Underneath

  • Record Label: 3CG
  • Release Date: Apr 20, 2004
User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 63
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 63
  3. Negative: 6 out of 63

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mgrammgram
    May 3, 2004
    8
    It's not as awful as the some people tend to believe. After all, this is the sanitized version of rock, without the drugs, overt sex and jadedness. So, OK if some of the rock dudes out there turn up their noses at this stuff, it's still competent, intelligent and honest enough to warrent a listening to.
  2. sarahj
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    fantastic album! hanson u make my day everytime i hear ur music........! great voices!
  3. sarah
    Jun 20, 2004
    10
    This CD is amazing!!! With all of the sad, angry music out there these days, it's so refreshing to have young people writing about life's beauty. Hanson, with their lyrics, melodies, and general musical genious make happiness, remorse, loss, and nostalgia come alive in the most beautiful of ways, as they did in This Time Around. This album will definitely put a smile on your This CD is amazing!!! With all of the sad, angry music out there these days, it's so refreshing to have young people writing about life's beauty. Hanson, with their lyrics, melodies, and general musical genious make happiness, remorse, loss, and nostalgia come alive in the most beautiful of ways, as they did in This Time Around. This album will definitely put a smile on your face and make you look at life in all of its glory. Expand
  4. Lilly
    Jul 7, 2004
    10
    Great Cd, still luving Hanson theyve done well,
  5. GC
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    Great CD, one you just want to play on a continous loop! Penny and Me is the best song I ever heard!
  6. nicoleb
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    the passion blended with the lyrics, it's the reason why I can't get it out of my cd player.
  7. KirstenwRIGHT
    Oct 12, 2004
    10
    IT ROCKED
  8. FranciW
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Gotta love this album. If possible, Hanson has gotten even more deep and mature. I love how open this album is. They've really opened up with this one, and I'm glad. Some people may disagree with my opinion, but obviously they have not LISTENED to the lyrics. They're something there, people. I've loved Hanson from their "MmmBop" days, and I continue to love them. I Gotta love this album. If possible, Hanson has gotten even more deep and mature. I love how open this album is. They've really opened up with this one, and I'm glad. Some people may disagree with my opinion, but obviously they have not LISTENED to the lyrics. They're something there, people. I've loved Hanson from their "MmmBop" days, and I continue to love them. I give it a 10. Expand
  9. MeghanD
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    Zack is the best
  10. JennP
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    Tis album is a must-try. I have seen a lot of non-fans and even anti-Hanson people love this album. It is very different then any of their earlier work. It has a good blend of upbeat songs and more mellow songs. Songs R&B such as "Lost Without Each Other" and "Get Up and Go" have a much more R&B flavor while "Believe" and "Broken Angel" are very subdueded. Hanson really poured themselves Tis album is a must-try. I have seen a lot of non-fans and even anti-Hanson people love this album. It is very different then any of their earlier work. It has a good blend of upbeat songs and more mellow songs. Songs R&B such as "Lost Without Each Other" and "Get Up and Go" have a much more R&B flavor while "Believe" and "Broken Angel" are very subdueded. Hanson really poured themselves into this album and it is very evident in every song. When you listen to each song it is easy to be emphatic to what they are feeling, what they are saying (both literally and non-literally) Expand
  11. Kayla
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    This album definately deserves a ten!
  12. Becca
    Sep 12, 2004
    10
    This album is amazing. It's good old classic pop-rock, something that hasn't been heard a lot of these days. There's stylistic range and lyrical range that often goes very deep. It's filled with beautiful instrumentation and singing that perfectly bring out the emotional lyrics. The band has obvious talent and depth.
  13. LisaR
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    This album is just beautiful. The music, the harmony, the lyrics. It really shows off the talent that these 3 men have and the passion that they have for their music.
  14. FloraPhoenix
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    This album is all about the music. It's an album where you would turn up the volume and listen to it quietly in your room or jump around to the upbeat tunes. One mark is taken off because of a weak track in the CD. Overall though, it's fantastic.
  15. VeronicaD
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    Fantastic cd, fantastic music...Hanson are back!
  16. kates
    Jul 1, 2005
    10
    i absolutely love the album, and believe me, im no hanson fan.
  17. KyleM
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Hanson is so hott right now. I didn't like them at all but this CD is so friggin awesome. Buy it now.
  18. JessieA
    Aug 21, 2005
    10
    Awesome awesome awesome! i loved it. hanson are such amazing musicians. i would highly recommend it to everyone!
  19. SattyB
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    By far the best album by Hanson. I love the rockier edge of their music and it relighted my passion for genuine music.
  20. AprilM
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    I feel like this is Hanson's best album by far!
  21. Stacey
    Apr 26, 2004
    10
    Being a hanson fan since 1997 you offten wonder if this group you grew up listening to will stick with you and if you will find the latest materal worth listening to. my taste in music has changed since i was 14 when i first became fan of hanson. now at the age of 21 i find that i grow sick of the hip hop so called pop that is on repeat on the radio stations. after waiting for four years Being a hanson fan since 1997 you offten wonder if this group you grew up listening to will stick with you and if you will find the latest materal worth listening to. my taste in music has changed since i was 14 when i first became fan of hanson. now at the age of 21 i find that i grow sick of the hip hop so called pop that is on repeat on the radio stations. after waiting for four years i high doubted that i would still find what i needed in hansons latest album, the second i heard the album i knew they had growen just as i had. the songs with deeper meanings, touching me as they did the first time i listened to middle of nowhere. this album has staying power, just as im sure hanson will be around for a lot longer with the ablity to grow and mature musical. Expand
  22. Marissa
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    This CD is excellent!! It shows how mature Hanson has come along since "Middle of Nowhere." It's refreshing to listen to these days, since most of the videos on tv, and songs on the radio, are all almost exactly alike. I would recommend this CD to almost anyone.
  23. DaisyL
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    this cd still have a great impact to me! I miss them so much that I wih I could buy all their CD's
  24. AnnR
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    great cd, by a great rock and roll band...try the band and you will be positively surprised by the talent.
  25. SheilahA
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    The best music available today belongs to Hanson.
  26. MadelineS
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    I love this cd!
  27. Enbal
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    It ROCKS!!!
  28. Natasha
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    The album is AWESOME! HANSON is AWESOME!!! They are soooo talented!
  29. NicolleL
    Sep 11, 2004
    9
    This is Hanson's best CD yet. I enjoyed the music and more rock feel to it.
  30. laurenb
    Sep 11, 2004
    10
    melodic sweetnees, soul, great acoustics
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Blender
    60
    There are no future standards, but no sugary returns to childhood, either. [May 2004, p.124]
  2. There's little to dig here as the guys sound like a three-headed John Mayer or a trio of little Joe Jacksons.
  3. This perfectly pitched record reveals that these hardworking brothers' valiant quest for independence shall be rewarded.