• Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 403 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 403

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HaterH
    Jan 2, 2008
    4
    This may be the greatest dubstep album of all time.
  2. ZachW.
    Dec 16, 2007
    5
    I simply don't get it I guess.
  3. AdamB
    Jan 7, 2008
    4
    I just don't understand the hype - there is nothing original or 'beautiful' about it. It's dull, end of story.
  4. JodieL
    Dec 10, 2008
    5
    I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an interesting way, John Cale is the only artist I've heard use a vocoder and gone, that sounded unbelievable. Expand
  5. KalebS
    Jan 7, 2008
    5
    If you're looking for a relaxation CD, you've just found one. If you're looking for interesting, inspired dubstep, look elsewhere, because Untrue is monotonous, dull and repetitive. Quite possibly the most overrated album of the year.
  6. Nirv
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    This is the type of album you put on for your Asian girlfriend so she can get to sleep quicker. That's all it is. You don't seriously listen to this stuff because it's no LCD Soundsystem, it's no Justice, and it's no, and as much as I dislike them, Radiohead.
  7. hoffo
    Jan 16, 2008
    4
    pretty over rated album i must say, its really really booooooooring. well maybe like 3 pretty good tracks but alot of filler in here.
  8. MaxM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    "best electronic album of 2007"?! HAHA! please. Radiohead: In Rainbows best by far. Give me a ring when a new electronic band comes up that's better than radiohead. Until then, don't bother me with this bullshit.
  9. seeds13
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    This music is weak and lacks substance. It wouldn't even make an impact if it was blasting at someone's "burial". Hell, I've heard better sounds blast out of my a$$. Seriously. The vocals seem to be some kind of sick joke from the world of pop. But, go ahead and vote high since you have little taste in music. I personally am drawn to musicians.
  10. JimD.
    Jan 2, 2008
    5
    way overrated, metacritics rating system is bollocks to be honest.
  11. Gabriel
    Dec 7, 2008
    5
    A futuristic boring reality. Untrue gets real, a truly fake of hopes. Buried in rainbows.
  12. gnomars.
    Jan 3, 2008
    5
    Remember "trip-hop"? Nothing really new here that wasn't done 10 years ago. I just can't listen to this stuff anymore...boring.
  13. petes
    Jan 4, 2008
    4
    It is overrated completely. it is boring and oldfashioned..just good for dancing..i a certain way it feels melancholic
  14. DanielL.
    Feb 6, 2008
    4
    a perfect example of why music critics can't be trusted to rate music its boring if you like to trip acid for days and have time to waste you might like it cause its interesting but not music just somewhat artsy noise anyone who understands how to write music and how to play it knows this is not music (cause eerie vocals doesn't show emotion to me)
  15. SlinddeeanaJ.
    Jan 11, 2008
    5
    I guess I shouldn't have rated this album yet, but I tought I need to chime in ahead of time. The reviews have been awlful for album of the year. I just picked it up on Zune Marketplace. I will report back in an hour.
  16. JK
    Dec 1, 2007
    5
    The content is at odds with the style. Dance beats, depressing? Throws in everything, kitchen sink included, as far as samples are concerned which hurts cohesion and focus. It is listenable, but pointless, as the ambiance is easily the focus here, over anything resembling songwriting, which to many people is ideal, I'm sure.
  17. boriz
    Jan 12, 2008
    6
    Yeah, this is one horribly overrated release. Its hardly experimental, every track has an identical feel, theres just not enough variation to keep me into this. Chuck it on when your stoned out of your brain at 3am.
  18. JimB
    Jan 9, 2008
    6
    My first initial listen to this album (on line) was pretty positive. However, after having purchased it, subsequent listens diminished my first favorable impressions. Now, I DO "like" the album, but it HAS been ridiculously over-rated. I really like it's "dark and isolated urban atmosphere", but it all sounds kind of repetitive after a few listens. The title track is amazing, but the My first initial listen to this album (on line) was pretty positive. However, after having purchased it, subsequent listens diminished my first favorable impressions. Now, I DO "like" the album, but it HAS been ridiculously over-rated. I really like it's "dark and isolated urban atmosphere", but it all sounds kind of repetitive after a few listens. The title track is amazing, but the single, "Archangel" is kind of annoying. So, for me, "Untrue's" inconsistencies were frustrating, because it DOES have some great moments on it. Expand
  19. TomP.
    May 1, 2008
    5
    Ummm.......yeah.....seriously? I just got done writing a review for the most overated album of the year that took the #1 spot. Is #2 even worth my time? Don't think so.
  20. JoaoD.
    Dec 6, 2007
    6
    This album is just nice to listen, but that's all. I can't find a single piece of genius in this album that exceeds electronic music standards.
  21. EthanB.
    Dec 6, 2007
    6
    Its a little repetitive.
  22. DevinG
    Dec 7, 2007
    5
    I really don't get all the hype, not only for this album, but for numerous "electonic" albums this year. What am I missing?
  23. MatsZ
    Jul 28, 2008
    6
    Nice, full and dark soundscapes with the same type of drum loop repeating over and over again on every track. Add vocal samples repeated add nauseum and you have a really boring album that never seems to actually get started.
  24. IRightfully
    Aug 19, 2008
    6
    When it comes down to it, it really doesn't deserve that 90. Overall. I want to be able to appreciate that CD at any moment, not just when I'm taking a long drive or walking home from a club at night. That's a pretty narrow selection. Props for sounding different, but I expect more out of that score. I mean, it's a good dubstep album. That's like finding a good When it comes down to it, it really doesn't deserve that 90. Overall. I want to be able to appreciate that CD at any moment, not just when I'm taking a long drive or walking home from a club at night. That's a pretty narrow selection. Props for sounding different, but I expect more out of that score. I mean, it's a good dubstep album. That's like finding a good Country Rock album. Some people will like it, but not nearly enough for the supposed "universal acclaim". People stumble upon something different and overate it in an attempt to be a pioneer in that style. I mean, since when should we be taking Robert Christgau seriously? He said Ok Computer was trying to be Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd. Expand
  25. SteveC.
    Dec 16, 2007
    5
    Nothing overly exciting, ok in parts, not ok in other parts, here is fence, me sit.
  26. JimT.
    Dec 18, 2007
    6
    The album is decent but not great. Its something that DJ Shadow, Massive Attack, Unkle, etc have all done better.
  27. MaxB.
    Dec 2, 2007
    5
    I wasn't as moved as the critics apparently. Just sounded uninteresting, too scattered.
  28. DjM
    Jan 27, 2008
    6
    A handful of good tracks, you've all been duped! a big step down from his debut- archangel as the best track? your all crazy! keep in mind he wrote this album in 2 weeks and it shows- it isn't minimalism you tools its called "thrown together" by more sensible people
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.