Uno! - Green Day
Uno! Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first release in a planned trilogy for the punk rock band was produced by Rob Cavallo.
  • Record Label: Reprise / Warner Bros. / Warner Music
  • Genre(s): Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Punk Revival, Punk-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    What this amounts to is a sharp and often exhilarating change of gear from the Green Day of the past eight years. [22 Sep 2012, p.50]
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    80
    ¡Uno! does what Green Day have always done best: play loud, fast, catchy-as-fuck punk rock that results in near-endless replay value.
  3. Oct 2, 2012
    70
    After all these years they can still write a catchy tune.
  4. Sep 21, 2012
    60
    ¡Uno! is Green Day's least ambitious record in years and a return to what they do best: short, sharp, scatterbrain pop-punk.
  5. There are some parts you'll have to suffer through, but there are at least a handful of tracks that we can save and enjoy into the future.
  6. Uno! starts promisingly, but it's soon obvious that the Clash of "Tommy Gun" is still their template.
  7. 20
    Some of the dullest music released all year.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 49
  2. Negative: 7 out of 49
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    I'm a long-term Green day fan and I think it's great.
    Not their best but sure a great way to enter the new decade - by returning to their
    I'm a long-term Green day fan and I think it's great.
    Not their best but sure a great way to enter the new decade - by returning to their power-pop roots (and of course being good at it).
    Lyrics are not as good as they were on their previous releases but the album is just fun, catchy and as Mick Jones once said: "Stripped to the bone". No ****
    And yeah...Sputnik Music seriously sucks.
    Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Uno! it's very good, with great sound and a loud style, and the new song Kill the DJ surprise the music world, demostrating that can makeUno! it's very good, with great sound and a loud style, and the new song Kill the DJ surprise the music world, demostrating that can make dancing music......good album for the start of this trilogy Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    When I first listened to this album, I thought that it sounded horrible. However, after a few more listens, I love it! It's not as good asWhen I first listened to this album, I thought that it sounded horrible. However, after a few more listens, I love it! It's not as good as Dookie, Nimrod, Warning, etc but it's definitely up there. Expand
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    After the ambitious and theatrical rock operas American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, Green Day have returned with a straightforward rockAfter the ambitious and theatrical rock operas American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, Green Day have returned with a straightforward rock album. ¡Uno! sees a stylistic return to the classic vibe of the Dookie-Insomniac-Nimrod era. Some songs are still reminiscent of American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown ("Stay the Night", "Carpe Diem"). But most of the tracks on this album could easily have fit in with the band's work from the '90s. The song "Kill the DJ" - arguably the standout track - is a welcome change, offering a dance-punk style akin to The Clash's Sandinista! Much thanks to Billie Joe Armstrong, Mike Dirnt, and Tré Cool for making a solid album. Hopefully ¡Dos! and ¡Tré! will be just as good, if not better. Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2012
    7
    I've been a fan of Green Day since I found Dookie as a kid, probably 13 years ago. When American Idiot received considerable airplay I wasn'tI've been a fan of Green Day since I found Dookie as a kid, probably 13 years ago. When American Idiot received considerable airplay I wasn't even aware it was the same band. Their past two albums have had a more stadium rock feel to them, which is something Uno! lacks. That's not to say it doesn't have some catchy power punk anthems but the album lacks cohesiveness in comparison with their most recent works. It starts on a high note, rattling through 'Nuclear Family', 'Stay the Night', and 'Carpe Diem', and finishes with familiar sounds in 'Rusty James' and 'Oh Love'. The middle however, is filled with relatively short, themeless songs that all sound increasingly similar. I understand the theme of the first album in the trilogy is to be 'Power Pop Punk', but let's hope we see more from volumes two and three, with their "Garage Rock' and 'Stadium Rock' labels. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2012
    6
    Puxando pela minha memória, acredito que o Green Day foi a primeira banda de rock que eu realmente gostei. Foi com o American Idiot dePuxando pela minha memória, acredito que o Green Day foi a primeira banda de rock que eu realmente gostei. Foi com o American Idiot de 2004. Isso já faz oito anos e nesse meio tempo minha admiração apenas aumentou. Talvez por isso o crédito da banda está bastante alto, ainda mais agora com o lançamento do álbum ¡Uno!.

    Longe da grandiosidade das óperas rock do já citado American Idiot e do último trabalho deles 21st Century Breakdown, ¡Uno! marca a volta do trio para as raízes deles com um rock/punk/pop mais cru e menos pretensioso. É ótimo vê-los de volta a forma antiga, mas o resultado final ficou meio abaixo das expectativas. Não que seja ruim. Longe disso, mas tudo ficou apenas morno. Está lá o resultado de ótimos músicos que são os componentes do trio entregando arranjos caprichosamente trabalhados e com a cara do grupo, mas que perdem força devido ao fato de não irem além do eles já fizeram. É tudo muito certinho e até previsível em alguns momentos. Billie Joe está bem com seus vocais só que parecem ter entrado em um automático. As composições também escritas pelo frontman estão divertidas e com refrões precisos para fazer os fãs cantarem em shows e é só isso. Nenhum momento genial ou acima da média. Gosto especialmente da pop/punk/chiclete Kill the DJ (resenha a seguir) e da melhor do álbum Oh Love, primeiro single do álbum. Como primeiro álbum de uma seqüencia de três que vão ser lançados até o começo do ano que vem, o Green Day ainda tem mais duas chances de acertarem totalmente.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2012
    0
    what happened to the band that brought us international top hits such as american idiot, basket case, boulevard of broken dreams, holiday andwhat happened to the band that brought us international top hits such as american idiot, basket case, boulevard of broken dreams, holiday and 21 guns, only to mention a few! Expand

See all 49 User Reviews