User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 117 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 117
  2. Negative: 20 out of 117

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars has proven with this album that he is not a one-trick-pony. If you did not like his first album, I urge you to give Unorthodox Jukebox a chance. There are so many different styles on this album, that it never becomes stale or boring. He has taken the risky path that not many choose to take with a sophmore album, but it paid off big time.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    After listening to this record, I can easily say that Bruno Mars is one of the best musicians we have today. Unorthdox Jukebox is a pile of diversity and is equally mind-blowing. He took a huge risk this time and it really got paid off. His voice has improved, his songs sound more mature now, he has incorporated almost every genre on this album we know would better suit his voice. Best thing about this album is that how original and fresh it sounds, every song on the record has its own powerful yet soothing melody which is very rare these days. I love almost all the songs on this record but my favorites are "Moonshine", "Gorilla", "Locked Out of Heaven", "Natalie" and "If I Knew". Every song on the record is worth listening to, and I must say that Bruno Mars has surprised me again. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    this is the album i waited for well done bruno! many different styles on this album, that it never becomes boring. He has taken the risky path that not many choose to take with a sophmore album, but it paid off big time.
    Give this album a chance
  4. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Bruno Mars - Unorthodox Juxebox:

    1. Young Girls: Amazing start. 10/10! 2. Locked Out Of Heaven: The first single. Fast and danceable: 10/10! 3.Gorilla: I love the drums on this song 9/10! 4.Treasure: Disco-Feeling! 8/10! 5.Moonshine: I don't like this song so much. Sorry 5/10! 6.When I Was Your Man: Amazing ballad! 10/10! 7.Natalie: And the next wonderful song 10/10. 8. Show Me:
    Reggae!! 9/10

    9.Money Make Her Smile: Not my favorite song. It sounds like Lady Gaga 4/10

    10: If I Knew: Final Highlight 10/10

    --> 8.5 points = 9 points. Nice work!
    Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars. That name evokes a variety of responses form people who are familiar with the name. While his fans adore him, the naysayers call him too sugary and resent his omnipresence on the radio. One rapper went as far as writing about stabbing him , as you do if you don't like someone's music rather than getting on with your life. Critics use "Grenade" as an example to show how his lyrics lack depth, while "The lazy song" is often referred as "too gay".
    Despite all this, it's an undisputed fact that "Doo-Wops and Hooligans" was a big success, and turned Mars from a hit churning songwriter/producer into a global superstar, earning him a handful of prestigious awards, including a Grammy. So, no one could have faulted Mars if he had stuck to the proven formula, and produced a slew of sequels to his global hits. Instead, he has chosen to walk a path chosen by few, and produced what could turn out to be the album of the year. "Unorthodox Jukebox" bursts with the confidence of a man who feels invincible. He defies genre conventions, and isn't afraid of acknowledging his many influences. He recruits some of the best producers in the industry right now, to work with his own production team and the results show immediately. There are a few wobbles undoubtedly, but by and large, this is an undisputed success for Mars and his team. Best- Natalie, Gorilla, Show Me, When I was your man, Moonshine.
    Good- Locked out of Heaven, Young girls, Money Makes her Smile.
    Average- Treasure, If I knew.
    Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Can Bruno Mars do wrong? And the answer is, as of right now after hearing the album. No, never, not once! I will be the first to admit that when I heard "Locked Out of Heaven" for the first time, I was completely taken aback and thought he was making a big mistake. Now having digested both that song and the entire album as a whole I realize that Bruno was going for something entirely different with this album and was trying to give his new album more longevity. And he has succeeded.

    Young Girls: the opening track to Unorthodox Jukebox and so it should of been. Mars knows that this album is going to be filled with new ideas and risks. So why not open with a light "Doo-Wops & Hooligans" reminiscent tune. Young Girls is a very sweet track when Bruno sings about lifes sins and ones indulgence in those sins. Brunos Voice soars in this epic ballad. A great way to open the album. 9/10 Locked Out of Heaven: What can I say about this 80's style epic. Bruno has taken inspiration from the Police to construct this one and I am glad he has. Locked out of heaven is one of the strongest tracks on this album. I love the feel of it. Especially on the final chorus where the drums and instrumental breaks down. It lights up your soul! 10/10

    Gorilla: I was most anticipating this track. Having listened to Locked Out of Heaven before I heard this I was prepared for something different. Now Gorilla is going to be a complete miss or a game winning home run for different people. For me however it is the strongest track on the album. I can't remember the last time a track gave me such an epic feel. The song takes inspiration from Prince in his most explicit. Gorilla cannot be explained just listen to it. Whatever the case, it is not a boring song, it was a risk yes. But I believe it payed off ten fold! 10/10

    Treasure: What can I say, I love the 70's disco feel. Care free, light disco funk tune. Loved it, and a great break from Gorilla. 9/10

    Moonshine: Taking inspiration from Michael Jackson, Bruno shows his abilities for great songwriting yet again. One of my favorites on the album. Just a beautifully haunting song. 9/10

    When I Was Your Man: After the high production of the previous tracks, Bruno breaks it down with this beautiful piano ballad. Bruno accompanied only by his piano sings his soul out in the one of a kid track. Similar to Michael Jacksons "She's Out of My Life". But is it's stand alone piece of art. A highlight on the album without a doubt. 10/10

    Natalie: I have to admit when I saw the title I thought: "Oh not an other love song about a girl". I honestly thought something along the lines of Valery was on the was. But boy was I wrong. Ladies you do not what to be Natalie in this song. Bruno's psychotic side is shown in this fast paced anthem. Potential single with an addictive chorus! 10/10

    Show Me: What would a Bruno Mars album be without a little bit of Reggae. So please sit back and allow "Show Me" to transport you to an island paradise. Superb song and Bruno once again shows his versatility as a musician. 9/10

    Money Make Her Smile: There is a story behind this one. Look it up. One of the strongest tracks on the album. Bruno took a chance with this one and boy did it pay off! 10/10

    If I Knew: After all is said and done, after all the sex, alcohol and death threats Bruno reassures us that he is still a class act and still a crooner at heart. This is a short but very special song. Powerful lyrics. Only flaw is that it is too short. Great finish.
    10/10

    I loved this album. Bruno has made a huge improvement from is debut. Which I thought would be difficult to follow. I can see a lot in this albums future! 10/10
    Collapse
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    When bruno mars first came out i swore...i found his first single a bit mediocre! i was like...mehh...couldn't care less! then i heard billionare and i found d song interesting having recognised his face as well. but then i was introduced 2 Count and me and fell in love! so i gave the guy a chance on his first record ''doo wops and hooligans"! and to my surprise i actually enjoyed it! so when i heard he had a follow up i followed his every single release curiously to see if he could up the ante and deliver something even better than his breakout smash! and boy did he deliver! unorthodox is probably one of the best album i have heard this year and an addition to my favorites list! Is he original? no...u can play guess the singer he's imitating on most songs(moonshine-micheal jackson, when i was your man-elton john, etc). but man is he a good mime...making his imitations his very entertaining! Agreed that he is one of the best musicians we have in our time to give it some dignity(john mayer, adelle, frank ocean, miguel kanye west to name a few) definetly a buy....and he deserves some grammies too! Expand
  8. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    An unbelievable Sophomore album.

    Sophomore Struggle? Forget about it. This is a quality, cohesive album that is very clearly inspired by the generations before Mr Mars, and it's not a bad thing in any sense of the word. The album is not as poppy as the first album, but I feel he has risked relevancy in pop to create a true piece of art. Even the most uptempo songs on the album aren't
    very fast. It's a sharp departure from his previous work but still has the Bruno signature sounds.

    I wasn't a massive fan of his when he released "Doo Wops and Hooligans" but I appreciated the album and liked the singles he released. This album has absolutely blown me away, though. There are no obvious singles on the album, for me, but I'd prefer if he didn't even release any. The current pop scene doesn't deserve such effortlessly incredible music. This album has definitely made a fan out of me, and I've had it on repeat since I first heard it.
    Expand
  9. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars does no wrong!!! , Once again Bruno Mars succeeds to go above and beyond and make an outstanding album!! This is even better than his first album ( and that is tough title to beat!! ) but he did it, Im amazed!!
  10. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    The music is still deliberately derivative yet fun and unshakeable, and the lyrics are still unpretentiously simple and ring with a truth that many can identify with.

    With this album, Bruno Mars proves to naysayers that he is here to stay.
  11. May 8, 2013
    9
    Just listened to the entire album. I really enjoyed it. Short and sweet and to the point. Very well done. Every song is worth listening to as there are only 11 songs with such variation and there isn't one that is "skippable". Each song tells a story coherently which is something that Frank Ocean may have lacked for me.
  12. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Bruno Mars strikes back with an even better sounding album than before, fans like me should be really pleased.
  13. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Is an excellent album that contains a bit of everything does not disappoint bruno, bruno is one of the greatest artists of this time and I hope it is much more some of his songs reminds me of Michael Jackson and Elvis Presley shows bruno is heir to the king of Pop
  14. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Bruno Mars Has Proven With This Album That He Has The Writing Skills And The Voice To Make One Of The Best Albums Of 2012!
  15. May 12, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. I have the whole album,l and I believe it's the only whole album I digitally have. He really has nice singles and puts out great music for any format, like Pop, Rhythmic, AC, HAC, and sometimes even Country (Just The Way You Are, imo). I hope he keeps on releasing music that sounds like these 2 albums because then he will have way more success than he is already having. I recommend this album. Expand
  16. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Just a perfect album. Such an amazing and catchy voice with good lyrics and melodies. Gorilla is such a jam and Locked Out Of Heaven, the No 1 song on Billboard hot 100, is AMAZING! Besides When I Was Your Man that also was number 1 song on Hot 100. He's brilliant and is ready to be a legend! Way better than the trash we listen to (or have to) these days. Smashing Bieber's (flop) songs and Justin Timberlake's also, even though JT is really talented, he's getting way behind Mars. Bruno is underrated while Timberlake is overrated which is SO wrong. Both are talented, but Mars was meant to be, and obviously his songs doesn't sound the same and he has everything to be a great star. Watch out, Timberlake, Bruno's here to show everyone who's on command! Expand
  17. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    New reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on one song and an old school r&b feel on another rock and sting are present i think he is one of the most intiguing and brilliant artists of our century.
  18. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    On his second album Bruno Mars displays his very conceptual and artistic side as far as the song writing goes but unfortunately when it comes to the lyrics beside some extremely catchy hooks, I wasn't completely sold on the lyrics. This defiantly doesn't cut the album short from being wonderful to me. I feel the same way about Unorthodox Jukebox the same way I feel about Thriller by Michael Jackson or Take Care by Drake. Of course nearly half of these albums have been played over and over again nearly to the point of annoyance on our local pop radio stations. Along with the youngsters that attempt to recreate these songs with grace at our local high school talent shows but simply can't measure up to the pure passion that these artist sing with. Bruno Mars really put together a polished, fantastically sung album full of groovy strong instrumentation. Don't let all of the folks who compare Bruno Mars to other pop acts fool you this guy has got a huge amount of talent and crafted a purely triumphant album in my opinion. Expand
  19. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Just a really good album. The beats are awesome. My two favorite tracks: Treasure and Natalie The one I could have done without Show Me. I give this album a 9 out of 10. Thanks for reading.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    60
    His second album is the same conventional mish-mash as his 6m-selling debut.
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    60
    Too many of the tracks seem more like very good imitations of song types than like actual songs.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    58
    He's an undeniable talent, desperately searching for an identity to claim as his own.