Vespertine

Vespertine Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 291 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bjork's follow-up to 1997's 'Homogenic' and last year's soundtrack to Dancer In The Dark is closer in sound and mood to the latter, taking a quieter, more ambient approach. Produced by San Francisco-based electronic artists Matmos, 'Vespertine' utilizes mainly electronic instrumentation,Bjork's follow-up to 1997's 'Homogenic' and last year's soundtrack to Dancer In The Dark is closer in sound and mood to the latter, taking a quieter, more ambient approach. Produced by San Francisco-based electronic artists Matmos, 'Vespertine' utilizes mainly electronic instrumentation, much of which was recorded by Bjork in Iceland. The lead single is "Hidden Place." Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. A beautiful, magical, mystical soundtrack; similar to Homogenic, but in a sense, more light-hearted and full of love.
  2. Her best album to date.... Vespertine is an album of small gestures, one almost challenging in its stillness.... The cumulative effect is an album both timeless and of the moment, an avant-garde electronic-pop exploration of classic themes.
  3. In the end, Vespertine commits its magic by daring to go places more obvious and more human than one would have ever expected. [#210, p.52]
  4. Björk's latest is as delightfully eccentric as her choice in outfits, blending scratchy electronic programming with tinkling music boxes and squeezing her formidable voice into ancient-sounding harmonies or futuristic whispers.
  5. The best solo record of her career... Vespertine is the closest any pop-vocal album has come to the luxuriant Zen of the new minimalist techno, even beating Radiohead's nervy Kid A. Where Kid A sounded like a record of risk, the work of a band on unfamiliar ground, Bjork sings here as if she owns and knows every inch of space and shadow in these songs.
  6. Uncut
    80
    She uses her voice as well as she ever has, giving the moods light and shade. [Sep 2001, p.104]
  7. The entire LP takes on a sort of plodding sameness even as the overall sonics soar.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. PedroT
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    AMAZING...this is probably her most beautiful work to date. This is the album that made her a legend.
  2. HenryH.
    May 25, 2002
    10
    Full of magic of laptop music and harp and choir and the strangest symphony and Bjork's sensational vocal. The most heavenly perfectly Full of magic of laptop music and harp and choir and the strangest symphony and Bjork's sensational vocal. The most heavenly perfectly of the decade. Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Vespertine is her best work to date, as being the most carefully prepared in refined in sound matters, also her voice couldn't be better withVespertine is her best work to date, as being the most carefully prepared in refined in sound matters, also her voice couldn't be better with highlights as "Undo" "Hidden Place" "Unison" and "Pagan Poetry". Expand
  4. Clif
    Jun 12, 2008
    10
    I really don't give easily a 10 for an album (it's extremly rare), but this one even deserves a 11! It surpasses everything we had I really don't give easily a 10 for an album (it's extremly rare), but this one even deserves a 11! It surpasses everything we had heard. For the first time until 2001 (maybe we can consider "Selmasongs" as the tourning point) Björk delivers us minimalist (in a good way), spiritual and introspective parts of her soul. Even if I've always admired what she's done previous to this album (the excellence and lava-ish "Homogenic", the breathtaking "Post", and so and so), she has reached the culminate point of her career with "Vespertine". Maybe because of the facts of 1997 (for example, when she smashed a journalist in Bangkok; one retarded fan who wanted to kill her; ...), paradoxally she gained a certain tranquility (and the best is that she accepted to get that), something she had never explored in her previous albums. Since then, we can consider that she has done (almost) everything in her music career. ... Facts are... Even if she's too modest to accept that, she has released, I think, the greatest album ever, by any artist. Music blessed and embarrassed her! Expand
  5. May 29, 2014
    10
    The first Bjork album I fell in love with was "Homogenic." I thought, "How the hell is she going to follow this up?" She brought in theThe first Bjork album I fell in love with was "Homogenic." I thought, "How the hell is she going to follow this up?" She brought in the strings on "Vespertine," but they're used differently - whereas they were icy on "Joga" and "Bachelorette," they are used in a soft and sensual manner, providing a sense of warmth among the wintry soundscape. Bjork proves that some of life's most beautiful moments are quiet. I literally can't say anything else about this album, because words aren't able to adequately capture its stunning brilliance. Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2016
    10
    An amazing and surrealistic album that is an alternative music icon. After her brilliant almbun "Homogenic" and "SelmaSongs" Bjork expressAn amazing and surrealistic album that is an alternative music icon. After her brilliant almbun "Homogenic" and "SelmaSongs" Bjork express what an alternative/electronic album would be! Expand
  7. ivanl
    Dec 17, 2003
    4
    i love "Post", i just dont get this one

See all 69 User Reviews