Untitled - Korn
Untitled Image
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Drummer Terry Bozzio only features in half of the tracks on Korn's eighth album, which ends their current contract with Virgin.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Their best since 1999's "Issues."
  2. In setting aside its trademark sound, Korn hasn’t yet replaced it with something of its own, but at least the band is working on it.
  3. The California band's doomy gothic arias sound unsettling and bold once more. [Sep 2007, p.91]
  4. Much of the music bears little resemblance to the down-tuned chug-and-glug found on the band's early records.
  5. Which may make it a change of pace for Korn, but it sure doesn't break them out of their midlife slump--if anything, it exacerbates it.
  6. Most bizarre are the contributions of studio drummer Terry Bozzio, known for his work with Frank Zappa, who, despite his reputation as one of rock's most talented stick men, fails to sound heavy, menacing or even relatively interesting.
  7. Untitled should make no sense to any sentient being older than 18, but that isn't ageism, it's practical marketing

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 89
  2. Negative: 17 out of 89
  1. GothedP
    Aug 5, 2007
    10
    Great album. Maybe their greatest. Anyway it's in top 3 of Korn's albums. Critics, go FY!))
  2. ireviewthisshitforfunkornreview
    Aug 22, 2007
    10
    well this band has a taste of its own very differrnt from their old albums like ' issues ' but that may be to the miss happs of well this band has a taste of its own very differrnt from their old albums like ' issues ' but that may be to the miss happs of their old guitarist Brian Head Welch and their drummer who only features in half the album this album is brilliant but not as heavy and has taken a differnt type of croud Expand
  3. Aug 13, 2014
    10
    I know a lot of Korn fans didn't like this album but it was realy creative, they added some new sounds and the album was even better withI know a lot of Korn fans didn't like this album but it was realy creative, they added some new sounds and the album was even better with Terry Bozzio on drums.
    This KoRn album has a little of death metal , it has a 2 or 3 songs with an accoustic guitar and quite calm songs and some heavy intros and they added some new instruments to the songs.
    Expand
  4. TylerR.
    Jan 4, 2009
    8
    I gotta say right now, I find this album to be very underrated. I love Korn's work, they're an awesome band. Just because this I gotta say right now, I find this album to be very underrated. I love Korn's work, they're an awesome band. Just because this album sounds different from their other ones, doesn't mean it sucks. Now I won't say this album is perfect by any means. I'm not particularly fond of the last two songs, but the rest of the album has nice rifts and a cool atmospheric sound that I find pleasing to listen to. "Hold On,""Do What They Say,""Killing," and "Starting Over" are my favorite tracks on the album and a majority of the others work for me as well. Compared to their other albums, this album sounds a lot more experimental, but the sound works for me, personally. Expand
  5. JoshS.
    Jan 28, 2009
    7
    This album puts korn into a direction that they had not yet travelled into the semi-industrial rock arena. Though it is a far cry from the This album puts korn into a direction that they had not yet travelled into the semi-industrial rock arena. Though it is a far cry from the powerful aggression and disturbing themes of years past its easy to tell the loss of band members and the ever ageing remainders, the sound is more mature and respectful. But the empire that is KoRn seems to be losing ground on what they used to be, fans should only start being worried when it becomes obvious that records are being made for money and not out of cretive influences Expand
  6. ShaunT
    Aug 1, 2007
    5
    See You On The Other Side was a masterpiece - KoRn's best work since Issues and a bold, inventive new direction for the band. Untitled, See You On The Other Side was a masterpiece - KoRn's best work since Issues and a bold, inventive new direction for the band. Untitled, on the other hand, sounds like a rushed, hollow cousin to SYOTOS that lacks most of the punch and, frankly, sounds unfinished. Be that as it may, this is KoRn - it's just KoRn without the memorable hooks and overall consistency that made albums like SYOTOS and Issues in constant rotation in my music library. KoRn fans should check out Untitled, but it's by no stretch their greatest album. Hopefully the band will return to the amazing style of SYOTOS with future records because overall, this sounds like two steps backwards for one of the most sonically creative and powerful bands of our time. Expand
  7. michaelc
    Jul 30, 2007
    0
    Their music has always been cold and soulless and this is no exception.

See all 89 User Reviews