Venus Doom - H.I.M.
Venus Doom Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Finnish hard rock band's sixth album includes one song that is over 10 minutes long.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. 80
    The result may be the year's heaviest, creepiest, and sexiest hard-rock group effort. [Oct 2007, p.104]
  2. H.I.M. isn't a band known for profound lyrics, but, at the same time, most fans of the band don't want to philosophize, they want to hear the group rock out, and this release shows them doing precisely that, even harder than before.
  3. 70
    When Ville lets loose a rare scream on 'Love in Cold Blood,' it's a downer. Dude: We know you've come to suck our blood, but at least have the courtesy to romance us first! [Oct 2007, p.110]
  4. Their chart-friendly clothes fit them well. [Oct 2007, p.98]
  5. Though it's pretty easy to be the best band in their self-created genre of 'love metal', if you can ignore the cartoon goth twaddle that comes out of Valo's mouth, you'll find an extremely well-executed pop-metal album underneath.
  6. 60
    With every album that he writes HIM mainman Ville Valo gets closer to his dream fusion of Metallica, Depeche Mode and Ozzy, while still remembering to add some distinctly gothic beauty. [Oct 2007, p.93]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 35
  2. Negative: 6 out of 35
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    The band finally goes back to their darker, heavier roots in this album, which is welcome after their last effort- Dark Light (Which, beside screamworks, is my least favorite). Dont get me wrong, Im a HUGE him fan, but sometimes they fall short. Anyway, this album finally brings back the band that I fell in love with. You can hear echoes of 'Greatest Lovesongs' in almost every track, heavy, heavy tracks, transitioning into slow melancholy ballads. Epic win. I must say though, that this album left me feeling like they were going to go darker, and heavier on their next album....sadly I was let down. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews