Unbroken

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 333 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 67 out of 333
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    Best album of Demi, all songs are great with the exception of "Mistake" this album is built with several hymns, agitated and dance music with qualities, love songs and melancholy that makes you fall in love with them, her voice is flawless beyond you manage to distract for hours listening to this hymnal.
    Highlights: Hold Up and Lightweight
    Lows: Mistake and In Real Life
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    10
    1. All Night Long- It's a good opener, but not a great song as a whole. It's catchy, but didn't leave me amazed.
    2. Who's That Boy- Probably the next single. Not my favorite choice. It's good, but not for her younger fans. It can get suggestive at times.
    3. You're My Only Shorty- It's good, when she sings. Too much Iyaz! 4. Together- I like it, but it's not the best duet on the album. I
    1. All Night Long- It's a good opener, but not a great song as a whole. It's catchy, but didn't leave me amazed.
    2. Who's That Boy- Probably the next single. Not my favorite choice. It's good, but not for her younger fans. It can get suggestive at times.
    3. You're My Only Shorty- It's good, when she sings. Too much Iyaz! 4. Together- I like it, but it's not the best duet on the album. I rank it after ANL. It's got a great tune.
    5. Lightweight- Beautiful! Great vocal performance. I loved it from the first listen!
    6. Unbroken- The best dance song on the album, but doesn't show off her vocals at all. It's really fun, though!
    7. Fix a Heart- I put my guess on this as the 3rd single. It has to be good. It charted at 60 something on Billboard without an official release. It didn't chart like that for nothing. It's really nice, but some parts are a little... awkward.
    8. Hold Up- I like it, but it's not amazing. It's really fun and is very pop. It's going to be a good dance song. Maybe it's because it's around the best songs on the CD, but I'm not crazy about it.
    9. Mistake- My favorite song on the CD! It's not so much fun, or beautiful. It's got a great feel to it! Great vocals, lyrics, tune, instruments. A perfect song
    10. Give Your Heart a Break- It's danceable, but it doesn't forget her great vocals! I loved it from first listen. It's really fun!
    11. Skyscraper- I loved it as a single, but not in comparison to the rest of the CD.
    12. In Real Life- I really like it :) It has a VERY different feel from the rest of the CD. It's very R&B, and has great vocals!
    13. My Love is Like a Star- I really like this song. Not many people do (I don't know why). It's really nice. It's beautiful.
    14. For the Love of a Daughter- It's REALLY sad. It'll have some people in tears. But it's beautiful. You have to hear it!
    Expand
  3. Dec 16, 2012
    4
    Demi's just failed to transmit the message on this album. She's just been through a lot in the past months and it just feels like it has all been ignored. It looks like she's the real & raw Demi only on "Skyscraper", which wasn't written by herself, "Fix a Heart" and "For The Love of a Daughter". The other songs just come out as simple pop songs, and also don't make her look grown up atDemi's just failed to transmit the message on this album. She's just been through a lot in the past months and it just feels like it has all been ignored. It looks like she's the real & raw Demi only on "Skyscraper", which wasn't written by herself, "Fix a Heart" and "For The Love of a Daughter". The other songs just come out as simple pop songs, and also don't make her look grown up at all, for me. In fact, they do (check out "Who's That Boy"), but not in the way many were expecting. "All Night Long", "Give Your Heart a Break", "Hold Up" and "Unbroken" are the best picks off of the album, still, they're faceless. Not that I was expecting a Lovato's version of "Goodbye Lullaby", but she would have sounded more mature in a "I've lived and I've learned" way, and not in a "I can see us sneaking ways from the back of the club to a bed in the shades" way, and unfortunately, the latter way is the one presented on this record. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Demi, I love you but I really do want you back to your Rocket Queen days, thats what made you different from the rest and yourself. But all artist eventually change so Im gonna ride it with you. Gonna Go through each song. All Night Long: Gets you up and jumping and even my mom enjoys it she listened for Missy Elliot but continued to listen for Demi and Missy 4 1/2/5. Who's That Boy: OhDemi, I love you but I really do want you back to your Rocket Queen days, thats what made you different from the rest and yourself. But all artist eventually change so Im gonna ride it with you. Gonna Go through each song. All Night Long: Gets you up and jumping and even my mom enjoys it she listened for Missy Elliot but continued to listen for Demi and Missy 4 1/2/5. Who's That Boy: Oh God I mean I like the lyrics and the beat but to young for Demi 3/5. You're My Only Shorty: Speaking of young I like again the lyrics and beat but this sounds like something you should've made back then with That's How You Know 3/5. Together: Good message 3/5. Lightweight: One of the best songs on the CD nothing bad to say 5/5. Unbroken: Ready to dance like you were never unbroken 4/5. Fix a Heart: (I never actually listened to it). Hold Up: Sounds like something we've heard before but with better lyrics and vocalist 3/5. Mistake: I enjoyed not my fav but not my worst 3 1/2/5. Give Your Heart A Break: This song is perfect however I feel like there's something missing 4/5. Skyscrapper: Not as good as Lightweight but definintly special 4/5. In Real Life: Sounds unique check it out 4/5. My Love Is Like A Star: (Never actually listened to it). For the Love of a Daughter: Knowing the story behind the song makes it even better. 3 1/2/5. Skyscrappers (Wizz Dumb Remix): Better then the original not to much just the right amont 5/5. Yes I Am (Japan Bonas Track): Powerful and Independent 4/5. Aftershock (Japan Bonas Track): This to me is now my favorite song by her originally Got Dynamite and Trainwreck were there but now there knocked out the way 6/5. Yeah 6/5. I think there's 2 more songs but I can't find them but after hearing these 2 bonas's Im pretty sure there good. All in All her second best album after Here We Go Aagain. 8/10. She, Aly & AJ, Zendaya, McClain Sisters and (maybe Selena Gomez) are the only females on Disney that ever can and ever will be able to actually sing. #Lovatiac Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    6
    Demi Lovato's entrance into R&B-esque music might have been bizarre to contemporary audiences after her public battle with emotional stress and self-harm. But Unbroken is not necessarily a miss on any level. Although appearances from well-known and upcoming hip-hop musicians such as Timbaland, Missy Elliot, Dev, and Jason Derulo are flattering attempts at trying to channel Lovato's innerDemi Lovato's entrance into R&B-esque music might have been bizarre to contemporary audiences after her public battle with emotional stress and self-harm. But Unbroken is not necessarily a miss on any level. Although appearances from well-known and upcoming hip-hop musicians such as Timbaland, Missy Elliot, Dev, and Jason Derulo are flattering attempts at trying to channel Lovato's inner Christina Aguilera-esque diva, Lovato is at her strongest in her ballads such as the heartwrenching lead single "Skyscraper" and the very personal ending "For the Love of a Daughter" (which deals with Lovato's struggling relationship with her now late father in the same vein as former Disney starlet Lindsay Lohan's 2005 single "Confessions of a Broken Heart"). Unbroken helps solidify her status as a powerful young singer-songstress at least with her "Lovatics". Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2015
    10
    Demi has showed her potential at writing or co-writting. Excellent album, Many songs are deeply sad or honest; thats why I really loved this album. She had been through a lot, and ignoring that and writting a song is more mature at this point. Great vocals, but the sounds are too explosive/loud. Great album Demetria.
  7. Sep 20, 2015
    10
    So goooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
  8. Oct 16, 2015
    10
    Um dos melhores e mais sinceros albuns dela! Era digno de pelo menos um Grammy! Musicas com cantores inesqueciveis como Missy Elliott e Timbaland! Todas as músicas desse album dá pra sentir o sentimento na voz dela! Unbroken é maravilhoso.
  9. Apr 28, 2016
    10
    METACRITIC eu nunca vou perdoar a injustiça que você fez ao adicionar essa nota a esse album maravilhoso! PARA MIM o melhor album da demi lovato, eu o amo.
  10. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This album is not what i expected it to be. And that isnt a bad thing. This is a really amazing album from demi, she has some party songs, some ballads, and everything flows together perfectly
  11. Feb 20, 2012
    0
    Her voice is so amazing!! I don't understand why she sang this kind of music. Who's That Boy and You're My Only Shorty sucks as hell. I want the old Demi back
  12. Oct 28, 2012
    0
    Why she trys to copy Miley and don't try to be herself. I think it would be a much better idea
  13. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    This Album is perfeeeeeeeeect, brazil and world love her. The Pop/R&B in this girl is amazing, she know write a song and sing like a angel. She deserve more and more, i think she is in the right way to be a big popstar
  14. Sep 24, 2011
    10
    I didn't like this at all. Childish music, it's even worse than Justin Bieber's. Don't waste your money on this :/ You got a lot to learn Demi...

    Apart
  15. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    On this album Demi shows she isn't just another pretty Disney face who Disney has against her will, decided she is going to be a singer. She blows away every song that gets thrown her way and turns it into a master piece. Well done.
  16. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    A really good album, it has deep and emotional songs, and others really catchy and funny. Also, the album is full of potential singles. Anyway, the best of the album are Lovato's vocals, specially in 'Skyscraper' and 'Lightweight', two really powerful ballads that show the Demi's voice potential.
  17. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    After having a tough year Demi comes back in full rebound, with fun songs and songs that really touch you. Skyscraper is probably of the best song (lyrically) this year. She truly is here to stay, her vocals are some of the best in the industry right now.
  18. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    Demi Lovato returns to the music scene after a rough year, with 'Unbroken'. Demi showcases her big voice in this Pop/R&B influenced album. She leaves her Disney Pop/Rock sound and settles for an for a more mature yet playful pop&B sound. This album is destined to be one of the most successful albums of the year. this album introduces us to a new side of Demi and it shows that she can be aDemi Lovato returns to the music scene after a rough year, with 'Unbroken'. Demi showcases her big voice in this Pop/R&B influenced album. She leaves her Disney Pop/Rock sound and settles for an for a more mature yet playful pop&B sound. This album is destined to be one of the most successful albums of the year. this album introduces us to a new side of Demi and it shows that she can be a true R&B queen Expand
  19. Sep 21, 2011
    7
    Demi Lovato has come so far from her Disney days, and this album proves that. Her voice sounds amazing and I think we all know now that she has some real talent. Now this music is not quite my style but I can respect what she is doing here, and I find myself enjoying some of the tracks.
  20. Sep 21, 2011
    9
    For all intents and purposes, this album served it's cause. It's an album recorded under hollywood records. A record label that's known for it's radio friendly sound. So I dunno why people we're saying stupid things like "Demi sold out" really guys? Demi sold out? Last time I checked she was always part of the Disney machine. She was always part of that crowd that tailored to a youngerFor all intents and purposes, this album served it's cause. It's an album recorded under hollywood records. A record label that's known for it's radio friendly sound. So I dunno why people we're saying stupid things like "Demi sold out" really guys? Demi sold out? Last time I checked she was always part of the Disney machine. She was always part of that crowd that tailored to a younger audience. Her time in rehab doesn't mean she was going to completely change her sound and abandon all of her fans. Last time I checked hollywood records was owned by Disney. I'm surprised tracks like for the love of a daughter made it on this cd. All in all, as poppy as it sounds and as polished and typical as this cd sounds, it's still pretty solid. So yeah I recommend it to those who like something catchy, it certainly has a catchy beat to it. Expand
  21. Apr 3, 2012
    3
    As strongs as the message is on this album, its still not a good album but more on a decent level. Her message is only delivered in Skyscraper and the album title. Maybe she should stick with Disney Channel's music
  22. Oct 28, 2012
    0
    omfg how much shi**!!
    really is the worse disney star's!!!!!!!!
    I feel bad for demetria she always gonna be on the flop!!!!!!!!!!
    one day maybe she looks more mature and she can be yourself. maybe
  23. Apr 3, 2015
    0
    hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
  24. Sep 21, 2011
    1
    Wow, this haste to be the WORST album she has made.... Back of the Club? Little Shorty? What the hell is this? No Band? All Auto-tuned and remixes? Man.... I guess re-hab did nothing more then clone her into being like everybody else in Hollywood. Instead of being unique and different you have decided to join the Katy Perry/Lady Gaga gang. Congratulations. You SOLDOUT on us! You sold outWow, this haste to be the WORST album she has made.... Back of the Club? Little Shorty? What the hell is this? No Band? All Auto-tuned and remixes? Man.... I guess re-hab did nothing more then clone her into being like everybody else in Hollywood. Instead of being unique and different you have decided to join the Katy Perry/Lady Gaga gang. Congratulations. You SOLDOUT on us! You sold out to the popular look and this autotuned crap. I guess money talks huh? So disappointed. I think maybe you should re-listen to your first song that captured our attention called "La La Land". Only song that seem even feasible is 'Fix a Heart' which earns this album a 1. Expand
  25. Oct 28, 2012
    0
    Failure Long as was waiting for this album i wish musics like Skyscraper but On this albun there's just eletro-beat songs and some other bad emotional music Please Demi, show the real you and get back to your truly style
  26. Aug 21, 2015
    0
    Terrível, um dos piores albuns que já ouvi em toda minha vida... sonoridade fraca, vocais exagerados, letras sem nexo, continuando na mesmice dos dois anteriores, diferenciando-se apenas a capa e os nomes das músicas
  27. Sep 26, 2011
    7
    It's not innovative, and that's a tad bit difficult to achieve from a teenager. However, Unbroken is an excellent attempt at maturing Lovato's sound -- from Disney pop-rock to Rihanna-meets-Leona Lewis R&B and soul. Recommended tracks are the starring ballads: "Skyscraper", the tear-jerking lead single and the even more heartbreaking "For the Love of a Daughter", and the more electropopIt's not innovative, and that's a tad bit difficult to achieve from a teenager. However, Unbroken is an excellent attempt at maturing Lovato's sound -- from Disney pop-rock to Rihanna-meets-Leona Lewis R&B and soul. Recommended tracks are the starring ballads: "Skyscraper", the tear-jerking lead single and the even more heartbreaking "For the Love of a Daughter", and the more electropop inspired title track, "Unbroken". Expand
  28. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    I love this album it is so good. Lavato voice is amazing on every song. I am loving the new pop/R&B style. You can relate and feel something on almost every song. This is awesome.
  29. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album it's perfect, greats songs, mature and more, Demi's Voice its so incrible, i love this album, i love Demi Lovato, i want grammy nomies for this album. Expand
  30. Mar 16, 2012
    6
    There is a difficulty in rating this album because Demi Lovato has shifted in a new musical direction. Vocally she has hit a new high and there are a handful of songs in the closing portion of the album that show a potential that is waiting to break free. The opening tracks attempt to showcase the new musical direction, but feel a bit awkward and clumsy. Overall the album needed to beThere is a difficulty in rating this album because Demi Lovato has shifted in a new musical direction. Vocally she has hit a new high and there are a handful of songs in the closing portion of the album that show a potential that is waiting to break free. The opening tracks attempt to showcase the new musical direction, but feel a bit awkward and clumsy. Overall the album needed to be refined and find an identity rather than struggle to establish one. Expand
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Feb 7, 2012
    70
    Exorcised of the dud tracks, Unbroken is a streamlined pure-pop winner, but ultimately it cannot measure up to Lovato's contemporaries.
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    "Unbroken" is her best effort yet. Ignoring the first 4 songs, it's a great album, filled with songs that have meaning.
  3. Dec 13, 2011
    50
    Unbroken would be a far better album without them [the first four, "utterly vapid" songs] but like it or not they're there, sitting right out in front. It'd seem tragic if such a descriptor wasn't being used to describe an album so laced with actual, genuine tragedy.