Untrue

  • Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 413 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 413

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2015
    10
    It is hard to skip a song on this faultless LP. Brooding, evocative and strong, a step up from his self-titled debut and a pinnacle in electronic music.
  2. May 8, 2014
    10
    The best ambient album of all time. Burial is a hugely unappreciated artist on the electronic scene, and this is his highest quality collection of musical pieces. I look forward to future full-length albums.
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    With fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity ofWith fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity of every song of this album; yet I still felt the uncontrollable urge to move to the album's incredible and subtly varied rhythms. It is not often an electronica album can be this physically and emotionally moving. In fact, I cannot think of another example. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I wasn't a huge fan of the album after the first half dozen listens. But something kept me coming back for repeated listens. Then during a random listen, it just hit me, the sound which seemed mediocre to me before, was incredible! One of my all-time favorite albums, and easily one of the oddest experiences I've had with an album.
  5. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Given this a listen only a couple of days ago, I must say its an experience like no other. Burial did his thing with sampling and used it like a pro. I hope to hear a follow up to this near-masterpiece.
  6. May 23, 2013
    9
    If you're looking for something to dance to, then this is the wrong album for you. If not, continue reading. Just like with most of his music, Burial blends together an extremely tranquil, deep and harmonious experience, plus if you like emotional things, Untrue is definitely something to give a listen to. It's not the best album I've ever heard, but it is definitely in my Top 10.
  7. Sep 28, 2012
    9
    I think you must get it to like it. btw most (if not all) of the songs actually have lyrics, but they´re hard to understand. i think im slowly getting it.
  8. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Burial's unique blend of dubstep and garage is further refined in his second full lenght release, conjuring up the same bleak, melancholic atmospheres but with new depth and focus. Faultless.
  9. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    I've heard it described as the sound of London at night, and I agree. Sorrowful early-morning comedowns set to fuzzy radios. I guess some people don't get it, but you can't attack it for repetitiveness, the monotony compliments the sad bass fading in and out, and the twisted vocals sound beautiful floating over the whole thing.
  10. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Repetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so manyRepetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so many tracks... Expand
  11. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to yourThis isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to your not-so-lucky real life. It's that brilliant amnesia you get listening to these songs making me have to give it a ten. Expand
  12. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Even though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This cleverEven though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This clever arrangement of distorted sampling really gives every song a soul. I find it musically insulting how some user critics have shunned this album saying it's 'uninspired and boring'. I think its rather them who are uninspired and boring. Expand
  13. DaveC.
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    tons of scattered ideas all held together by a single emotion that meander between utter chaos and beautiful superposition.
  14. AdamP
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    If this album could be any better, it would be the epitome of perfection, and I don't think I could handle that as my mind would explode.
  15. EvilEd
    Feb 6, 2009
    7
    Wish this won the Mercury instead of the boring Elbow. A good album but you tend to tire a bit from it after multiple plays.
  16. MatheusB
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Very deep, touching vocals, almost angelical... put also very sad. It puts together a lot of feelings but not suitable for all places and situations. Works for me though. I loved it.
  17. WesM
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    It's like the beautifully bleak, manic depressive anti-thesis to Since I Left You by the Avalanches.
  18. Derj
    Sep 20, 2008
    9
    This is one of the best albums that I have heard in a long long time. He tries to do something different and succeeds massively. That he does it all on Soundforge is beyond comprehension. A genius, I sincerely look forward to his next effort which he syas is going to be a more aggressive DnB tinged affair.
  19. HenriN
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Up to this point, only a single naysayer has managed to brand this album as "pretentious". Did you people just graduate the junior high of haterdom?
  20. GarrettM.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Atmospheric. Soundtrack for a quiet drive in the dark or just plain sleep for some. What I particularly love is the vocals and how ghostly they are. Such depth. I find it amusing that some of the reviewers pan this because they can't understand the vocals. You are stuck in a one-track mind. Burial. Brilliant.
  21. SergioD.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    It's 2008 now, i just got both Burial's cds along with new Sigur Ros and Spiritualized. All i can say is "sweet baby jesus"! Haven't had that feeling since Tricky released his first cd or when Massive came out with Mezzanine. This is what never fades away!
  22. BehnamM.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Some kind of postmodern view of a modern city. you can feel all cries of being so tierd of aloneness. its represents all of dark hiden emotions such as hatress, grief, moans, and lurking assault of a sneaky stress wich altogether transform to a giant feel of ruin. a masterpiece of atmospheric albums. Marvelous
  23. PureDavis
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    Amazing!
  24. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    If you like a pragmatic, more active approach to music, listen to "Untrue" while preparing to make love, lighting up the ganja, or taking a 3am trespassing stroll through the neighbor hood. Btw, Archangel is about his dog that passed away... I cannot wait for his third tirade, claimed by himself as to be the darkest bit yet.
  25. StevenM
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Burial brings the open listener straight into his soundscape, unveiling subtle emotions in and out of the darkness. Spongey two-step drums and erratic sub-bass weave through superb pitched vocals that to me break into natural little clips of life. Excellent lo-fi sampling. It is amazing that he worked this together at home in roughly two weeks, which really shows when one track switches Burial brings the open listener straight into his soundscape, unveiling subtle emotions in and out of the darkness. Spongey two-step drums and erratic sub-bass weave through superb pitched vocals that to me break into natural little clips of life. Excellent lo-fi sampling. It is amazing that he worked this together at home in roughly two weeks, which really shows when one track switches to the next. Sublime. It seems that haters pick out only specific parts of the sound, labeling it as "non-musical schlop". Are we forgetting what can be defined as art, more so as something cultural? Look past ignorant genre stereotypes and music quo, this sound truly is undeniably special. Emphatic. Expand
  26. OllieH
    Jul 11, 2008
    9
    this album gives me shivers every time I listen to it, the amount of warmth and emotion here is unparalleled in electronic/dance music
  27. JuliaA.
    Jun 18, 2008
    8
    First spin: BORINGGG second spin: well,it's decent third spin: I'd move to London respectively.
  28. AgataS.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Best best best! Album that changed my life!
  29. CH
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Just listen to this walking home alone from a club at 3am and you will understand Burial's intentions for this CD. "Raver" is the perfect summation, and particularly stands out, even among the other sublime songs. It is simply perfect. Best album of 2007, easy.
  30. WarrenU
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Dubstep that is just for you.
  31. josem.
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Just let me tell you something. That's a masterpiece!. A wonderful Molecular Complexity!!!!!
  32. KarolaT.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Something incredible.
  33. VeronikaS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely marvelous
  34. Aidan
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Spacey, dark, and fantastically put together. At first listen, repetitive and dull, but more was revealed on each listen. Beautifully frightening.
  35. KlennF.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Listen to in the dark w/headphones or driving at night... it encompasses your brain. Beautiful.
  36. JasonDeM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    This has been in constant rotation in my car since it came out. Very much the next step in dubstep. You will love it. PS those who don't like electronic music (Radiohead does NOT count) need not apply.
  37. RobH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    OK Computer is an amazing album. There is actually no filler on it. I dont know what album you listened to. And Dizzee Rascal and the Streets are both good, but Burial is better. I like RadioHead more than Burial, but Burial is deffinately some of my favorite electronic music I have ever heard.
  38. Person
    Mar 2, 2008
    9
    Not perfection, but it's pretty close.
  39. MonikaB.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. piece of work! While I listen to this I float through this world :)
  40. Amsterdam
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    this would be a great soundtrack for a "La Haine" like movie in London!!
  41. Robert
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    funny that someone says its more worthy to listen to aphex twin selected ambient works..That is also a masterpiece indeed. Bu if you are a listener of aphex twin, you should rate burial much better than a 2! Both know how to create excellent atmospheric soundscapes. And for those people who say this ain't no music..come one, open your mind. Music is more than four people on a stage funny that someone says its more worthy to listen to aphex twin selected ambient works..That is also a masterpiece indeed. Bu if you are a listener of aphex twin, you should rate burial much better than a 2! Both know how to create excellent atmospheric soundscapes. And for those people who say this ain't no music..come one, open your mind. Music is more than four people on a stage playing guitars, drums etc. Expand
  42. Will
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Why do inventive and inspiring BRITISH artists get such a hard time on this site? First The Streets, then Dizzee Rascal and now Burial. Is it because American music is so uniformed and boring as shit or do the yanks just have a poor taste in music? This is a mesmerizing album from Burial that plays as the perfect backdrop to urban living in the UK.
  43. JessW
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This album is about as good as music of any genre gets, really. I'm on my 4th or 5th listen right now, and I'm finding it really hard to leave the house! Thank God it's a weekend... I listen to a LOT of electronic music, and have since roughly age 4, and I'm 27 now. If you know this music well, you're bound to appreciate the raw talent that went into this. This This album is about as good as music of any genre gets, really. I'm on my 4th or 5th listen right now, and I'm finding it really hard to leave the house! Thank God it's a weekend... I listen to a LOT of electronic music, and have since roughly age 4, and I'm 27 now. If you know this music well, you're bound to appreciate the raw talent that went into this. This artist knows how to concentrate, and you can feel his intent all over the record. Paints many images for many people, but for me, it's just.. sublime. You really can't appreciate this without good speakers, though, as at least half of the beauty of this is the careful manipulation of the bass end of the spectrum. Precise, intentional, superb... just beautiful. Call it what you will, this is true underground music, and deserves the acclaim it's gotten and more. Get it! Expand
  44. AlexW.
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    I liked it a lot - but i prefer faster beats and to the person below who said ok computer was a good album - its not really - two good songs - karma police and the other hit the rest id just filler - god knows why it is often rated the best album ever - theirs no feelings to it! granted karma police probably is the best song ever written!
  45. DarrylM
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    What a great soundtrack this album would be to a film. I own Radiohead's "In Rainbows" and "OK Computer" and this album is just as mesmerizing, inventive and compelling. I am truly chuffed that all the professional critics gave it the universal acclaim it deserves. Bravo.
  46. AlexF.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album, have only recently been introduced to dubstep, and was shown this Burial album. I now cant stop listening to it!! I LOVE IT
  47. JonG.
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    People who gives negative reviews to this album, knows nothing about music. It need a lot of attention and ear to understand. I'm not sure if is the best album of 2007 but definitely is one of the best.
  48. NormF.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    This music is strangely beautiful. Atmospheric and airy, but with the beat and heart of the streets. I'm not usually into this kind of electronica and stuff, but this stuff has great soul that really sets it apart.
  49. SG
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    negative reviews? you don't know what music is if you don't like this. this IS south London on a record. vinyl white noise, dark London streets, unknown vocals, seething bass. burial is the banksy of the music world, but with no irony. this album is straight up, and it's art.
  50. JeremyF
    Jan 24, 2008
    8
    Definitely an acquired taste. It took me a few tries. But now I really do enjoy this work. It's best heard on headphones; it seriously sounds ten times better on headphone. No joke. My favorite tracks are Archangel, Near Dark, and the title track. In McDonalds is a brief but pristine surge of synth, and Etched Headplate is a nice relaxing electronic/beat-driven song. The vocals Definitely an acquired taste. It took me a few tries. But now I really do enjoy this work. It's best heard on headphones; it seriously sounds ten times better on headphone. No joke. My favorite tracks are Archangel, Near Dark, and the title track. In McDonalds is a brief but pristine surge of synth, and Etched Headplate is a nice relaxing electronic/beat-driven song. The vocals aren't meant to be the star of the show, so I like that they're not over the top. And on Archangel, they're so spliced up, and yet there's still a constant melody. I'm still unsure what dubstep is, but, if Burial is this genre, then I should check out more. (Remember: LISTEN ON HEADPHONES!) Expand
  51. alktothek
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Utterly mindblowing, sounds like the mass of oddly beautiful detritus England has become. Perhaps haters may need to upgrade sound systems/narrow perspective of what music is. All about the sub.
  52. SDK
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    it's uplifting, even with the melodramatic beats and vocals that seem to disappear into blackness before your ears. i don't know if you can classify this music correctly, or if it even needs it. hell, it breaks classifications and draws people in from all over. there's no doubt in my mind that there's WAY MORE than a handful of people out there listening to this record it's uplifting, even with the melodramatic beats and vocals that seem to disappear into blackness before your ears. i don't know if you can classify this music correctly, or if it even needs it. hell, it breaks classifications and draws people in from all over. there's no doubt in my mind that there's WAY MORE than a handful of people out there listening to this record on a daily basis. headphones recommended :) Expand
  53. johnk
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    I can't get enough of this. Burial makes absolutely fascinating music. Archangel in particular is beautiful.
  54. PaulS.
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    An amazing album. It grabs a hold of you and won't let go. A hypnotizing work of structured beauty!
  55. William
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Beautiful and atmospheric. I would liken it to ambient via Brian Eno's definition if it wasn't so prone to drawing one into its own environment rather than enhancing the one it's being listened to in.
  56. giantroot
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Oh Jesus. Hype? No. It's Very Greatest Album of I've Listened.
  57. DuncanY
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    This is so so good! I don't understand the hate.
  58. dana
    Jan 18, 2008
    8
    Don't listen to Mike G; music can be good without being danceable or experimental. Disgusts me to be a part of the same species with alot of the people making comments here.
  59. JayF.
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Fucking awesome. dark and atmospheric. Pussy boys won't like it tho.
  60. JohnQ
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    incredible on a pair of headphones. one of my favourite albums of all time.
  61. JImH
    Jan 17, 2008
    9
    Grows on you if you give it a shot. Don't expect to get it until you're in the right frame of mind. Keep listening over a few weeks and suddenly it will make sense.
  62. NickL.
    Jan 17, 2008
    7
    It's overrated to be sure; however, it's not horrible. Untrue takes a few listens to sink in underneath your skin, but once it does the interplay between melancholy and rhythm is positively sublime. Unfortunately, Burial outstays his welcome be about 20 minutes. In no way is this a slam against the last few tracks, rather just a comment that this concept could have been pulled It's overrated to be sure; however, it's not horrible. Untrue takes a few listens to sink in underneath your skin, but once it does the interplay between melancholy and rhythm is positively sublime. Unfortunately, Burial outstays his welcome be about 20 minutes. In no way is this a slam against the last few tracks, rather just a comment that this concept could have been pulled off more effectively on an EP. 65/100 (+5 Bonus points for opening with a sample from Lynch's brilliant film Inland Empire.) Unrelated, but important: Hater H's mini-review made me laugh out loud. Expand
  63. IanM.
    Jan 17, 2008
    8
    Great album! I really cannot understand all the people comparing it to LCD Soundsytem and the like... "makes you want to feel like a teenager, until you remember the feelings of, a real live emotional teenager". And people say this sounds awkward and trite!!! Beautiful background music for a rainy day...
  64. MikeP
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. The album is great. Its trippy dubstep. Your not supposed to dance to it. Its supposed to relax you. And it served its purpose, superbly. If you don't even like the genre you shouldn't review this album.
  65. Ams
    Jan 16, 2008
    9
    This album is sublime. From start to finish it is a masterpiece. The production on it is like nothing else being done these days, the way he warps and jarrs the vocals is highly impressive. My favorite album of 2007 hands down
  66. DanM.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    An amazing album. The kind that you can completely get lost in. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is that I generally don't listen to this type of music and I probably fail to grasp some of the nuances. The simple fact is that it is inexplicable and infectiously beautiful.
  67. OkKo
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    I think all the posts below mine are made by the same guy just because there can't be so many negative reviews in the row. As for me, I really like this album and it made my top 10 of 2007. It's dark, but in a good way and it's wonderfully mysterious and interesting. The vocal hooks used in the songs are just blissful.
  68. clarkf.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    If you are musically literate enough to have an appreciation for dubstep, you will find this release to be among the best albums of the year. If you are not (and this site indicates that you are legion), then you will not appreciate the intricacies of the programming, or the mixing, or the engineering. Indeed, you may find the album dull. In this case, give the album to a sophisticated If you are musically literate enough to have an appreciation for dubstep, you will find this release to be among the best albums of the year. If you are not (and this site indicates that you are legion), then you will not appreciate the intricacies of the programming, or the mixing, or the engineering. Indeed, you may find the album dull. In this case, give the album to a sophisticated friend and wait for the new Spice Girls record. Expand
  69. JOE
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    great album!!!!!!!!!! the amount of detail that has been lavished on this record is incredible. Stick your headphones on and enjoy........ like listening to someones best kept secret!
  70. BenH.
    Jan 12, 2008
    9
    It may be too dark for most people and not particularly danceable, but this a landmark album. Like itor not, the future of electronic music is dubstep. This album will not be forgotten!
  71. Michael
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Lots of kids here. Ignore them. Great album.
  72. LuisB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Honestly have not been able to stop listening to this album. I have forced myself to stop listening to it because I believe its becoming an obsession. Usually it might take a couple listens before I get into an album, this one from my first listen I have not been able to stop. Absolutely haunting.
  73. PlatA.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Dubstup ftw
  74. ScottH.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    I can understand why some folks have been bashing this album. They don't get it. They're stuck in a musical rut. An open mind can appreciate the simplicity and unbelievable fluidity to the songs on Untrue. It is one of the most complete albums I've heard. From start to finish this is a great record.
  75. neils.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    kind of like endtroducing, timeless and selected ambient works 1 and 2 mashed together, filtered to death and served in a nice tea to someone on a comedown. i like it.
  76. DavidB
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    I'm surprised by the wildly differing opinions this album is generating. I'd never call it a technical masterpiece, but there is something rushing through the whole album, the way the beatless interludes are timed perfectly between the longer songs, the way the samples are often twisted in a way that suggests someone choking back tears, the way so many emotive synth washes are I'm surprised by the wildly differing opinions this album is generating. I'd never call it a technical masterpiece, but there is something rushing through the whole album, the way the beatless interludes are timed perfectly between the longer songs, the way the samples are often twisted in a way that suggests someone choking back tears, the way so many emotive synth washes are undercut by the echoing sample of spent shells hitting the ground. Burial hit a nerve. Honestly, I don't think this album will necessarily age well, but for 2007 it's gorgeous. Expand
  77. RM
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very impressive that an album has managed to combine house music (from the ravescene) with arty IDM/ambient elements, taking the positives from both. Ultimately I find this a very effective, moody-provoking album which takes some getting used to. Pity not everyone can appreciate it - this album has a context which some will get and others won't. Expand
  78. SheaE.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I wish some of you guys could appreciate this album is as much as me. The backlash here is astonishing for such a beautiful album.
  79. PaulM
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I guess either you get it or you don't. Absolutely brilliant, hypnotic, otherworldly, beautiful...
  80. JeremyT
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get paid - because they have the experience and knowledge to distinguish between quality and dross even in genres they might not personally like. Expand
  81. NateB
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive with sound and emotion. If you aren't into electronic/atmospheric music, then don't waste your time. But, if you are or think you might be, then check out Untrue and see how good it can be. Expand
  82. ManuelP
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    great album!
  83. BrandonD
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    I can understand why people wouldn't like this album, I wasn't too sure of it at first either. After a while, it definitely grew on me. Not exactly the best album of the year, but a great effort nonetheless.
  84. dezv.
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    Very good album. If you're bored by all that lame guitarpop, folksy pretense and tuneless r&b/hiphop, this is homecoming.
  85. JohnS
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    After seeing the high scores Dizzee Rascal received, and how much I dislike Dizzee Rascal's music, I was expecting a similar reaction to Burial, especially after the harsh criticism dished on it by other users. But lo and behold, I actually agree with the critics for once, this is a quality album. Not for everyone of course, but for anyone that's been out all night, and has After seeing the high scores Dizzee Rascal received, and how much I dislike Dizzee Rascal's music, I was expecting a similar reaction to Burial, especially after the harsh criticism dished on it by other users. But lo and behold, I actually agree with the critics for once, this is a quality album. Not for everyone of course, but for anyone that's been out all night, and has found themselves still up in the morning listening to music, this is your soundtrack. In some ways it actually reminds me of Goldie, but much more streamlined and modest than Goldie ever was. This is just a lo-fi dark little masterpiece. Expand
  86. AaronM
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Beautiful. Filled with all the dirt, grime, and grim lovelorn beauty of back alley London. Speaks wonders about city life away from the rich and famous.
  87. ManuelP
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    great album!
  88. ButtMan
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Album of the year easily. this shit is amazing and original and endlessly listenable. The production is phenomenal, tweaky brilliance, solid atmosphere, unf.ckwithable!!!!! burial is genius, no doubt. A+, five stars, 10.0, flawless victory!
  89. TomH.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Possibly the best album of 2007 for me, better than his debut, namely because it has homeless on which is a brilliant song.
  90. MikeC.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year - get some head phones on and turn it up!
  91. JohnJ.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year!
  92. TylerF.
    Dec 17, 2007
    8
    So Pitchfork, Popmatters, and BBC aren't good enough for you?
  93. GilC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    This is a good album, very innovative, great rhythms and a very good concept, sounds like UNKLE to me on some parts, the only thing I have to complain in that all songs begin with the same voice-pitched-echoed pattern, listen to it very closely and you'll know what I mean. Giving it the title of album of the year is exaggerated.
  94. AnonymousCoward
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    Let's get a couple of things straight here: First, anyone claiming they can make music as beautiful as this on their laptop is a troll, plain and simple, because they obviously cannot or we would already be aware of them. Second, this album is for electronic fans -- more specifically, those with very particular, even peculiar tastes. This album will by no means be the best for Let's get a couple of things straight here: First, anyone claiming they can make music as beautiful as this on their laptop is a troll, plain and simple, because they obviously cannot or we would already be aware of them. Second, this album is for electronic fans -- more specifically, those with very particular, even peculiar tastes. This album will by no means be the best for EVERYONE, but the fact that it is the best for ANYONE means its ranking is justified, if not deserved. Metacritic's ranking system isn't necessarily about making judgments of who had the best album of the year, as that is a question is wholly unanswerable by any crowd of individuals with vastly differing tastes. Metacritic merely ranks them based on the reviews they've received, and most every fan of this genre has proclaimed it to be positively stellar. And to be honest, I am glad it was at the top, because I have been thankful ever since for being exposed to Burial. As for the album itself, I personally find it to be fantastic, although by no means revolutionary. Expand
  95. RyanL
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so emotional, track of the year, I think. Expand
  96. AlanR.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Hmmm.... 13 reviews and its still 91. Looks like good taste is contagious. Don't let the prudes dull your appreciation for subtle music.
  97. Ree
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    Hauntingly emo and beautiful, but I'm still on the fence as to whether this is merely clever, or a true advancement in the sub-genre. Burial is almost there. I think album #3 will (hopefully) answer this question. Burial is almost there. I just cannot figure out exactly where there will be.
  98. ToddW.
    Dec 13, 2007
    7
    This is a great album, deserving of the praise it's been getting. However, it's not the best of 2007; it's not even in the Top 10. That designation belongs to the following: Deerhoof - 'Friend Opportunity;' Panda Bear - 'Person Pitch;' Liars - 'Liars;' Animal Collective - 'Strawberry Jam;' White Stripes - 'Icky Thump;' This is a great album, deserving of the praise it's been getting. However, it's not the best of 2007; it's not even in the Top 10. That designation belongs to the following: Deerhoof - 'Friend Opportunity;' Panda Bear - 'Person Pitch;' Liars - 'Liars;' Animal Collective - 'Strawberry Jam;' White Stripes - 'Icky Thump;' Justice - 'Cross;' Radiohead - 'In Rainbows;' Bruce Springsteen - 'Magic;' LCD Soundsystem - 'Sound of Silver,' and the best album of 2007, The National - 'Boxer.' 'Boxer' was a grower. I'll admit to not particularly caring for it at first. However, as of today I realize it's light years ahead of everything else made this year. Expand
  99. AntonyH.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Odd comments on here about the reviews. It has top marks from the Guardian and The Observer two national broadsheet newspapers in the UK and Pitchfork so thats hardly just fanzines now is it! Also who cares where the reviews come from, it someone has an opinion about it what makes it less valid than say Rolling Stone or the NME? If people are passionate enough to write reviews then its a Odd comments on here about the reviews. It has top marks from the Guardian and The Observer two national broadsheet newspapers in the UK and Pitchfork so thats hardly just fanzines now is it! Also who cares where the reviews come from, it someone has an opinion about it what makes it less valid than say Rolling Stone or the NME? If people are passionate enough to write reviews then its a record that inspires passion. Don't like it. Get off your arse and go and pen a negative review to provide so balance. Stop moaning from the side lines. Its a top record and gets better which each listen, headphones a must. Expand
  100. PerspicaciousCritic
    Dec 12, 2007
    8
    I agree with Paul C, who gave this album a respectable 7 out of 10. I listened to every track on Burial, then listened to it again to see if I was missing anything that merited a perfect 10 score. And although I can see why critics would fall out of their chair over the filmic soundscape, the album sounds samey throughout and for me can only be tolerated after a couple listens. And while I agree with Paul C, who gave this album a respectable 7 out of 10. I listened to every track on Burial, then listened to it again to see if I was missing anything that merited a perfect 10 score. And although I can see why critics would fall out of their chair over the filmic soundscape, the album sounds samey throughout and for me can only be tolerated after a couple listens. And while I don't disagree with most of the professional reviews, and while every track is thought out and noodled over, and while there are no fillers on this album, Burial is missing that emotive magic, making it an 8 out of 10 at best. In the electronic / alternative / indie genre, Radiohead's In Rainbows wins top honours this year. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.