Uno! - Green Day
Uno! Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first release in a planned trilogy for the punk rock band was produced by Rob Cavallo.
  • Record Label: Reprise / Warner Bros. / Warner Music
  • Genre(s): Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Punk Revival, Punk-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    What this amounts to is a sharp and often exhilarating change of gear from the Green Day of the past eight years. [22 Sep 2012, p.50]
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    ¡Uno! does what Green Day have always done best: play loud, fast, catchy-as-fuck punk rock that results in near-endless replay value.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    After all these years they can still write a catchy tune.
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    60
    ¡Uno! is Green Day's least ambitious record in years and a return to what they do best: short, sharp, scatterbrain pop-punk.
  5. There are some parts you'll have to suffer through, but there are at least a handful of tracks that we can save and enjoy into the future.
  6. Uno! starts promisingly, but it's soon obvious that the Clash of "Tommy Gun" is still their template.
  7. 20
    Some of the dullest music released all year.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 48
  2. Negative: 7 out of 48
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I'm a long-term Green day fan and I think it's great.
    Not their best but sure a great way to enter the new decade - by returning to their
    power-pop roots (and of course being good at it).
    Lyrics are not as good as they were on their previous releases but the album is just fun, catchy and as Mick Jones once said: "Stripped to the bone". No ****
    And yeah...Sputnik Music seriously sucks.
    Collapse
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Uno! it's very good, with great sound and a loud style, and the new song Kill the DJ surprise the music world, demostrating that can make dancing music......good album for the start of this trilogy Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    When I first listened to this album, I thought that it sounded horrible. However, after a few more listens, I love it! It's not as good as Dookie, Nimrod, Warning, etc but it's definitely up there. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    After the ambitious and theatrical rock operas American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, Green Day have returned with a straightforward rock album. ¡Uno! sees a stylistic return to the classic vibe of the Dookie-Insomniac-Nimrod era. Some songs are still reminiscent of American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown ("Stay the Night", "Carpe Diem"). But most of the tracks on this album could easily have fit in with the band's work from the '90s. The song "Kill the DJ" - arguably the standout track - is a welcome change, offering a dance-punk style akin to The Clash's Sandinista! Much thanks to Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt, and Tré Cool for making a solid album. Hopefully ¡Dos! and ¡Tré! will be just as good, if not better. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    7
    I've been a fan of Green Day since I found Dookie as a kid, probably 13 years ago. When American Idiot received considerable airplay I wasn't even aware it was the same band. Their past two albums have had a more stadium rock feel to them, which is something Uno! lacks. That's not to say it doesn't have some catchy power punk anthems but the album lacks cohesiveness in comparison with their most recent works. It starts on a high note, rattling through 'Nuclear Family', 'Stay the Night', and 'Carpe Diem', and finishes with familiar sounds in 'Rusty James' and 'Oh Love'. The middle however, is filled with relatively short, themeless songs that all sound increasingly similar. I understand the theme of the first album in the trilogy is to be 'Power Pop Punk', but let's hope we see more from volumes two and three, with their "Garage Rock' and 'Stadium Rock' labels. Expand
  6. Sep 25, 2012
    5
    For fans of the two previous albums this will probably be a disappointment. Because Uno! brings nothing more than some nice, but not rememberable guitar solos and approx. 643 uses of the F-word. The opener "Nuclear Family" is one nice song but the rest is some boring pop punk stuff. Everything's very similar, it seems like they didn't spend much time in any of the songs. Not bad, but just not good, sadly. Green Day can do way better than that, but I for my share think, that their time is over. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    what happened to the band that brought us international top hits such as american idiot, basket case, boulevard of broken dreams, holiday and 21 guns, only to mention a few! Expand

See all 48 User Reviews