Unplugged - Alicia Keys
Unplugged Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The singer's not-quite-acoustic MTV session includes two new songs and collaborations with Common, Mos Def, Damian Marley and Adam Levine.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. She might be unplugged--but she's still electrifying.
  2. For once, Unplugged largely leaves Keys' runaway careerism in the dressing room, where it belongs. [14 Oct 2005, p.148]
  3. 80
    A stellar set. [Nov 2005, p.135]
  4. I’m definitely recommending Unplugged--with reservations, but it’s still a recommendation--but damn, I just wish the fun Keys seems to have on stage would translate more clearly to record.
  5. There's no sense of storytelling or momentum to her performances: she starts the song in one place and stays there riding in circles until the end.
  6. An abbreviated "You Don't Know My Name," truly a producer's creation, falls flat here, and she treats covers of Gladys Knight's "If I Was Your Woman" and "Every Little Bit Hurts" like vocal auditions and not the blank canvases of an interpretive artist.
  7. 40
    Keys hasn't the charisma to indulge in the inter-song banter here, which breaks up any soulful flow that might develop despite her sharp, hectoring vocals. [Jan 2006, p.108]

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. PamelaP
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    Anyone who can remix her own material as good as or better than the original as well as sing standards and collaborations is amazing! Yes, I Anyone who can remix her own material as good as or better than the original as well as sing standards and collaborations is amazing! Yes, I am an AK fan from the beginning and will always will be to the end. Billboard #1 for all 3 albums and the first female to do it - come on now and give my girl her prop!! Expand
  2. RegisC
    Oct 15, 2005
    10
    This is the best Alicia Keys album I've heard. I especially loved Streets of New York. I loved the way how her band was smart enough to This is the best Alicia Keys album I've heard. I especially loved Streets of New York. I loved the way how her band was smart enough to use instruments to imitate street life. Expand
  3. DavidC
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. Alicia has the most beautiful voice I've ever heard. She shows strengh and love, nothing else is needed.
  4. SuzanneA
    Oct 28, 2005
    10
    If I could give this album a higher score then 10, I would. Alicia amazes audiences yet again, this time without the help of studio aided If I could give this album a higher score then 10, I would. Alicia amazes audiences yet again, this time without the help of studio aided effects. She belts out the songs and beautifully accomanies herself on the piano. Even though the album features many of her hits that have previously been released, she remixes them so drastically that its like a whole new take of your favorite Alicia classics like "Fallin," "How Come You Don't Call Me?" and even throwing in a New York jazz club sounding version of the Nas song (featuring Ms. Keys in its original release) "Streets of New York." Overall, this cd is a perchase well worth the money. Expand
  5. frans
    Nov 29, 2005
    10
    its amazin' no words for it... stolen moments is 1 of my favo's
  6. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    tudo nesse disco e perfeito: afinação, arranjos, desenvoltura, tudo! todas as cantoras tinham que ter essatudo nesse disco e perfeito: afinação, arranjos, desenvoltura, tudo! todas as cantoras tinham que ter essa qualidade de keys ao vivo. talvez ela seja a melhor cantora da decada passada. Collapse
  7. CesarG
    Oct 30, 2005
    6
    I bet this was a good concert to watch, but it is definitely is no good to listen. Not Alicia's best.

See all 15 User Reviews