Unorthodox Jukebox

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Unorthodox Jukebox Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 213 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the singer-songwriiter/producer includes production by Jeff Bhasker, Diplo, Paul Epworth, Mark Ronson, The Smeezingtons, and Andrew Wyatt.
Buy On

Top Track

When I Was Your Man
Same bed but it feels just A little bit bigger now Our song on the radio But it don't sound the same When our friends talk about you All it does is... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 91
    His talent for crafting little pop perfections of all stripes is undeniable.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    All in all, this is a truly accomplished and slick pop album, but its lyrical content will probably lose Bruno Mars some sales and some of his core audience.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    77
    His highly anticipated sophomore album succeeds in mixing its safer stylistic choices with its relatively bold ideas.
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Overall, there is rather less doo-wopping on Unorthodox Jukebox, an album that, despite its title, deserves your grudging respect, and a little more hooliganism.
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    60
    His second album is the same conventional mish-mash as his 6m-selling debut.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    While not an unqualified triumph, Unorthodox Jukebox is a step forward.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    Too bad it's a step back from Doo-Wops in so many ways, leaving people who saw promise in his debut shaking their heads in disappointment and hoping Mars can sort out his feelings about women and get back to being a sweet romancer, instead of an icky hater.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 43
  2. Negative: 6 out of 43
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars has proven with this album that he is not a one-trick-pony. If you did not like his first album, I urge you to give UnorthodoxBruno Mars has proven with this album that he is not a one-trick-pony. If you did not like his first album, I urge you to give Unorthodox Jukebox a chance. There are so many different styles on this album, that it never becomes stale or boring. He has taken the risky path that not many choose to take with a sophmore album, but it paid off big time. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    New reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on oneNew reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on one song and an old school r&b feel on another rock and sting are present i think he is one of the most intiguing and brilliant artists of our century. Expand
  3. Dec 13, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars does no wrong!!! , Once again Bruno Mars succeeds to go above and beyond and make an outstanding album!! This is even better thanBruno Mars does no wrong!!! , Once again Bruno Mars succeeds to go above and beyond and make an outstanding album!! This is even better than his first album ( and that is tough title to beat!! ) but he did it, Im amazed!! Expand
  4. Oct 7, 2014
    8
    Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than the first. Catchy songs, he got this control in his songs that any artist should have. KeepSoooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much better than the first. Catchy songs, he got this control in his songs that any artist should have. Keep goind Bruno, we are with you! Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno Mars got a lot of talent, and this album show it very well. Unorthodox Jukebox is in my opinion, much better than his first album. Some songs are absolutely amazing like "Young Girls" and "Moonshine". "Gorilla" is a very good noddy song and of course, all the songs of the album show the great Bruno's voice. I was not a very big Bruno Mars fan, now i think that I started to be. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2016
    7
    a surprisingly introspective album hidden behind interestingly complex yet accessible pop tunes. this is undoubtedly bruno mars at his best.a surprisingly introspective album hidden behind interestingly complex yet accessible pop tunes. this is undoubtedly bruno mars at his best.

    best songs: young girls, locked out of heaven, gorilla, treasure
    Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Peter Gene should pay me for listening to this album because I don't have enough money to repair all the damage that these horrible songsPeter Gene should pay me for listening to this album because I don't have enough money to repair all the damage that these horrible songs caused in my ears. Collapse

See all 43 User Reviews