Vicki Leekx

  • Record Label: M.I.A.
  • Release Date: Dec 31, 2010
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Whether she's singing it for her penniless sisters or her affluent self is impossible to tell. That's why they call her provocative. Also, um, controversial.
  2. Feb 2, 2011
    78
    In its brief onslaught of sneery fun, Vicki Leekx only occasionally reaches the dizzy pop heights of Arular and Kala. But it does give us an M.I.A. who, once again, seems to be having a blast doing what she's doing.
  3. Feb 2, 2011
    70
    This 36-minute mixtape, released for freebie download on New Year's Eve, proves that the industrial-noise diddling of M.I.A.'s 2010 album, Maya, was no fluke.
  4. Feb 2, 2011
    70
    With this mixtape, M.I.A. has made great strides toward liberating her music from herself.
  5. 60
    This isn't a mixtape that you're going to be bumping in your crib for months to come, but it is one that is contextually very important to her career. It warrants at least one listen for that reason alone (plus it's 100% free.)
  6. Feb 2, 2011
    70
    This is the sound of an artist throwing ideas at a wall and seeing what sticks, and what makes ViCKi LEEKX exciting is just how damn sticky some of those ideas happen to be.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    This mixtape is really very cool, I hope MIA produce worthy and divine mixtapes like that.
    And yes, this mixtape is well above the MINDFVCK
    This mixtape is really very cool, I hope MIA produce worthy and divine mixtapes like that.
    And yes, this mixtape is well above the MINDFVCK mixtape.
    xoxo
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic,Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic, Iconic! Full Review »
  3. Aug 9, 2013
    6
    M.I.A. is one of my favorite artistss, but this is my least favorite albums of hers. It has good songs like "Marsha/Britney", but most songsM.I.A. is one of my favorite artistss, but this is my least favorite albums of hers. It has good songs like "Marsha/Britney", but most songs are repeatative like "Super Tight". Full Review »