Untrue

  • Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 403 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 403

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulM
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I guess either you get it or you don't. Absolutely brilliant, hypnotic, otherworldly, beautiful...
  2. MR
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    like massive attack in the 90s, this is the voice of urban britain a decade later
  3. giantroot
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Oh Jesus. Hype? No. It's Very Greatest Album of I've Listened.
  4. Will
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Why do inventive and inspiring BRITISH artists get such a hard time on this site? First The Streets, then Dizzee Rascal and now Burial. Is it because American music is so uniformed and boring as shit or do the yanks just have a poor taste in music? This is a mesmerizing album from Burial that plays as the perfect backdrop to urban living in the UK.
  5. RyanL
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so emotional, track of the year, I think. Expand
  6. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to yourThis isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to your not-so-lucky real life. It's that brilliant amnesia you get listening to these songs making me have to give it a ten. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Even though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This cleverEven though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This clever arrangement of distorted sampling really gives every song a soul. I find it musically insulting how some user critics have shunned this album saying it's 'uninspired and boring'. I think its rather them who are uninspired and boring. Expand
  8. WesM
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    It's like the beautifully bleak, manic depressive anti-thesis to Since I Left You by the Avalanches.
  9. LuisB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Honestly have not been able to stop listening to this album. I have forced myself to stop listening to it because I believe its becoming an obsession. Usually it might take a couple listens before I get into an album, this one from my first listen I have not been able to stop. Absolutely haunting.
  10. dezv.
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    Very good album. If you're bored by all that lame guitarpop, folksy pretense and tuneless r&b/hiphop, this is homecoming.
  11. BrandonD
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    I can understand why people wouldn't like this album, I wasn't too sure of it at first either. After a while, it definitely grew on me. Not exactly the best album of the year, but a great effort nonetheless.
  12. RobH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    OK Computer is an amazing album. There is actually no filler on it. I dont know what album you listened to. And Dizzee Rascal and the Streets are both good, but Burial is better. I like RadioHead more than Burial, but Burial is deffinately some of my favorite electronic music I have ever heard.
  13. PureDavis
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    Amazing!
  14. AdamP
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    If this album could be any better, it would be the epitome of perfection, and I don't think I could handle that as my mind would explode.
  15. Jay
    Nov 30, 2007
    8
    After a couple of listens I can understand the attraction. We've been waiting for something this fantastic, but, I felt some repetition in some of the layout of the songs and wanted a different slant towards the end, I WANTED MORE. A few more listens I may feel different and see the simplicity in his follow through.
  16. Charles
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Album of the year, by far. I'm thinking I'll consider it one of the tops of the decade in a few years time. I can't remember the last time I was so obsessed and excited by an album. Awesome and beautiful.
  17. Peter
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    This album deserves the hype. One of the best electronic albums I've ever heard.
  18. JoeH.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    The amazing thing about this record is that while it sounds like nothing I've heard before, it always feels like home. Somehow, without any real lyrics to speak of, Burial's music seems to evoke countless narratives. At times heartbreaking; at others full of hope. Archangel is easily one of the best tracks of the year.
  19. JustinM
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Gorgeously nuanced dubstep. Strong contender for the best electronic record of 2007.
  20. Bss
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down. Forget that the drum tracks get somewhat repetitive, music is all about creating patterns for crying out loud. This is a late-night album - listen to it when you are alone in the dark. Only then can the mood that it captures so perfectly strike you the deepest. People feel threatened by this kind of creativity; it's new (and NO, Future Sound of Best album of the year, hands down. Forget that the drum tracks get somewhat repetitive, music is all about creating patterns for crying out loud. This is a late-night album - listen to it when you are alone in the dark. Only then can the mood that it captures so perfectly strike you the deepest. People feel threatened by this kind of creativity; it's new (and NO, Future Sound of London does not sound like this!), and it sounds a bit strange at first. It grew on me quickly, as it will to anyone willing to give it a chance. Expand
  21. ToddW.
    Dec 13, 2007
    7
    This is a great album, deserving of the praise it's been getting. However, it's not the best of 2007; it's not even in the Top 10. That designation belongs to the following: Deerhoof - 'Friend Opportunity;' Panda Bear - 'Person Pitch;' Liars - 'Liars;' Animal Collective - 'Strawberry Jam;' White Stripes - 'Icky Thump;' This is a great album, deserving of the praise it's been getting. However, it's not the best of 2007; it's not even in the Top 10. That designation belongs to the following: Deerhoof - 'Friend Opportunity;' Panda Bear - 'Person Pitch;' Liars - 'Liars;' Animal Collective - 'Strawberry Jam;' White Stripes - 'Icky Thump;' Justice - 'Cross;' Radiohead - 'In Rainbows;' Bruce Springsteen - 'Magic;' LCD Soundsystem - 'Sound of Silver,' and the best album of 2007, The National - 'Boxer.' 'Boxer' was a grower. I'll admit to not particularly caring for it at first. However, as of today I realize it's light years ahead of everything else made this year. Expand
  22. MycroftW.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    This is one bloody spooky dance record.
  23. AlanR.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Hmmm.... 13 reviews and its still 91. Looks like good taste is contagious. Don't let the prudes dull your appreciation for subtle music.
  24. AlexanderS
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A wonderful album!
  25. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    I knew Burial would do better than his first album, but I wasn't expecting something this great. Nothing is better than listening to this album late at night driving in the city. Truly beautiful soundscapes with hypnotic beats.
  26. LanceT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    This album is spooky and beautiful at the same time. You can listen to it while you are trying to relax or when you want to have a pick me up. It's quite wonderful.
  27. RodM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    fantastic!
  28. PlatA.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Dubstup ftw
  29. AaronM
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Beautiful. Filled with all the dirt, grime, and grim lovelorn beauty of back alley London. Speaks wonders about city life away from the rich and famous.
  30. IanM.
    Jan 17, 2008
    8
    Great album! I really cannot understand all the people comparing it to LCD Soundsytem and the like... "makes you want to feel like a teenager, until you remember the feelings of, a real live emotional teenager". And people say this sounds awkward and trite!!! Beautiful background music for a rainy day...
  31. neils.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    kind of like endtroducing, timeless and selected ambient works 1 and 2 mashed together, filtered to death and served in a nice tea to someone on a comedown. i like it.
  32. MatheusB
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Very deep, touching vocals, almost angelical... put also very sad. It puts together a lot of feelings but not suitable for all places and situations. Works for me though. I loved it.
  33. alktothek
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Utterly mindblowing, sounds like the mass of oddly beautiful detritus England has become. Perhaps haters may need to upgrade sound systems/narrow perspective of what music is. All about the sub.
  34. ManuelP
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    great album!
  35. NateB
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive with sound and emotion. If you aren't into electronic/atmospheric music, then don't waste your time. But, if you are or think you might be, then check out Untrue and see how good it can be. Expand
  36. JeremyT
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get paid - because they have the experience and knowledge to distinguish between quality and dross even in genres they might not personally like. Expand
  37. SheaE.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I wish some of you guys could appreciate this album is as much as me. The backlash here is astonishing for such a beautiful album.
  38. RM
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very impressive that an album has managed to combine house music (from the ravescene) with arty IDM/ambient elements, taking the positives from both. Ultimately I find this a very effective, moody-provoking album which takes some getting used to. Pity not everyone can appreciate it - this album has a context which some will get and others won't. Expand
  39. Amsterdam
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    this would be a great soundtrack for a "La Haine" like movie in London!!
  40. DarrylM
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    What a great soundtrack this album would be to a film. I own Radiohead's "In Rainbows" and "OK Computer" and this album is just as mesmerizing, inventive and compelling. I am truly chuffed that all the professional critics gave it the universal acclaim it deserves. Bravo.
  41. AlexW.
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    I liked it a lot - but i prefer faster beats and to the person below who said ok computer was a good album - its not really - two good songs - karma police and the other hit the rest id just filler - god knows why it is often rated the best album ever - theirs no feelings to it! granted karma police probably is the best song ever written!
  42. JasonDeM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    This has been in constant rotation in my car since it came out. Very much the next step in dubstep. You will love it. PS those who don't like electronic music (Radiohead does NOT count) need not apply.
  43. Aidan
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Spacey, dark, and fantastically put together. At first listen, repetitive and dull, but more was revealed on each listen. Beautifully frightening.
  44. josem.
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Just let me tell you something. That's a masterpiece!. A wonderful Molecular Complexity!!!!!
  45. VeronikaS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely marvelous
  46. KarolaT.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Something incredible.
  47. WarrenU
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Dubstep that is just for you.
  48. AgataS.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Best best best! Album that changed my life!
  49. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    If you like a pragmatic, more active approach to music, listen to "Untrue" while preparing to make love, lighting up the ganja, or taking a 3am trespassing stroll through the neighbor hood. Btw, Archangel is about his dog that passed away... I cannot wait for his third tirade, claimed by himself as to be the darkest bit yet.
  50. EvilEd
    Feb 6, 2009
    7
    Wish this won the Mercury instead of the boring Elbow. A good album but you tend to tire a bit from it after multiple plays.
  51. DaveC.
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    tons of scattered ideas all held together by a single emotion that meander between utter chaos and beautiful superposition.
  52. ElliottM.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    A haunting, beautiful record and a standout of the genre. Surely one of the year's very best.
  53. ErikH.
    Nov 29, 2007
    8
    Far from the best album of the year, but still a very good dubstep album.
  54. MacP.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Great album! It bears the sounds of the 21th century
  55. blak000K
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    A solid electronica album. There are 2-3 tracks that I simply can't get enough of. If you're into more upbeat, progressive beats, then this is not for you -- it has a more relaxed tone to it. "Untrue" is something you listen to on a lazy afternoon or while cruising the road at night.
  56. LennyR
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    If you have any appreciation for electronic music, this is your Physical Graffiti or Highway 61 Revisted. Those of you who are not understanding what's great about it are certainly entitled to your opinion, but anyone with any familiarity with Garage, Dub, Dubstep, or even post-Mezzanine Trip-Hop will be able to understand how perfect this album is.
  57. Ree
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    Hauntingly emo and beautiful, but I'm still on the fence as to whether this is merely clever, or a true advancement in the sub-genre. Burial is almost there. I think album #3 will (hopefully) answer this question. Burial is almost there. I just cannot figure out exactly where there will be.
  58. AnonymousCoward
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    Let's get a couple of things straight here: First, anyone claiming they can make music as beautiful as this on their laptop is a troll, plain and simple, because they obviously cannot or we would already be aware of them. Second, this album is for electronic fans -- more specifically, those with very particular, even peculiar tastes. This album will by no means be the best for Let's get a couple of things straight here: First, anyone claiming they can make music as beautiful as this on their laptop is a troll, plain and simple, because they obviously cannot or we would already be aware of them. Second, this album is for electronic fans -- more specifically, those with very particular, even peculiar tastes. This album will by no means be the best for EVERYONE, but the fact that it is the best for ANYONE means its ranking is justified, if not deserved. Metacritic's ranking system isn't necessarily about making judgments of who had the best album of the year, as that is a question is wholly unanswerable by any crowd of individuals with vastly differing tastes. Metacritic merely ranks them based on the reviews they've received, and most every fan of this genre has proclaimed it to be positively stellar. And to be honest, I am glad it was at the top, because I have been thankful ever since for being exposed to Burial. As for the album itself, I personally find it to be fantastic, although by no means revolutionary. Expand
  59. GilC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    This is a good album, very innovative, great rhythms and a very good concept, sounds like UNKLE to me on some parts, the only thing I have to complain in that all songs begin with the same voice-pitched-echoed pattern, listen to it very closely and you'll know what I mean. Giving it the title of album of the year is exaggerated.
  60. IainM
    Dec 2, 2007
    8
    A great second album. atmospheric and moody. very evocative of modern day London.
  61. ManuelP
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    great album!
  62. AlexO.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing album. It's sparse but very beautiful, a truly unique song.
  63. ErdalG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Well this is my first ever post here and no album in the past several months warrants it more than Untrue. I'm not even a fan of electronic music in general, but the mood of this album along with the selection of vocals combine to form a sound that really must be heard. In other words, this is an album that transcends the genre. Every lover of music should give it a listen and see Well this is my first ever post here and no album in the past several months warrants it more than Untrue. I'm not even a fan of electronic music in general, but the mood of this album along with the selection of vocals combine to form a sound that really must be heard. In other words, this is an album that transcends the genre. Every lover of music should give it a listen and see what they think. Expand
  64. DavidA
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    A fantastic record. Max M, you are out of your mind.
  65. Morheilio
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    It takes a few listens, but soon reveals itself as a brilliant album.
  66. k-whale
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    I'm in agreement with the critics thus far: Album of the year. Stunning.
  67. hansenp.
    Dec 7, 2007
    8
    Nirv... justice and lcd soundsystem should never be used as superiors to anyone. i know that all of the indie-tight-panted kids are into them for tnow, but in 10 years time, i guarantee they will hardly be remembered outside of the same kids. to some people lcd is just a sad knock on post punk funk that was developed by certain ratio in the 80s, and justice is a novelty actfor folks who Nirv... justice and lcd soundsystem should never be used as superiors to anyone. i know that all of the indie-tight-panted kids are into them for tnow, but in 10 years time, i guarantee they will hardly be remembered outside of the same kids. to some people lcd is just a sad knock on post punk funk that was developed by certain ratio in the 80s, and justice is a novelty actfor folks who were too young to really get into daft punk the first time around. burial will exist beyond the hip time line because it appeals to more than the just that factor. and just so all of you are aware, radiohead likes, and possibly loves this record. seeing is how you are all so firmly planted up yorke's backside, i am sure this will more than likely alter your opinions immediately. burial is not any more hyped than any of the crap that is equally, or to a greater degree, hyped that has been brought up as superior by any negative posters below. Get a grip. Expand
  68. KevinS
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    Actually, reviewers can rate an album at whatever they want to, and why? Because they can. Because they are music reviewers for publications, and you're not. And considering this is actually a far above average album that manages to capture and reimagine dubstep in some intriguing and incredibly engaging ways.
  69. RickW
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    Near perfect. A groundbreaking album. This just gets better with every listen. It may not be for everyone! Why do the muppets who don't like 'repetitive beats' or 'synthesisers' buy dance music??!!!
  70. ScottH.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    I can understand why some folks have been bashing this album. They don't get it. They're stuck in a musical rut. An open mind can appreciate the simplicity and unbelievable fluidity to the songs on Untrue. It is one of the most complete albums I've heard. From start to finish this is a great record.
  71. Michael
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Lots of kids here. Ignore them. Great album.
  72. BenH.
    Jan 12, 2008
    9
    It may be too dark for most people and not particularly danceable, but this a landmark album. Like itor not, the future of electronic music is dubstep. This album will not be forgotten!
  73. OkKo
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    I think all the posts below mine are made by the same guy just because there can't be so many negative reviews in the row. As for me, I really like this album and it made my top 10 of 2007. It's dark, but in a good way and it's wonderfully mysterious and interesting. The vocal hooks used in the songs are just blissful.
  74. Ams
    Jan 16, 2008
    9
    This album is sublime. From start to finish it is a masterpiece. The production on it is like nothing else being done these days, the way he warps and jarrs the vocals is highly impressive. My favorite album of 2007 hands down
  75. MikeP
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. The album is great. Its trippy dubstep. Your not supposed to dance to it. Its supposed to relax you. And it served its purpose, superbly. If you don't even like the genre you shouldn't review this album.
  76. NickL.
    Jan 17, 2008
    7
    It's overrated to be sure; however, it's not horrible. Untrue takes a few listens to sink in underneath your skin, but once it does the interplay between melancholy and rhythm is positively sublime. Unfortunately, Burial outstays his welcome be about 20 minutes. In no way is this a slam against the last few tracks, rather just a comment that this concept could have been pulled It's overrated to be sure; however, it's not horrible. Untrue takes a few listens to sink in underneath your skin, but once it does the interplay between melancholy and rhythm is positively sublime. Unfortunately, Burial outstays his welcome be about 20 minutes. In no way is this a slam against the last few tracks, rather just a comment that this concept could have been pulled off more effectively on an EP. 65/100 (+5 Bonus points for opening with a sample from Lynch's brilliant film Inland Empire.) Unrelated, but important: Hater H's mini-review made me laugh out loud. Expand
  77. dana
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    Don't listen to Mike G; music can be good without being danceable or experimental. Disgusts me to be a part of the same species with alot of the people making comments here.
  78. JayF.
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Fucking awesome. dark and atmospheric. Pussy boys won't like it tho.
  79. PaulS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    An amazing album. It grabs a hold of you and won't let go. A hypnotizing work of structured beauty!
  80. William
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Beautiful and atmospheric. I would liken it to ambient via Brian Eno's definition if it wasn't so prone to drawing one into its own environment rather than enhancing the one it's being listened to in.
  81. NormF.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    This music is strangely beautiful. Atmospheric and airy, but with the beat and heart of the streets. I'm not usually into this kind of electronica and stuff, but this stuff has great soul that really sets it apart.
  82. JonG.
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    People who gives negative reviews to this album, knows nothing about music. It need a lot of attention and ear to understand. I'm not sure if is the best album of 2007 but definitely is one of the best.
  83. JohnS
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    After seeing the high scores Dizzee Rascal received, and how much I dislike Dizzee Rascal's music, I was expecting a similar reaction to Burial, especially after the harsh criticism dished on it by other users. But lo and behold, I actually agree with the critics for once, this is a quality album. Not for everyone of course, but for anyone that's been out all night, and has After seeing the high scores Dizzee Rascal received, and how much I dislike Dizzee Rascal's music, I was expecting a similar reaction to Burial, especially after the harsh criticism dished on it by other users. But lo and behold, I actually agree with the critics for once, this is a quality album. Not for everyone of course, but for anyone that's been out all night, and has found themselves still up in the morning listening to music, this is your soundtrack. In some ways it actually reminds me of Goldie, but much more streamlined and modest than Goldie ever was. This is just a lo-fi dark little masterpiece. Expand
  84. DavidB
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    I'm surprised by the wildly differing opinions this album is generating. I'd never call it a technical masterpiece, but there is something rushing through the whole album, the way the beatless interludes are timed perfectly between the longer songs, the way the samples are often twisted in a way that suggests someone choking back tears, the way so many emotive synth washes are I'm surprised by the wildly differing opinions this album is generating. I'd never call it a technical masterpiece, but there is something rushing through the whole album, the way the beatless interludes are timed perfectly between the longer songs, the way the samples are often twisted in a way that suggests someone choking back tears, the way so many emotive synth washes are undercut by the echoing sample of spent shells hitting the ground. Burial hit a nerve. Honestly, I don't think this album will necessarily age well, but for 2007 it's gorgeous. Expand
  85. Robert
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    funny that someone says its more worthy to listen to aphex twin selected ambient works..That is also a masterpiece indeed. Bu if you are a listener of aphex twin, you should rate burial much better than a 2! Both know how to create excellent atmospheric soundscapes. And for those people who say this ain't no music..come one, open your mind. Music is more than four people on a stage funny that someone says its more worthy to listen to aphex twin selected ambient works..That is also a masterpiece indeed. Bu if you are a listener of aphex twin, you should rate burial much better than a 2! Both know how to create excellent atmospheric soundscapes. And for those people who say this ain't no music..come one, open your mind. Music is more than four people on a stage playing guitars, drums etc. Expand
  86. MonikaB.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. piece of work! While I listen to this I float through this world :)
  87. JessW
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This album is about as good as music of any genre gets, really. I'm on my 4th or 5th listen right now, and I'm finding it really hard to leave the house! Thank God it's a weekend... I listen to a LOT of electronic music, and have since roughly age 4, and I'm 27 now. If you know this music well, you're bound to appreciate the raw talent that went into this. This This album is about as good as music of any genre gets, really. I'm on my 4th or 5th listen right now, and I'm finding it really hard to leave the house! Thank God it's a weekend... I listen to a LOT of electronic music, and have since roughly age 4, and I'm 27 now. If you know this music well, you're bound to appreciate the raw talent that went into this. This artist knows how to concentrate, and you can feel his intent all over the record. Paints many images for many people, but for me, it's just.. sublime. You really can't appreciate this without good speakers, though, as at least half of the beauty of this is the careful manipulation of the bass end of the spectrum. Precise, intentional, superb... just beautiful. Call it what you will, this is true underground music, and deserves the acclaim it's gotten and more. Get it! Expand
  88. Person
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    Not perfection, but it's pretty close.
  89. KlennF.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Listen to in the dark w/headphones or driving at night... it encompasses your brain. Beautiful.
  90. CH
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Just listen to this walking home alone from a club at 3am and you will understand Burial's intentions for this CD. "Raver" is the perfect summation, and particularly stands out, even among the other sublime songs. It is simply perfect. Best album of 2007, easy.
  91. JuliaA.
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    First spin: BORINGGG second spin: well,it's decent third spin: I'd move to London respectively.
  92. StevenM
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Burial brings the open listener straight into his soundscape, unveiling subtle emotions in and out of the darkness. Spongey two-step drums and erratic sub-bass weave through superb pitched vocals that to me break into natural little clips of life. Excellent lo-fi sampling. It is amazing that he worked this together at home in roughly two weeks, which really shows when one track switches Burial brings the open listener straight into his soundscape, unveiling subtle emotions in and out of the darkness. Spongey two-step drums and erratic sub-bass weave through superb pitched vocals that to me break into natural little clips of life. Excellent lo-fi sampling. It is amazing that he worked this together at home in roughly two weeks, which really shows when one track switches to the next. Sublime. It seems that haters pick out only specific parts of the sound, labeling it as "non-musical schlop". Are we forgetting what can be defined as art, more so as something cultural? Look past ignorant genre stereotypes and music quo, this sound truly is undeniably special. Emphatic. Expand
  93. SergioD.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    It's 2008 now, i just got both Burial's cds along with new Sigur Ros and Spiritualized. All i can say is "sweet baby jesus"! Haven't had that feeling since Tricky released his first cd or when Massive came out with Mezzanine. This is what never fades away!
  94. GarrettM.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Atmospheric. Soundtrack for a quiet drive in the dark or just plain sleep for some. What I particularly love is the vocals and how ghostly they are. Such depth. I find it amusing that some of the reviewers pan this because they can't understand the vocals. You are stuck in a one-track mind. Burial. Brilliant.
  95. Derj
    Sep 20, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best albums that I have heard in a long long time. He tries to do something different and succeeds massively. That he does it all on Soundforge is beyond comprehension. A genius, I sincerely look forward to his next effort which he syas is going to be a more aggressive DnB tinged affair.
  96. DanS.
    Nov 29, 2007
    9
    Stunning! I like it even better than the self-titled album.
  97. BobH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    This is the best album of 2007. The track 'Shell Of Light' is just incredible. Nothing, I repeat NOTHING even comes anywhere near the excellence of this album for 2007. Just brilliant.
  98. MrL
    Dec 11, 2007
    8
    Chris B....if you can do as well as Burial, I suggest you do it.
  99. PaulC
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    This is a good album, and certainly much better than The Field, but to have this ranking as the best album of the year is mental. Unlike The Field, this album is definitely something fun to listen to, and each listen The Burial grow on you. However, what kind of world do we live in where this kind of music could possibly be the best album of the year? There's nothing here. There are This is a good album, and certainly much better than The Field, but to have this ranking as the best album of the year is mental. Unlike The Field, this album is definitely something fun to listen to, and each listen The Burial grow on you. However, what kind of world do we live in where this kind of music could possibly be the best album of the year? There's nothing here. There are definitely groups out there putting out better albums than this--Radiohead, Arcade Fire, and The National to name three. Expand
  100. PerspicaciousCritic
    Dec 12, 2007
    8
    I agree with Paul C, who gave this album a respectable 7 out of 10. I listened to every track on Burial, then listened to it again to see if I was missing anything that merited a perfect 10 score. And although I can see why critics would fall out of their chair over the filmic soundscape, the album sounds samey throughout and for me can only be tolerated after a couple listens. And while I agree with Paul C, who gave this album a respectable 7 out of 10. I listened to every track on Burial, then listened to it again to see if I was missing anything that merited a perfect 10 score. And although I can see why critics would fall out of their chair over the filmic soundscape, the album sounds samey throughout and for me can only be tolerated after a couple listens. And while I don't disagree with most of the professional reviews, and while every track is thought out and noodled over, and while there are no fillers on this album, Burial is missing that emotive magic, making it an 8 out of 10 at best. In the electronic / alternative / indie genre, Radiohead's In Rainbows wins top honours this year. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.