Uno! - Green Day
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 147

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Uno is a modern day version of Dookie which is a terrific thing for the people that loved Green Day in the early days. I would go as far as saying this is the best album of the year so far and that is hard to say because I love Babel from Mumford & Sons.
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    You May kind of dislike this album but let me get this straight This is not the album like the 21 Century **** is Pure Power Punk,............You guys know green day for their newly derived Rock Age Since '03....The Real Band was the '95 generation Dookie....Short Let Go ...Punk Songs.... Their Real Strength.........The Thing here is That the only problem with this album is the time about the generation.....they will definitely ignore this Punk Phase but they should not compare it To American Idiot (one of their best) cuz it was a rock opera...this is power punk...Different but not that good as Dookie and Nimrod!.... Definitely better than 21 century breakdown..haha but still it gave them a Grammy #Are you serious? Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    A great throwback to their earlier stuff while still keeping their more recent themes intact. Not their best obviously but it's definitely a new take on their music. The concept of a trilogy is such a unique idea, especially with the music industry where it is these days.
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    10
    Green day is one of the best punk rock bands out there. The main reason i believe this is becuase they change so much. Look at Dookie, then there best album American idiot and now Uno. Uno is different from their other albums but is still really really good. Great Job Green day! Can't wait for Dos and Tre!
  5. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I'm a long-term Green day fan and I think it's great.
    Not their best but sure a great way to enter the new decade - by returning to their power-pop roots (and of course being good at it).
    Lyrics are not as good as they were on their previous releases but the album is just fun, catchy and as Mick Jones once said: "Stripped to the bone". No ****
    And yeah...Sputnik Music seriously sucks.
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    As an Idiot I think I can tell that this album is way more better than 21st Century Breakdown. ¡Uno! is a perfect combination between Green Day early years stuff with a perfect power-pop. This is an album with no concept, which is great because you can enjoy every single song individually. I love the way Green Day put the songs on the album, I mean... when you start hearing "Oh Love" you know you should start taking off your headphones, just like "Wake me up when september ends" on American Idiot", "Sassafras Roots" on Dookie and "Good Riddance" on Nimrod. Expand
  7. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Green Day have crafted one of the worst albums ever just because they're Green Day. I'm not going to make an argument that can be backed up with evidence and that's why its bad. Musicians playing music that has structure and requires the band playing instruments themselves and writing their own music is a bad thing. Dubstep and indie music are the best in this day and age considering making music is irrelevant now. Stop listening to this and listen to Death Cab For Cutie and Skrillex. Oh by the way, if you can't tell, this is sarcasm and this album rules! Dubstep, Death Cab For Cutie, & Skrillex Suck! Expand
  8. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Uno! it's very good, with great sound and a loud style, and the new song Kill the DJ surprise the music world, demostrating that can make dancing music......good album for the start of this trilogy
  9. Dec 24, 2012
    9
    Take the sound+energy of Nimrod and the style+arrangements of Warning and you have Uno. A great album that I can mostly listen start to finish, (minus tracks 5 and 8, bleh!!). I just wish Billie Joe would use a bit more distortion like he used to! Other than that a really fun, energetic album to listen to.
  10. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    First review! Terrific album! Much better than 21st century breakdown. Reminds me of the pre-AI days but more refined. Let Yourself Go, Stay The Night, Fell for You, Carpe Diem, Sweet 16, Rusty James are all fantastic tracks that I can't stop listening to. Troublemaker is a bit tough to get used to but it has the best solo and lyric. Loss of control, Oh Love, and Kill the DJ are the weakest tracks which is saying something because if they were on 21st CB I would've considered them the best tracks. Expand
  11. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    My favorite Green Day album since American Idiot. There's a few songs I didn't enjoy but songs like "Let Yourself Go" "Oh Love" and "Carpe Diem" are my favorite.
  12. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    ¡Uno! is perhaps, Green Day at it's finest. It goes back to its older punk roots, while still sounding somewhat like there latest release. Most of the songs on here are great and memorable. It does, however, lack variety. The songs all sound very similar, which is kinda plain when compared to 21st Century Breakdown. This is, however, a must get for any Green Day fan, or a fan of punk, pop, rock, ect. and is easily worth $10. Expand
  13. Mar 13, 2013
    9
    After American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown another great album by Green Day, although it's not on the same level. There are no bad songs in it, and some of them are very good (Let Yourself Go, Stay The Night). I think it's one of their best. Let's see the next two.
  14. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    After going in a new direction with their political messages and overall stadium rock feel to their previous two albums, Green Day go back to a similar sound to their origins, and in the end it's pulled off well. Songs such as Nuclear Family, Carpe Diem and Rusty James could have easily been mistaken for B-sides for Nimrod and nobody would blame you.

    The album isn't perfect, with Billie
    Joe's new vocal style taking some getting used to, because although it worked well on American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, it's a whole new ball game when it comes to this album, but once you're used to it, it's very good and Billie puts in a solid performance, as well as Jason White, Mike Dirnt and Tre Cool, all putting in solid performances of their own.

    Songs to look out for include Nuclear Family, Carpe Diem, Fell for You, Loss of Control and Rusty James, although there isn't a single song I don't enjoy on the album, but those are the really memorable ones.
    Expand
  15. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    Green Day has always fascinated me in that they can write such catchy songs using simple power chords. This album delivers in that aspect. It's a departure from 21st Century Breakdown and a throwback to the days of Dookie and Nimrod. You'll find most of the album has an in-your-face, I don't care attitude, while other tracks are more sentimental. Stay the Night can best be described as a plea and it's a masterpiece. Fell For You is another sentimental love song but is catchy and punchy enough to avoid falling into groan territory. Nuclear Family feels like it was pulled straight out of the Nimrod days, while Sweet 16 and Rusty James could have easily been on Warning. The weakest song on the album is probably Oh Love; 5 minutes of boredom that never really goes anywhere. In all, it's a solid listen and it's nice to see the guys getting back to form after the underwhelming-but-still-good 21st Century Breakdown. Some critics will probably dismiss it for being too cliche in certain spots, or too similar to some of their previous material. Oddly enough, I give it praise for the same reasons. What's hard to believe is that there are still two more albums to come in the next 4 months. Expand
  16. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This album is excellent! It is in the style of their older stuff yet more refined. This is probably Green Day's 3rd best album behind Dookie and American Idiot. Some songs lack a bit of punch until the very end like Carpe Diem but other than that this album is brilliant!
  17. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    This album really takes me back. My best description is a good mix of Nimrod and Shenanigans with a little bit of Warning and Insomniac in small doses. Looking forward to the following releases!
  18. Oct 6, 2012
    9
    This album is exactly what Green Day said it would be. I am a long time green day fan, and sure this album doesn't necessarily get up to par with Dookie and Insomniac but come on, they are in their forties. This album is pretty sweet if you give it the time and consider that trio, now quartet is no longer the snotty rebellious teens they once were. This is Green Day going back to their basic roots, and i truly respect it. Expand
  19. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    When I first listened to this album, I thought that it sounded horrible. However, after a few more listens, I love it! It's not as good as Dookie, Nimrod, Warning, etc but it's definitely up there.
  20. Nov 11, 2012
    9
    Green Day just might as well call themselves the kings of pop punk. The band is not just releasing "Uno", but is releasing two more in the same year, literally named "Dos" and "Tre" both coming out in the later aspects of 2012. "Dos" comes out on Tuesday. Anyway, lets just get on to the review

    This CD has a lot of good songs. Songs like "Nuclear Family", "Stay The Night", "Loss of
    Control", and "Oh Love" make this record a good collect. That is all the review, let's just see what the other two albums are going to be like. Expand
  21. Sep 25, 2012
    8
    I wasn't a BIG fan of the last two albums, though I did like American Idiot and thought it was the far superior of the two. This album however I instantly took too. It brings me back to the Green Day I fell in love with in 1994. After a few spins it plays like a greatest hits album. Really well done.
  22. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    One of Green Day's greatest efforts, "¡Uno!" brings back its pop/punk brilliance with well-crafted rock songs. There are no fillers here (unlike the other albums of this trilogy). "Sweet 16" is THE highlight. "Stay the Night" and "Let Yourself Go" are other highlights here, as they are pure rock 'n' roll. "Kill the DJ", a bit different track from other Green Day tracks, find its way and does not disappoint at all, together with "Carpe Diem" and "Troublemaker". "Nuclear Family" and Rusty James" are also very welcome. "Oh Love", the lead single, closes the album with a sense of "work well done". "Fell for You" is a little sweeter than most of their other tracks, but it's good, though it might not please some fans. "Angel Blue" and "Loss of Control" are the weakest tracks here, but yet they are good.

    "¡Uno!' is the best album on the trilogy and I recommend it.
    Expand
  23. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    While ¡Uno! doesn't have the depth of American Idiot or 21st Century Breakdown, it stands on its own as a new direction for Green Day. Having been around for more than 20 years, it is essential that they continue to change it up, and ¡Uno! is a great example. There's a lot less politics, and a lot more short guitar solos.

    The album opens up with Nuclear Family, which is
    pretty average. It has grown on me over time, though, and it's a quick song (as most are on this album). Then it moves on to Stay the Night, which in my opinion is one of the best songs on the album. It's pretty different from other things GD have done in the past, and I can't think of any of their previous songs to compare it to. After that is Carpe Diem. Like Nuclear Family, this song took a couple listens to really warm up to, and is similar to Life Before the Lobotomy from 21CB.

    Let Yourself Go and Kill the DJ are the most fun songs in the album. Let Yourself Go is a really fast song that is a lot of fun to sing along to, and Kill the DJ, while some might say is too repetitive, has a great beat that you'll be tapping your foot to. Fell for You and Angel Blue seem to represent the weaker points in the album. They lack any real substance, but are at least still fun to listen to in the context of the full album.

    Loss of Control and Troublemaker are another pair of great songs. They're full of energy and fun to blast in the car. Sweet 16 is similar to Stay the Night, in that it is hard to compare it directly to any previous songs. I think the closest I can find would have to be Pulling Teeth from Dookie.

    Finally Rusty James provides a great tune for the penultimate song in the album, leading into the album's closer Oh Love, which everyone has probably already heard on the radio this summer.

    While some may argue that this album wasn't as great as GD's last two, I think it really shouldn't be compared on the same level. ¡Uno! stands on its own as a great way to spend 41 minutes, and adding 12 awesome new songs to your library. If you go in with the right expectations, this album can be really amazing.
    Expand
  24. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    Quite different from their previous work but it is still a great album when put together. Some of the standout tracks were "Stay the night" and "Kill the DJ"
  25. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    After the ambitious and theatrical rock operas American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, Green Day have returned with a straightforward rock album. ¡Uno! sees a stylistic return to the classic vibe of the Dookie-Insomniac-Nimrod era. Some songs are still reminiscent of American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown ("Stay the Night", "Carpe Diem"). But most of the tracks on this album could easily have fit in with the band's work from the '90s. The song "Kill the DJ" - arguably the standout track - is a welcome change, offering a dance-punk style akin to The Clash's Sandinista! Much thanks to Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt, and Tré Cool for making a solid album. Hopefully ¡Dos! and ¡Tré! will be just as good, if not better. Expand
  26. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Definitely not their best stuff, but is well enough to satisfy. Some of the songs get kind of repetitive and aren't very memorable, but there still are good songs that retain those punk roots we're accustomed to like "Let Yourself Go" while at the same time having some unique creative ones like "Kill the DJ" , that are not the usual Green Day that we're used to, but it's a fun change of pace and it works. I'm looking forward to "¡Dos!" and "¡Tré! and hopefully there will be some more improvement. Expand
  27. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    I'm gonna say it, Uno is definitely a great album from Green Day. For those who say the new songs all sound the same, (sure they mostly sound the same) but it's definitely Green Day in their fun, punk days. I even enjoyed "Kill The DJ". The album in general really does feel like a blast from the past. And that is nowhere close to a bad thing.
  28. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    Green Day foray deeper into pop-punk than they ever have before with Uno!. Less experimental than their previous two albums, the result is a non-stop attack of high-energy music that brings the band back to their punk roots, while still having the refined pop sound of their newest releases.
  29. Jun 23, 2014
    8
    Not Green Day's best work. However this is a fun album and as great as American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown are its nice to have some fun. Best songs: Oh Love, Let Yourself Go, Carpe Diem, Rusty James and Troublemaker
  30. Oct 2, 2012
    7
    I'm a long time Green Day fan, and have stuck with the band through every change. Sure, Green Day's not the pop-punk, 90-second song-slinging machines they used to be, nor, apparently, are they any longer performers of epic rock operas...Uno seems to be a combination of the two and yet something completely different.
    Very quick songs a la Dookie are here, but it's still not the fast paced
    punk Green Day started with. The themes are centered around love, sexy times, and the like, and the sound is sort of American Idiot-era generica. Simple guitar riffs and drum beats, mixed with the less poetic side of Billie Joe's writing make for a less artistic, but no less fun, Green Day album.
    If this is the direction Green Day is headed in now I won't stop buying albums...but they may need to make room on my favorite bands list.
    Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    What this amounts to is a sharp and often exhilarating change of gear from the Green Day of the past eight years. [22 Sep 2012, p.50]
  2. There are some parts you'll have to suffer through, but there are at least a handful of tracks that we can save and enjoy into the future.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    After all these years they can still write a catchy tune.