Up All Night - One Direction
User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 149 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 149
  2. Negative: 90 out of 149

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    This is horrible. It's probably the most cliché album I ever heard. They're nothing more than 5 Justin Bieber's and they will never get to the level of previous boys bands they're obviously copying like Backstreet Boys and 'N Sync. This is just a mess.
  2. Mar 25, 2012
    4
    I don't want to seem jealous, but for me this band is the classical group of handsome boys that has success for the physical aspect and for "x factor". The album isn't bad as some albums from other artist like them, but i don't like the songs and i don't like them. ( sorry for my English )
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    3
    I was unimpressed with this CD. I was told many positive things about it, though I heard some things about the band having a lack of anything interesting to offer. They were right. This group is basically a remake of the Jonas Brothers, mainly appealing to the female side of the music consuming industry. And that half usually has the most unoriginal, stereotypical music of the entire industry. This band has typical boy band stinkers that has limited appeal and most rely solely off of their teeny-bopping beats. But what they don't understand is that we're SICK of hearing it. Overall the album is a whimsical, pouty-voiced 3/10. Stick to picking up Barbies with limited talent and turning them into pop icons, Hollywood. Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    in the Bieber era domination, no even 5 lads can make the right harmonies. their voices are really weak. the album in general is really generic, but fun. What makes you beautiful their "best" song is just overrated.
  5. Oct 28, 2012
    0
    Não gostam de Buceta, adoram rebolar num pau e beijar rapazes de bigode, axilas peludas, com o Pau Grande e super malhados. Deviam provar minha Buceta, vamos ver se não gostam.
  6. Jun 26, 2012
    0
    They are terrible and they also deserve to die in HELL!!! TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTEEEEEEEEEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIBBBBBBBBBBBLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  7. Jan 13, 2013
    0
    The record is full of semi-catchy melodies with simple and basic lyrics, that only music uneducated 13-year-olds would like. Simply, Up All Night is an very bad album.
  8. Dec 18, 2013
    3
    It's OK (2/5), I guess. I think they just copy most of other boy bands especially Backstreet Boys. (Although I'm 13 y/o) When I listen their songs over and over again, I feel BBBBBBOOOOOORRRRRRIIIIIINNNNNGGGG.
  9. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    This album is so great, i love the boys. What Makes You Beautiful, Gotta Be You and I Want are my favorite songs. I wish a lot of sucess, One Direction deserves it.
  10. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    I'm a guy and I think they are better than other bands! Saw them at X Factor and they aren't bad. Their album is great and People shouldn't judge them. Far better than BTR.
  11. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    This album has no bad songs. Except for maybe the song Moments, which can be found in the Limited Yearbook Edition. These guys are pretty decent singers. There is very minimal Auto-Tune used in the songs. They are also very cute, which helps i guess. But, this album appeals so much to the teen audience and is incredibly catchy. It's not trash pop, its pure and fun teen pop that deserves to be listened to. My favorite tracks are the irresistable Everything About You, the catchy and amazing Stand Up, and the greatly sung Tell Me A Lie. The album is great, give it a chance. Expand
  12. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    Recycled tween bubble gum pop. As singers, they aren't bad, but they aren't good. Absolutely riding on fame from X Factor, and their looks. They shouldn't be hailed as the next big thing. Their music doesn't warrant that type of recognition.
  13. Aug 27, 2012
    1
    look i respect these guys and all but they are just copying N' sync and the backstreet boys i really dont know how they are popular non of there songs are moving inspirational anything all their songs are about girls and not in the romantic way in the way people today call romantic there is a deeper meaning to love then physically showing them love its a spiritual thing also and this kind of music and generation can not capture what the true meaning of what it is to be in love anymore they arent talented none of the songs are catchy like i think katy perrys songs have stupid lyrics but at least the music is catchy sometimes but all in all this band and album is not good they are weak singers and have horrible beats to go along with it Expand
  14. Oct 12, 2012
    6
    "Of course they have talent and can sing. But that's not a case for their debut [Up All Night]. The album contains great vocal abilities from each member and present a clean-cut personality. But there are quite some problems. Personally, the album kinda lack's creativity and image, because, groups like [Big Time Rush] and [The Wanted] are just like them. Another is their consecutive-theme spanning through most of their songs (cause it basically talks about love, being carefree, enjoying life etc.). Don't get me wrong, they probably will go quite far... But I doubt this CD will be memorable... more forgettable. Change your image and sound a bit, and there you go." Expand
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Good vocal tone, and far better than anything most boy bands are putting out. Also creating their own sound rather than copying the R&B-esque boy bands of the 90's. Good first effort.
  16. Dec 31, 2012
    0
    What could have been a great album turns into crap when 1D sends a barrel of pure sh*t at our ears. This isn't music, it's sound. The vocals are fairly decent, but the lyrics suck, and the 5 idiots of 1D have no personality at all. This album Direction-sucks.
  17. Jan 6, 2013
    0
    This album is WAY WAY WAY too over-rated... Its far too boring, same old same old.. To me, they all sound pretty much the same, I wouldnt recommend this :)
  18. Feb 28, 2013
    0
    este albun es realmente malo, todas las canciones tratan de lo mismo no hay originalidad ademas ya estamos cansados de las bandas de los chicos guapos este album hace que uno solo se fije solo en los chicos y no en lo que verdaderamente importa LA MUSICA
  19. Mar 24, 2013
    0
    The reason for One Direction's fame is because of "What Makes You Beautiful," which wasn't even written by them. What irks me about them is after they perform a song like that and have the entire population of prepubescent girls in love with them they rate their fan's attractiveness during signings. The songs from this album are very annoying and unoriginal.
  20. Apr 24, 2013
    0
    Group 5 losers with pretty faces and sing without talent is what you get in this album. Despite the fact that [sarcasm] none of them are homosexual [/sarcasm], they still managed to be little hipster teens favorite.
  21. Aug 11, 2013
    3
    Genre: Pop
    Not to be confused with the decent 2004 album from indie rock band Razorlight 'Up All Night' is yet another example of how marketing and the power of shows like The X Factor will always be as, if not more, important to success than genuine musical talent.

    Fair enough the boys have OK voices but every song on this debut album is little more than generic pop with unimaginative
    arrangement and even more unimaginative lyrics. If you've liked any of the endless number of boy-bands that have been seen since the early 90's then One Direction might be for you but I want much more from my music. Expand
  22. Oct 5, 2013
    0
    One Direction's Up All Night fails utterly as an album. The ridiculous hit single that launched them to stardom "What Makes You Beautiful" is a rather clunky song. The drum transition towards the chorus is off-tempo, the repetition that goes "do-o-or" and "en-ou-ou-ough" seem tacked on and the lyrics aren't even thought out properly.

    "I don't know why... you're being shy..."

    Cheap
    rhyme that's bland and uncreative. What's even worse is that One Direction didn't even write any of their songs. That tells me two things. One: Rami Yacoub, Carl Falk, Savan Kotecha suck at writing songs, and Two: One Direction can't even be to write their songs and share their personal spin on anything. Some creativity they have...

    "One Thing" is one bad thing too many. The song's tone rips off any other song on their album.

    'Taken" is already an unappealing title but the entire chorus sounds tacked on with uninspired lyrics. It just sounds like a bunch of words stuck together mashed with a non-catchy tune.

    Are those 13 year-old+ fan girls blind and deaf? They're not at all that attractive nor are they worth the hype. They are a bunch of X-Factor drop-outs that X-Factor mashed together to make some cheap money-making product by manipulating the idiocy of some (not all) young girls.

    The world may end because this album is a sign of that...
    Expand
  23. Jan 4, 2014
    1
    One Direction is a terrible band which humans REALLY don't like. Heck, I'd rather listen to a screaming monkey, they are five Justin Biebers, and anyone who likes these people have a disease or something.
  24. Nov 8, 2014
    0
    This is the worst album ever made, they are like 5 noobs, "What Makes You Beautiful" sucks, it's the most annoying song ever, Every song sucks alot, One Direction sucks
  25. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    a band of five boys.... said as vocal group because unlike others there are more vocals than sound effects..!
    they are more music than personality... also proved that they are awesome in vocals by securing 3rd position of x-factor...
    my advice love them.. ast they make great, simple and good music..!!
  26. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    I had heard their first single before it became popular and I thought it was rather catchy. Once they started to become popular I shunned them, saying I hated them. I couldn't stay away for long. My friend bought the album and I became obsessed with it. Sure it's typical teeny bopper music, but their voices are great. Plus they're even better live.
  27. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    This rating is truly based on their album, great songs, and talented voices. My opinion has nothing to do with them as people, but just simply as a band living their dream. I believe their songs hold different emotions and feelings behind them, some giving a wonderful story to it. Definitely NOT an obsessed fan, just someone who likes and appreciates their music.
  28. Nov 11, 2012
    5
    Look, each and everyone of these boys have unmistakably huge amounts of talent. They have amazing voices and my only problem is, it's all going to waste. Sure their fan base is huge, but it's all young girls that love bubble gum pop. These songs have no lyrical talent, hopefully they didn't write much of it. I personally like them, but they should get out of this image of pop, they have so much talent as I said before, if they could write meaningful songs, that would be utterly amazing. Overall if you love pop, well then this is an amazing album, if you have good taste in music, well this isn't. They're talent is going to waste over staying 'up all night' and jumping 'around until we see the sun.' In my opinion they should do what The Beatles did, that is start off as a boy band and emerge into an unmistakable rock band, that is if they learn how to play instruments besides Niall. Maybe it's cause they're a boy band, but they could do so much better lyric wise, and music wise for that matter. If I wasn't being so judgmental towards the type of music this album has, then yes, it is a great album. Since I love different types of music, this is a waste of talent. Expand
  29. Dec 23, 2012
    6
    I Dont Feel Like One Direction Is Really Showing There Real Potential With This Album.. Vocally They Can Be So Much Better Because All Of Them Have Great Voices.. They Would Sound So Much Better If They Sang Somthing Other Than Pop 100% Of The Time.. But Overall Good Debut Album...
  30. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    A Great Debut! Forget The Haters One Direction Is On Fire And Up All Night!
  31. Sep 24, 2014
    4
    Sounds the same thing in the whole album, the lyrics it's not that great, but the vocals is good. Is easily a bad album. "More than this" is the best in this LP.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    50
    One Direction are simply five pretty guys with a few decent songs and not much personality. Call them One Dimension.
  2. 40
    Debut album Up All Night consists of 15 installments of inoffensive daytime radio pop.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    As a starting point for One Direction fan memorabilia, for which it appears there is limitless potential for the time being, this is a perfectly sized, and targeted, collection.