• Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 435 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 435

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    With fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity ofWith fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity of every song of this album; yet I still felt the uncontrollable urge to move to the album's incredible and subtly varied rhythms. It is not often an electronica album can be this physically and emotionally moving. In fact, I cannot think of another example. Expand
  2. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Burial's unique blend of dubstep and garage is further refined in his second full lenght release, conjuring up the same bleak, melancholic atmospheres but with new depth and focus. Faultless.
  3. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Given this a listen only a couple of days ago, I must say its an experience like no other. Burial did his thing with sampling and used it like a pro. I hope to hear a follow up to this near-masterpiece.
  4. May 15, 2015
    10
    It is hard to skip a song on this faultless LP. Brooding, evocative and strong, a step up from his self-titled debut and a pinnacle in electronic music.
  5. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to yourThis isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to your not-so-lucky real life. It's that brilliant amnesia you get listening to these songs making me have to give it a ten. Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2017
    10
    One of my favorite electronic albums ever recorded...
    It is dark and haunting but maintains enough heart that it ends up being an uplifting experience.
    While it may send you traveling down the dark alleys of your mind, there definitely is a light ahead... I suggest consuming this all in one sitting on a night you feel open to it. I did about 10 years ago and have been listening to it
    One of my favorite electronic albums ever recorded...
    It is dark and haunting but maintains enough heart that it ends up being an uplifting experience.
    While it may send you traveling down the dark alleys of your mind, there definitely is a light ahead...

    I suggest consuming this all in one sitting on a night you feel open to it.
    I did about 10 years ago and have been listening to it ever since. No one is better than Burial at this type of music and Burial never did it better than this...
    Expand
  7. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Repetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so manyRepetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so many tracks... Expand
  8. May 8, 2014
    10
    The best ambient album of all time. Burial is a hugely unappreciated artist on the electronic scene, and this is his highest quality collection of musical pieces. I look forward to future full-length albums.
  9. MR
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    like massive attack in the 90s, this is the voice of urban britain a decade later
  10. LuisB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Honestly have not been able to stop listening to this album. I have forced myself to stop listening to it because I believe its becoming an obsession. Usually it might take a couple listens before I get into an album, this one from my first listen I have not been able to stop. Absolutely haunting.
  11. JoseR.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    I bought this album and really gave it a chance. I even asked my girlfriend if she heard something I wasn't catching. She had the same reaction I had: "Turn this crap off." What is it with these electronic albums that have the same boring sound over and over getting great reviews. Save your money and time. Get In Rainbows or anything by The Kings Of Leon if you want to hear good music!
  12. giantroot
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Oh Jesus. Hype? No. It's Very Greatest Album of I've Listened.
  13. JodieL
    Dec 10, 2008
    5
    I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an interesting way, John Cale is the only artist I've heard use a vocoder and gone, that sounded unbelievable. Expand
  14. KalebS
    Jan 7, 2008
    5
    If you're looking for a relaxation CD, you've just found one. If you're looking for interesting, inspired dubstep, look elsewhere, because Untrue is monotonous, dull and repetitive. Quite possibly the most overrated album of the year.
  15. AdamB
    Jan 7, 2008
    4
    I just don't understand the hype - there is nothing original or 'beautiful' about it. It's dull, end of story.
  16. dezv.
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    Very good album. If you're bored by all that lame guitarpop, folksy pretense and tuneless r&b/hiphop, this is homecoming.
  17. BrandonD
    Jan 8, 2008
    8
    I can understand why people wouldn't like this album, I wasn't too sure of it at first either. After a while, it definitely grew on me. Not exactly the best album of the year, but a great effort nonetheless.
  18. PaulM
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I guess either you get it or you don't. Absolutely brilliant, hypnotic, otherworldly, beautiful...
  19. ManchesterUK
    Feb 25, 2008
    3
    Errr, sorry guys but this is overated tosh. Surely Massive Attack have been doing it so much better for years. Yeah yeah yeah I'm sure it's different than MA but ultimately it's the same genre but not as good by a long way. Each to their own but as hard as I try to get into this album. It just aint happening.
  20. RobH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    OK Computer is an amazing album. There is actually no filler on it. I dont know what album you listened to. And Dizzee Rascal and the Streets are both good, but Burial is better. I like RadioHead more than Burial, but Burial is deffinately some of my favorite electronic music I have ever heard.
  21. PureDavis
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    Amazing!
  22. AdamP
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    If this album could be any better, it would be the epitome of perfection, and I don't think I could handle that as my mind would explode.
  23. Jay
    Nov 30, 2007
    8
    After a couple of listens I can understand the attraction. We've been waiting for something this fantastic, but, I felt some repetition in some of the layout of the songs and wanted a different slant towards the end, I WANTED MORE. A few more listens I may feel different and see the simplicity in his follow through.
  24. Charles
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Album of the year, by far. I'm thinking I'll consider it one of the tops of the decade in a few years time. I can't remember the last time I was so obsessed and excited by an album. Awesome and beautiful.
  25. Peter
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    This album deserves the hype. One of the best electronic albums I've ever heard.
  26. JoeH.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    The amazing thing about this record is that while it sounds like nothing I've heard before, it always feels like home. Somehow, without any real lyrics to speak of, Burial's music seems to evoke countless narratives. At times heartbreaking; at others full of hope. Archangel is easily one of the best tracks of the year.
  27. JustinM
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Gorgeously nuanced dubstep. Strong contender for the best electronic record of 2007.
  28. Bss
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down. Forget that the drum tracks get somewhat repetitive, music is all about creating patterns for crying out loud. This is a late-night album - listen to it when you are alone in the dark. Only then can the mood that it captures so perfectly strike you the deepest. People feel threatened by this kind of creativity; it's new (and NO, Future Sound of Best album of the year, hands down. Forget that the drum tracks get somewhat repetitive, music is all about creating patterns for crying out loud. This is a late-night album - listen to it when you are alone in the dark. Only then can the mood that it captures so perfectly strike you the deepest. People feel threatened by this kind of creativity; it's new (and NO, Future Sound of London does not sound like this!), and it sounds a bit strange at first. It grew on me quickly, as it will to anyone willing to give it a chance. Expand
  29. JK
    Dec 1, 2007
    5
    The content is at odds with the style. Dance beats, depressing? Throws in everything, kitchen sink included, as far as samples are concerned which hurts cohesion and focus. It is listenable, but pointless, as the ambiance is easily the focus here, over anything resembling songwriting, which to many people is ideal, I'm sure.
  30. ToddW.
    Dec 13, 2007
    7
    This is a great album, deserving of the praise it's been getting. However, it's not the best of 2007; it's not even in the Top 10. That designation belongs to the following: Deerhoof - 'Friend Opportunity;' Panda Bear - 'Person Pitch;' Liars - 'Liars;' Animal Collective - 'Strawberry Jam;' White Stripes - 'Icky Thump;' This is a great album, deserving of the praise it's been getting. However, it's not the best of 2007; it's not even in the Top 10. That designation belongs to the following: Deerhoof - 'Friend Opportunity;' Panda Bear - 'Person Pitch;' Liars - 'Liars;' Animal Collective - 'Strawberry Jam;' White Stripes - 'Icky Thump;' Justice - 'Cross;' Radiohead - 'In Rainbows;' Bruce Springsteen - 'Magic;' LCD Soundsystem - 'Sound of Silver,' and the best album of 2007, The National - 'Boxer.' 'Boxer' was a grower. I'll admit to not particularly caring for it at first. However, as of today I realize it's light years ahead of everything else made this year. Expand
  31. MycroftW.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    This is one bloody spooky dance record.
  32. AlanR.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Hmmm.... 13 reviews and its still 91. Looks like good taste is contagious. Don't let the prudes dull your appreciation for subtle music.
  33. CaseyS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    1
    This has to be one of the cheesiest records the genre has ever produced. There's not one hint of restraint or taste throughout. Not to mention it sounds like it was composed in 5 days and mixed for 5 months. Way overhyped.
  34. AlexanderS
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A wonderful album!
  35. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    I knew Burial would do better than his first album, but I wasn't expecting something this great. Nothing is better than listening to this album late at night driving in the city. Truly beautiful soundscapes with hypnotic beats.
  36. Josh
    Dec 5, 2007
    0
    The rating system makes little sense. Please consider the fact that more obscure albums like this receive far fewer reviews (11 in this case) and are generally reviewed by sources that already have a bias towards a particular genre of music. Note that for this album you will not see any reviews from major newspapers, etc. On the other hand, Radiohead's latest album received 40 The rating system makes little sense. Please consider the fact that more obscure albums like this receive far fewer reviews (11 in this case) and are generally reviewed by sources that already have a bias towards a particular genre of music. Note that for this album you will not see any reviews from major newspapers, etc. On the other hand, Radiohead's latest album received 40 reviews, including many from large and reputable sources. Despite the fact that it wasn't even one of my top 3 favorite Radiohead albums, I would place a wager that it's better than Burial. Some of you might remember that a similar event happened a few months ago when an album by "The field" appeared at the top of Metacritic's charts. However, upon hearing that album I was extremely disappointed. Expand
  37. LanceT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    This album is spooky and beautiful at the same time. You can listen to it while you are trying to relax or when you want to have a pick me up. It's quite wonderful.
  38. RodM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    fantastic!
  39. Nirv
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    This is the type of album you put on for your Asian girlfriend so she can get to sleep quicker. That's all it is. You don't seriously listen to this stuff because it's no LCD Soundsystem, it's no Justice, and it's no, and as much as I dislike them, Radiohead.
  40. MikeB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    highly over rated and un impressive music
  41. WesM
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    It's like the beautifully bleak, manic depressive anti-thesis to Since I Left You by the Avalanches.
  42. PlatA.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Dubstup ftw
  43. AaronM
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Beautiful. Filled with all the dirt, grime, and grim lovelorn beauty of back alley London. Speaks wonders about city life away from the rich and famous.
  44. boriz
    Jan 12, 2008
    6
    Yeah, this is one horribly overrated release. Its hardly experimental, every track has an identical feel, theres just not enough variation to keep me into this. Chuck it on when your stoned out of your brain at 3am.
  45. HajeD.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    What a noise, terrible. I listen to more than 1500 groups, with a big variation in style, so I am used to listen to a lot, but this album, no, garbage.
  46. hoffo
    Jan 16, 2008
    4
    pretty over rated album i must say, its really really booooooooring. well maybe like 3 pretty good tracks but alot of filler in here.
  47. IanM.
    Jan 17, 2008
    8
    Great album! I really cannot understand all the people comparing it to LCD Soundsytem and the like... "makes you want to feel like a teenager, until you remember the feelings of, a real live emotional teenager". And people say this sounds awkward and trite!!! Beautiful background music for a rainy day...
  48. neils.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    kind of like endtroducing, timeless and selected ambient works 1 and 2 mashed together, filtered to death and served in a nice tea to someone on a comedown. i like it.
  49. m-dubber
    Jan 2, 2008
    0
    That people actually like this crap says alot about how unbelievably stupid the human species is. This "album" if you want to call it that, is just a bunch of computer noises thrown together on a CD. It just disgusts me that I am part of the same species that actually like this abomination.
  50. HaterH
    Jan 2, 2008
    4
    This may be the greatest dubstep album of all time.
  51. MatheusB
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Very deep, touching vocals, almost angelical... put also very sad. It puts together a lot of feelings but not suitable for all places and situations. Works for me though. I loved it.
  52. alktothek
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Utterly mindblowing, sounds like the mass of oddly beautiful detritus England has become. Perhaps haters may need to upgrade sound systems/narrow perspective of what music is. All about the sub.
  53. ManuelP
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    great album!
  54. NateB
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive with sound and emotion. If you aren't into electronic/atmospheric music, then don't waste your time. But, if you are or think you might be, then check out Untrue and see how good it can be. Expand
  55. JeremyT
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get paid - because they have the experience and knowledge to distinguish between quality and dross even in genres they might not personally like. Expand
  56. SheaE.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I wish some of you guys could appreciate this album is as much as me. The backlash here is astonishing for such a beautiful album.
  57. RM
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very impressive that an album has managed to combine house music (from the ravescene) with arty IDM/ambient elements, taking the positives from both. Ultimately I find this a very effective, moody-provoking album which takes some getting used to. Pity not everyone can appreciate it - this album has a context which some will get and others won't. Expand
  58. JimB
    Jan 9, 2008
    6
    My first initial listen to this album (on line) was pretty positive. However, after having purchased it, subsequent listens diminished my first favorable impressions. Now, I DO "like" the album, but it HAS been ridiculously over-rated. I really like it's "dark and isolated urban atmosphere", but it all sounds kind of repetitive after a few listens. The title track is amazing, but the My first initial listen to this album (on line) was pretty positive. However, after having purchased it, subsequent listens diminished my first favorable impressions. Now, I DO "like" the album, but it HAS been ridiculously over-rated. I really like it's "dark and isolated urban atmosphere", but it all sounds kind of repetitive after a few listens. The title track is amazing, but the single, "Archangel" is kind of annoying. So, for me, "Untrue's" inconsistencies were frustrating, because it DOES have some great moments on it. Expand
  59. Amsterdam
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    this would be a great soundtrack for a "La Haine" like movie in London!!
  60. DarrylM
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    What a great soundtrack this album would be to a film. I own Radiohead's "In Rainbows" and "OK Computer" and this album is just as mesmerizing, inventive and compelling. I am truly chuffed that all the professional critics gave it the universal acclaim it deserves. Bravo.
  61. AlexW.
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    I liked it a lot - but i prefer faster beats and to the person below who said ok computer was a good album - its not really - two good songs - karma police and the other hit the rest id just filler - god knows why it is often rated the best album ever - theirs no feelings to it! granted karma police probably is the best song ever written!
  62. BenjaminL
    Feb 8, 2008
    3
    Not very good. Simple and boring beats. Cheesy vocal samples. Just generally uninspired.
  63. JasonDeM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    This has been in constant rotation in my car since it came out. Very much the next step in dubstep. You will love it. PS those who don't like electronic music (Radiohead does NOT count) need not apply.
  64. Aidan
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Spacey, dark, and fantastically put together. At first listen, repetitive and dull, but more was revealed on each listen. Beautifully frightening.
  65. JonathanC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    2
    Boring as hell.
  66. josem.
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Just let me tell you something. That's a masterpiece!. A wonderful Molecular Complexity!!!!!
  67. VeronikaS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely marvelous
  68. KarolaT.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Something incredible.
  69. WarrenU
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Dubstep that is just for you.
  70. TomP.
    May 1, 2008
    5
    Ummm.......yeah.....seriously? I just got done writing a review for the most overated album of the year that took the #1 spot. Is #2 even worth my time? Don't think so.
  71. AgataS.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Best best best! Album that changed my life!
  72. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    If you like a pragmatic, more active approach to music, listen to "Untrue" while preparing to make love, lighting up the ganja, or taking a 3am trespassing stroll through the neighbor hood. Btw, Archangel is about his dog that passed away... I cannot wait for his third tirade, claimed by himself as to be the darkest bit yet.
  73. EvilEd
    Feb 6, 2009
    7
    Wish this won the Mercury instead of the boring Elbow. A good album but you tend to tire a bit from it after multiple plays.
  74. DaveC.
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    tons of scattered ideas all held together by a single emotion that meander between utter chaos and beautiful superposition.
  75. ElliottM.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    A haunting, beautiful record and a standout of the genre. Surely one of the year's very best.
  76. ErikH.
    Nov 29, 2007
    8
    Far from the best album of the year, but still a very good dubstep album.
  77. MacP.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Great album! It bears the sounds of the 21th century
  78. blak000K
    Dec 10, 2007
    8
    A solid electronica album. There are 2-3 tracks that I simply can't get enough of. If you're into more upbeat, progressive beats, then this is not for you -- it has a more relaxed tone to it. "Untrue" is something you listen to on a lazy afternoon or while cruising the road at night.
  79. TequilaD.
    Dec 11, 2007
    2
    Dark sounds dun make good Albums. Same beats all the time never mind.
  80. LennyR
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    If you have any appreciation for electronic music, this is your Physical Graffiti or Highway 61 Revisted. Those of you who are not understanding what's great about it are certainly entitled to your opinion, but anyone with any familiarity with Garage, Dub, Dubstep, or even post-Mezzanine Trip-Hop will be able to understand how perfect this album is.
  81. Ree
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    Hauntingly emo and beautiful, but I'm still on the fence as to whether this is merely clever, or a true advancement in the sub-genre. Burial is almost there. I think album #3 will (hopefully) answer this question. Burial is almost there. I just cannot figure out exactly where there will be.
  82. AnonymousCoward
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    Let's get a couple of things straight here: First, anyone claiming they can make music as beautiful as this on their laptop is a troll, plain and simple, because they obviously cannot or we would already be aware of them. Second, this album is for electronic fans -- more specifically, those with very particular, even peculiar tastes. This album will by no means be the best for Let's get a couple of things straight here: First, anyone claiming they can make music as beautiful as this on their laptop is a troll, plain and simple, because they obviously cannot or we would already be aware of them. Second, this album is for electronic fans -- more specifically, those with very particular, even peculiar tastes. This album will by no means be the best for EVERYONE, but the fact that it is the best for ANYONE means its ranking is justified, if not deserved. Metacritic's ranking system isn't necessarily about making judgments of who had the best album of the year, as that is a question is wholly unanswerable by any crowd of individuals with vastly differing tastes. Metacritic merely ranks them based on the reviews they've received, and most every fan of this genre has proclaimed it to be positively stellar. And to be honest, I am glad it was at the top, because I have been thankful ever since for being exposed to Burial. As for the album itself, I personally find it to be fantastic, although by no means revolutionary. Expand
  83. GilC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    This is a good album, very innovative, great rhythms and a very good concept, sounds like UNKLE to me on some parts, the only thing I have to complain in that all songs begin with the same voice-pitched-echoed pattern, listen to it very closely and you'll know what I mean. Giving it the title of album of the year is exaggerated.
  84. IainM
    Dec 2, 2007
    8
    A great second album. atmospheric and moody. very evocative of modern day London.
  85. ManuelP
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    great album!
  86. RodM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    fantastic!
  87. MaxM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    "best electronic album of 2007"?! HAHA! please. Radiohead: In Rainbows best by far. Give me a ring when a new electronic band comes up that's better than radiohead. Until then, don't bother me with this bullshit.
  88. AlexO.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing album. It's sparse but very beautiful, a truly unique song.
  89. StephenM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    3
    Surely one of the most overestimated electronic releases in many a moon. Future Sound of London were doing this sort of thing with more skill, panache, and conviction over a decade ago. The fawning critical reception over this trifle is just baffling!
  90. ErdalG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Well this is my first ever post here and no album in the past several months warrants it more than Untrue. I'm not even a fan of electronic music in general, but the mood of this album along with the selection of vocals combine to form a sound that really must be heard. In other words, this is an album that transcends the genre. Every lover of music should give it a listen and see Well this is my first ever post here and no album in the past several months warrants it more than Untrue. I'm not even a fan of electronic music in general, but the mood of this album along with the selection of vocals combine to form a sound that really must be heard. In other words, this is an album that transcends the genre. Every lover of music should give it a listen and see what they think. Expand
  91. ChrisB.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    I can make nice sounds with my laptop and a synthesizer as well. This is some serious trash. What is wrong with you people who rated this so high? Its almost unlistenable.
  92. JoaoD.
    Dec 6, 2007
    6
    This album is just nice to listen, but that's all. I can't find a single piece of genius in this album that exceeds electronic music standards.
  93. BenJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    2
    Dreary, and so inoffensive it might as well be used now to soundtrack a whole series of adverts.
  94. DavidA
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    A fantastic record. Max M, you are out of your mind.
  95. EthanB.
    Dec 6, 2007
    6
    Its a little repetitive.
  96. Morheilio
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    It takes a few listens, but soon reveals itself as a brilliant album.
  97. DevinG
    Dec 7, 2007
    5
    I really don't get all the hype, not only for this album, but for numerous "electonic" albums this year. What am I missing?
  98. k-whale
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    I'm in agreement with the critics thus far: Album of the year. Stunning.
  99. hansenp.
    Dec 7, 2007
    8
    Nirv... justice and lcd soundsystem should never be used as superiors to anyone. i know that all of the indie-tight-panted kids are into them for tnow, but in 10 years time, i guarantee they will hardly be remembered outside of the same kids. to some people lcd is just a sad knock on post punk funk that was developed by certain ratio in the 80s, and justice is a novelty actfor folks who Nirv... justice and lcd soundsystem should never be used as superiors to anyone. i know that all of the indie-tight-panted kids are into them for tnow, but in 10 years time, i guarantee they will hardly be remembered outside of the same kids. to some people lcd is just a sad knock on post punk funk that was developed by certain ratio in the 80s, and justice is a novelty actfor folks who were too young to really get into daft punk the first time around. burial will exist beyond the hip time line because it appeals to more than the just that factor. and just so all of you are aware, radiohead likes, and possibly loves this record. seeing is how you are all so firmly planted up yorke's backside, i am sure this will more than likely alter your opinions immediately. burial is not any more hyped than any of the crap that is equally, or to a greater degree, hyped that has been brought up as superior by any negative posters below. Get a grip. Expand
  100. KevinS
    Dec 8, 2007
    8
    Actually, reviewers can rate an album at whatever they want to, and why? Because they can. Because they are music reviewers for publications, and you're not. And considering this is actually a far above average album that manages to capture and reimagine dubstep in some intriguing and incredibly engaging ways.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.