• Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 401 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 401

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulM
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I guess either you get it or you don't. Absolutely brilliant, hypnotic, otherworldly, beautiful...
  2. MR
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    like massive attack in the 90s, this is the voice of urban britain a decade later
  3. giantroot
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Oh Jesus. Hype? No. It's Very Greatest Album of I've Listened.
  4. HaterH
    Jan 2, 2008
    4
    This may be the greatest dubstep album of all time.
  5. Will
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Why do inventive and inspiring BRITISH artists get such a hard time on this site? First The Streets, then Dizzee Rascal and now Burial. Is it because American music is so uniformed and boring as shit or do the yanks just have a poor taste in music? This is a mesmerizing album from Burial that plays as the perfect backdrop to urban living in the UK.
  6. RyanL
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so emotional, track of the year, I think. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to yourThis isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to your not-so-lucky real life. It's that brilliant amnesia you get listening to these songs making me have to give it a ten. Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Even though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This cleverEven though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This clever arrangement of distorted sampling really gives every song a soul. I find it musically insulting how some user critics have shunned this album saying it's 'uninspired and boring'. I think its rather them who are uninspired and boring. Expand
  9. ZachW.
    Dec 16, 2007
    5
    I simply don't get it I guess.
  10. WesM
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    It's like the beautifully bleak, manic depressive anti-thesis to Since I Left You by the Avalanches.
  11. AdamB
    Jan 7, 2008
    4
    I just don't understand the hype - there is nothing original or 'beautiful' about it. It's dull, end of story.
  12. TobiasC.
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    Meh!
  13. GalenM.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    Honestly, I'm so glad to see apparently lots of other people commenting on this that share my same opinion -- this is probably THE overrated "schlop" of the year. Atmospherics may sound kinda cool but they come across flat and just plain dumb when paired with the almost-unlistenable vocal bits. I mean, c'mon, it's so processed and annoying. The beats is what really gets me. Honestly, I'm so glad to see apparently lots of other people commenting on this that share my same opinion -- this is probably THE overrated "schlop" of the year. Atmospherics may sound kinda cool but they come across flat and just plain dumb when paired with the almost-unlistenable vocal bits. I mean, c'mon, it's so processed and annoying. The beats is what really gets me. For one, this is really NOT an album you could dance to and secondly, most important, the beats are almost ALL the same. Seriously, go through the tracks and listen to them and you won't be able to deny. Bad, bad, bad. Ugh. Why the hype? You frickin' got me, that's one thing for sure. Expand
  14. JoseR.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    I bought this album and really gave it a chance. I even asked my girlfriend if she heard something I wasn't catching. She had the same reaction I had: "Turn this crap off." What is it with these electronic albums that have the same boring sound over and over getting great reviews. Save your money and time. Get In Rainbows or anything by The Kings Of Leon if you want to hear good music!
  15. JodieL
    Dec 10, 2008
    5
    I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an I actually really enjoy the beats and electronic elements of this album, but seriously when will electronic artists learn, that if you are going to have vocals in the album, provide a second disc, minus the vocals. I would pay an extra $5-$10 for that, if it was released in that fashion, yeah, I would give it a 7 or 8 out of 10, or what the hey, learn how to use a vocoder in an interesting way, John Cale is the only artist I've heard use a vocoder and gone, that sounded unbelievable. Expand
  16. KalebS
    Jan 7, 2008
    5
    If you're looking for a relaxation CD, you've just found one. If you're looking for interesting, inspired dubstep, look elsewhere, because Untrue is monotonous, dull and repetitive. Quite possibly the most overrated album of the year.
  17. ManchesterUK
    Feb 25, 2008
    3
    Errr, sorry guys but this is overated tosh. Surely Massive Attack have been doing it so much better for years. Yeah yeah yeah I'm sure it's different than MA but ultimately it's the same genre but not as good by a long way. Each to their own but as hard as I try to get into this album. It just aint happening.
  18. CaseyS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    1
    This has to be one of the cheesiest records the genre has ever produced. There's not one hint of restraint or taste throughout. Not to mention it sounds like it was composed in 5 days and mixed for 5 months. Way overhyped.
  19. Josh
    Dec 5, 2007
    0
    The rating system makes little sense. Please consider the fact that more obscure albums like this receive far fewer reviews (11 in this case) and are generally reviewed by sources that already have a bias towards a particular genre of music. Note that for this album you will not see any reviews from major newspapers, etc. On the other hand, Radiohead's latest album received 40 The rating system makes little sense. Please consider the fact that more obscure albums like this receive far fewer reviews (11 in this case) and are generally reviewed by sources that already have a bias towards a particular genre of music. Note that for this album you will not see any reviews from major newspapers, etc. On the other hand, Radiohead's latest album received 40 reviews, including many from large and reputable sources. Despite the fact that it wasn't even one of my top 3 favorite Radiohead albums, I would place a wager that it's better than Burial. Some of you might remember that a similar event happened a few months ago when an album by "The field" appeared at the top of Metacritic's charts. However, upon hearing that album I was extremely disappointed. Expand
  20. Nirv
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    This is the type of album you put on for your Asian girlfriend so she can get to sleep quicker. That's all it is. You don't seriously listen to this stuff because it's no LCD Soundsystem, it's no Justice, and it's no, and as much as I dislike them, Radiohead.
  21. MikeB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    1
    highly over rated and un impressive music
  22. HajeD.
    Jan 15, 2008
    1
    What a noise, terrible. I listen to more than 1500 groups, with a big variation in style, so I am used to listen to a lot, but this album, no, garbage.
  23. hoffo
    Jan 16, 2008
    4
    pretty over rated album i must say, its really really booooooooring. well maybe like 3 pretty good tracks but alot of filler in here.
  24. m-dubber
    Jan 2, 2008
    0
    That people actually like this crap says alot about how unbelievably stupid the human species is. This "album" if you want to call it that, is just a bunch of computer noises thrown together on a CD. It just disgusts me that I am part of the same species that actually like this abomination.
  25. BenjaminL
    Feb 8, 2008
    3
    Not very good. Simple and boring beats. Cheesy vocal samples. Just generally uninspired.
  26. JonathanC.
    Mar 31, 2008
    2
    Boring as hell.
  27. TequilaD.
    Dec 11, 2007
    2
    Dark sounds dun make good Albums. Same beats all the time never mind.
  28. RodM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    fantastic!
  29. MaxM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    4
    "best electronic album of 2007"?! HAHA! please. Radiohead: In Rainbows best by far. Give me a ring when a new electronic band comes up that's better than radiohead. Until then, don't bother me with this bullshit.
  30. StephenM.
    Dec 4, 2007
    3
    Surely one of the most overestimated electronic releases in many a moon. Future Sound of London were doing this sort of thing with more skill, panache, and conviction over a decade ago. The fawning critical reception over this trifle is just baffling!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.