• Record Label: 4AD
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2007
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JustinS
    Apr 9, 2007
    8
    Pretty good album, awesome live.
  2. BesnardP
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Wolf & Cub have composed such a strong debut. This album is solid from start to finish. It swings between dance funk to thundering drone with such effortless abandon that the album continues to be surprising and rewarding with every listen.
  3. MaryM
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    once u hear This Miss, you'll be hooked. the marvelous thing about Wolf & Cub is that they're not a one trick pony, their music spans lots of styles and genres. Vessels rewards the listener with each listen.
  4. JeremyR
    Feb 24, 2007
    10
    fantastic. a swirling roller coaster of guitar fuzz and thundering drums. my favourite of the year so far.
  5. JackM
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    if every album was this consistently good, the world would be a better place. favourites would have to be "Kingdom" and "Rozalia Bizarre".
  6. FelipeP
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Perfect! The best trip ever!
  7. mfetter
    Mar 7, 2007
    2
    this sonic drivel acheived critical "universal acclaim"? maybe if i can just get my ears closer to my ass i can figure out what i'm missing. ok, that's better. listening closer now to hear what's to like, but concluding metacritic's reviewers ("users") are either A) too easily wowed, or B) so eager to be out in front of a buzz band / peer concious they'll swallow this sonic drivel acheived critical "universal acclaim"? maybe if i can just get my ears closer to my ass i can figure out what i'm missing. ok, that's better. listening closer now to hear what's to like, but concluding metacritic's reviewers ("users") are either A) too easily wowed, or B) so eager to be out in front of a buzz band / peer concious they'll swallow & bandwagon any monotonous, droning noise as indispensable. if monotony's w&c's point - i get it, enough already. you can catch this level of talent in any dive bar any night of the week. pointless hype. bring on the new arctic monkeys disc. Expand
  8. amelia
    Apr 10, 2007
    7
    amazing live - two drummers! great band + great album
  9. OliverR
    Feb 23, 2007
    10
    where did this come from? simply remarkable.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. All said, the album’s capably produced by Tony Doogan, Secret Machines aspirations and all, and it’s a debut wrapped in sophomore expansion, a third of a universe away from anything deservedly cosmic and anything appropriately full.
  2. 90
    A fierce vision quest of psychedelic riffs 'n' roll that manages to sound like hard rock, shoegazer and new rave all within the same song, yet never feeling forced or false. [Mar 2007, p.98]
  3. 72
    Wolf & Cub manage to fill Vessels to the brim with irreverent guitar solos, pounding bass lines, and, well, let's just say they have two drummers for a good reason. [#24, p.102]