Untrue

  • Record Label: Hyperdub
  • Release Date: Nov 6, 2007
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 430 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 430

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. LuisB.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Honestly have not been able to stop listening to this album. I have forced myself to stop listening to it because I believe its becoming an obsession. Usually it might take a couple listens before I get into an album, this one from my first listen I have not been able to stop. Absolutely haunting.
  2. PaulM
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I guess either you get it or you don't. Absolutely brilliant, hypnotic, otherworldly, beautiful...
  3. RobH.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    OK Computer is an amazing album. There is actually no filler on it. I dont know what album you listened to. And Dizzee Rascal and the Streets are both good, but Burial is better. I like RadioHead more than Burial, but Burial is deffinately some of my favorite electronic music I have ever heard.
  4. Charles
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Album of the year, by far. I'm thinking I'll consider it one of the tops of the decade in a few years time. I can't remember the last time I was so obsessed and excited by an album. Awesome and beautiful.
  5. Peter
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    This album deserves the hype. One of the best electronic albums I've ever heard.
  6. JoeH.
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    The amazing thing about this record is that while it sounds like nothing I've heard before, it always feels like home. Somehow, without any real lyrics to speak of, Burial's music seems to evoke countless narratives. At times heartbreaking; at others full of hope. Archangel is easily one of the best tracks of the year.
  7. JustinM
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Gorgeously nuanced dubstep. Strong contender for the best electronic record of 2007.
  8. Bss
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year, hands down. Forget that the drum tracks get somewhat repetitive, music is all about creating patterns for crying out loud. This is a late-night album - listen to it when you are alone in the dark. Only then can the mood that it captures so perfectly strike you the deepest. People feel threatened by this kind of creativity; it's new (and NO, Future Sound of Best album of the year, hands down. Forget that the drum tracks get somewhat repetitive, music is all about creating patterns for crying out loud. This is a late-night album - listen to it when you are alone in the dark. Only then can the mood that it captures so perfectly strike you the deepest. People feel threatened by this kind of creativity; it's new (and NO, Future Sound of London does not sound like this!), and it sounds a bit strange at first. It grew on me quickly, as it will to anyone willing to give it a chance. Expand
  9. MycroftW.
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    This is one bloody spooky dance record.
  10. AlanR.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Hmmm.... 13 reviews and its still 91. Looks like good taste is contagious. Don't let the prudes dull your appreciation for subtle music.
  11. AlexanderS
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A wonderful album!
  12. [Anonymous]
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    I knew Burial would do better than his first album, but I wasn't expecting something this great. Nothing is better than listening to this album late at night driving in the city. Truly beautiful soundscapes with hypnotic beats.
  13. LanceT.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    This album is spooky and beautiful at the same time. You can listen to it while you are trying to relax or when you want to have a pick me up. It's quite wonderful.
  14. RodM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    fantastic!
  15. WesM
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    It's like the beautifully bleak, manic depressive anti-thesis to Since I Left You by the Avalanches.
  16. PlatA.
    Jan 10, 2008
    10
    Dubstup ftw
  17. alktothek
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Utterly mindblowing, sounds like the mass of oddly beautiful detritus England has become. Perhaps haters may need to upgrade sound systems/narrow perspective of what music is. All about the sub.
  18. ManuelP
    Jan 8, 2008
    10
    great album!
  19. SheaE.
    Jan 9, 2008
    10
    I wish some of you guys could appreciate this album is as much as me. The backlash here is astonishing for such a beautiful album.
  20. Amsterdam
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    this would be a great soundtrack for a "La Haine" like movie in London!!
  21. DarrylM
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    What a great soundtrack this album would be to a film. I own Radiohead's "In Rainbows" and "OK Computer" and this album is just as mesmerizing, inventive and compelling. I am truly chuffed that all the professional critics gave it the universal acclaim it deserves. Bravo.
  22. Aidan
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    Spacey, dark, and fantastically put together. At first listen, repetitive and dull, but more was revealed on each listen. Beautifully frightening.
  23. josem.
    Apr 12, 2008
    10
    Just let me tell you something. That's a masterpiece!. A wonderful Molecular Complexity!!!!!
  24. VeronikaS.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Absolutely marvelous
  25. KarolaT.
    Apr 4, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Something incredible.
  26. WarrenU
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Dubstep that is just for you.
  27. AgataS.
    Jun 16, 2008
    10
    Best best best! Album that changed my life!
  28. DaveC.
    Apr 7, 2009
    10
    tons of scattered ideas all held together by a single emotion that meander between utter chaos and beautiful superposition.
  29. ElliottM.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    A haunting, beautiful record and a standout of the genre. Surely one of the year's very best.
  30. MacP.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    Great album! It bears the sounds of the 21th century
  31. LennyR
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    If you have any appreciation for electronic music, this is your Physical Graffiti or Highway 61 Revisted. Those of you who are not understanding what's great about it are certainly entitled to your opinion, but anyone with any familiarity with Garage, Dub, Dubstep, or even post-Mezzanine Trip-Hop will be able to understand how perfect this album is.
  32. ManuelP
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    great album!
  33. AlexO.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing album. It's sparse but very beautiful, a truly unique song.
  34. ErdalG.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Well this is my first ever post here and no album in the past several months warrants it more than Untrue. I'm not even a fan of electronic music in general, but the mood of this album along with the selection of vocals combine to form a sound that really must be heard. In other words, this is an album that transcends the genre. Every lover of music should give it a listen and see Well this is my first ever post here and no album in the past several months warrants it more than Untrue. I'm not even a fan of electronic music in general, but the mood of this album along with the selection of vocals combine to form a sound that really must be heard. In other words, this is an album that transcends the genre. Every lover of music should give it a listen and see what they think. Expand
  35. DavidA
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    A fantastic record. Max M, you are out of your mind.
  36. k-whale
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    I'm in agreement with the critics thus far: Album of the year. Stunning.
  37. MikeP
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. The album is great. Its trippy dubstep. Your not supposed to dance to it. Its supposed to relax you. And it served its purpose, superbly. If you don't even like the genre you shouldn't review this album.
  38. JayF.
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Fucking awesome. dark and atmospheric. Pussy boys won't like it tho.
  39. William
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Beautiful and atmospheric. I would liken it to ambient via Brian Eno's definition if it wasn't so prone to drawing one into its own environment rather than enhancing the one it's being listened to in.
  40. NormF.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    This music is strangely beautiful. Atmospheric and airy, but with the beat and heart of the streets. I'm not usually into this kind of electronica and stuff, but this stuff has great soul that really sets it apart.
  41. Will
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Why do inventive and inspiring BRITISH artists get such a hard time on this site? First The Streets, then Dizzee Rascal and now Burial. Is it because American music is so uniformed and boring as shit or do the yanks just have a poor taste in music? This is a mesmerizing album from Burial that plays as the perfect backdrop to urban living in the UK.
  42. Robert
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    funny that someone says its more worthy to listen to aphex twin selected ambient works..That is also a masterpiece indeed. Bu if you are a listener of aphex twin, you should rate burial much better than a 2! Both know how to create excellent atmospheric soundscapes. And for those people who say this ain't no music..come one, open your mind. Music is more than four people on a stage funny that someone says its more worthy to listen to aphex twin selected ambient works..That is also a masterpiece indeed. Bu if you are a listener of aphex twin, you should rate burial much better than a 2! Both know how to create excellent atmospheric soundscapes. And for those people who say this ain't no music..come one, open your mind. Music is more than four people on a stage playing guitars, drums etc. Expand
  43. MonikaB.
    Feb 29, 2008
    10
    A.M.A.Z.I.N.G. piece of work! While I listen to this I float through this world :)
  44. JessW
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This album is about as good as music of any genre gets, really. I'm on my 4th or 5th listen right now, and I'm finding it really hard to leave the house! Thank God it's a weekend... I listen to a LOT of electronic music, and have since roughly age 4, and I'm 27 now. If you know this music well, you're bound to appreciate the raw talent that went into this. This This album is about as good as music of any genre gets, really. I'm on my 4th or 5th listen right now, and I'm finding it really hard to leave the house! Thank God it's a weekend... I listen to a LOT of electronic music, and have since roughly age 4, and I'm 27 now. If you know this music well, you're bound to appreciate the raw talent that went into this. This artist knows how to concentrate, and you can feel his intent all over the record. Paints many images for many people, but for me, it's just.. sublime. You really can't appreciate this without good speakers, though, as at least half of the beauty of this is the careful manipulation of the bass end of the spectrum. Precise, intentional, superb... just beautiful. Call it what you will, this is true underground music, and deserves the acclaim it's gotten and more. Get it! Expand
  45. KlennF.
    Mar 23, 2008
    10
    Listen to in the dark w/headphones or driving at night... it encompasses your brain. Beautiful.
  46. CH
    May 3, 2008
    10
    Just listen to this walking home alone from a club at 3am and you will understand Burial's intentions for this CD. "Raver" is the perfect summation, and particularly stands out, even among the other sublime songs. It is simply perfect. Best album of 2007, easy.
  47. StevenM
    Jul 28, 2008
    10
    Burial brings the open listener straight into his soundscape, unveiling subtle emotions in and out of the darkness. Spongey two-step drums and erratic sub-bass weave through superb pitched vocals that to me break into natural little clips of life. Excellent lo-fi sampling. It is amazing that he worked this together at home in roughly two weeks, which really shows when one track switches Burial brings the open listener straight into his soundscape, unveiling subtle emotions in and out of the darkness. Spongey two-step drums and erratic sub-bass weave through superb pitched vocals that to me break into natural little clips of life. Excellent lo-fi sampling. It is amazing that he worked this together at home in roughly two weeks, which really shows when one track switches to the next. Sublime. It seems that haters pick out only specific parts of the sound, labeling it as "non-musical schlop". Are we forgetting what can be defined as art, more so as something cultural? Look past ignorant genre stereotypes and music quo, this sound truly is undeniably special. Emphatic. Expand
  48. SergioD.
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    It's 2008 now, i just got both Burial's cds along with new Sigur Ros and Spiritualized. All i can say is "sweet baby jesus"! Haven't had that feeling since Tricky released his first cd or when Massive came out with Mezzanine. This is what never fades away!
  49. GarrettM.
    Aug 16, 2008
    10
    Beautiful. Atmospheric. Soundtrack for a quiet drive in the dark or just plain sleep for some. What I particularly love is the vocals and how ghostly they are. Such depth. I find it amusing that some of the reviewers pan this because they can't understand the vocals. You are stuck in a one-track mind. Burial. Brilliant.
  50. BobH.
    Nov 30, 2007
    10
    This is the best album of 2007. The track 'Shell Of Light' is just incredible. Nothing, I repeat NOTHING even comes anywhere near the excellence of this album for 2007. Just brilliant.
  51. AntonyH.
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Odd comments on here about the reviews. It has top marks from the Guardian and The Observer two national broadsheet newspapers in the UK and Pitchfork so thats hardly just fanzines now is it! Also who cares where the reviews come from, it someone has an opinion about it what makes it less valid than say Rolling Stone or the NME? If people are passionate enough to write reviews then its a Odd comments on here about the reviews. It has top marks from the Guardian and The Observer two national broadsheet newspapers in the UK and Pitchfork so thats hardly just fanzines now is it! Also who cares where the reviews come from, it someone has an opinion about it what makes it less valid than say Rolling Stone or the NME? If people are passionate enough to write reviews then its a record that inspires passion. Don't like it. Get off your arse and go and pen a negative review to provide so balance. Stop moaning from the side lines. Its a top record and gets better which each listen, headphones a must. Expand
  52. JohnJ.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year!
  53. MikeC.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year - get some head phones on and turn it up!
  54. Sarah
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    I do not always like to see electronica albums topping the best albums list given there are so few of them relative to everything else. But this one really is quite something.
  55. JA
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    "Untrue" sounds more real and true than all the other music I've bought this year. It's got me hooked.
  56. JOE
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    great album!!!!!!!!!! the amount of detail that has been lavished on this record is incredible. Stick your headphones on and enjoy........ like listening to someones best kept secret!
  57. clarkf.
    Jan 13, 2008
    10
    If you are musically literate enough to have an appreciation for dubstep, you will find this release to be among the best albums of the year. If you are not (and this site indicates that you are legion), then you will not appreciate the intricacies of the programming, or the mixing, or the engineering. Indeed, you may find the album dull. In this case, give the album to a sophisticated If you are musically literate enough to have an appreciation for dubstep, you will find this release to be among the best albums of the year. If you are not (and this site indicates that you are legion), then you will not appreciate the intricacies of the programming, or the mixing, or the engineering. Indeed, you may find the album dull. In this case, give the album to a sophisticated friend and wait for the new Spice Girls record. Expand
  58. JohnQ
    Jan 17, 2008
    10
    incredible on a pair of headphones. one of my favourite albums of all time.
  59. DuncanY
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    This is so so good! I don't understand the hate.
  60. johnk
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    I can't get enough of this. Burial makes absolutely fascinating music. Archangel in particular is beautiful.
  61. SDK
    Jan 22, 2008
    10
    it's uplifting, even with the melodramatic beats and vocals that seem to disappear into blackness before your ears. i don't know if you can classify this music correctly, or if it even needs it. hell, it breaks classifications and draws people in from all over. there's no doubt in my mind that there's WAY MORE than a handful of people out there listening to this record it's uplifting, even with the melodramatic beats and vocals that seem to disappear into blackness before your ears. i don't know if you can classify this music correctly, or if it even needs it. hell, it breaks classifications and draws people in from all over. there's no doubt in my mind that there's WAY MORE than a handful of people out there listening to this record on a daily basis. headphones recommended :) Expand
  62. SG
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    negative reviews? you don't know what music is if you don't like this. this IS south London on a record. vinyl white noise, dark London streets, unknown vocals, seething bass. burial is the banksy of the music world, but with no irony. this album is straight up, and it's art.
  63. AlexF.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This is an amazing album, have only recently been introduced to dubstep, and was shown this Burial album. I now cant stop listening to it!! I LOVE IT
  64. BehnamM.
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Some kind of postmodern view of a modern city. you can feel all cries of being so tierd of aloneness. its represents all of dark hiden emotions such as hatress, grief, moans, and lurking assault of a sneaky stress wich altogether transform to a giant feel of ruin. a masterpiece of atmospheric albums. Marvelous
  65. HenriN
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Up to this point, only a single naysayer has managed to brand this album as "pretentious". Did you people just graduate the junior high of haterdom?
  66. JohnJ.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Best album of the year!
  67. HarryH.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Cool and sad. Brand new and retro. Hard edged and gentle. Wonderful music.
  68. RyanL
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so I think those that are panning this album are just not comfortable with the format of the music. Maybe I'm wrong, and they are all just dubstep purists, but I doubt it. It is nice to see something a little more unconventional like this cross over into popular consciousness. That being said, this album is gorgeous, definitely more euphoric than his previous one. Archangel is so emotional, track of the year, I think. Expand
  69. TomH.
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Possibly the best album of 2007 for me, better than his debut, namely because it has homeless on which is a brilliant song.
  70. ButtMan
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    Album of the year easily. this shit is amazing and original and endlessly listenable. The production is phenomenal, tweaky brilliance, solid atmosphere, unf.ckwithable!!!!! burial is genius, no doubt. A+, five stars, 10.0, flawless victory!
  71. Oct 6, 2010
    10
    Even though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This cleverEven though it is classified as dubstep, don't expect any bassy oscillation of what todays dubstep is composed of. This album is a stroke of genius and was and still is a breathe of fresh air. Emotionally pounding tracks like 'In McDonalds' and 'Endorphin' will bring about sensations that are unexplained, tracks like 'Shell of Light' will leave you completely hypnotised. This clever arrangement of distorted sampling really gives every song a soul. I find it musically insulting how some user critics have shunned this album saying it's 'uninspired and boring'. I think its rather them who are uninspired and boring. Expand
  72. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    This isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to yourThis isn't music... it's what I call Audio Art. or Art Music, or.... well. Anyway, what makes this album great is it takes you to a lonely place where nobody's around, thank god. Maybe one other person. It's stormy, it's dark and the underground tunnels are rather tricky to navigate, but you're having the time of your life. Shame the song finishes though, and you're back to your not-so-lucky real life. It's that brilliant amnesia you get listening to these songs making me have to give it a ten. Expand
  73. Mar 29, 2017
    10
    One of my favorite electronic albums ever recorded...
    It is dark and haunting but maintains enough heart that it ends up being an uplifting experience.
    While it may send you traveling down the dark alleys of your mind, there definitely is a light ahead... I suggest consuming this all in one sitting on a night you feel open to it. I did about 10 years ago and have been listening to it
    One of my favorite electronic albums ever recorded...
    It is dark and haunting but maintains enough heart that it ends up being an uplifting experience.
    While it may send you traveling down the dark alleys of your mind, there definitely is a light ahead...

    I suggest consuming this all in one sitting on a night you feel open to it.
    I did about 10 years ago and have been listening to it ever since. No one is better than Burial at this type of music and Burial never did it better than this...
    Expand
  74. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Absolutely incredible. Burial's unique blend of dubstep and garage is further refined in his second full lenght release, conjuring up the same bleak, melancholic atmospheres but with new depth and focus. Faultless.
  75. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    Repetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so manyRepetitive?, guess what, is electronic music. Since the 60s, electronic music has always been repetitive. And that's the best part when you love the beat, the echos and the vocals. You want to listen to that, again and again and a hundred times more. Open your minds, the electronic music is the most varied genre ever, because there are so many artists, each one with it's own style, so many tracks... Expand
  76. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    I've heard it described as the sound of London at night, and I agree. Sorrowful early-morning comedowns set to fuzzy radios. I guess some people don't get it, but you can't attack it for repetitiveness, the monotony compliments the sad bass fading in and out, and the twisted vocals sound beautiful floating over the whole thing.
  77. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    I wasn't a huge fan of the album after the first half dozen listens. But something kept me coming back for repeated listens. Then during a random listen, it just hit me, the sound which seemed mediocre to me before, was incredible! One of my all-time favorite albums, and easily one of the oddest experiences I've had with an album.
  78. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    With fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity ofWith fast tempos despite bone-chilling ambiance, Untrue manages to be arguably one of the greatest dubstep albums ever. However, don't expect this one to hit you immediately. When I first listened to this album, I thought it had nice beats, but those seemed to drone a bit too much and I lost interest. Luckily, I gave it a second chance and was left in tears by the emotional intensity of every song of this album; yet I still felt the uncontrollable urge to move to the album's incredible and subtly varied rhythms. It is not often an electronica album can be this physically and emotionally moving. In fact, I cannot think of another example. Expand
  79. May 8, 2014
    10
    The best ambient album of all time. Burial is a hugely unappreciated artist on the electronic scene, and this is his highest quality collection of musical pieces. I look forward to future full-length albums.
  80. May 15, 2015
    10
    It is hard to skip a song on this faultless LP. Brooding, evocative and strong, a step up from his self-titled debut and a pinnacle in electronic music.
  81. Jan 11, 2017
    10
    Excelent album .......................................................................................................................................
  82. MR
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    like massive attack in the 90s, this is the voice of urban britain a decade later
  83. giantroot
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Oh Jesus. Hype? No. It's Very Greatest Album of I've Listened.
  84. PureDavis
    Jul 30, 2008
    9
    Amazing!
  85. AdamP
    Mar 4, 2009
    9
    If this album could be any better, it would be the epitome of perfection, and I don't think I could handle that as my mind would explode.
  86. AaronM
    Jan 1, 2008
    9
    Beautiful. Filled with all the dirt, grime, and grim lovelorn beauty of back alley London. Speaks wonders about city life away from the rich and famous.
  87. neils.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    kind of like endtroducing, timeless and selected ambient works 1 and 2 mashed together, filtered to death and served in a nice tea to someone on a comedown. i like it.
  88. MatheusB
    Dec 30, 2008
    9
    Very deep, touching vocals, almost angelical... put also very sad. It puts together a lot of feelings but not suitable for all places and situations. Works for me though. I loved it.
  89. NateB
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive I don't think this album is meant to be danced to, although someone out there is probably doing it. I also don't think this is really supposed to be an experimental album either. What this album achieves is listenability. Turn it on and it becomes the soundtrack to your drive, your walk, your relaxing evening at home. The music conjures haunting, albeit gloomy, cityscapes alive with sound and emotion. If you aren't into electronic/atmospheric music, then don't waste your time. But, if you are or think you might be, then check out Untrue and see how good it can be. Expand
  90. JeremyT
    Jan 8, 2008
    9
    To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get To all those low scoring user reviewers of this album who are confusing critical reviews and personal taste... Just because an album gets great reviews doesn't mean you are going to like it. And if you don't like it, that doesn't mean the reviews are wrong. Perhaps it's just a genre or style that you personally don't like or understand. That's why critics get paid - because they have the experience and knowledge to distinguish between quality and dross even in genres they might not personally like. Expand
  91. RM
    Jan 9, 2008
    9
    There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very There's been three electronica albums in 2007 which have had critical acclaim but an extreme mix of views from users. Now perhaps The Field and Stars Of The Lid were a tad overrated (7 or 8 out of ten material rather than 9 - certaintly not 1 though). But this is one I think they have got spot on, a good old 9. Why? Well I know the rave scene in cities. I think it's very impressive that an album has managed to combine house music (from the ravescene) with arty IDM/ambient elements, taking the positives from both. Ultimately I find this a very effective, moody-provoking album which takes some getting used to. Pity not everyone can appreciate it - this album has a context which some will get and others won't. Expand
  92. JasonDeM.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    This has been in constant rotation in my car since it came out. Very much the next step in dubstep. You will love it. PS those who don't like electronic music (Radiohead does NOT count) need not apply.
  93. AnonymousMC
    Jul 28, 2008
    9
    If you like a pragmatic, more active approach to music, listen to "Untrue" while preparing to make love, lighting up the ganja, or taking a 3am trespassing stroll through the neighbor hood. Btw, Archangel is about his dog that passed away... I cannot wait for his third tirade, claimed by himself as to be the darkest bit yet.
  94. Ree
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    Hauntingly emo and beautiful, but I'm still on the fence as to whether this is merely clever, or a true advancement in the sub-genre. Burial is almost there. I think album #3 will (hopefully) answer this question. Burial is almost there. I just cannot figure out exactly where there will be.
  95. AnonymousCoward
    Dec 16, 2007
    9
    Let's get a couple of things straight here: First, anyone claiming they can make music as beautiful as this on their laptop is a troll, plain and simple, because they obviously cannot or we would already be aware of them. Second, this album is for electronic fans -- more specifically, those with very particular, even peculiar tastes. This album will by no means be the best for Let's get a couple of things straight here: First, anyone claiming they can make music as beautiful as this on their laptop is a troll, plain and simple, because they obviously cannot or we would already be aware of them. Second, this album is for electronic fans -- more specifically, those with very particular, even peculiar tastes. This album will by no means be the best for EVERYONE, but the fact that it is the best for ANYONE means its ranking is justified, if not deserved. Metacritic's ranking system isn't necessarily about making judgments of who had the best album of the year, as that is a question is wholly unanswerable by any crowd of individuals with vastly differing tastes. Metacritic merely ranks them based on the reviews they've received, and most every fan of this genre has proclaimed it to be positively stellar. And to be honest, I am glad it was at the top, because I have been thankful ever since for being exposed to Burial. As for the album itself, I personally find it to be fantastic, although by no means revolutionary. Expand
  96. GilC.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    This is a good album, very innovative, great rhythms and a very good concept, sounds like UNKLE to me on some parts, the only thing I have to complain in that all songs begin with the same voice-pitched-echoed pattern, listen to it very closely and you'll know what I mean. Giving it the title of album of the year is exaggerated.
  97. Morheilio
    Dec 6, 2007
    9
    It takes a few listens, but soon reveals itself as a brilliant album.
  98. RickW
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    Near perfect. A groundbreaking album. This just gets better with every listen. It may not be for everyone! Why do the muppets who don't like 'repetitive beats' or 'synthesisers' buy dance music??!!!
  99. ScottH.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    I can understand why some folks have been bashing this album. They don't get it. They're stuck in a musical rut. An open mind can appreciate the simplicity and unbelievable fluidity to the songs on Untrue. It is one of the most complete albums I've heard. From start to finish this is a great record.
  100. Michael
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Lots of kids here. Ignore them. Great album.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Burial has concocted a noir-ish sound that’s as powerful as it is atmospheric.
  2. What gives this album more depth is the focus, the rolling symmetry and cinema.
  3. That emptiness tempts a listener in, and puts you in its place--you, in a sense, step into the record’s point of view. This invitation to intimacy is a powerful move that most club music is simply incapable of.