Up All Night - One Direction
Up All Night Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the debut album for the British pop band that was a contestant on the 2010 British edition of The X Factor.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. 83
    If a tween-pop empire is what these boys are after, they're definitely headed in the right direction.
  2. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    Up All Night is a well-crafted slice of pop you can pop bubbles to.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    70
    As a starting point for One Direction fan memorabilia, for which it appears there is limitless potential for the time being, this is a perfectly sized, and targeted, collection.
  4. Mar 28, 2012
    50
    One Direction are simply five pretty guys with a few decent songs and not much personality. Call them One Dimension.
  5. 40
    Debut album Up All Night consists of 15 installments of inoffensive daytime radio pop.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 16 out of 29
  1. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Good vocal tone, and far better than anything most boy bands are putting out. Also creating their own sound rather than copying the R&B-esque boy bands of the 90's. Good first effort. Expand
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    I had heard their first single before it became popular and I thought it was rather catchy. Once they started to become popular I shunned them, saying I hated them. I couldn't stay away for long. My friend bought the album and I became obsessed with it. Sure it's typical teeny bopper music, but their voices are great. Plus they're even better live. Expand
  3. Mar 21, 2012
    8
    This album is so great, i love the boys. What Makes You Beautiful, Gotta Be You and I Want are my favorite songs. I wish a lot of sucess, One Direction deserves it. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    3
    It's OK (2/5), I guess. I think they just copy most of other boy bands especially Backstreet Boys. (Although I'm 13 y/o) When I listen their songs over and over again, I feel BBBBBBOOOOOORRRRRRIIIIIINNNNNGGGG. Expand
  5. Aug 27, 2012
    1
    look i respect these guys and all but they are just copying N' sync and the backstreet boys i really dont know how they are popular non of there songs are moving inspirational anything all their songs are about girls and not in the romantic way in the way people today call romantic there is a deeper meaning to love then physically showing them love its a spiritual thing also and this kind of music and generation can not capture what the true meaning of what it is to be in love anymore they arent talented none of the songs are catchy like i think katy perrys songs have stupid lyrics but at least the music is catchy sometimes but all in all this band and album is not good they are weak singers and have horrible beats to go along with it Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    Recycled tween bubble gum pop. As singers, they aren't bad, but they aren't good. Absolutely riding on fame from X Factor, and their looks. They shouldn't be hailed as the next big thing. Their music doesn't warrant that type of recognition. Expand
  7. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    in the Bieber era domination, no even 5 lads can make the right harmonies. their voices are really weak. the album in general is really generic, but fun. What makes you beautiful their "best" song is just overrated. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews