Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Sep 25, 2012
    60
    ¡Uno! is a grower.
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    60
    This 12-song return tones down the pomp, in favour for a return to the band's breathless takes on Ramones/Buzzcocks pop-punk formula. [Nov 2012, p.75]
  3. Sep 19, 2012
    60
    Solidly enjoyable though Uno! is, they might have been wiser to mix things up fro the start. [Oct 2012, p.92]
  4. 60
    However successful the whole endeavour (¡Dos! and ¡Tré!) might end up being, ¡Uno! can only be judged on its own merits, and those merits are somewhat erratic.
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    60
    The spiky threesome have made a very decent fist of sounding like their twentysomething selves.
  6. 60
    For now, we have to take it on its own accord: an overly-slick record that does the job for its current audience of diehards, whilst teasing the crusty veterans that dabble occasionally.
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    40
    It comes off like a neutered reprise of the band's decades-old spirit.
  8. Sep 24, 2012
    60
    For all of the expansion in the band's aural palette, it's difficult to escape a sense of déjà vu on some tracks, which sound like only slightly altered versions of previous entries in the Green Day catalogue.
  9. Sep 24, 2012
    40
    The stadium punks' ninth album, though, is largely throwaway.
  10. 60
    It feels like the band is playing it a tad safe here.
  11. Uno! starts promisingly, but it's soon obvious that the Clash of "Tommy Gun" is still their template.
  12. There are some parts you'll have to suffer through, but there are at least a handful of tracks that we can save and enjoy into the future.
  13. Sep 27, 2012
    50
    Armstrong sounds detached, despite a stream of curse words, and the band plays with a machine-like efficiency.
  14. Sep 21, 2012
    60
    ¡Uno! is Green Day's least ambitious record in years and a return to what they do best: short, sharp, scatterbrain pop-punk.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 157 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 50
  2. Negative: 7 out of 50
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I'm a long-term Green day fan and I think it's great.
    Not their best but sure a great way to enter the new decade - by returning to their
    I'm a long-term Green day fan and I think it's great.
    Not their best but sure a great way to enter the new decade - by returning to their power-pop roots (and of course being good at it).
    Lyrics are not as good as they were on their previous releases but the album is just fun, catchy and as Mick Jones once said: "Stripped to the bone". No ****
    And yeah...Sputnik Music seriously sucks.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    ¡Uno! is perhaps, Green Day at it's finest. It goes back to its older punk roots, while still sounding somewhat like there latest¡Uno! is perhaps, Green Day at it's finest. It goes back to its older punk roots, while still sounding somewhat like there latest release. Most of the songs on here are great and memorable. It does, however, lack variety. The songs all sound very similar, which is kinda plain when compared to 21st Century Breakdown. This is, however, a must get for any Green Day fan, or a fan of punk, pop, rock, ect. and is easily worth $10. Full Review »
  3. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    The other low reviewers have said it better - as a Green Day fan from the 90s and beyond I expected much more from them. But then again, whatThe other low reviewers have said it better - as a Green Day fan from the 90s and beyond I expected much more from them. But then again, what can you expect from 40-year old millionaires? Not anything, apparently Full Review »