Vices & Virtues - Panic! At the Disco
Vices & Virtues Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After the loss of two members, the Las Vegas-based rock duo returns with its third studio album of rough-edged emo pop.
  • Record Label: Fueled by Ramen Records
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Emo-Pop, Punk-Pop
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Mar 28, 2011
    Seemingly, emo is no longer a moody sub-culture, as one can't help but smile when a record is this brilliantly bombastic.
  2. The only thing I want to do at the end of Vices & Virtues is hear it all over again.
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    Above all, Vices & Virtues is a complete package that secures Panic! At The Disco as one of the most forward thinking pop-rock acts around.
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    The competition is tough for Emo's Most-Avowed Dramatist -- Gerard Way? Jared Leto?! -- but Panic! at the Disco singer Brendon Urie might take the golden compact.
  5. 60
    Vices & Virtues combines the best and most memorable elements of Panic! at the Disco's previous two full-length releases, and the end result is their catchiest and most accessible effort to date.
  6. Mar 22, 2011
    These songs are missing some of the hyper mall-rat poetry that made Panic's first two albums such daffy fun. But the arrangements are tight, even when the songs get baroque.
  7. Mar 22, 2011
    If you were expecting some kind of creative transformation from the shakeup, this new album may be something of a disappointment, as Urie and drummer Spencer Smith return to the skittish, bombastic pop-rock of their debut.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jun 14, 2014
    This album by Panic! At the Disco is simply stunning. Whilst it sounds different to both its predecessors, this album's new sound is excellent. Trade Mistakes and Memories being the stand-out tracks, this album has NO letdowns. An easy 10 out of 10, the best album this year and possibly this decade. Expand
  2. Feb 20, 2012
    Panic! at the Disco spiced up their songs with a little mystery complimented by a truly improved vocals of Brendon Urie. The songs in this album are extremely addictive. All songs contained are lyrically deep. This album is clearly not at the mediocre level. The musical brilliance is another turn on not to mention the perfection in terms of instrumentality. This is an album to die for! Expand
  3. May 21, 2013
    Let me start by saying that this is not emo. "Emo" isn't even a genre! And that doesn't matter. "Vices & Virtues" is one of the most incredible (instruments-mix) albums of the year! From calm and easy-listen songs like "Always" to (a little-bit weird) songs with (exaggerated) use of instruments. Exaggerated? Yes, but that is nothing (NOTHING) compared to the incredible way that it tastes. "The Ballad Of Mona Lisa", when released as a single, may have took you to a "A Fever You Can't Sweat Out" feeling, but that is not what we have here. While we can listen to a estrange alternative rock with pop signs and not-that-much-understandably lyrics, on Vices & Virtues we have alternative rock (yet) with good electro-pop beats, lyrics with more relation to romance (instead of weddings and hospices from "A Fever You Can't Sweat Out" and beautiful lyrics about seas, flowers and hair from "Pretty. Odd.". "Ready To Go (Get Me Out Of My Mind)" is, although its chorus repeated many times (makes it kind of boring), a great (happy) song that does not have a lyric that good.

    We also have "Hurricane" that's an incredible dance thing. Its chorus can't get out of your mind and has like a south-american or spanish feeling that it's enjoyable too. "The Calendar" may be the neutral song. I'm not saying that it's just another song, no. It's a great song that might make "AFYCSO" Fans, "Pretty. Odd." fans and "Vices & Virtues" fans to like it, because it feels like a mix between "AFYCSO" and the rest of "V&V".

    Perfect? No. Nothing is perfect. The lyrics are pretty good. There are some fails and some repetitive chorus like in "Ready To Go (Get Me Out Of My Mind)" and "Let's Kill Tonight". Also, we have "Sarah Smiles". More romance? Just because Urie made it for his girlfriend, it doesn't mean that it would be like a romantic, calm and lovely song. Okay, it has a romance thing (it has to) but it also has a good "shake" and all the song is good, not just the chorus. What can we expect from an album that even the songs that are "just another song" are amazing from beginning to end? An album that is Incredible from beginning to end.

    Okay, we have some exceptions. "Trade Mistakes" is good, but not thaaat good. "Sarah Smiles" seems to lose its initial charm after half the song. "Ready to Go" is lyrically weak and repetitive. But...

    Everything ends with "Nearly Witches (Ever Since We Met)" that gave me a headache. That's not bad, it's just confusing. Starting with a dialogue, then going to french choir, then starts the music with lots of special sounds (polluting it) and then starts the chorus that is different from the rest of the song. And the chorus is much better than the rest of the song, what would make me sad, but instead of it, makes sing because has a great lyric to sing.

    So, we have a great "alternative rock with electro-pop beats" album. Not emo. Amazing songs. Good lyrics. Defects? Of course. Worth your time? Oh Yeah!!!
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    Losing half of their members due to musical differences, Panic!'s Brendon Urie took up the mantle of songwriter which would have copious amounts of pressure placed upon someone who had always co-wrote songs. Nevertheless this third effort from the duo/band, a reversion similar to "Fever" days, sees Urie comfortably navigating his lyrics through the album, bringing up great highlights such as the rollicking trio of "Memories", "Trade Mistakes" and "Ready To Go", and demonstrating that they haven't lost they melodic orchestral sound from the "Pretty. Odd." era on "Sarah Smiles" towards the end. Criticism may be directed at the simple song structure, however few can deny that Panic! is definitely back. Expand
  5. Mar 19, 2014
    Probably my second fave P!atD album. Loved the band's style in this album, the compositions are unique, the delivery is okay, but the lyrics are not that good to be honest. It's too wordy. Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2011
    really nice album. Panic at the disco is a very talented band. Very nice songs on this band. If you a Panic at the Disco fan you will love this album. Not they best album but they did a good job with the album. Only two member in this band. I like the album alot, Expand

See all 13 User Reviews