Uno! - Green Day
Uno! Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 145 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first release in a planned trilogy for the punk rock band was produced by Rob Cavallo.
  • Record Label: Reprise / Warner Bros. / Warner Music
  • Genre(s): Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Punk Revival, Punk-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    What this amounts to is a sharp and often exhilarating change of gear from the Green Day of the past eight years. [22 Sep 2012, p.50]
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    ¡Uno! does what Green Day have always done best: play loud, fast, catchy-as-fuck punk rock that results in near-endless replay value.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    After all these years they can still write a catchy tune.
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    60
    ¡Uno! is Green Day's least ambitious record in years and a return to what they do best: short, sharp, scatterbrain pop-punk.
  5. There are some parts you'll have to suffer through, but there are at least a handful of tracks that we can save and enjoy into the future.
  6. Uno! starts promisingly, but it's soon obvious that the Clash of "Tommy Gun" is still their template.
  7. 20
    Some of the dullest music released all year.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 47
  2. Negative: 7 out of 47
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I'm a long-term Green day fan and I think it's great.
    Not their best but sure a great way to enter the new decade - by returning to their
    power-pop roots (and of course being good at it).
    Lyrics are not as good as they were on their previous releases but the album is just fun, catchy and as Mick Jones once said: "Stripped to the bone". No ****
    And yeah...Sputnik Music seriously sucks.
    Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    Uno is a modern day version of Dookie which is a terrific thing for the people that loved Green Day in the early days. I would go as far as saying this is the best album of the year so far and that is hard to say because I love Babel from Mumford & Sons. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    After going in a new direction with their political messages and overall stadium rock feel to their previous two albums, Green Day go back to a similar sound to their origins, and in the end it's pulled off well. Songs such as Nuclear Family, Carpe Diem and Rusty James could have easily been mistaken for B-sides for Nimrod and nobody would blame you.

    The album isn't perfect, with Billie Joe's new vocal style taking some getting used to, because although it worked well on American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, it's a whole new ball game when it comes to this album, but once you're used to it, it's very good and Billie puts in a solid performance, as well as Jason White, Mike Dirnt and Tre Cool, all putting in solid performances of their own.

    Songs to look out for include Nuclear Family, Carpe Diem, Fell for You, Loss of Control and Rusty James, although there isn't a single song I don't enjoy on the album, but those are the really memorable ones.
    Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Definitely not their best stuff, but is well enough to satisfy. Some of the songs get kind of repetitive and aren't very memorable, but there still are good songs that retain those punk roots we're accustomed to like "Let Yourself Go" while at the same time having some unique creative ones like "Kill the DJ" , that are not the usual Green Day that we're used to, but it's a fun change of pace and it works. I'm looking forward to "¡Dos!" and "¡Tré! and hopefully there will be some more improvement. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    Green Day was originally a punk band. Then "American Idiot" happened and the new generation or power-pop lovers fell in love with them. iUno! contunues with that tradition. Definitely not a bad album, not Green Day's worst, but, loving the old 90s stuff, like many of the other reviews for this album, this is very pop influenced. I have a bias towards the genre and will be inclined to give it a worse grade then I give it, but I have to take into account its audience. This is mainly for the mainstream power-pop lovers and for that, this album is a home run. In fact, if that's what you're going for, this whole trilogy is a home run!!! But from a musicians standpoint (which I am), it is catchy, but not traditional Green Day which is what I was hoping for a return to. 7/10. Expand
  6. Dec 19, 2012
    6
    Decent album. All the songs have the same sort of feel to them. Only a few songs are really good. Wasnt as good as expected, but Green day is always good. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    what happened to the band that brought us international top hits such as american idiot, basket case, boulevard of broken dreams, holiday and 21 guns, only to mention a few! Collapse

See all 47 User Reviews