Untitled - R. Kelly
Untitled Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest solo album for the R&B singer features Keri Hilson, Rock City, Tyrese, Robin Thicke, and The-Dream as guest singers.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. The album is signature Kelly: fantasy-filled romps, club jams and heartfelt ballads brought to life by the singer's ear for catchy beats and melodies and mood-setting lyrics.
  2. Forget the salacious material; you come away from Untitled marveling at his craftsmanship. When he’s on his game, no modern R&B artist even approaches the Chicago veteran (here working with various producers).
  3. He’s coasting here, no doubt about it, but no one can coast like he can
  4. At its best, Untitled sounds like a compilation of his previous work--a smooth-voiced crooner reading a sex thesaurus over R&B beats.
  5. Untitled's titles-- 'Pregnant,' 'Whole Lotta Kisses,' and (yes) 'Bangin' the Headboard'--don't do much to flip the script, or even write a new page.
  6. Kelly is still intermittently hilarious--if never intentionally so--but too much of Untitled feels generic, which is a curious flaw for a larger-than-life eccentric with the most, though not necessarily the best, personality in mainstream R&B.
  7. The only thing that prevents Untitled from dissolving in its own moisture is Kelly's consummately unhinged personality.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. dz9
    Jul 30, 2011
    Maybe its hard to judge this album. If someone with lower caliber had released it, most of the problems would be permissible. Although, a man of this caliber is expecting is to reach for more. The album's content is unbalanced, it seems like the tracks were skitzophrenic, one song would be a club banger, while the next one would be about love. By themselves, were great, but due to the overall theme of the album... they all fell flat. There were definitely a few great songs off the album, but they were mixed in with some average and bland tracks that held all the titles down... even the great ones. The Good: great vocals, and R. Kelly did in-fact give his fans their fix of his sex music. The Bad: Bland overall production, and a few not so great lyrical performances Expand

See all 3 User Reviews