User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 52
  2. Negative: 4 out of 52

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 7, 2012
    10
    FlyLo has done it again. Until the Quiet Comes is right up there with Cosmogramma (though maybe a touch behind), and it serves as a nice contrast. The records have some sonic similarities, but UTQC relies less on percussion and more on warmer, organic sounds. Its mood is calmer and more restrained, which makes for a relaxing trip through a beautiful atmosphere that completely envelops you.
  2. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Flying Lotus' previous albums have been revelations in a crowd of music fans tired by the current trend of popular music's accessible, happy-go-lucky love affair with electronica and hip-hop. LA and Cosmogramma especially transformed what was possible in two genres that were becoming overridden with apparent mediocrity.

    It's easy to understand why some fans would wish to assume that
    Flying Lotus' previous albums have been revelations in a crowd of music fans tired by the current trend of popular music's accessible, happy-go-lucky love affair with electronica and hip-hop. LA and Cosmogramma especially transformed what was possible in two genres that were becoming overridden with apparent mediocrity.

    It's easy to understand why some fans would wish to assume that this new album is much less qualified for his discography. It's accessible, trippy and gentle, visually complex, and musically much more simple than previous efforts.

    And yet I believe they miss the point. This is a sonorous masterpiece of transportation, eschewing the ego of transforming genres, and instead beginning what may be a future rise to the perfection of Ellison's craft, and the solidification of his love affair with the psychadelic.

    Where 1983 carried a sense of assertion, like an artist trying to make a name for himself, Until The Quiet Comes feels old, wise, and assured of its place in the world. It would be equally content to reign as a timeless classic, or sit collecting dust in only a few eccentric collections.

    Musically, the genres accessed run between techno, dubstep, hip-hop, jazz, and something else, totally alien, that seems to be the core concept that collects all these things into a combination of such color.

    Personally, I hope to see this album treasured in the future. I believe it is timeless, and tells a universal story.
    Expand
  3. May 27, 2013
    10
    Well, this is a beautiful album. Although Cosmograma is more epic and adventurous, this record is more darker and dreamy. The whole album...is a dream. The beautiful dreamy themes and dark electronics makes this a super record which is a worth-buying.
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    9
    I was a bit worried when I read early comments on it being boring. Those people are morons. It's certainly not as grand as Cosmogramma and Los Angeles, but its certainly alot more intricate and well thought out. Some songs feel a tad too short, but I guess it keeps the album flowing, as it never becomes stagnant. The second half of the album is phenomenal, thanks to the guest vocals.
  5. Oct 25, 2012
    9
    Halfway between the hazy soundscapes of 'Los Angeles' and the epic approach of 'Cosmogramma', FlyLo's newest album delivers what many fans of the producer have been secretly desiring for years - a merge of his two best productions to date. Effortlessly stylish and multi-faceted, it's just the latest in a series of great releases from LA's own.
  6. Oct 2, 2012
    8
    Definitely FlyLo's most accessible album to date, and less sonically messy than his previous albums. Well integrated changes in each song permeates the album to make it an especially interesting work to hear.
  7. Dec 20, 2012
    7
    I've never listened to Flying Lotus until now and so I was surprised that this album mainly consisted of instrumental music. He's got some features who are singing in the background but primarily it's his experimental electronic stuff. Staccato tones, reverberant background vocals and some crackling in the background, 'Until The Quiet Comes' is clearly no ordinary release. I don't want toI've never listened to Flying Lotus until now and so I was surprised that this album mainly consisted of instrumental music. He's got some features who are singing in the background but primarily it's his experimental electronic stuff. Staccato tones, reverberant background vocals and some crackling in the background, 'Until The Quiet Comes' is clearly no ordinary release. I don't want to sound rude, but every critic who gave this album the best possible rating is a dumbass. You can't give plus points for the lyrics so you can't give it 100 points, isn't that logical? Flying Lotus is a very talented music producer, yet I like it more when he features a nice rapper to rap (or a nice singer to sing) on his beat. Anways, this CD is worth to listen once, but it's heavily overrated - I can't see anything actually special here. Expand
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    50
    Until the Quiet Comes is cluttered and schmaltzy. [Nov 2012, p.59]
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    80
    The album's aesthetic is elastic and permeable, and yet strong enough to hold its shape.
  3. Oct 23, 2012
    80
    Until The Quiet Comes is another excellent album by one of the most interesting producers out there.