User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 63
  2. Negative: 18 out of 63

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CindyV
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    It rocks! This is her best cd yet! Go Shania Twain!
  2. Artursg
    Nov 26, 2005
    10
    Album UP! is her best work!Best songs are When You Kiss Me,Ka-ching! Thank You Baby...Actually,hard to say,beacause all songs are great!
  3. BillR
    Jul 27, 2005
    10
    I have never listened to Shania before this. Having had the opportunity now to listen I am delighted. There is a clarity to her sound, the harmonies are pure almost ethereal at times. The hooks work for me. I find the album delightfully charming and there is joy in sharing the apparant love she has for her art.
  4. MarjorieD
    Nov 17, 2004
    1
    made to make money no artistic value all commercial value like macdonalds
  5. FernandezF
    Nov 8, 2004
    1
    boring colorless contrived music empty lyrics over done over rated
  6. JimK
    Dec 28, 2004
    0
    no
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    This album is amazing! The red pop disc is especially impressive, it's really classic Shania with some excellent upbeat tracks along with some terrific ballads too. Especially impressed with Ka-Ching, Thank You Baby, Forever And For Always, and I'm Jealous.
  8. KennethC
    Oct 6, 2003
    9
    Hooks galore. Lots of effort appeared to be put into it. Does not have the immediate thrill of certain numbers from previous release, however it is very consistent throughout and gets better with each listening.
  9. Andrew-secret-
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Arguably her best album yet!
  10. MackB
    Dec 3, 2002
    3
    This is the ultimate in disposable, plastic, sugar coated music. You don't like country? Play the pop version. You don't like top 40? Well go buy the import, enjoy those latin beats. As soon as one song ends, you completely forget it. Not one memorable track, in any kind of version. It's as if she knew it was a disc full of crap, so she doubled the "value" of said crap by This is the ultimate in disposable, plastic, sugar coated music. You don't like country? Play the pop version. You don't like top 40? Well go buy the import, enjoy those latin beats. As soon as one song ends, you completely forget it. Not one memorable track, in any kind of version. It's as if she knew it was a disc full of crap, so she doubled the "value" of said crap by doing it all over again, just as badly. Next time she should "sing" over the sounds of garbage disposals in the background. It would be so more fitting. People --- buy the new Steve Earle album instead.Listen to someone who actually has something to say, and sounds like he actually MEANS IT! Heck, a broken toaster is worth more than this stinking heap. Expand
  11. michellej
    Dec 9, 2002
    9
    This is shurely her best cd. She is a POP artist so we can not expect some Beethoven stuff. All the songs have big hook. I think there will be a bunch of singles comming out of this cd.
  12. larryc
    Aug 16, 2004
    1
    It's not quite pop and definately not country. What is it? Weak lyrics and drowned out almost robotic vocals.
  13. JackieD
    Aug 22, 2004
    1
    What a disappointment! Come on Shania! We waited five years for this? Well, if this is all you have to offer all I can say is... Here's to another five years (hopefully longer) before you release your next CD.
  14. ChrisH
    Aug 23, 2004
    0
    I can't give it anything lower than a zero so I gave it a big fat goose egg. O That's because I feel that's how much effort Shania put into this CD. Nothing! There is absolutel no depth or meaning to any of the songs. There are 19 totally forgettable songs on this CD. And, oh yeah, lucky us we get the same exact song twice on 2 different CDs. She claims the 2 CDs represent I can't give it anything lower than a zero so I gave it a big fat goose egg. O That's because I feel that's how much effort Shania put into this CD. Nothing! There is absolutel no depth or meaning to any of the songs. There are 19 totally forgettable songs on this CD. And, oh yeah, lucky us we get the same exact song twice on 2 different CDs. She claims the 2 CDs represent a "country" version and a "pop" version. But, there's very little (if any) difference between the 2 CDs. Don't waste you money on this one. You can probably get it at the used CD bin for little or nothing. Expand
  15. lennyb
    Aug 29, 2004
    0
    Did anybody ever hear this chicks real voice? Eeek! It's BAD! I went out and got a copy of limelight sessions. you know the songs she recorded before her magician husband worked his wonders on her. This chick is a looker but she sure can't sing.
  16. Leve
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    Shania Twain rocks!! I guess that wasn't a very descriptive, was it? Allow me to elaborate. Up! was released in 2002 and its first single was "I'm Gonna Getcha Good!". This single could have done a lot better, no clue why it didn't do that well. That, along with many other songs, prove to be UP!Beat and UP!Tastic.
  17. AustinH
    Feb 26, 2005
    10
    Shania has been doing her best on her music and albums.Shania is a singer i adore.Just because she didnt have and album in 5 year doesn't mean she sucks.I like Up! for the discs Green,Red,and Blue. :)
  18. CodyL
    Apr 4, 2005
    8
    I really like Shania Twain, but I did not like UP as much as her Come On Over CD. Although, I was glad that she finally came out with another album.
  19. GenevieveD
    Jun 27, 2005
    1
    so over produced Where is her Real voice almost inauduble is it burned out? barbie doll looks boring hooks dont buy waste of money
  20. adrianb
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    this disc is incredible! shania mixes lots of sounds that make an harmony that we can appreciate in all the 19 songs of this cd. Songs like Man I feel like a woman, or You're still the one (from come on over) are song quite difficult to share up, but in this album we can find incredible songs with melodies that can transport your mind to other places. Right now, with songs like Up, this disc is incredible! shania mixes lots of sounds that make an harmony that we can appreciate in all the 19 songs of this cd. Songs like Man I feel like a woman, or You're still the one (from come on over) are song quite difficult to share up, but in this album we can find incredible songs with melodies that can transport your mind to other places. Right now, with songs like Up, Ka-ching!, thank you baby or the beauty and soberbial forever and for always shania shows her most sensitive face, and make remind for all of her fans that nowadays is more carismatically that ever. Expand
  21. KateB
    Nov 14, 2006
    8
    Shania has done better than this with The Woman in Me, Come on Over and For the Love of Him, but I still like this album a lot. I prefer her more country side than the pop she is making in this album. It seems like forever since she made it and I hope she gets something new out soon!
  22. FrederickS
    May 29, 2006
    2
    You gotta be F*^#ing joking if you think this record deserves a 71. Incredibly thin music with a few "oh, oh,oh's" and "yeah, yeah, yeah's" thrown in where there should be lyrics. Not even half half-assed.
  23. JamesS
    Dec 10, 2002
    10
    Great Comeback Shania!!!
  24. JeffD
    Dec 7, 2002
    8
    I like it & I'm glad she's back!
  25. MarkC
    Dec 8, 2002
    9
    I think the album is pretty darn good... definitely upbeat. The chick will dig this one
  26. RobertS
    Dec 24, 2003
    10
    it is very lively
  27. Nov 16, 2013
    7
    Ótimo álbum, destaque pra versão "Red" adoro essa mistura de country com pop e Shania Twain pioneira no estilo e ela realmente inovou no meio musical com este álbum e o clássico Come On Over
  28. Oct 21, 2017
    7
    Ótimo CD country, em que Shania colabora com seu até então marido Robert Lauge, em incríveis canções. Destaque para "Up!" e "She's Not a Pretty Face". O álbum foi um sucesso comercial e sua turnê foi maravilhosa e marcante.
  29. May 16, 2015
    9
    Almost a perfect album (along with 'Come on over') . Love it in the three ways (red, green and blue).
    A decade after is still relevant and interesting.
  30. Oct 16, 2017
    10
    its an amazing album ! my favorites tracks are Ka-Ching , Juanita , When you kiss me , Up , Forever and for always . All songs are amazing actually and I really like the album cover.She looks stunning
  31. Sep 27, 2017
    10
    Iconic album! Every song is amazing and makes you wanna dance like nobody is watching you. The production, the vibe, the voice and melody made Up! a classic!
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Blender
    80
    Twain's songs are never deep, but they have hooks tattooed on their skin and harmonies that glow like bar lights. [#13, p.88]
  2. Playing armchair producer and doing comparison tests is so entertaining, the cumulative package is greater than the sum of its parts.
  3. [It's] quintessential Shania, light as vapor, sweet as sugar, rendered with personality and undeniable charisma.