Van Lear Rose Image
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 110 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's been over 40 years since she released her first album (and four since her last, 2000's 'Still Country'), but the coal miner's daughter returns to the spotlight with this 13-track effort (all Lynn-penned originals), produced by The White Stripes' Jack White.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. 100
    Some of the most gripping singing you're going to hear all year.... A brave, unrepeatable record that speaks to her whole life. [May 2004, p.123]
  2. A darkly compelling masterpiece that taps into the pitch-black id of Johnny Cash’s best records.
  3. Crackling with a bristling immediacy, Van Lear Rose yanks Lynn into the present while never abandoning musical traditions that continue to define her, her voice, and her material. [30 Apr 2004, p.160]
  4. The final product exceeds the hype.
  5. Nothing short of remarkable. [Jun 2004, p.102]
  6. The brilliance of Van Lear Rose is not just how the two approaches complement each other, but how the record captures the essence of Loretta Lynn's music even as it has flourishes that are distinctly Jack.
  7. Less rehearsal, less production, and fewer layers of sound let Loretta's Lorettaness shine through.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 69
  2. Negative: 5 out of 69
  1. NeilH
    May 6, 2004
    10
    A kick in the pants to Nashville from a 70 year old artist who made a leap of faith into gutsy country rock. Now number one on our FMQB A kick in the pants to Nashville from a 70 year old artist who made a leap of faith into gutsy country rock. Now number one on our FMQB report at WDIY Allentown. Her appearance on the Late Show with the DoWhatters was nothing short of a revelation. Neil Hever Expand
  2. EricH
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    Best album of the year so far
  3. IxatA.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Loretta Lynn's Van Lear Rose surpasses all of my favorite artists' album(and that includes bjork and white's band)... miss Loretta Lynn's Van Lear Rose surpasses all of my favorite artists' album(and that includes bjork and white's band)... miss being mrs and portland oregon are just exceptional. Expand
  4. BillC
    May 12, 2004
    10
    Excellent CD. One of the best of the year.
  5. JenniferH
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    I Just Absolutely Love This Albulm I Think Its The Best Albulm Ever I Love Her Voice, She Has Got A Beautiful Voice, She Just Does An Awesome I Just Absolutely Love This Albulm I Think Its The Best Albulm Ever I Love Her Voice, She Has Got A Beautiful Voice, She Just Does An Awesome Job Singin On This Albulm. Expand
  6. Petra
    Nov 11, 2005
    10
    There'll never be another Loretta. People like her keeps the real country alive. There ain't lot of 'em but they're very There'll never be another Loretta. People like her keeps the real country alive. There ain't lot of 'em but they're very special folks. This ain't about money, bussiness or anything like that. This is about heart and real feelings and if you can't appreciate it you better keep your hands off it. Expand
  7. EggHead
    May 2, 2004
    0
    Worst Album EVER! Ill Mitch's Album was way better then this.

See all 69 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Albums Featuring Jack White (The White Stripes)

    Ranked: Albums Featuring Jack White (The White Stripes) Image
    Published: May 11, 2010
    "Sea of Cowards," the latest album from Jack White's side project The Dead Weather, is out this week. How does it compare to White's other albums, including output from The White Stripes and The Raconteurs?
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.