User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 51
  2. Negative: 9 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2011
    9
    I actually had to create an account to throw in my .02, so I hope the ragey Rilo Kiley fans reading through the disappointed negative reviews will possibly get some light shed on the intentions of the band with this album. I never actually cared for this band up until a few weeks ago until my Last.fm played a few tracks from Under the Blacklight and I thought "That's a cool classic rockI actually had to create an account to throw in my .02, so I hope the ragey Rilo Kiley fans reading through the disappointed negative reviews will possibly get some light shed on the intentions of the band with this album. I never actually cared for this band up until a few weeks ago until my Last.fm played a few tracks from Under the Blacklight and I thought "That's a cool classic rock band. Who's the artist now? Let's see...Rilo Kiley??" I listened through all five of their albums consecutively to give myself a perspective on just what the band was. It's pretty clear that each of the band members have a say in what is recorded. Everyone has a different taste. Once I hit Under the Blacklight after just hearing "More Adventurous" a handful of times, it did sound on first listen to be the band "selling out". It sounded pretty sketchy. I understood exactly what the longterm RK fans had been saying in reviews about them trying hit it rich by sounding more mainstream. I have to wonder though, are any of those negative reviews actually listening to the content of this music? Under the Blacklight was still very distinctly RK. A mainstream group wouldn't have you thinking you were listening to Fleetwood Mac or Dusty Springfield. After listening to a few interviews with them, they stated very clearly that everyone had their turns at playing what they wanted to in the previous albums and they wanted to pull from (solely) their parents' music they'd hear on those "long car rides" and the sort. It's not the band selling out, no...it's just them doing something else yet again. Under the Blacklight was intended to be a cheer for the influences they grew up on, and if you can't hear that in the album, there might be a need to question if you've been truly listening to music or just the sound of it. Expand
  2. EmilyS.
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    I love all the old albums, but this one takes the cake. So fun, but layered. I like each song more, each time I hear it!
  3. Mike
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    A great, fun record that should be rulling the radio right now.
  4. JanH
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    The more I listen to it the more I like even the not-so-good tracks (Moneymaker, 15). Very clever pop with sometimes a bit clumsy lyrics. The sound reminds me of Luna. It has been fun to listen to their older stuff now, there are some gems but this change in sound and attitude is more then welcome.
  5. MaisyM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    Good Album. Pleasant Surprise.More a Jenny Lewis Launching pad than a rilo kiley album however.
  6. javichun
    Dec 23, 2007
    9
    Brilliant album!!! One of the best this year!!
  7. BlakeJ!
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    I come at this from maybe a different angle. This is the first Rilo album I heard; I really liked Jenny's solo album so I gave this one a shot. Rilo asks a lot of the listener, no question, but it's a hell of a pleasant ride. Going backwards, More Adventurous and Extinction are also fine albums; I personally don't understand how anyone could be shocked by Under the I come at this from maybe a different angle. This is the first Rilo album I heard; I really liked Jenny's solo album so I gave this one a shot. Rilo asks a lot of the listener, no question, but it's a hell of a pleasant ride. Going backwards, More Adventurous and Extinction are also fine albums; I personally don't understand how anyone could be shocked by Under the Blacklight as a progression. And I don't know why that's a problem for so many. Look at it this way; they could have been like the Foo Fighters and put out the same record for the 6th or 7th time, now how much fun is that? I think this is the second best record of the year after Sarah Borges and Broken Singles. Expand
  8. YngveL.
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Great tunes, and much better than their debut. This is probably one of this years best albums - right up there with The Shins!!
  9. Allan
    Aug 31, 2007
    9
    Great, one of their best. Every song is amazing except for Dejalo.
  10. MattD.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    This is a vibrant, creative record that is still pop. We need more of this kind of thing. Too many times, are choices are between indie and top 40 radio music. But Under The Blacklight doesn't sound like either one. Also, more care was put into the songcraft than I originally thought. A response to a user review: It is a compliment to be lumped with good pop acts like Kelly Clarkson This is a vibrant, creative record that is still pop. We need more of this kind of thing. Too many times, are choices are between indie and top 40 radio music. But Under The Blacklight doesn't sound like either one. Also, more care was put into the songcraft than I originally thought. A response to a user review: It is a compliment to be lumped with good pop acts like Kelly Clarkson and Pink! Expand
  11. blairs.
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    Great! not their best, but certainly a really solid album!
  12. liza
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    perfect!!!
  13. TJW
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    A lot of people will likely disagree with me, but I really think this is the bands best album. I love the blues influence, and definitely hear the Fleetwood Mac influence as well. Really not a bad song on here.
  14. Iman
    Aug 24, 2007
    9
    I was a little worried when I first heard moneymaker and silver lining but this is a terrific CD and fulfills all of the band's promise as it mutates into a major LA band. One question, anybody know what song Jackson Brown is on?
  15. Andrew
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    A bold move for an already great band. Rilo Kiley pulls off their transition to a more polished sound seamlessly, without abandoning their signature qualities: sharp lyrics and gorgeous sounds and they still know not to take themselves too seriously.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Yes, the beats are big and the sound is mainstream and commercial; however, the band sound restrained and uncomfortable.
  2. 100
    Under The Blacklight is by far and away the most accessible album that Rilo Kiley have ever made.
  3. Every one of the eleven songs attached to Blacklight is a stunner in purely musical terms.