Venomous Villain [VV:2]

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. vikvondoom
    Aug 15, 2004
    5
    i've been a fan of the guy since Zev Love X days, and this is the first record of his with new material that feels like it was rushed out for cash. In fact he admits as much in the first line of the song, "dub it off ya man, don't spend that 10 bucks, i did it for the advance, the back end sucks"
  2. RandallW
    Dec 1, 2004
    9
    I can't believe that Doom can continually drop some of the hottest albums in this genre. Tracks like Doper Skiller with Kool Keith and Bloody Chain with Poison Pen are classic Doom or Viktor tracks. I love this. Keep it coming.
  3. RanP
    Aug 16, 2004
    9
    This is a great follow up to Vik's last CD. Awesome electronic sounding hip hop beats that aren't too clean and still have a gritty vibe. Of course Doom rips raw rhymes and the guest emcees are a nice touch.
  4. LawrenceP
    Aug 17, 2004
    7
    Average for this guy. His first is a near classic.
  5. AnthonyS
    Aug 28, 2004
    10
    This album is the epitome of what Doom is all about. Solid lyrical delivery over dark and intricate beat production. I think this is a great release and especially enjoyed hearing Kool Keith on this CD.
  6. Screwface
    Aug 29, 2004
    9
    Great compact disc. Not too many skits or long to lose your attention. Besides the Doper Skiller with Doom and Keith, Bloody Chain featuring Poison Pen (legendary battle emcee) is nice.
  7. RayV
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    Excellent mix of raw rhymes, electronic future sounds and solid hip hop. One of the best albums I've bought this year.
  8. montanas
    May 24, 2005
    10
    amazing!!
  9. Feb 16, 2016
    10
    this was a pretty awesome album by doom. the track with Kool Keith was pretty awesome. same with the track with poison pen. dope production and excellent lyricism is top notch as well. this is another classic by MF Doom.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. VV:2 does have a bit of a for-hire feel.
  2. The disc feels more like an Insomniac Records sampler featuring Viktor Vaughn than a proper Vaughn release.
  3. Raw beats, sick rhymes, nothing obvious or tired.