User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 24 out of 130

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    When bruno mars first came out i swore...i found his first single a bit mediocre! i was like...mehh...couldn't care less! then i heard billionare and i found d song interesting having recognised his face as well. but then i was introduced 2 Count and me and fell in love! so i gave the guy a chance on his first record ''doo wops and hooligans"! and to my surprise i actually enjoyed it! so when i heard he had a follow up i followed his every single release curiously to see if he could up the ante and deliver something even better than his breakout smash! and boy did he deliver! unorthodox is probably one of the best album i have heard this year and an addition to my favorites list! Is he original? no...u can play guess the singer he's imitating on most songs(moonshine-micheal jackson, when i was your man-elton john, etc). but man is he a good mime...making his imitations his very entertaining! Agreed that he is one of the best musicians we have in our time to give it some dignity(john mayer, adelle, frank ocean, miguel kanye west to name a few) definetly a buy....and he deserves some grammies too! Expand
  2. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    The music is still deliberately derivative yet fun and unshakeable, and the lyrics are still unpretentiously simple and ring with a truth that many can identify with.

    With this album, Bruno Mars proves to naysayers that he is here to stay.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    this is the album i waited for well done bruno! many different styles on this album, that it never becomes boring. He has taken the risky path that not many choose to take with a sophmore album, but it paid off big time.
    Give this album a chance
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    After listening to this record, I can easily say that Bruno Mars is one of the best musicians we have today. Unorthdox Jukebox is a pile of diversity and is equally mind-blowing. He took a huge risk this time and it really got paid off. His voice has improved, his songs sound more mature now, he has incorporated almost every genre on this album we know would better suit his voice. Best thing about this album is that how original and fresh it sounds, every song on the record has its own powerful yet soothing melody which is very rare these days. I love almost all the songs on this record but my favorites are "Moonshine", "Gorilla", "Locked Out of Heaven", "Natalie" and "If I Knew". Every song on the record is worth listening to, and I must say that Bruno Mars has surprised me again. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2012
    10
    An unbelievable Sophomore album.

    Sophomore Struggle? Forget about it. This is a quality, cohesive album that is very clearly inspired by the generations before Mr Mars, and it's not a bad thing in any sense of the word. The album is not as poppy as the first album, but I feel he has risked relevancy in pop to create a true piece of art. Even the most uptempo songs on the album aren't
    very fast. It's a sharp departure from his previous work but still has the Bruno signature sounds.

    I wasn't a massive fan of his when he released "Doo Wops and Hooligans" but I appreciated the album and liked the singles he released. This album has absolutely blown me away, though. There are no obvious singles on the album, for me, but I'd prefer if he didn't even release any. The current pop scene doesn't deserve such effortlessly incredible music. This album has definitely made a fan out of me, and I've had it on repeat since I first heard it.
    Expand
  6. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars has proven with this album that he is not a one-trick-pony. If you did not like his first album, I urge you to give Unorthodox Jukebox a chance. There are so many different styles on this album, that it never becomes stale or boring. He has taken the risky path that not many choose to take with a sophmore album, but it paid off big time.
  7. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars does no wrong!!! , Once again Bruno Mars succeeds to go above and beyond and make an outstanding album!! This is even better than his first album ( and that is tough title to beat!! ) but he did it, Im amazed!!
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars. That name evokes a variety of responses form people who are familiar with the name. While his fans adore him, the naysayers call him too sugary and resent his omnipresence on the radio. One rapper went as far as writing about stabbing him , as you do if you don't like someone's music rather than getting on with your life. Critics use "Grenade" as an example to show how his lyrics lack depth, while "The lazy song" is often referred as "too gay".
    Despite all this, it's an undisputed fact that "Doo-Wops and Hooligans" was a big success, and turned Mars from a hit churning songwriter/producer into a global superstar, earning him a handful of prestigious awards, including a Grammy. So, no one could have faulted Mars if he had stuck to the proven formula, and produced a slew of sequels to his global hits. Instead, he has chosen to walk a path chosen by few, and produced what could turn out to be the album of the year. "Unorthodox Jukebox" bursts with the confidence of a man who feels invincible. He defies genre conventions, and isn't afraid of acknowledging his many influences. He recruits some of the best producers in the industry right now, to work with his own production team and the results show immediately. There are a few wobbles undoubtedly, but by and large, this is an undisputed success for Mars and his team. Best- Natalie, Gorilla, Show Me, When I was your man, Moonshine.
    Good- Locked out of Heaven, Young girls, Money Makes her Smile.
    Average- Treasure, If I knew.
    Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Can Bruno Mars do wrong? And the answer is, as of right now after hearing the album. No, never, not once! I will be the first to admit that when I heard "Locked Out of Heaven" for the first time, I was completely taken aback and thought he was making a big mistake. Now having digested both that song and the entire album as a whole I realize that Bruno was going for something entirely different with this album and was trying to give his new album more longevity. And he has succeeded.

    Young Girls: the opening track to Unorthodox Jukebox and so it should of been. Mars knows that this album is going to be filled with new ideas and risks. So why not open with a light "Doo-Wops & Hooligans" reminiscent tune. Young Girls is a very sweet track when Bruno sings about lifes sins and ones indulgence in those sins. Brunos Voice soars in this epic ballad. A great way to open the album. 9/10 Locked Out of Heaven: What can I say about this 80's style epic. Bruno has taken inspiration from the Police to construct this one and I am glad he has. Locked out of heaven is one of the strongest tracks on this album. I love the feel of it. Especially on the final chorus where the drums and instrumental breaks down. It lights up your soul! 10/10

    Gorilla: I was most anticipating this track. Having listened to Locked Out of Heaven before I heard this I was prepared for something different. Now Gorilla is going to be a complete miss or a game winning home run for different people. For me however it is the strongest track on the album. I can't remember the last time a track gave me such an epic feel. The song takes inspiration from Prince in his most explicit. Gorilla cannot be explained just listen to it. Whatever the case, it is not a boring song, it was a risk yes. But I believe it payed off ten fold! 10/10

    Treasure: What can I say, I love the 70's disco feel. Care free, light disco funk tune. Loved it, and a great break from Gorilla. 9/10

    Moonshine: Taking inspiration from Michael Jackson, Bruno shows his abilities for great songwriting yet again. One of my favorites on the album. Just a beautifully haunting song. 9/10

    When I Was Your Man: After the high production of the previous tracks, Bruno breaks it down with this beautiful piano ballad. Bruno accompanied only by his piano sings his soul out in the one of a kid track. Similar to Michael Jacksons "She's Out of My Life". But is it's stand alone piece of art. A highlight on the album without a doubt. 10/10

    Natalie: I have to admit when I saw the title I thought: "Oh not an other love song about a girl". I honestly thought something along the lines of Valery was on the was. But boy was I wrong. Ladies you do not what to be Natalie in this song. Bruno's psychotic side is shown in this fast paced anthem. Potential single with an addictive chorus! 10/10

    Show Me: What would a Bruno Mars album be without a little bit of Reggae. So please sit back and allow "Show Me" to transport you to an island paradise. Superb song and Bruno once again shows his versatility as a musician. 9/10

    Money Make Her Smile: There is a story behind this one. Look it up. One of the strongest tracks on the album. Bruno took a chance with this one and boy did it pay off! 10/10

    If I Knew: After all is said and done, after all the sex, alcohol and death threats Bruno reassures us that he is still a class act and still a crooner at heart. This is a short but very special song. Powerful lyrics. Only flaw is that it is too short. Great finish.
    10/10

    I loved this album. Bruno has made a huge improvement from is debut. Which I thought would be difficult to follow. I can see a lot in this albums future! 10/10
    Expand
  10. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    Is an excellent album that contains a bit of everything does not disappoint bruno, bruno is one of the greatest artists of this time and I hope it is much more some of his songs reminds me of Michael Jackson and Elvis Presley shows bruno is heir to the king of Pop
  11. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Bruno Mars Has Proven With This Album That He Has The Writing Skills And The Voice To Make One Of The Best Albums Of 2012!
  12. May 12, 2013
    10
    This album is amazing. I have the whole album,l and I believe it's the only whole album I digitally have. He really has nice singles and puts out great music for any format, like Pop, Rhythmic, AC, HAC, and sometimes even Country (Just The Way You Are, imo). I hope he keeps on releasing music that sounds like these 2 albums because then he will have way more success than he is already having. I recommend this album. Expand
  13. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    Just a perfect album. Such an amazing and catchy voice with good lyrics and melodies. Gorilla is such a jam and Locked Out Of Heaven, the No 1 song on Billboard hot 100, is AMAZING! Besides When I Was Your Man that also was number 1 song on Hot 100. He's brilliant and is ready to be a legend! Way better than the trash we listen to (or have to) these days. Smashing Bieber's (flop) songs and Justin Timberlake's also, even though JT is really talented, he's getting way behind Mars. Bruno is underrated while Timberlake is overrated which is SO wrong. Both are talented, but Mars was meant to be, and obviously his songs doesn't sound the same and he has everything to be a great star. Watch out, Timberlake, Bruno's here to show everyone who's on command! Expand
  14. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    New reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on one song and an old school r&b feel on another rock and sting are present i think he is one of the most intiguing and brilliant artists of our century.
  15. Dec 13, 2012
    9
    Bruno Mars - Unorthodox Juxebox:

    1. Young Girls: Amazing start. 10/10! 2. Locked Out Of Heaven: The first single. Fast and danceable: 10/10! 3.Gorilla: I love the drums on this song 9/10! 4.Treasure: Disco-Feeling! 8/10! 5.Moonshine: I don't like this song so much. Sorry 5/10! 6.When I Was Your Man: Amazing ballad! 10/10! 7.Natalie: And the next wonderful song 10/10. 8. Show Me:
    Reggae!! 9/10

    9.Money Make Her Smile: Not my favorite song. It sounds like Lady Gaga 4/10

    10: If I Knew: Final Highlight 10/10

    --> 8.5 points = 9 points. Nice work!
    Expand
  16. May 8, 2013
    9
    Just listened to the entire album. I really enjoyed it. Short and sweet and to the point. Very well done. Every song is worth listening to as there are only 11 songs with such variation and there isn't one that is "skippable". Each song tells a story coherently which is something that Frank Ocean may have lacked for me.
  17. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    Bruno Mars strikes back with an even better sounding album than before, fans like me should be really pleased.
  18. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    On his second album Bruno Mars displays his very conceptual and artistic side as far as the song writing goes but unfortunately when it comes to the lyrics beside some extremely catchy hooks, I wasn't completely sold on the lyrics. This defiantly doesn't cut the album short from being wonderful to me. I feel the same way about Unorthodox Jukebox the same way I feel about Thriller by Michael Jackson or Take Care by Drake. Of course nearly half of these albums have been played over and over again nearly to the point of annoyance on our local pop radio stations. Along with the youngsters that attempt to recreate these songs with grace at our local high school talent shows but simply can't measure up to the pure passion that these artist sing with. Bruno Mars really put together a polished, fantastically sung album full of groovy strong instrumentation. Don't let all of the folks who compare Bruno Mars to other pop acts fool you this guy has got a huge amount of talent and crafted a purely triumphant album in my opinion. Expand
  19. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    Just a really good album. The beats are awesome. My two favorite tracks: Treasure and Natalie The one I could have done without Show Me. I give this album a 9 out of 10. Thanks for reading.
  20. Dec 12, 2012
    8
    I wish everyone would stop giving reviews that are 10s and 1s, very few things are either perfect or abysmal. The numbers 2-9 do exist. I digress.

    The album is certainly different, and unique, not what his first album was, and that probably has to do with having more control over what he can and can't sing about. Locked Out of Heaven is the obvious hit, but other songs like Moonshine,
    When I was Your Man and Natalie are all just as good, and potential hits. It's a really good sophomore album. Where others have failed, Bruno Mars has succeeded. Expand
  21. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno Mars got a lot of talent, and this album show it very well. Unorthodox Jukebox is in my opinion, much better than his first album. Some songs are absolutely amazing like "Young Girls" and "Moonshine". "Gorilla" is a very good noddy song and of course, all the songs of the album show the great Bruno's voice. I was not a very big Bruno Mars fan, now i think that I started to be. Expand
  22. Jan 2, 2013
    8
    I'm usually hesitant to buy complete albums, especially based on only hearing one song. But based on how much I enjoyed Bruno Mars freshman album and the first release, "Locked Out of Heaven", off of Unorthodox Jukebox, I did. All I can say is, Smart Choice on my part. Not a bad song on the album. There are a few song with simple lyrics, but I guarantee you will be singing along. The variety of styles on the album keep you listening and never wanting to skip forward. Now, you will want to play some songs over and over again, like "Treasure", "When I was Your Man" and "Money Make Her Smile". This Sophomore album is surely going to be a favorite for Bruno Mars fans and will make some new fans as well. Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    Bruno Mars has delivered an enjoyable, nostalgia dripping sophomore effort that surpasses his first album by a mile. While he still has room to grow (he could at least try to be more original), Bruno has proven that he is a talented tribute act and has much more up his sleeve for the future.
  24. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    I've discovered BM with "Grenade" on my girlfriend's player, and wasn't much impressed by it, while she found him awesome. Most of his first album left me a "meh" impression.

    But then I heard "Locked out of Heaven", which I at first, while finding it entertaining, thought was an attempt to steal from The Police But it was nicely done, more like a tribute than a cover or plagiarism.
    Listening to all the songs of his new album, I found a great range of music from the last 40 years !

    What he did is a tribute to all the songs he must have listened too growing up (I know he's young, but you can like songs made before you existed), and with great work makes new songs that sound like good old sounds My game was to put dates on the songs, "Locked out" is 1978-79, "Treasure" is 1983-85, "When I was your man", this one I'd say between 68 and 72, but it sounds untemporal so it's just my opinion. This idea is supported by how the videoclips are made, very retro !

    This album has a mastered diversity, and it's a sign of a great artist I enjoy listening to it
    Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    I'm no Bruno Mars fan but this album is pretty well done. Locked Out of Heaven, When I Was Your Man and Treasure are two songs that should never be left out of any top songs of 2013 list.
  26. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    Bruno when he did doo wops and hooligans. After hearing I thought he had great potential. So I was pretty excited for this album. And his voice has matured definatly. This might not be the most perfect album. But it's a great step up. Songs like locked out of heaven, gorilla, and Natalie his voice really shows. And there is so much different genres. We have the poppy treasure. The Reggie show me. The slower when I was your man. And the bluesy if I knew. So in conclusion Bruno gives the best of his career Expand
  27. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than the first. Catchy songs, he got this control in his songs that any artist should have. Keep goind Bruno, we are with you!
  28. Jan 6, 2013
    7
    The current king of 'sappy love songs' is back! His songs are infectious, designed to leave girls 'swooning', giving wedding singers worldwide enough material to sing until Mars' next album. His trademark vocal is back, and while it doesn't have as single as strong as his previous effort, it will still be a big hit worldwide.
  29. Jan 5, 2013
    7
    this album is one of best albums in 2012 , he gave to me very soul , pop , r&b and awesome music in this album and very good choice to this album singles
  30. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    Ah, Mr. Mars' sophomore album. The instrumentation is very diverse, going from synth-pop 80s style ("Moonshine"), to reggae-rock Police-style ("Locked Out Of Heaven"), to Caribbean driven rhythms ("Show Me"). However, the subject matter is still the same: Girls. It's the same commercial stuff he's been putting out since his first album. I know he could do SO MUCH BETTER than what he's doing, although I still like the album, Bruno needs to branch out lyrics-wise, and we'll see what he can do for his third album. Expand
  31. Mar 30, 2013
    7
    Talvez o CD seja muito bom, mas não como o seu CD de estreia Doo Wops & Hooligans, consegui sentir a vibe positiva contida nas letras e no ritmo quase anos 80, pra mim uma pena que Unorthodox Jukebox quase totalmente como uma balada porque músicas como Locked Out Of Heaven são muito vendiveis
  32. Dec 17, 2013
    4
    TWO GREAT SONGS won't make a good album. I think Locked out of heaven is one of the best songs this year, and the video is amazing, very energetic and FUN. Too bad the rest of the album is cheesy and slow. Money make her smile is veeeery Michael Jackson and i really like the song, but other than that. Very bland unispired pop fillers.
  33. Dec 18, 2012
    3
    The music is mediocre and the lyrics suck. I wish they would have tried something new other than the same old ballads off the last album. Something less generic and more punchy. Too bad.
  34. Dec 31, 2012
    2
    Bruno Mars is a very clever man. He's written some brilliant tunes for himself and for his peers. He's featured on some cracking debuts and he penned F**k/Forget You, Cee Lo Green's solo masterpiece. And Mars debut Doo-Wops & Hooligans was surprisingly a very enjoyable, very well-written and well-recorded collection of catchy songs from a up-and-coming modern songwriter. Now, album two is out, Unorthodox Jukebox, and well, it's certainly something, however whether or not this 'something' is good, is up for questioning. Starting off with Young Girls, most of the album is penned the same, with the same topic in different ways..SEX. It's as if Bruno Mars is sex-hungry. We know from tracks like the Lazy Song that he's not a 'kids' singer but come on, all the iccle kids listen to him, but his whole album is the diary of a sex-ravaged singer with lots of sex, drugs and 'rock n roll'. The track Gorilla summarises the album, a seemingly cute metaphoric ballad that is in the end, again, all about sex. A bland chorus blares "Gorilla, uh uh yeah, you and me baby, making love like gorillas". Even the tracks later on on the album that you think may actually be like 'Just The Way You Are' tricks you by clever titles and is still, actually about sex. As much as i'm still a fan of Bruno Mars, I'll be listening to Doo-Wops far more than Jukebox. Expand
  35. Jun 20, 2014
    2
    Conseguiu ser pior que o primeiro,tem 1 boa música e outras 2 medianas.
    Não sei por que inssistem e por ele num pedestal que ele realmente não merece estar.
  36. Dec 11, 2012
    0
    It's musically different; it's more focused on an organic style, and it does have have accompanying piano ballads that are okay. But here's the thing: the lyricism is the exact same thing as the last time, no show of development whatsoever. Same love ballads trying to appeal to crowds, same undeveloped character. Still emphasizing on what's become so mainstream. It's only good musically. If it was a bunch of instrumentals or unconventional crazy lyricism, it would have been better, but it's not. Poor choices. Poor choices. It isn't bad, but it's no good. Expand
  37. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Peter Gene should pay me for listening to this album because I don't have enough money to repair all the damage that these horrible songs caused in my ears.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    60
    His second album is the same conventional mish-mash as his 6m-selling debut.
  2. Dec 21, 2012
    60
    Too many of the tracks seem more like very good imitations of song types than like actual songs.
  3. Dec 18, 2012
    58
    He's an undeniable talent, desperately searching for an identity to claim as his own.