Veckatimest - Grizzly Bear
Veckatimest Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The third album for the Brooklyn-based indie-rock band.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with this album and on the contrary, Grizzly Bear has clearly made the year’s best album.
  2. 90
    Combine some of the best pipes in the game with Grizzly Bear's newfound comfort in executing the grand & epic, and you've got Veckatimest; a total triumph that threatens to dwarf their own previous "House."
  3. This is a superb record, a spirted illustration of sepia-tinged Americana that feels linked inextricably with Animal Collective's "Merriweather Post Pavillion" as one of the not only most hyped, but also finest records of 2009. [Spring 2009, p.66]
  4. Veckatimest's only down side is a touch of preciousness, a need for refinement that, unchecked, might nudge Grizzly Bear towards the polite rather than imaginative. It's a small quibble. For now, this is almost perfect.
  5. With such songs as 'Southern Point,' which builds from shuffling, folk-jazz grooves into a squelchy, winding fairytale, breathtaking piano-pop anthem 'Two Weeks' and the towering drama of 'I Live with You,' we join the consensus: this is a record to swoon over.
  6. 80
    Even as they feature orchestras, women's choirs, and Beach House singer Victoria Legrand on Veckatimest, the album is still an intimate, ascetic affair.
  7. Their skilled playing remains modest enough, but on this subtler and more pretentious material, the skills predominate, and just in case they don't, let's add a string quartet here and real choirboys there.

See all 36 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 55
  2. Negative: 6 out of 55
  1. Nov 5, 2010
    10
    It's pulls you in with Two Weeks, and just grows on you from there on in. Grab your headphones and prepare to go on a musical journey for theIt's pulls you in with Two Weeks, and just grows on you from there on in. Grab your headphones and prepare to go on a musical journey for the next 50 minutes, almost every song is a classic and the album flows very well. Expand
  2. TaewookK
    May 29, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard. Period. A instant classic.
  3. garys
    Jul 30, 2009
    10
    Cool sound. Did not sound good on the first listen but really sticks by the 3rd time around. Cannot turn it off now. Powerful instrumental Cool sound. Did not sound good on the first listen but really sticks by the 3rd time around. Cannot turn it off now. Powerful instrumental and harmony mixes in a very unique and original sound These guys have the same potential as the Beatles if the right things fall into place. Expand
  4. MartyJ.
    May 27, 2009
    9
    In recent years popular music has been completely focused on making big singles that are completely throwaway. Creating a steady stream of In recent years popular music has been completely focused on making big singles that are completely throwaway. Creating a steady stream of disposable pop stars one week after another. Thank god for the increasing trend of artists such as Grizzly Bear who are determined to make "Classic Albums" and are constantly honing their trade rather than gunning for celebrity status. Veckatimest will without a doubt be looked back on in years to come as not just a great album, but one that bucked the trends to create something truely special. An album for the ages! Expand
  5. P.B
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    Better with every listening.
  6. MeowBark
    Jun 9, 2009
    8
    guys, please. why does everyone need to lie to themselves and say this is the best thing they've ever heard? yellow house - now THAT was guys, please. why does everyone need to lie to themselves and say this is the best thing they've ever heard? yellow house - now THAT was a classic. this sounds like Department Of Eagles released another album. i like it alot, love Two Weeks (even though i think it sounded better and less precious on Letterman) but having listened to Department Of Eagles last record that guys voice is starting to sounds like a one trick pony. i, for one, am mildly disappointed. still givin it an 8 cause they're such a rad band. Expand
  7. JimC
    May 30, 2009
    0
    I can't figure out for the life of me why everybody loves this so much. The songs are boring, the lyrics are sometimes hard to I can't figure out for the life of me why everybody loves this so much. The songs are boring, the lyrics are sometimes hard to understand, the mix is horrible and it makes me either want to fall asleep or kill myself. Just because someone makes an album of songs that sound different doesn't mean that it is automatically good. I bought this based on all these great reviews and I wish I didn't. Very disappointed in the listening public and critics. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2009

    The Best Albums of 2009 Image
    Published: December 29, 2009
    We recap the best-reviewed albums of 2009 and collect dozens of music critic top ten lists to determine the best album of the year. While the results point to a clear winner, you can listen to songs from the top 50 albums to help you find your own favorites.