Unpatterns

  • Record Label: Wichita
  • Release Date: May 29, 2012
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Mojo
    Jul 18, 2012
    60
    This is SMD's deepest, moodiest record to date. [Jun 2012, p.85]
  2. Q Magazine
    Jun 22, 2012
    60
    Unpatterns continues the left-wards drift [toward minimalism] with no vocals except the ghostly sampled ones and a musical palate of textured house and electric funk. [Jun 2012, p.112]
  3. May 14, 2012
    60
    The hallmarks of Simian Mobile Disco are present - huge beats and house loops take centre-stage - but many of the tracks just feel like they're missing a vital component.
  4. May 14, 2012
    60
    [Unpatterns] contains some of the most mature, atmospheric music we've heard from sirs Ford and Shaw - and, periodically, some monstrous grooves pierce through the ambient haze.
  5. Solid, polished, dancefloor-friendly, and other damningly faint adjectives.
  6. Uncut
    May 11, 2012
    60
    Like all luxury goods, there is a hint of the predictable. [Jun 2012, p.83]
  7. May 16, 2012
    50
    Unpatterns is long on proficiency, but short on pathos, and not particularly innovative, either.
  8. Magnet
    May 30, 2012
    40
    Unpatterns is indeed mostly patterns, in fact - moody, bloopy instrumentals that don't really fit into one subgenre box because they barely muster the strength to be defined by a category. [No.87 p.59]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 29, 2012
    10
    Just amazing. Highlights include I waited for you, Interference, and Put your Hands together. I waited for you, Interference, and Put yourJust amazing. Highlights include I waited for you, Interference, and Put your Hands together. I waited for you, Interference, and Put your hands together are all very dance/club friendly. Full Review »
  2. Oct 22, 2014
    9
    Unpatterns is a very strong and experimental, although club-friendly dance record. A more mature effort compared to SMD's first two albums,Unpatterns is a very strong and experimental, although club-friendly dance record. A more mature effort compared to SMD's first two albums, which I still enjoyed nonetheless. Full Review »
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    9
    Excellent album. It took its time to really build up each track but yet didn't seem to drag on like a LOT of dance albums (52 minutes went byExcellent album. It took its time to really build up each track but yet didn't seem to drag on like a LOT of dance albums (52 minutes went by fast). It ebbed and flowed quite nicely. The LP packaging is awesome as well. "Your Love Aint Fair" is my favorite track on the album. The synth track on that song alone was worth the price of the album. Full Review »