Vampire Weekend

  • Record Label: XL
  • Release Date: Jan 29, 2008
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 274 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 274

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidO.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Fantastic. But then again, I'm a sucker for funky, slightly different pop, and that's exactly what this is.
  2. MM.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    One of the early front runners. Superb musicianship and songwriting. Just an outstanding debut.
  3. ChadS.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Is Vampire Weekend this generation's Talking Heads? Maybe this is their "77". The songs have the same minimalist approach to arrangement, and more importantly, the lyrics are artfully mundane like David Byrne's "Don't Worry 'Bout the Government". "M79" is amazing. It's suggestive of the Electric Light Orchestra dipping into Afro-pop. The other standout is "I Stand Is Vampire Weekend this generation's Talking Heads? Maybe this is their "77". The songs have the same minimalist approach to arrangement, and more importantly, the lyrics are artfully mundane like David Byrne's "Don't Worry 'Bout the Government". "M79" is amazing. It's suggestive of the Electric Light Orchestra dipping into Afro-pop. The other standout is "I Stand Corrected". I like how the chorus sneaks up on you with its catchiness. It sort of follows the quiet/loud formula of Nirvana and The Pixies. "I Stand Corrected" starts off like a Low song and then they turn into Bloc Party, or Matt Pond PA, if Matt Pond PA weren't into Toad the Wet Sprocket. Every song on this eponymous debut is a keeper, with the possible exception of "Bryn". Will Vampire Weekend keep this stripped down approach, or will they open up their sound. Do they have a "Remain in Light" in them? This ain't no shanty town; this ain't no Johannesberg; this ain't no fooling around. This is Cape Cod. Fear them. "Vampire Weekend" makes indie-rock music fun again. We needed this album. Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Mar 5, 2008
    10
    Very catch album that I don't get tired of listening to!
  5. CrystalS.
    May 19, 2008
    10
    I don't think this album is overrated like some of the reviewers. I think its one of the best of the year and deserves the praise it has gotten. I can listen to the whole album through without skipping a song and each song sounds different than the next. M79 is one of the most original songs I have heard in years, and a-punk is the kind of catchy song you can listen to on repeat for days.
  6. JonathanS.
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    This is the most original album I have ever heard in my life! This is a must get for any cool kids out there. Imagine living in an house, looking over the beach, beautiful blue sky and crystal blue water. You have a metal spiral staircase and hard wood floors. You have amazing floor-ceiling glass windows overlooking the wispy sand of the East Coast. You have a golden retriever curled up This is the most original album I have ever heard in my life! This is a must get for any cool kids out there. Imagine living in an house, looking over the beach, beautiful blue sky and crystal blue water. You have a metal spiral staircase and hard wood floors. You have amazing floor-ceiling glass windows overlooking the wispy sand of the East Coast. You have a golden retriever curled up on your white carpet, near the flat panel hung on the wall and the modern simple den. It is a studio apartment, one would say its a dream. As you walk through the studio, from the white simple den to the porch level with the sandy ground, you hear a sound so wonderful it complements the apartment, white and modern. Thats Vampire Weekend. Expand
  7. JustinM.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Can an album be more likeable? It's so PLEASING in so many ways. Great new sound, with throwbacks to early Police albums and believe it or not, Paul Simon's Graceland. Great energy and airy open beats and tones. Love it.
  8. IlyaR
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    It's no accident that about 3/4 of these reviews reference The Strokes. Not since "Is This It" have I heard an album where each and every one of its 11 songs are so complete, so precise, so innovative, and so melodically full. The richness of synth-string arrangements and shitfy drum-work on songs like "M79" and "Walcott" is invigorating. And the rolling guitars and addicting riffs It's no accident that about 3/4 of these reviews reference The Strokes. Not since "Is This It" have I heard an album where each and every one of its 11 songs are so complete, so precise, so innovative, and so melodically full. The richness of synth-string arrangements and shitfy drum-work on songs like "M79" and "Walcott" is invigorating. And the rolling guitars and addicting riffs sparsed throughout the album (like at the end of "Campus") have enough Strokes reverberation to warrant the New York Music Gods mantle. Of course it's ultimately the lyrics that put these guys over the top, with songs that are both mind-bendingly clever ("Oxford Comma") and tenderly evocative ("I Stand Corrected"). This is, simply, like nothing else out there, and, despite all the hype, the impact these guys will have on music is still painfully underestimated. Perfect album. Expand
  9. RuiT.
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    Three words to this album: Top! Top! Top! Indie-pop-rock-funk-african-classical music! Life is Sun! Life is Fun! Life is Vampire Weekend...when we are Young!
  10. MicahC.
    Feb 7, 2008
    10
    You can go ahead and shut down the voting for album of the year. Hopefully '09 will provide us something so inspired so early. The Strokes are back.
  11. NatalieM.
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    Koodos to these kids!! My 73 year old mother turned me on to these young kids from NY after she saw them on SNL. My mother loves ALL types of music. We are thrilled that these young kids are so versatile. Their CD is very lively and reminds us a bit of Paul Simon & TheTalking Heads, too. We so hope they can continue putting out such unique music. We'll be watching them!!
  12. HannahE.
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Definitely my favorite band of the moment. Fresh, Fun, very catchy songs and lyrics...but not too catchy. I love every song. Quite inventive and original.
  13. WillO.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    This band is on the rise. From the minute you hear Mansard Roof you will realize how special they are. They got a fresh sound that sounds nothing like music today. They blend together some afro-pop with a hint of Paul Simon. It is a flawless album with melodies that you will be singing for years to come. Every track here is excellent. There is no way to narrow it down to one favorite, This band is on the rise. From the minute you hear Mansard Roof you will realize how special they are. They got a fresh sound that sounds nothing like music today. They blend together some afro-pop with a hint of Paul Simon. It is a flawless album with melodies that you will be singing for years to come. Every track here is excellent. There is no way to narrow it down to one favorite, though Walcott and A-Punk are frontrunners. These guys are the real deal, this album is one of the best indie releases for a while. You can't go wrong with this. This band is the future. Expand
  14. EricC.
    Feb 2, 2008
    10
    Yeah, they're getting really hyped up, but it's hype well-deserved. This album has one catchy song after another. They're like the best of The Shins combined with the best of Spoon, but with enough of their own fresh touches to create their own unique sound. They masterfully use the Afropop that Paul Simon had tried to master. Each member of the band is an extremely Yeah, they're getting really hyped up, but it's hype well-deserved. This album has one catchy song after another. They're like the best of The Shins combined with the best of Spoon, but with enough of their own fresh touches to create their own unique sound. They masterfully use the Afropop that Paul Simon had tried to master. Each member of the band is an extremely talented musician. The lyrics are some of the best I've heard in a while; they're well written, but not so "poetic" that they bog down the songs. Walcott is amazing. Expand
  15. JenniferK
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    A refreshing reason to be excited about music again! Their sound uses an incredible array of sound without ever over-appropriating, and their lyrics actually make you think. My favorite band in a long, long time.
  16. C.Kim
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    Wow. All I can say is I'm telling all my friends about Vampire Weekend. I've never taking a liking to a band just after listening to their first track.
  17. GilbertSmith
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    i Love it. It's the best thing since Hannah Montana season !!!!!
  18. MarcoS.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    F*ck yeah! one of the best of 2008. Every melody defines them.
  19. RyanM.
    Nov 18, 2008
    10
    It's been months and months since I first heard this album. Still, to this day, I always find myself coming back for a listen. I greatly enjoy music and the lyrics. I personally think this is a very talented band with an impressive debut album.
  20. AllanC.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    This album is special to me personally because I had bought the CD-R and I have been listening to the same tracks for about a year now and I can attest that the music is still great from when I heard it awhile ago. It is poppy/catchy music but with enough substance and differences that make Vampire Weekend stand out. Very deserving of the hype.
  21. JDW.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    So Amazing. Every song has its own life on the record. It fits as a story of college life. It deserves all the hype its gotten!!
  22. MulisK.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Very melodic, very funny, very nice.
  23. RandyP
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    Super fun album, but I fear the inevitable backlash from the hipster cognoscente has already begun.
  24. PeterS.
    Mar 13, 2008
    10
    I put up about 5 days of resistance.
  25. GigiM.
    Apr 24, 2008
    10
    One of the best of 2008. As soon as it's over, I play it again.
  26. CaseyP.
    Jun 27, 2008
    10
    This album is amazing! With the fun, happy and catchy tunes that a listener would love to hear at any time, it makes me want to jump for joy every time I hear it. The album's combination of beautiful classical music, skillful synth work and catchy riffs, it makes me feel good any time I listen to it. My only complaint is its length, at only 38 minutes long, the album only just This album is amazing! With the fun, happy and catchy tunes that a listener would love to hear at any time, it makes me want to jump for joy every time I hear it. The album's combination of beautiful classical music, skillful synth work and catchy riffs, it makes me feel good any time I listen to it. My only complaint is its length, at only 38 minutes long, the album only just satisfied me. However, I believe these guys are one of the greatest new bands of the last few years. Great job! Expand
  27. Mar 18, 2011
    10
    Fantastic. Engaging and creative band, with similar characteristics to the Hives. I agree with Chads, Is Vampire Weekend this generation's Talking Heads, undoubtedly :)
  28. Jul 22, 2011
    10
    It's rare to find an album as perfect as this. Vampire Weekend has such a unique sound and flavor if you will that it makes it impossible not to love. A very impressive start to a very impressive new band.
  29. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Genre: Alternative
    The debut album from Vampire Weekend quickly established them as one of my favourite bands. A great mix of upbeat and slower tempo tunes that are all stamped with their own unique quality.
  30. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    A perfect album trough and through. The self-titled album is one of the most refreshing pieces in modern music. Arcade Fire has almost seemingly invented a style of music than can be defined as the "Vampire Weekend Style." A perfect album, no song is a let down, it's pure fun that makes one envision themselves in Cape Cod.
  31. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is very special and i've known it ever since it came out! First of the three amazing albums by Vampire Weekend! Best songs in my opinion: A-punk, Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa, M79 Expand
  32. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    Truly a fantastic album! The songs are all perfect and sound amazing. Those who say that all songs sound the same really didn't listen, because each track has it's own unique feel/emotion that went along with it. Truly a phenomenal track that actually got me into what is now my favourite band.
  33. May 24, 2015
    10
    What a perfect listening experience! 'Vampire Weekend', the band's self-titled debut, transports the listener into a world of colour, with catchy riffs, and eloquent lyrics. The incredible blend of new wave, rock, baroque pop, and Afrobeat makes this album so fun and unique to listen to, along with its carefree vibe. Vampire Weekend has had such a huge impact on the sound of manyWhat a perfect listening experience! 'Vampire Weekend', the band's self-titled debut, transports the listener into a world of colour, with catchy riffs, and eloquent lyrics. The incredible blend of new wave, rock, baroque pop, and Afrobeat makes this album so fun and unique to listen to, along with its carefree vibe. Vampire Weekend has had such a huge impact on the sound of many contemporary artists today, and it's easy to see why. Getting really deep, the album's collective themes are fascinating as well, predominantly being about an outsider gaining a view of an affluent lifestyle, and their opinions and reactions to it. Stand out tracks include my favourite off the album, Ladies Of Cambridge (a.k.a. Boston), Walcott, Mansard Roof, One (Blake's GOt a New Face), and Oxford Comma. Expand
  34. Oct 23, 2016
    10
    Vampire Weekend first album back in 08 feels like something fresh, new and not trying to be copycat for another band, since their debut i've been hearing them but only now i came to understand that their work is pure gold.
  35. AlexB
    Feb 2, 2008
    9
    A fun, poppy indie release with many idiosyncratic flourishes, in the same vein as Spoon. Very good!
  36. GregH.
    Mar 6, 2008
    9
    Very enjoyable album. Like most releases that come with lots of indie hype, I was quite skeptical about this album but it's actually quite good. Solid songs, good execution...just a fun record. Every time it's over, I just want to start again from the beginning.
  37. RyanS.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    First time I heard these guys (their cover of Radiohead's "Exit Music (For a Film)"), I loved them. First time I heard "Mansard Roof", I promptly reversed course. It took a few listens, for sure, but the songs are truly fantastic and grow on you. And I would say that this kind of music is about the sounds rather than the lyrics; discounting their strengths on the backs of unimportant First time I heard these guys (their cover of Radiohead's "Exit Music (For a Film)"), I loved them. First time I heard "Mansard Roof", I promptly reversed course. It took a few listens, for sure, but the songs are truly fantastic and grow on you. And I would say that this kind of music is about the sounds rather than the lyrics; discounting their strengths on the backs of unimportant weaknesses is a poor strategy. Expand
  38. PaulC
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    I enjoyed it quite a bit. Sure it's pretty derivative, but it's also pretty fun.
  39. JasonB.
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    Either I'm getting stupid or I SHOULD rate an entire album that I've never heard before based on a 2 song live performance.
  40. tw
    May 13, 2008
    9
    Full of catchy hooks and good-time riffs and rat-a-tat drums.
  41. ChristopherH.
    May 2, 2008
    9
    Feel good album, good beat and one to slap on for sure pure heavenly delight
  42. DavidR.
    Jun 21, 2008
    9
    The backlash against this band is amusing. He does sound an awful lot like Paul Simon circa Graceland, esp. on Cape Cod Kwassa Kwassa. Great songs though, undeniably so. Fun, unoffensive music to throw on a party or when simply relaxing on a saturday. Weightless sure, but hard to dislike.
  43. MikeC.
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    There has been a lot of anti-hype backlash around this album. That basically means that people aren't giving it a chance because they keep hearing about how great it is. Well it is great, so instead of giving it low scores just sit back and listen to one of the best releases of the year.
  44. RyanS
    Feb 4, 2009
    9
    Love this album so much. Original and exciting music in my opinion. I listened to the whole album in one go at first and instantly felt connected to them.
  45. MarcosE.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    Rally good stuff. they know how to make really cute really catchy pop songs but they bring something new to the table. That afrobeat is gonna be huge!!
  46. RoachCoach
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    Great if only because they don't clutter their melodic sounds with layers of annoying sounds of whizzing cars and screaming people played backwards.
  47. KurtC.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    Vampire Weekend (VW) offer a stunningly solid and modest debut album. They spring some great melodies and harmonies on top of bouncing bass lines, grooving percussion, tastefully sparse guitar riffs, and impeccable keyboard work. If any fault is to be pointed out, it would be that the drumming falls a bit short at times in its sloppiness, but this in no way detracts from the overall Vampire Weekend (VW) offer a stunningly solid and modest debut album. They spring some great melodies and harmonies on top of bouncing bass lines, grooving percussion, tastefully sparse guitar riffs, and impeccable keyboard work. If any fault is to be pointed out, it would be that the drumming falls a bit short at times in its sloppiness, but this in no way detracts from the overall greatness of the album. VW is a fresh injection into the indie music scene and have just released what will easily stand to be one of 2008 Expand
  48. LaunceR.
    Feb 16, 2008
    9
    I think this odd and catchy mix of Jonathon Richmond, the Lefte Bank and maybe Peter Gabriel or some other world-beaty type thingy... Highly recommended, natch.
  49. MatL.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    The songs here aren't especially deep or profound, but they sure are catchy. There's a lot to be said for the quality of musicianship here. The percussion is fantastic, it manages to hold the whole album together and maintain the whole afropop thing they have going. Definitely worth a listen, which will in turn warrant many more.
  50. BrianS.
    Apr 23, 2008
    9
    Fantastic debut, one of my favorite groups to come out recently, extremely innovative and talented.
  51. DavidH.
    Aug 14, 2008
    9
    Full of originality, fresh sounds and melodies that you can hum all day long. Pure euphoria.
  52. JimH
    Nov 21, 2008
    9
    It remains to be ssen whether cokemachineglow is too obsessively hipper-than-thou and deserves the long-term favour it seems to have with metacritic's rating system.
  53. DiegoC.
    Dec 17, 2008
    9
    Can't stop listening to this album. Vampire Weekend is the best album of 2008. Period.
  54. MarkK.
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    Impressive debut from a great band with plenty of potential. Great tunes with a breezy pop feeling.
  55. ErikH.
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    Great album, catchy... "Walcott" is the sing-a-long of the Spring.
  56. TJ.
    Apr 19, 2008
    9
    A vibrant, fresh listen the whole way. Yes, the band is of a certain time and place, but it's a pretty fun one and they made a fantastic album with a sound that isn't entirely new but not even close to being played out either.
  57. TomP
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    A very good debut ablum....but I don't know, everyone says they must have been listening to afropop, but it also seems likely that they were listening to Bows & Arrows by The Walkmen. (Listen to "What's in it for Me", "Thinking of a Dream" and definetly "138th Street" which has a nearly identical riff to Campus.) I'd have to say this is the superior album though.
  58. Mar 31, 2012
    9
    Vampire Weekend is a unique indie band. Their self-titled debut album has everything you'd hope for in an indie debut. Catchy songs, witty lyrics, and simple crafts that ultimately make this album one of the best albums of my generation. All In All, Vampire Weekend is a great record that never gets old. A-
  59. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    The most original album released in years, Vampire Weekend has given us a taste of something great here.
  60. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    Hmmm... I guess people dont understand this is a review for the album not a review for 2 live songs. But anyways, this album is fun and entertaining. Call it unoriginal but guess what?? NOTHING is original anymore. Come on get real people...
  61. Jan 15, 2015
    9
    In its tiny 35 minutes, Vampire Weekend develops in such an easy and charismatic way that it's definitely one of the most impressive, uplifting, assuring and convincing debuts of last times.
  62. JeremyG.
    Jan 29, 2008
    8
    Listening to the album for the second time now...was impressed the first time through, but not entirely blown away. Very unique sound. These guys are going to make some true masterpiece at some point down the round...this isn't it, but it's solid.
  63. Thomask
    Feb 1, 2008
    8
    I'm not one to buy into the "hype machine" but this is a pretty strong album. This is irreverent music that avoids being overly precious or pretentious. Great poppy tunes. Lyrics are so-so, but the instrumentation makes up for any shortcomings in lyrics.
  64. MattA.
    Feb 13, 2008
    8
    It's solid but these people declaring them the new Strokes and that this is album of the year already are ridiculous. Hot Chip and Cadence Weapon's releases this year are far superior.
  65. JackB.
    Feb 28, 2008
    8
    Neat african beats mixed w/ some throwback punk lines.
  66. Andrew
    Mar 22, 2008
    8
    Debut albums don't get much better than this. To Duane J - Don't let the SNL appearance fool you. I was disappointed in their performance as well, and hope that was not indicative of their live shows. The album sounds much tighter. Worthy of the hype so far, but we'll see how the 2nd album goes. If it's simply more of the same, we'll know they aren't for Debut albums don't get much better than this. To Duane J - Don't let the SNL appearance fool you. I was disappointed in their performance as well, and hope that was not indicative of their live shows. The album sounds much tighter. Worthy of the hype so far, but we'll see how the 2nd album goes. If it's simply more of the same, we'll know they aren't for real. For what it is, this is an awesome album, very enjoyable. Expand
  67. AdamB
    Apr 16, 2008
    8
    Get past the hype and actually listen to this album. It's one of the more tuneful and joyous albums I heard in quite a while. The Afro-po influence may seem a bit gimmicky at first but having really good songs along with mostly clever lyrics to match gets you beyond gimmick and into "just a good band" territory.
  68. JyotirmayaD.
    Apr 6, 2008
    8
    Finally a band that doesn't strive to be The Strokes. These songs are very upbeat and refreshing. A very good album.
  69. ZeroS.
    Jan 29, 2008
    8
    Paul Simon's Graceland meets Pavement meets Vitesse. Its fun, immediately catchy, and in 6 months you are gonna hate it, without being able to give a good reason why.
  70. Apr 25, 2012
    8
    A truly interesting album. Vampire Weekend introduces unfamiliar instruments and world sounds to an American audience, but still manages to the stay within the idiom of western rock. A worthwhile listen from beginning to end.
  71. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    The studio album debut by the American rock band is one of this year’s weirdest albums. The lyrics are completely off-key at times, but that doesn’t stop the band from sounding great. Their songs bring a jolly vacation-sound with them and most of them honestly succeed in making me feel good when I listen to them. At times, you even can interpret intellectual stuff into the lyrics that mayThe studio album debut by the American rock band is one of this year’s weirdest albums. The lyrics are completely off-key at times, but that doesn’t stop the band from sounding great. Their songs bring a jolly vacation-sound with them and most of them honestly succeed in making me feel good when I listen to them. At times, you even can interpret intellectual stuff into the lyrics that may seem like they’re written in a different language at first sight. I can’t tell if I managed to understand what Vampire Weekend were trying to tell us with these eleven songs or if they were at all trying to tell us something, but the musical style makes this good regardless of the lyrics. Many different ingredients are included in their songs, namely multiple genres and instruments that help every song to sound fairly unique. And probably the biggest reason for why this band is so personable to the listener is because you can tell that those four guys had the biggest fun ever recording this album. And you’ll have fun too with listening to it. Expand
  72. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    [8.5] A perfect debut, with some incredibly fun songs, but doesn't quite reach the depth of their second album. Or third for that matter. Vampire Weekend sounds natural and clean, and their music will only get better in time.
  73. Aug 20, 2015
    8
    Vampire Weekend's debut album is aesthetically appealing but lyrically esoteric. Ezra Coeing has a great voice for portraying how strange the subject matter is.
  74. KenH.
    Feb 7, 2008
    7
    Its fun but 90% forgettable afro-pop. There's some drumwork that is downright boring and it detracts from several of the tracks. The Talking Heads, early English Beat and Madness did this _much_ better. Really, listen to Madness' first CD and tell me differently.
  75. EvilEd
    Feb 6, 2009
    7
    Lets not get carried away here. There are some good songs on this album but there not THAT good.
  76. TheUn-snob
    Feb 12, 2008
    7
    Much like the Arctic Monkeys' debut, this is comfy, catchy pop music with intelligent lyrics that, due to the presence of insane critical hype, has become one of those "love it or hate it" albums. This album isn't really worth such passionate responses on either side. It's pleasant enough, especially if you love afro-pop or have a fondness for flowery keyboards. However, Much like the Arctic Monkeys' debut, this is comfy, catchy pop music with intelligent lyrics that, due to the presence of insane critical hype, has become one of those "love it or hate it" albums. This album isn't really worth such passionate responses on either side. It's pleasant enough, especially if you love afro-pop or have a fondness for flowery keyboards. However, I'm not sure it stands up to 2006's Graceland imitator, "Return to the Sea" by Islands. Expand
  77. JohnD
    Feb 18, 2008
    7
    I doubt I'll still be listening to this album by the end of the year, and it's hard to get emotionally invested in, but it's still worth a look.
  78. SteveO.
    Apr 11, 2008
    7
    A-Punk is good but when the band tries to explore African tribe stuff, it sucks. Stick to the basics please.
  79. MichaelS.
    Apr 21, 2008
    7
    Entertaining, but finally lightweight.
  80. DavidP
    Feb 13, 2008
    7
    Good clean fun, but overhyped and overrated. Also too much filler for such a short release.
  81. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    7
    Vampire Weekends solid self-titled debut mixes clever lyrics, interesting pop melodies, and just average instrumentals.
  82. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    Vampire Weekend gets serious praise for setting themselves apart from every other contemporary band, using an assortment of instruments ranging from baroque sounds to electronica. Nearly every beat on the album works, and the music isn't quite so eager to raise its voice as, say Arctic Monkeys or Muse. You can be quiet and interesting at the same time.

    That said, there's quite a bit of
    Vampire Weekend gets serious praise for setting themselves apart from every other contemporary band, using an assortment of instruments ranging from baroque sounds to electronica. Nearly every beat on the album works, and the music isn't quite so eager to raise its voice as, say Arctic Monkeys or Muse. You can be quiet and interesting at the same time.

    That said, there's quite a bit of filler going on here. Come on, Vampire Weekend. If you can use your abilities to make some of the tracks on here really interesting, you should be able to make ALL of them interesting. I can't help but think how much better this could be than it already is. Perhaps this needs some time to grow on me, but I've scrutinized the music here for more than half an hour, and left underwhelmed. On top of that, it gets especially annoying whenever Ezra sprinkles his falsetto all over a song, the prime offender being "One (Blake's Got a New Face)", an otherwise really good track.

    But this really isn't all bad. I would definitely revisit some of these tracks a little more in the future, especially "Walcott". There are a bunch of good songs to hear, but few GREAT ones.

    I give this a 7 out of 10. Pretty good, but my bar was higher.

    STANDOUT TRACKS: MANSARD ROOF, OXFORD COMMA, CAMPUS, I STAND CORRECTED, WALCOTT
    Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Fully realized debut albums like Vampire Weekend come along once in a great while, and these songs show that this band is smart, but not too smart for their own good.
  2. Listeners are only too lucky to get a hot breath of summer fun in these cold winter months.
  3. At its best, Vampire Weekend takes the exceedingly familiar template of indie rock and invigorates it with a chiming guitar sound that suggests the band has been spending its downtime browsing afropop.org.