Untrue

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Untrue Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 432 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second album for the London-based anonymous dubstep artist.

Top Track

Archangel
Holding you Couldn't be alone Loving you Couldn't be alone Kissing you Holding you Couldn't be alone Loving you Couldn't be alone Kissing you Tell... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. It seems as though the quick release of Untrue restricted Burial from burying his emotions underneath layers of alternatively sparse and overwhelming production as he did on his debut, resulting in an album that instead wears them unabashedly on its sleeve.
  2. Untrue is complex, stark, tender, blurred and breathtaking. Burial has managed the impossible and improved on his faultless debut.
  3. 90
    Untrue deepens and expands his emotional range. [Feb 2008, p.92]
  4. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  5. Needless to say, Untrue shatters any ideas of a sophomore slump.
  6. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  7. Uncut
    60
    Untrue is altogether warmer than its predecessor. [Jan 2008, p.87]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 209
  1. ManuelP
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    great album!
  2. KarolaT.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Something incredible.
  3. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Even though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke ofEven though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This clever arrangement of distorted sampling really gives every song a soul. I find it musically insulting how some user critics have shunned this album saying it's 'uninspired and boring'. I think its rather them who are uninspired and boring. Expand
  4. neils.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    kind of like endtroducing, timeless and selected ambient works 1 and 2 mashed together, filtered to death and served in a nice tea to someone kind of like endtroducing, timeless and selected ambient works 1 and 2 mashed together, filtered to death and served in a nice tea to someone on a comedown. i like it. Expand
  5. PerspicaciousCritic
    Dec 12, 2007
    8
    I agree with Paul C, who gave this album a respectable 7 out of 10. I listened to every track on Burial, then listened to it again to see if I agree with Paul C, who gave this album a respectable 7 out of 10. I listened to every track on Burial, then listened to it again to see if I was missing anything that merited a perfect 10 score. And although I can see why critics would fall out of their chair over the filmic soundscape, the album sounds samey throughout and for me can only be tolerated after a couple listens. And while I don't disagree with most of the professional reviews, and while every track is thought out and noodled over, and while there are no fillers on this album, Burial is missing that emotive magic, making it an 8 out of 10 at best. In the electronic / alternative / indie genre, Radiohead's In Rainbows wins top honours this year. Expand
  6. seeds13
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    This music is weak and lacks substance. It wouldn't even make an impact if it was blasting at someone's "burial". Hell, I've This music is weak and lacks substance. It wouldn't even make an impact if it was blasting at someone's "burial". Hell, I've heard better sounds blast out of my a$$. Seriously. The vocals seem to be some kind of sick joke from the world of pop. But, go ahead and vote high since you have little taste in music. I personally am drawn to musicians. Expand
  7. RodM.
    Dec 3, 2007
    0
    fantastic!

See all 209 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.