Upside Down Mountain

  • Record Label: Nonesuch
  • Release Date: May 19, 2014
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy On
  1. May 29, 2014
    60
    On the whole, for an artist so spectral and kaleidoscopic, Upside Down Mountain is a pretty sweet ride.
  2. May 20, 2014
    60
    Upside Down Mountain doesn’t take too many chances and, while I’m usually all for evolution, this is a good thing for Conor Oberst.
  3. Magnet
    May 19, 2014
    60
    For possibly the first time ever, it's hard to tell if he's trying too hard or not trying hard enough. [No. 109, p.56]
  4. May 19, 2014
    60
    Oberst's unmistakable voice, songwriting style, and melodic tendencies ground the album, but you have to wade through generic instrumentation and glossy production to find it.
  5. May 19, 2014
    60
    Although Upside Down Mountain could do with a little more lyrical variety and structural experimentation, it is strong.
  6. May 16, 2014
    60
    His songs no longer have the raw-nerve urgency they once did, which makes Upside Down Mountain a pleasantly peaceful listen, but lacking the power and urgency of his best work.
  7. May 15, 2014
    60
    It's a testament to Oberst's enduring versatility that Upside Down Mountain can accommodate the antic creepiness of "Governor's Ball" as well as the transcendent uplift of "Time Forgot," but the album's moments of sentimentality make Oberst sound like just another chart-climbing purveyor of feel-good folky schlock.
  8. Mojo
    May 15, 2014
    60
    Double Life, a thoughtful country-blues, is actually deeply touching, and Night At Lake Unknown is a soft, sweet Hank Williams Lament. the rest can be broadly summerised as Eeyore on Quaaludes. [Jun 2014, p.94]
  9. 42
    Here, as he seemingly aims for something like hard-won, grizzled wisdom, he often trips over his own lyrical ambition.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 21, 2014
    8
    Although this is not his best album, ''Upside down mountain'' confirms Conor Oberst as the best songwriter of our generation. Such greatAlthough this is not his best album, ''Upside down mountain'' confirms Conor Oberst as the best songwriter of our generation. Such great tracks like ''Time Forgot'', ''Common Knowledge'' and ''You Are Your Mother's Child'' show the tender side of Oberst and remind me of the best period of his career, the ''I'm wide awake'' - era. Full Review »
  2. Jul 27, 2014
    7
    Unexpectedly good. I had given up hope on country music and country-influenced music, this charming album comes along.

    While it didn't make
    Unexpectedly good. I had given up hope on country music and country-influenced music, this charming album comes along.

    While it didn't make me fall in love with the genre, it has renewed my interest in it. The music is simple, yet emotionally effective. Conor's voice is one of the best i heard in a long time. The lyrics are just beautiful in how they make you think.

    Of course, not all tracks are equally good. Some are quite forgettable. The majority are great, and my absolute favorites are "Artifact #1", "Double Life", and "Kick".
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 10, 2014
    7
    I'm glad to be listening to Conor Oberst in this away again. I thought before this that he would be lost to country music in his journeyI'm glad to be listening to Conor Oberst in this away again. I thought before this that he would be lost to country music in his journey toward artistic maturity, but maybe not. Some of the stronger tracks on the album contain his trademark feels that I know I long for. In perfect harmony, they're simple stories with breathtaking depth. Often leaving me feeling emotional and thoughtfully provoked. This album is; as gentle as a baby at times, haunting in it's directness and eloquently told. A gradual joy to listen to. Full Review »