Up All Night

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 299 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 13, 2013
    0
    The record is full of semi-catchy melodies with simple and basic lyrics, that only music uneducated 13-year-olds would like. Simply, Up All Night is an very bad album.
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    1
    look i respect these guys and all but they are just copying N' sync and the backstreet boys i really dont know how they are popular non of there songs are moving inspirational anything all their songs are about girls and not in the romantic way in the way people today call romantic there is a deeper meaning to love then physically showing them love its a spiritual thing also and this kindlook i respect these guys and all but they are just copying N' sync and the backstreet boys i really dont know how they are popular non of there songs are moving inspirational anything all their songs are about girls and not in the romantic way in the way people today call romantic there is a deeper meaning to love then physically showing them love its a spiritual thing also and this kind of music and generation can not capture what the true meaning of what it is to be in love anymore they arent talented none of the songs are catchy like i think katy perrys songs have stupid lyrics but at least the music is catchy sometimes but all in all this band and album is not good they are weak singers and have horrible beats to go along with it Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2012
    0
    What could have been a great album turns into crap when 1D sends a barrel of pure sh*t at our ears. This isn't music, it's sound. The vocals are fairly decent, but the lyrics suck, and the 5 idiots of 1D have no personality at all. This album Direction-sucks.
  4. Jan 6, 2013
    0
    This album is WAY WAY WAY too over-rated... Its far too boring, same old same old.. To me, they all sound pretty much the same, I wouldnt recommend this :)
  5. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    The reason for One Direction's fame is because of "What Makes You Beautiful," which wasn't even written by them. What irks me about them is after they perform a song like that and have the entire population of prepubescent girls in love with them they rate their fan's attractiveness during signings. The songs from this album are very annoying and unoriginal.
  6. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    Group 5 losers with pretty faces and sing without talent is what you get in this album. Despite the fact that [sarcasm] none of them are homosexual [/sarcasm], they still managed to be little hipster teens favorite.
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    0
    Não gostam de Buceta, adoram rebolar num pau e beijar rapazes de bigode, axilas peludas, com o Pau Grande e super malhados. Deviam provar minha Buceta, vamos ver se não gostam.
  8. Apr 26, 2012
    3
    I was unimpressed with this CD. I was told many positive things about it, though I heard some things about the band having a lack of anything interesting to offer. They were right. This group is basically a remake of the Jonas Brothers, mainly appealing to the female side of the music consuming industry. And that half usually has the most unoriginal, stereotypical music of the entireI was unimpressed with this CD. I was told many positive things about it, though I heard some things about the band having a lack of anything interesting to offer. They were right. This group is basically a remake of the Jonas Brothers, mainly appealing to the female side of the music consuming industry. And that half usually has the most unoriginal, stereotypical music of the entire industry. This band has typical boy band stinkers that has limited appeal and most rely solely off of their teeny-bopping beats. But what they don't understand is that we're SICK of hearing it. Overall the album is a whimsical, pouty-voiced 3/10. Stick to picking up Barbies with limited talent and turning them into pop icons, Hollywood. Expand
  9. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    in the Bieber era domination, no even 5 lads can make the right harmonies. their voices are really weak. the album in general is really generic, but fun. What makes you beautiful their "best" song is just overrated.
  10. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    They are terrible and they also deserve to die in HELL!!! TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIBBBBBBBBBBBLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  11. Dec 18, 2013
    3
    It's OK (2/5), I guess. I think they just copy most of other boy bands especially Backstreet Boys. (Although I'm 13 y/o) When I listen their songs over and over again, I feel BBBBBBOOOOOORRRRRRIIIIIINNNNNGGGG.
  12. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    This is horrible. It's probably the most cliché album I ever heard. They're nothing more than 5 Justin Bieber's and they will never get to the level of previous boys bands they're obviously copying like Backstreet Boys and 'N Sync. This is just a mess.
  13. Feb 28, 2013
    0
    este albun es realmente malo, todas las canciones tratan de lo mismo no hay originalidad ademas ya estamos cansados de las bandas de los chicos guapos este album hace que uno solo se fije solo en los chicos y no en lo que verdaderamente importa LA MUSICA
  14. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    One Direction's Up All Night fails utterly as an album. The ridiculous hit single that launched them to stardom "What Makes You Beautiful" is a rather clunky song. The drum transition towards the chorus is off-tempo, the repetition that goes "do-o-or" and "en-ou-ou-ough" seem tacked on and the lyrics aren't even thought out properly.

    "I don't know why... you're being shy..." Cheap
    One Direction's Up All Night fails utterly as an album. The ridiculous hit single that launched them to stardom "What Makes You Beautiful" is a rather clunky song. The drum transition towards the chorus is off-tempo, the repetition that goes "do-o-or" and "en-ou-ou-ough" seem tacked on and the lyrics aren't even thought out properly.

    "I don't know why... you're being shy..."

    Cheap rhyme that's bland and uncreative. What's even worse is that One Direction didn't even write any of their songs. That tells me two things. One: Rami Yacoub, Carl Falk, Savan Kotecha suck at writing songs, and Two: One Direction can't even be to write their songs and share their personal spin on anything. Some creativity they have...

    "One Thing" is one bad thing too many. The song's tone rips off any other song on their album.

    'Taken" is already an unappealing title but the entire chorus sounds tacked on with uninspired lyrics. It just sounds like a bunch of words stuck together mashed with a non-catchy tune.

    Are those 13 year-old+ fan girls blind and deaf? They're not at all that attractive nor are they worth the hype. They are a bunch of X-Factor drop-outs that X-Factor mashed together to make some cheap money-making product by manipulating the idiocy of some (not all) young girls.

    The world may end because this album is a sign of that...
    Expand
  15. Jan 4, 2014
    1
    One Direction is a terrible band which humans REALLY don't like. Heck, I'd rather listen to a screaming monkey, they are five Justin Biebers, and anyone who likes these people have a disease or something.
  16. Aug 11, 2013
    3
    Genre: Pop
    Not to be confused with the decent 2004 album from indie rock band Razorlight 'Up All Night' is yet another example of how marketing and the power of shows like The X Factor will always be as, if not more, important to success than genuine musical talent.
    Fair enough the boys have OK voices but every song on this debut album is little more than generic pop with unimaginative
    Genre: Pop
    Not to be confused with the decent 2004 album from indie rock band Razorlight 'Up All Night' is yet another example of how marketing and the power of shows like The X Factor will always be as, if not more, important to success than genuine musical talent.

    Fair enough the boys have OK voices but every song on this debut album is little more than generic pop with unimaginative arrangement and even more unimaginative lyrics. If you've liked any of the endless number of boy-bands that have been seen since the early 90's then One Direction might be for you but I want much more from my music.
    Expand
  17. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    Recycled tween bubble gum pop. As singers, they aren't bad, but they aren't good. Absolutely riding on fame from X Factor, and their looks. They shouldn't be hailed as the next big thing. Their music doesn't warrant that type of recognition.
  18. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    This is the worst album ever made, they are like 5 noobs, "What Makes You Beautiful" sucks, it's the most annoying song ever, Every song sucks alot, One Direction sucks
  19. Apr 9, 2015
    0
    my ears are bleeding I swear this music is awful. all of one direction songs are awful not one song was even ok it was is horrible music is would never hear again.
  20. Jun 15, 2015
    1
    eard. They're nothing more than 5 Justin Bieber's and they will never get to the level of previous boys bands they're obviously copying like Backstrehjjjjj
  21. Oct 29, 2015
    2
    I'm going to keep this simple. Up All Night is just another album by a manufactured pop act made simply to earn money and soil 13 year old musically illiterate girls' pants.
  22. Apr 20, 2015
    0
    Apparently One direction has a disability when it comes to singing! i have not listen to their albums or music but they S U C K at singing, dancing. 13 year old girls will giggle and dance to the gay album of one direction and they think their gonna get laid from a silly gay band no way
  23. Jan 24, 2016
    1
    I really don't want to review this album it was terrible not quite bad enough for a 0 score but very very nearly I swear it made my ears bleed one listen is enough for me and never again. Painful.
  24. Jan 11, 2015
    3
    Every song is the same. It's boring. "What Makes You Beautiful" "Gotta Be You" and "I Want".. these songs aren't that bad.. especially "I Want."... but uhhm.. overall.. it's just boring.
  25. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  26. Sep 2, 2015
    0
    The record is full of semi-catchy melodies with simple and basic lyrics, that only music uneducated 13-year-olds would like. Simply, Up All Night is an very bad album.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    50
    One Direction are simply five pretty guys with a few decent songs and not much personality. Call them One Dimension.
  2. 40
    Debut album Up All Night consists of 15 installments of inoffensive daytime radio pop.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    As a starting point for One Direction fan memorabilia, for which it appears there is limitless potential for the time being, this is a perfectly sized, and targeted, collection.