovative, and that's a tad bit difficult to achieve from a teenager. However, Unbroken is an excellent attempt at maturing Lovato's sound -- from Disney pop-rock to Rihanna-meets-Leona Lewis R&B and soul. Recommended tracks are the starring ballads: "Skyscraper", the tear-jerking lead single and the even more heartbreaking "For the Love of a Daughter", and the more electropop inspired title track, "Unbroken". Expand
  15. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    I love this album it is so good. Lavato voice is amazing on every song. I am loving the new pop/R&B style. You can relate and feel something on almost every song. This is awesome.
  16. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album it's perfect, greats songs, mature and more, Demi's Voice its so incrible, i love this album, i love Demi Lovato, i want grammy nomies for this album. Expand
  17. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    The vocal power in this album is truly amazing. I didn't know Demi had such a strong voice. Actually, I never really noticed her voice that much. She was always being overshadowed by her rivals, Selena Gomez & the Scene. But with this album, she casts her shadow upon Selena and all those other teen pop stars. Her voice reigns in this album. But, it is a pretty dramatic change for Demi.The vocal power in this album is truly amazing. I didn't know Demi had such a strong voice. Actually, I never really noticed her voice that much. She was always being overshadowed by her rivals, Selena Gomez & the Scene. But with this album, she casts her shadow upon Selena and all those other teen pop stars. Her voice reigns in this album. But, it is a pretty dramatic change for Demi. Seeing as her past two albums were mainly pop/rock or acoustic, this one incorporates dance and R&B. The high points in the album are definitely the ballads. Songs like the beautiful Lightweight, the exceptionally sung Fix A Heart, and the vulnerable For The Love of A Daughter, which is the true highlight of the album. But I do criticize on the amount of party songs in this album. The first four tracks are rapid songs that shouldn't really be at the front. They would have fit better somewhere in the middle or the end of the album. Also, this is supposed to be Lovato's most personal album to date, but it is also the one where she contributes the least. She co-writes only 5 tracks. The album seems a little insincere at times. But, For The Love of A Daughter saves it. She sings with such vulnerability and sincerity, it makes you want to cry. It is the most raw track in the album as well. With some of the most amazing vocals I have ever heard and some top-notch production, Unbroken is one of my favorite albums I have heard in some time. HIGHLIGHTS: Give Your Heart A Break, Lightweight, Fix A Heart, For The Love of A Daughter, All Night Long. Expand
  18. Oct 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 1. All Night Long (feat. Missy Elliot and Timbaland) - Demi's vocal is great. Timbaland's production is the worst part of the song. 7/10
    2. Who's That Boy (feat. Dev) - Super catchy, and Dev's verse serves to make it Top 40 material, instead of Radio Disney. 9.5/10
    3. You're My Only Shorty (feat. Iyaz) - She sounds so good on this song, which has a song that's very typical of Iyaz. 9/10 4. Together (feat. Jason Derulo) - It's a nice song, but what it's supposed to be about isn't exactly clear. It loses points for that vagueness. 8/10
    5. Lightweight - Is lightweight a double entendre? It's possible. Regardless, this is poised to be Unbroken's "Catch Me", which was definitely a highlight on Demi's last album. 8.5/10
    6. Unbroken - The title track is one of the least R&B-influenced on the album, but is very accessible and could be a huge Top 40 hit. 8.5/10
    7. Fix a Heart - One of my personal favorites. This song brought me to tears the first time I heard it, in light of Demi's recent struggles. Simply beautiful. 10/10
    8. Hold Up - After "Fix A Heart", this song sounds like nothing special. On it's own, though, it's actually quite good, especially the chorus. 8/10
    9. Mistake - This song really highlights Demi's singing abilities. It's got single potential, although I think that it might not appeal to older audiences as much as HWR would want. 8.5/10
    10. Give Your Heart a Break - Very similar to "Mistake", but more aimed towards listeners around Demi's age, as opposed to the kiddie menu set. 9/10
    11. Skyscraper - The blockbuster first single. Demi's a vocal powerhouse, and this song really shows that. It's also extremely emotional, and a great anthem for teenage girls everywhere. 9.5/10
    12. In Real Life - One of the strongest examples of R&B's influence on the album. It's a very Disney-fied R&B, though, but Demi's voice shines. 9.5/10
    13. My Love Is Like a Star - Such a beautiful ballad. The concept behind it might be cliche, but the chorus is incredibly touching. I can't help but smile and imagine a movie romance when I hear this song. 9/10 14. For the Love of a Daughter - I've been waiting for this song for over two years, ever since Demi spoke about collaborating on it with John Mayer. His presence is negligible, though, as the lyrics are so incredibly personal and emotional to Demi. It shows a new side of her, a heartbroken child wishing her father cared more. It honestly is the most moving song I've heard in years. 11/10
    Expand
  19. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This album is perfect, she passed the stage of Disney girl. There are songs fully mature for his age, but there are also songs of fun. it's fun to give it a perfect 10.
  20. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    This album proved that Demi is indeed still 'unbroken', even from her past troubles. Amazing and powerful vocals - there's something about her voice which makes her unique from any other artist. It's amazing to see that she has grown from a Disney star to a more mature and independent fine young woman. Her most outstanding (and probably the most notable one) is 'Skyscraper'. Amazing,This album proved that Demi is indeed still 'unbroken', even from her past troubles. Amazing and powerful vocals - there's something about her voice which makes her unique from any other artist. It's amazing to see that she has grown from a Disney star to a more mature and independent fine young woman. Her most outstanding (and probably the most notable one) is 'Skyscraper'. Amazing, heartfelt and sung with passion. Congratulations, and I can't wait for your next album. Expand
  21. Mar 1, 2012
    10
    Failure Long as was waiting foi this album i wish musics like Skyscraper but On this albun there's just eletro-beat songs and some other bad emotional music Please Demi, show the real you and get back to your truly style
  22. Mar 30, 2012
    9
    You know what i think? I think just enjoy the music 'cause the music is really helped with her voice which is so beautiful. This is what she likes and i liked it very much. Her collaboration with the artists worked. Keep it going on, DEMI!
  23. Jun 4, 2012
    7
    Overall A Good Album..
    The Single's Are Good..
    A Good Album But It Sadly Needs More Work..
  24. Oct 28, 2012
    7
    o Album tem muuuito oque melhora o Tacklist ta Bagunçado de mais,é Outra ta muuuito sem identidade o Album ta uma mistura de estilo do cão,mais eu adorei o Album fix a heart tinha que ser singler de novo a HR fez merda :/
  25. Oct 16, 2015
    7
    Não odeio o Unbroken. Considero um "bom" álbum. Tem algumas músicas ótimas de ouvir, dançantes - embora seja muito fraco no quesito letras. O problema é que a maioria das pessoas criou muitas expectativas pra ele. Lançado logo após o período na reabilitação, todo mundo esperava um álbum profundo que não ignorasse a virada na vida da Demi. E foi justamente isso que ela fez...
  26. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Demi, I love you but I really do want you back to your Rocket Queen days, thats what made you different from the rest and yourself. But all artist eventually change so Im gonna ride it with you. Gonna Go through each song. All Night Long: Gets you up and jumping and even my mom enjoys it she listened for Missy Elliot but continued to listen for Demi and Missy 4 1/2/5. Who's That Boy: OhDemi, I love you but I really do want you back to your Rocket Queen days, thats what made you different from the rest and yourself. But all artist eventually change so Im gonna ride it with you. Gonna Go through each song. All Night Long: Gets you up and jumping and even my mom enjoys it she listened for Missy Elliot but continued to listen for Demi and Missy 4 1/2/5. Who's That Boy: Oh God I mean I like the lyrics and the beat but to young for Demi 3/5. You're My Only Shorty: Speaking of young I like again the lyrics and beat but this sounds like something you should've made back then with That's How You Know 3/5. Together: Good message 3/5. Lightweight: One of the best songs on the CD nothing bad to say 5/5. Unbroken: Ready to dance like you were never unbroken 4/5. Fix a Heart: (I never actually listened to it). Hold Up: Sounds like something we've heard before but with better lyrics and vocalist 3/5. Mistake: I enjoyed not my fav but not my worst 3 1/2/5. Give Your Heart A Break: This song is perfect however I feel like there's something missing 4/5. Skyscrapper: Not as good as Lightweight but definintly special 4/5. In Real Life: Sounds unique check it out 4/5. My Love Is Like A Star: (Never actually listened to it). For the Love of a Daughter: Knowing the story behind the song makes it even better. 3 1/2/5. Skyscrappers (Wizz Dumb Remix): Better then the original not to much just the right amont 5/5. Yes I Am (Japan Bonas Track): Powerful and Independent 4/5. Aftershock (Japan Bonas Track): This to me is now my favorite song by her originally Got Dynamite and Trainwreck were there but now there knocked out the way 6/5. Yeah 6/5. I think there's 2 more songs but I can't find them but after hearing these 2 bonas's Im pretty sure there good. All in All her second best album after Here We Go Aagain. 8/10. She, Aly & AJ, Zendaya, McClain Sisters and (maybe Selena Gomez) are the only females on Disney that ever can and ever will be able to actually sing. #Lovatiac Expand
  27. May 26, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O Pior Da Demi Mas Tem Muita Música Boas E Cativantes.
    Top Unbroken
    1-Give Your Heart A Break
    2-Mistake
    3-Skyscraper
    4-Together
    5-Fix A Heart
    6-Hold Up
    7-For The Love Of A Daughter
    Mesmo Assim Não Um Album Ruim Muito Bom
    Expand
  28. Apr 24, 2015
    10
    A fun and exciting album at the same time, do not know why only has 59 note, deserved more ... Just like Demi deserves much more recognition for being a humble and well talented artist. One of my favorite albums, Demi leaves me open-mouthed every day more, Congratulations Demi Lovato
  29. Feb 17, 2015
    10
    I absolutely love this album Demi :) I could do without the first four tracks but omg for the love of a daughter, skyscraper, fix a heart, unbroken and give your heart a break slay my heart haha. I love hold up though too and many more :) I didn't really like in real life, just my opinion haha
  30. Apr 16, 2015
    9
    PT (BR): Este álbum realmente é uma surpresa para os tímpanos terrivelmente atormentados de quem ouviu os seus antecessores 'Don't Forget' e 'Here We Go Again'. Uma transição de maturidade incrível que a deu um novo patamar em sua carreira, comentários a parte, não consegui pular uma faixa. Com certeza 'All Night Long', 'Who's That Boy', 'You're My Only Shorty', 'Unbroken', 'Fix A Heart',PT (BR): Este álbum realmente é uma surpresa para os tímpanos terrivelmente atormentados de quem ouviu os seus antecessores 'Don't Forget' e 'Here We Go Again'. Uma transição de maturidade incrível que a deu um novo patamar em sua carreira, comentários a parte, não consegui pular uma faixa. Com certeza 'All Night Long', 'Who's That Boy', 'You're My Only Shorty', 'Unbroken', 'Fix A Heart', 'Lightweight', e 'In Real Life' são as melhores do álbum, Demi por sinal, poderia trabalhar um pouco mais para tentar fazer outro álbum como este para poder apagar o seu terrível histórico de músicas chatas usadas para perturbar os vizinhos.

    EN (US): This album really is a surprise for the terribly tormented eardrums of those who heard their predecessors 'Do not Forget' and 'Here We Go Again'. An amazing maturity of transition that gave new heights in your career, the comments part, I could not skip a track. Surely 'All Night Long', 'Who's That Boy', 'You're My Only Shorty', 'Unbroken', 'Fix A Heart', 'Lightweight', and 'In Real Life' are the album's best, Demi by the way, could work a little harder to try to make another album like this to be able to delete your terrible history of boring songs used to disturb the neighbors.
    Expand
  31. Apr 24, 2015
    8
    Demi is a good artist, but she needs to do albuns better than all, to do smash hits. But she just does glam. I want a different album as 1989(T.S) and FOUR (1D)
  32. Oct 17, 2015
    7
    esse álbum é o segundo pior da demi, achei muito forçado apesar de gosta das músicas. é algo que não se encaixa, ainda bem que em relação ao confident ela cresceu.
  33. Sep 24, 2015
    10
    Demi lacra tudo, mudafans vieram perder tempo quando poderiam ajudar a megamente a hitar sem precisar de macho/amiga. DEMI IS BETTER DEMI IS BETTER DEMI IS BETTER DEMI IS BETTER DEMI IS BETTER DEMI IS BETTER DEMI IS BETTER
  34. Oct 9, 2015
    10
    I love this album, but may have their strange letters, but it's a nice album to listen to, do not know how it only took 59 note, unfortunately, I do WHAT, love it
  35. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    Um dos melhores e mais sinceros albuns dela! Era digno de pelo menos um Grammy! Musicas com cantores inesqueciveis como Missy Elliott e Timbaland! Todas as músicas desse album dá pra sentir o sentimento na voz dela! Unbroken é maravilhoso.
  36. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    ESSE ALBUM É INCRIVEL, RECOMENDO!, é o segundo melhor de toda sua carreira para mim, em primeiro fica Confident que pisou em todos, mas enfim, HINÁAAAAAAAARIO
  37. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    This album is so **** good... everyone should her, it's her second best album, only lost for Confident, but still is very good. Give your heart a break, Skyscraper, Fix a Heart, For the love of a Daughter are so pretty songs
  38. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    Literally one of the best albums of all time. R&B treasure, incredible vocals and music production, great lyrics and amazing collaborations. Contains heart-wrenching songs as well as huge bangers. Love it.
  39. Apr 28, 2016
    10
    METACRITIC eu nunca vou perdoar a injustiça que você fez ao adicionar essa nota a esse album maravilhoso! PARA MIM o melhor album da demi lovato, eu o amo.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    Exorcised of the dud tracks, Unbroken is a streamlined pure-pop winner, but ultimately it cannot measure up to Lovato's contemporaries.
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    "Unbroken" is her best effort yet. Ignoring the first 4 songs, it's a great album, filled with songs that have meaning.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    50
    Unbroken would be a far better album without them [the first four, "utterly vapid" songs] but like it or not they're there, sitting right out in front. It'd seem tragic if such a descriptor wasn't being used to describe an album so laced with actual, genuine tragedy.