• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Unorthodox Jukebox Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the singer-songwriiter/producer includes production by Jeff Bhasker, Diplo, Paul Epworth, Mark Ronson, The Smeezingtons, and Andrew Wyatt.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 91
    His talent for crafting little pop perfections of all stripes is undeniable.
  2. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    All in all, this is a truly accomplished and slick pop album, but its lyrical content will probably lose Bruno Mars some sales and some of his core audience.
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    77
    His highly anticipated sophomore album succeeds in mixing its safer stylistic choices with its relatively bold ideas.
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    Overall, there is rather less doo-wopping on Unorthodox Jukebox, an album that, despite its title, deserves your grudging respect, and a little more hooliganism.
  5. Jan 3, 2013
    60
    His second album is the same conventional mish-mash as his 6m-selling debut.
  6. Dec 10, 2012
    60
    While not an unqualified triumph, Unorthodox Jukebox is a step forward.
  7. Dec 10, 2012
    50
    Too bad it's a step back from Doo-Wops in so many ways, leaving people who saw promise in his debut shaking their heads in disappointment and hoping Mars can sort out his feelings about women and get back to being a sweet romancer, instead of an icky hater.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars has proven with this album that he is not a one-trick-pony. If you did not like his first album, I urge you to give UnorthodoxBruno Mars has proven with this album that he is not a one-trick-pony. If you did not like his first album, I urge you to give Unorthodox Jukebox a chance. There are so many different styles on this album, that it never becomes stale or boring. He has taken the risky path that not many choose to take with a sophmore album, but it paid off big time. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    New reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on oneNew reviewer reviewing my top cds of 2013 what can you say about bruno mars true brilliance, rock, r&b, etc. he has a prince feel on one song and an old school r&b feel on another rock and sting are present i think he is one of the most intiguing and brilliant artists of our century. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    Bruno Mars. That name evokes a variety of responses form people who are familiar with the name. While his fans adore him, the naysayers callBruno Mars. That name evokes a variety of responses form people who are familiar with the name. While his fans adore him, the naysayers call him too sugary and resent his omnipresence on the radio. One rapper went as far as writing about stabbing him , as you do if you don't like someone's music rather than getting on with your life. Critics use "Grenade" as an example to show how his lyrics lack depth, while "The lazy song" is often referred as "too gay".
    Despite all this, it's an undisputed fact that "Doo-Wops and Hooligans" was a big success, and turned Mars from a hit churning songwriter/producer into a global superstar, earning him a handful of prestigious awards, including a Grammy. So, no one could have faulted Mars if he had stuck to the proven formula, and produced a slew of sequels to his global hits. Instead, he has chosen to walk a path chosen by few, and produced what could turn out to be the album of the year. "Unorthodox Jukebox" bursts with the confidence of a man who feels invincible. He defies genre conventions, and isn't afraid of acknowledging his many influences. He recruits some of the best producers in the industry right now, to work with his own production team and the results show immediately. There are a few wobbles undoubtedly, but by and large, this is an undisputed success for Mars and his team. Best- Natalie, Gorilla, Show Me, When I was your man, Moonshine.
    Good- Locked out of Heaven, Young girls, Money Makes her Smile.
    Average- Treasure, If I knew.
    Expand
  4. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    Bruno when he did doo wops and hooligans. After hearing I thought he had great potential. So I was pretty excited for this album. And hisBruno when he did doo wops and hooligans. After hearing I thought he had great potential. So I was pretty excited for this album. And his voice has matured definatly. This might not be the most perfect album. But it's a great step up. Songs like locked out of heaven, gorilla, and Natalie his voice really shows. And there is so much different genres. We have the poppy treasure. The Reggie show me. The slower when I was your man. And the bluesy if I knew. So in conclusion Bruno gives the best of his career Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bruno Mars got a lot of talent, and this album show it very well. Unorthodox Jukebox is in my opinion, much better than his first album. Some songs are absolutely amazing like "Young Girls" and "Moonshine". "Gorilla" is a very good noddy song and of course, all the songs of the album show the great Bruno's voice. I was not a very big Bruno Mars fan, now i think that I started to be. Expand
  6. Feb 1, 2015
    7
    As I said in the review of the previous album of Bruno Mars, the artist would have a promising future, and apparently he has doneAs I said in the review of the previous album of Bruno Mars, the artist would have a promising future, and apparently he has done successfully. An better built album and with good rhythms and sounds, all under good production and good vocals by Bruno Mars. Even so, the artist has much to improve but after all, congratulations! Expand
  7. Dec 3, 2013
    0
    Peter Gene should pay me for listening to this album because I don't have enough money to repair all the damage that these horrible songsPeter Gene should pay me for listening to this album because I don't have enough money to repair all the damage that these horrible songs caused in my ears. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews