Untrue

  • Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 403 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 403

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulM
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I guess either you get it or you don't. Absolutely brilliant, hypnotic, otherworldly, beautiful...
  2. MR
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    like massive attack in the 90s, this is the voice of urban britain a decade later
  3. giantroot
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Oh Jesus. Hype? No. It's Very Greatest Album of I've Listened.
  4. HaterH
    Jan 2, 2008
    4
    This may be the greatest dubstep album of all time.
  5. Will
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Why do inventive and inspiring BRITISH artists get such a hard time on this site? First The Streets, then Dizzee Rascal and now Burial. Is it because American music is so uniformed and boring as shit or do the yanks just have a poor taste in music? This is a mesmerizing album from Burial that plays as the perfect backdrop to urban living in the UK.
  6. RyanL
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so emotional, track of the year, I think. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to yourThis isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to your not-so-lucky real life. It's that brilliant amnesia you get listening to these songs making me have to give it a ten. Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Even though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This cleverEven though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This clever arrangement of distorted sampling really gives every song a soul. I find it musically insulting how some user critics have shunned this album saying it's 'uninspired and boring'. I think its rather them who are uninspired and boring. Expand
  9. ZachW.
    Dec 16, 2007
    5
    I simply don't get it I guess.
  10. WesM
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    It's like the beautifully bleak, manic depressive anti-thesis to Since I Left You by the Avalanches.
  11. AdamB
    Jan 7, 2008
    4
    I just don't understand the hype - there is nothing original or 'beautiful' about it. It's dull, end of story.
  12. TobiasC.
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    Meh!
  13. GalenM.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    Honestly, I'm so glad to see apparently lots of other people commenting on this that share my same opinion -- this is probably THE overrated "schlop" of the year. Atmospherics may sound kinda cool but they come across flat and just plain dumb when paired with the almost-unlistenable vocal bits. I mean, c'mon, it's so processed and annoying. The beats is what really gets me. Honestly, I'm so glad to see apparently lots of other people commenting on this that share my same opinion -- this is probably THE overrated "schlop" of the year. Atmospherics may sound kinda cool but they come across flat and just plain dumb when paired with the almost-unlistenable vocal bits. I mean, c'mon, it's so processed and annoying. The beats is what really gets me. For one, this is really NOT an album you could dance to and secondly, most important, the beats are almost ALL the same. Seriously, go through the tracks and listen to them and you won't be able to deny. Bad, bad, bad. Ugh. Why the hype? You frickin' got me, that's one thing for sure. Expand
  14. JoseR.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    I bought this album and really gave it a chance. I even asked my girlfriend if she heard something I wasn't catching. She had the same reaction I had: "Turn this crap off." What is it with these electronic albums that have the same boring sound over and over getting great reviews. Save your money and time. Get In Rainbows or anything by The Kings Of Leon if you want to hear good music!
  15. JodieL
    Dec 10, 2008
    5
    I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an interesting way, John Cale is the only artist I've heard use a vocoder and gone, that sounded unbelievable. Expand
  16. KalebS
    Jan 7, 2008
    5
    If you're looking for a relaxation CD, you've just found one. If you're looking for interesting, inspired dubstep, look elsewhere, because Untrue is monotonous, dull and repetitive. Quite possibly the most overrated album of the year.
  17. ManchesterUK
    Feb 25, 2008
    3
    Errr, sorry guys but this is overated tosh. Surely Massive Attack have been doing it so much better for years. Yeah yeah yeah I'm sure it's different than MA but ultimately it's the same genre but not as good by a long way. Each to their own but as hard as I try to get into this album. It just aint happening.
  18. CaseyS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    1
    This has to be one of the cheesiest records the genre has ever produced. There's not one hint of restraint or taste throughout. Not to mention it sounds like it was composed in 5 days and mixed for 5 months. Way overhyped.
  19. Josh
    Dec 5, 2007
    0
    The rating system makes little sense. Please consider the fact that more obscure albums like this receive far fewer reviews (11 in this case) and are generally reviewed by sources that already have a bias towards a particular genre of music. Note that for this album you will not see any reviews from major newspapers, etc. On the other hand, Radiohead's latest album received 40 The rating system makes little sense. Please consider the fact that more obscure albums like this receive far fewer reviews (11 in this case) and are generally reviewed by sources that already have a bias towards a particular genre of music. Note that for this album you will not see any reviews from major newspapers, etc. On the other hand, Radiohead's latest album received 40 reviews, including many from large and reputable sources. Despite the fact that it wasn't even one of my top 3 favorite Radiohead albums, I would place a wager that it's better than Burial. Some of you might remember that a similar event happened a few months ago when an album by "The field" appeared at the top of Metacritic's charts. However, upon hearing that album I was extremely disappointed. Expand
  20. Nirv
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    This is the type of album you put on for your Asian girlfriend so she can get to sleep quicker. That's all it is. You don't seriously listen to this stuff because it's no LCD Soundsystem, it's no Justice, and it's no, and as much as I dislike them, Radiohead.
  21. MikeB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    highly over rated and un impressive music
  22. HajeD.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    What a noise, terrible. I listen to more than 1500 groups, with a big variation in style, so I am used to listen to a lot, but this album, no, garbage.
  23. hoffo
    Jan 16, 2008
    4
    pretty over rated album i must say, its really really booooooooring. well maybe like 3 pretty good tracks but alot of filler in here.
  24. m-dubber
    Jan 2, 2008
    0
    That people actually like this crap says alot about how unbelievably stupid the human species is. This "album" if you want to call it that, is just a bunch of computer noises thrown together on a CD. It just disgusts me that I am part of the same species that actually like this abomination.
  25. BenjaminL
    Feb 8, 2008
    3
    Not very good. Simple and boring beats. Cheesy vocal samples. Just generally uninspired.
  26. JonathanC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    2
    Boring as hell.
  27. TequilaD.
    Dec 11, 2007
    2
    Dark sounds dun make good Albums. Same beats all the time never mind.
  28. RodM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    fantastic!
  29. MaxM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    "best electronic album of 2007"?! HAHA! please. Radiohead: In Rainbows best by far. Give me a ring when a new electronic band comes up that's better than radiohead. Until then, don't bother me with this bullshit.
  30. StephenM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    3
    Surely one of the most overestimated electronic releases in many a moon. Future Sound of London were doing this sort of thing with more skill, panache, and conviction over a decade ago. The fawning critical reception over this trifle is just baffling!
  31. ChrisB.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    I can make nice sounds with my laptop and a synthesizer as well. This is some serious trash. What is wrong with you people who rated this so high? Its almost unlistenable.
  32. BenJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    Dreary, and so inoffensive it might as well be used now to soundtrack a whole series of adverts.
  33. GonzO
    Jan 16, 2008
    3
    I don't see the appeal. Repetative, boring... a technical lullabye.
  34. BL
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    91... lol.. seriously.. lol. i love electronica, but if you want something laid back try aphex twins selected ambient works 85-92. i seriously doubt there are more than a small handful of people out there who listen to this on a regular basis.
  35. seeds13
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    This music is weak and lacks substance. It wouldn't even make an impact if it was blasting at someone's "burial". Hell, I've heard better sounds blast out of my a$$. Seriously. The vocals seem to be some kind of sick joke from the world of pop. But, go ahead and vote high since you have little taste in music. I personally am drawn to musicians.
  36. JimD.
    Jan 2, 2008
    5
    way overrated, metacritics rating system is bollocks to be honest.
  37. Gabriel
    Dec 7, 2008
    5
    A futuristic boring reality. Untrue gets real, a truly fake of hopes. Buried in rainbows.
  38. JohnN
    Jan 29, 2008
    2
    WTF...am I missing out on the joke. I keep waiting for the songs to start and they never do!!
  39. ElizabethA
    Jan 29, 2008
    2
    SG, don't be a pretentious ass. I hardly think the rest of us "don't know what music is". Get over yourself. This album is some people's cup of tea, but not mine.
  40. gnomars.
    Jan 3, 2008
    5
    Remember "trip-hop"? Nothing really new here that wasn't done 10 years ago. I just can't listen to this stuff anymore...boring.
  41. TedQ.
    Jan 3, 2008
    1
    Best album of the year? What a crock. I've listened to it, I honestly have. It's pretentious and dull as I expected. There is no artistic value I could find in sparse sound scapes.Don't buy the hype.
  42. markp.
    Jan 4, 2008
    2
    Hell, really, come on guys pretty dull methinks (a polite term for having one's head stuck up one's backside for 70 minutes)
  43. petes
    Jan 4, 2008
    4
    It is overrated completely. it is boring and oldfashioned..just good for dancing..i a certain way it feels melancholic
  44. MikeG
    Jan 6, 2008
    1
    Horrible album, cannot dance to it nor can be enjoyed as experimental. If you want dance listen to LCD soundsystem and daft punk. If you want experiment listen to panda bear or Black Moth Super Rainbow. I don't understand why people like this album.
  45. HexS
    Jan 9, 2008
    0
    Another release for music snobs only. They give bonus points for being obscure and having bad sound quality.
  46. DanielL.
    Feb 6, 2008
    4
    a perfect example of why music critics can't be trusted to rate music its boring if you like to trip acid for days and have time to waste you might like it cause its interesting but not music just somewhat artsy noise anyone who understands how to write music and how to play it knows this is not music (cause eerie vocals doesn't show emotion to me)
  47. TK
    Apr 1, 2008
    0
    If this is an exemplary dubstep album, then I suppose I hate dubstep and dismiss it as a weak-ass genre. I really love the individuals on here write things like "Either you just get it or you don't" or "Either you like it or you just don't get it." Trust me, I "get it" and I still think it sucks.
  48. TimT
    Apr 15, 2008
    1
    Terrible, sounds like a boy band synthed with some shocking dubstep
  49. KlausV
    May 27, 2008
    1
    Completely forgettable and weird.
  50. TomJ.
    Dec 11, 2007
    2
    The only reason this is ranked so high is that, if you look, very few serious media journals even bothered to review it. The whole album sounds like a Korg sampler demo, with even less honest emotion. Crap Sandwich!
  51. MikeH
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Sorry, I cannot listen to this - AT ALL!
  52. DoctorR
    Dec 18, 2007
    1
    This is a terrible album, it might as well have the first track on repeat for the whole thing. It annoys me how this can be rated so well, maybe i don't understand dub-step enough. Then again I don't have to understand linkin park to know that their music is terrible too.
  53. huh
    Dec 6, 2007
    1
    I love songs that all have the same beat!!! Pump and Dump for cargo records
  54. SlinddeeanaJ.
    Jan 11, 2008
    5
    I guess I shouldn't have rated this album yet, but I tought I need to chime in ahead of time. The reviews have been awlful for album of the year. I just picked it up on Zune Marketplace. I will report back in an hour.
  55. DavidE
    Jan 29, 2008
    3
    What the ****. I don't even understand the amazing reviews at all. Honestly, if you want great music (emphasize MUSIC) listen to OK computer, The Bends, Kid A, or In Rainbows - and then try listening to Burial. It pales so much in comparison its almost excruciating to see so many 8-10s. This is to music what blotches of paint on a white canvas are to art. A joke.
  56. Alans
    Dec 17, 2007
    1
    This is the highest rated album on metacritic? Music sure has fallen under hard times if Burial's Untrue 'masterpiece' is the best album of the year. It does make a good lullabye for babies in need of sleep, however.
  57. ElliotK
    Dec 18, 2007
    0
    UGH... my god this album is by far the most overrated album of the year... along with field, and MIA... really disappointing its getting all this undeserved recognition.
  58. MichaelH.
    Dec 31, 2007
    2
    People who are tempted to buy this based on the reviews here: Imagine yourself walking into a trendy clothing store for 18-24 year olds. A store where people say "like" a lot, and always have their faces pressed up against cellphones. This is the soundtrack that's playing over the stereo. The same trendy drum riff repeated for an hour. Bland and inoffensive, but with all the People who are tempted to buy this based on the reviews here: Imagine yourself walking into a trendy clothing store for 18-24 year olds. A store where people say "like" a lot, and always have their faces pressed up against cellphones. This is the soundtrack that's playing over the stereo. The same trendy drum riff repeated for an hour. Bland and inoffensive, but with all the trappings of 'cool' and 'edgy'! It's modern elevator music, just what you want to listen to at home. Expand
  59. ThomasK
    Dec 31, 2007
    3
    Not very good. Almost every song sounds the same. Moody atmospherics, a decent beat, and a sample of someone singing the same phrase over and over again. That just about sums up every track on the album. How this crap could beat out Panda Bear, Battles, Radiohead, or even The Field for highest rated album of the year is beyond me.
  60. Jan 17, 2011
    1
    I'm sorry, but this album did nothing but give me headaches; the beats are simply repetitive, and the images that the album tries to conjure are either non-interesting or just down depressing.
  61. LuisB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Honestly have not been able to stop listening to this album. I have forced myself to stop listening to it because I believe its becoming an obsession. Usually it might take a couple listens before I get into an album, this one from my first listen I have not been able to stop. Absolutely haunting.
  62. dezv.
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    Very good album. If you're bored by all that lame guitarpop, folksy pretense and tuneless r&b/hiphop, this is homecoming.
  63. BrandonD
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    I can understand why people wouldn't like this album, I wasn't too sure of it at first either. After a while, it definitely grew on me. Not exactly the best album of the year, but a great effort nonetheless.
  64. RobH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    OK Computer is an amazing album. There is actually no filler on it. I dont know what album you listened to. And Dizzee Rascal and the Streets are both good, but Burial is better. I like RadioHead more than Burial, but Burial is deffinately some of my favorite electronic music I have ever heard.
  65. PureDavis
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    Amazing!
  66. AdamP
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    If this album could be any better, it would be the epitome of perfection, and I don't think I could handle that as my mind would explode.
  67. Jay
    Nov 30, 2007
    8
    After a couple of listens I can understand the attraction. We've been waiting for something this fantastic, but, I felt some repetition in some of the layout of the songs and wanted a different slant towards the end, I WANTED MORE. A few more listens I may feel different and see the simplicity in his follow through.
  68. Charles
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Album of the year, by far. I'm thinking I'll consider it one of the tops of the decade in a few years time. I can't remember the last time I was so obsessed and excited by an album. Awesome and beautiful.
  69. Peter
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    This album deserves the hype. One of the best electronic albums I've ever heard.
  70. JoeH.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    The amazing thing about this record is that while it sounds like nothing I've heard before, it always feels like home. Somehow, without any real lyrics to speak of, Burial's music seems to evoke countless narratives. At times heartbreaking; at others full of hope. Archangel is easily one of the best tracks of the year.
  71. JustinM
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Gorgeously nuanced dubstep. Strong contender for the best electronic record of 2007.
  72. Bss
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down. Forget that the drum tracks get somewhat repetitive, music is all about creating patterns for crying out loud. This is a late-night album - listen to it when you are alone in the dark. Only then can the mood that it captures so perfectly strike you the deepest. People feel threatened by this kind of creativity; it's new (and NO, Future Sound of Best album of the year, hands down. Forget that the drum tracks get somewhat repetitive, music is all about creating patterns for crying out loud. This is a late-night album - listen to it when you are alone in the dark. Only then can the mood that it captures so perfectly strike you the deepest. People feel threatened by this kind of creativity; it's new (and NO, Future Sound of London does not sound like this!), and it sounds a bit strange at first. It grew on me quickly, as it will to anyone willing to give it a chance. Expand
  73. JK
    Dec 1, 2007
    5
    The content is at odds with the style. Dance beats, depressing? Throws in everything, kitchen sink included, as far as samples are concerned which hurts cohesion and focus. It is listenable, but pointless, as the ambiance is easily the focus here, over anything resembling songwriting, which to many people is ideal, I'm sure.
  74. ToddW.
    Dec 13, 2007
    7
    This is a great album, deserving of the praise it's been getting. However, it's not the best of 2007; it's not even in the Top 10. That designation belongs to the following: Deerhoof - 'Friend Opportunity;' Panda Bear - 'Person Pitch;' Liars - 'Liars;' Animal Collective - 'Strawberry Jam;' White Stripes - 'Icky Thump;' This is a great album, deserving of the praise it's been getting. However, it's not the best of 2007; it's not even in the Top 10. That designation belongs to the following: Deerhoof - 'Friend Opportunity;' Panda Bear - 'Person Pitch;' Liars - 'Liars;' Animal Collective - 'Strawberry Jam;' White Stripes - 'Icky Thump;' Justice - 'Cross;' Radiohead - 'In Rainbows;' Bruce Springsteen - 'Magic;' LCD Soundsystem - 'Sound of Silver,' and the best album of 2007, The National - 'Boxer.' 'Boxer' was a grower. I'll admit to not particularly caring for it at first. However, as of today I realize it's light years ahead of everything else made this year. Expand
  75. MycroftW.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    This is one bloody spooky dance record.
  76. AlanR.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Hmmm.... 13 reviews and its still 91. Looks like good taste is contagious. Don't let the prudes dull your appreciation for subtle music.
  77. AlexanderS
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A wonderful album!
  78. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    I knew Burial would do better than his first album, but I wasn't expecting something this great. Nothing is better than listening to this album late at night driving in the city. Truly beautiful soundscapes with hypnotic beats.
  79. LanceT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    This album is spooky and beautiful at the same time. You can listen to it while you are trying to relax or when you want to have a pick me up. It's quite wonderful.
  80. RodM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    fantastic!
  81. PlatA.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Dubstup ftw
  82. AaronM
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Beautiful. Filled with all the dirt, grime, and grim lovelorn beauty of back alley London. Speaks wonders about city life away from the rich and famous.
  83. boriz
    Jan 12, 2008
    6
    Yeah, this is one horribly overrated release. Its hardly experimental, every track has an identical feel, theres just not enough variation to keep me into this. Chuck it on when your stoned out of your brain at 3am.
  84. IanM.
    Jan 17, 2008
    8
    Great album! I really cannot understand all the people comparing it to LCD Soundsytem and the like... "makes you want to feel like a teenager, until you remember the feelings of, a real live emotional teenager". And people say this sounds awkward and trite!!! Beautiful background music for a rainy day...
  85. neils.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    kind of like endtroducing, timeless and selected ambient works 1 and 2 mashed together, filtered to death and served in a nice tea to someone on a comedown. i like it.
  86. MatheusB
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Very deep, touching vocals, almost angelical... put also very sad. It puts together a lot of feelings but not suitable for all places and situations. Works for me though. I loved it.
  87. alktothek
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Utterly mindblowing, sounds like the mass of oddly beautiful detritus England has become. Perhaps haters may need to upgrade sound systems/narrow perspective of what music is. All about the sub.
  88. ManuelP
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    great album!
  89. NateB
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive with sound and emotion. If you aren't into electronic/atmospheric music, then don't waste your time. But, if you are or think you might be, then check out Untrue and see how good it can be. Expand
  90. JeremyT
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get paid - because they have the experience and knowledge to distinguish between quality and dross even in genres they might not personally like. Expand
  91. SheaE.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I wish some of you guys could appreciate this album is as much as me. The backlash here is astonishing for such a beautiful album.
  92. RM
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very impressive that an album has managed to combine house music (from the ravescene) with arty IDM/ambient elements, taking the positives from both. Ultimately I find this a very effective, moody-provoking album which takes some getting used to. Pity not everyone can appreciate it - this album has a context which some will get and others won't. Expand
  93. JimB
    Jan 9, 2008
    6
    My first initial listen to this album (on line) was pretty positive. However, after having purchased it, subsequent listens diminished my first favorable impressions. Now, I DO "like" the album, but it HAS been ridiculously over-rated. I really like it's "dark and isolated urban atmosphere", but it all sounds kind of repetitive after a few listens. The title track is amazing, but the My first initial listen to this album (on line) was pretty positive. However, after having purchased it, subsequent listens diminished my first favorable impressions. Now, I DO "like" the album, but it HAS been ridiculously over-rated. I really like it's "dark and isolated urban atmosphere", but it all sounds kind of repetitive after a few listens. The title track is amazing, but the single, "Archangel" is kind of annoying. So, for me, "Untrue's" inconsistencies were frustrating, because it DOES have some great moments on it. Expand
  94. Amsterdam
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    this would be a great soundtrack for a "La Haine" like movie in London!!
  95. DarrylM
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    What a great soundtrack this album would be to a film. I own Radiohead's "In Rainbows" and "OK Computer" and this album is just as mesmerizing, inventive and compelling. I am truly chuffed that all the professional critics gave it the universal acclaim it deserves. Bravo.
  96. AlexW.
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    I liked it a lot - but i prefer faster beats and to the person below who said ok computer was a good album - its not really - two good songs - karma police and the other hit the rest id just filler - god knows why it is often rated the best album ever - theirs no feelings to it! granted karma police probably is the best song ever written!
  97. JasonDeM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    This has been in constant rotation in my car since it came out. Very much the next step in dubstep. You will love it. PS those who don't like electronic music (Radiohead does NOT count) need not apply.
  98. Aidan
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Spacey, dark, and fantastically put together. At first listen, repetitive and dull, but more was revealed on each listen. Beautifully frightening.
  99. josem.
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Just let me tell you something. That's a masterpiece!. A wonderful Molecular Complexity!!!!!
  100. VeronikaS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely marvelous
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.